Close
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Showing results 21 to 30 of 36

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Default

    So we do have some LUA programmers in the woodwork.

    To all you germans, your english is fantastic (and if your not german sorry!)

    Once we sort it out, need a sticky in mods/macros - if we can agree on how to write a line for common named teams and randomly named teams.

    Common=Slatsa,Slatsb,Slatsc,Slatsd
    Random=Bruce, Spike, Freddy, Ronald, Cucumber

    Would be good to find the code for SCT (Ace2 Mod) and Parrot (Ace2 Mod). I dont think modifying Blizzards SCT would work as whenever you run the game I believe it does some kind of checksum match and fixed the 'Blizzard_xxxxx' mod folders.

    -Slats

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Slats
    So we do have some LUA programmers in the woodwork.

    To all you germans, your english is fantastic (and if your not german sorry!)

    Once we sort it out, need a sticky in mods/macros - if we can agree on how to write a line for common named teams and randomly named teams.

    Common=Slatsa,Slatsb,Slatsc,Slatsd
    Random=Bruce, Spike, Freddy, Ronald, Cucumber

    Would be good to find the code for SCT (Ace2 Mod) and Parrot (Ace2 Mod). I dont think modifying Blizzards SCT would work as whenever you run the game I believe it does some kind of checksum match and fixed the 'Blizzard_xxxxx' mod folders.

    -Slats
    Correct, the blizzard_xxxx addons are defaults built into the game, so aside from the changeable variables the addons are checked for consistency and correctness when you load the game. You can see this by simply deleting one of the folders. When you start WoW the next time the folder and all its contents are back as they should be.
    http://pewpewsquad.blogspot.com/ http://www.stage6.com/user/pewpewss/videos/
    Team 1- 5 shamans <The PewPew Squad> Team2 - <Y o u Lo se> 70 druid, 70 shaman, 1 paladin, 24 mage, 1 mage
    Team 1 -> <1--10--20--30--40--44--50--60--70>

  3. #3

    Default

    Nice tip!

    My characters are:
    Wyvrn
    Wyvrnsheart
    Wyvrnssting
    Wyvrnsbite
    Wyvrnsbreath

    I went with:
    sourceName_match = "^Wyvrn%a*$"

    %a = any letter
    * = any number of that letter (including 0)

    I did a search and replace for
    sourceID = "player"

    and replaced it with
    sourceName_match = "^Wyvrn%a*$"

  4. #4

    Default

    I tried this out yesterday and it works very well; thanks for this tip! The regex for my characters was "^Ae.ra$". Parrot still needs some configuration to eliminate unnecessary events that are cluttering up the window 4x, but the fact that it already compresses messages (i.e. 2 crits 2 hits when I cast lightning bolt) is awesome.
    AETeam Suramar ~ aeara ~ aebra ~ aecra ~ aedra ~ aeera

  5. #5

    Default

    Its possible to do that trick on MikScrollingBattleText? I dont know too much about making/editing addons so im just asking

  6. #6
    Member Ughmahedhurtz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North of The Wall, South of The Line
    Posts
    7169

    Default

    Should be able to do something similar.

    BTW, the throttling feature in Parrot is awesome. :thumbup:
    Now playing: WoW (Garona)

  7. #7

    Default

    is there anyway to do this with the party slots instead of character names?

    I have several teams of five. I would like to have my party leader see all damage above the mobs head (no matter which team I am on) and am not fond of the idea of changing a .lua each time I change teams.

    Thanks in advance.
    Oh, BTW, if you CAN do it so that it's everyone in your party how about just posting a zip file with the full mod with the changes? The smaller the better as we be multiboxing and large mods hurt my computers brain.

  8. #8
    Member Ughmahedhurtz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North of The Wall, South of The Line
    Posts
    7169

    Default

    PRobably some way to do it with sourceFlags (COMBATLOG_OBJECT_AFFILIATION_PARTY = 0x00000002) instead of sourceName_match but I'm not addon-LUA-savvy enough to make that happen. :P
    Now playing: WoW (Garona)

  9. #9

    Default

    I just wanted to thank you guys for sharing this tip. I use it now and like it quite a bit.
    Unforunally a screenshot does not go too well with the forums attachment restrictions, but I plugged it into my blog entry for this week. =]
    http://captn-log.blogspot.com/2008/0...a-cleared.html
    Captn's Log [PvP] 5x80 Elemental Shaman

  10. #10

    Default

    I've been trying for days now, and can't get this mod to parrot to work. No matter what I do, it just ignores it. I've confirmed I'm editing the right line, it's in this section:

    Code:
    Parrot:RegisterCombatEvent{
    category = "Outgoing",
    subCategory = L["Skills"],
    name = "Skill damage",
    localName = L["Skill damage"],
    defaultTag = "[Amount] ([Skill])",
    parserEvent = {
    eventType = "Damage",
    sourceID = "player",
    recipientID_not = "player",
    abilityName_not = false,
    isDoT = false,
    },
    I've changed the

    Code:
    sourceID = "player",
    to each of the following:

    Code:
    sourceName_match = "^T.ht.*$",
    Code:
    sourceName_match = "^T.ht%a*$",
    Code:
    sourceName_match = "^T%aht%a*$",
    Code:
    sourceName_match = "^T%aht.*$",
    Code:
    sourceName_match = "^T[eéêëè]ht.*$",
    Code:
    sourceName_match = "^T[eéêëè]ht%a*$",
    I'm assuming the problem is I'm not getting the parsing right, as I have a different character in the second letter (e é ê ë è) and a different ending on my main. The following are my character names, if they're not showing in my signature for some reason:

    Tehtsara
    Téht
    Têht
    Tëht
    Tèht


    Update: I just attempted to go back to default, replaced my change with
    Code:
    sourceID = "player",
    and I still couldn't bring up the outgoing tab in the addon config window. Then I uninstalled/reinstalled the addon and reloaded ui (While WoW was running even!) and I could bring up the outgoing tab in the config window. Figured I had messed up the lua file somehow, so I tried again. Changed the one line to
    Code:
    sourceName_match = "^T.ht.*$",
    then did /rl. Same problem, no outgoing tab in the config window. Reverted the changes, reloaded ui, same problem! What in the world is going on? ?(

    Update: Fixed that problem, wasn't using a proper text editor. Apparently wordpad isn't acceptable for editing .lua files. Still can't get the parsing to work though, it just doesn't want to work for me.

Similar Threads

  1. Multiboxer friendly dailies?
    By davedontmind in forum General WoW Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-03-2009, 08:34 PM
  2. Does this addon exist?
    By nitsujcm in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-04-2008, 08:27 AM
  3. MultiBoxer Friendly Guild taking on new members Alliance Area52
    By Alptraum in forum General WoW Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2008, 08:26 AM
  4. multiboxer friendly guild on US pvp server Malorne
    By Ilinair in forum General WoW Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-20-2008, 02:08 PM
  5. World PVP! Does it even exist?!
    By TMNT in forum General WoW Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-25-2008, 05:05 PM

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •