View Full Version : some /castsequence effects I haven't seen
shockbeta
04-04-2008, 05:37 PM
So this may be known, or may be somewhere, but with everything I've read I don't recall reading these anywhere.
I ended up making two castsequence macros, one that conserves mana and gives me little to no downtime while grinding mats from lower levels, and another for grinding/leveling proper level mobs. I had tried making just one with being able to hit a modifier to skip a spell in the sequence.
I.e. /castsequence Spell1, Spell2,[nomod:ctrl] spell3, spell4;
Was hoping if I was holding ctrl while spamming the button, when it got to spell3 part it would see ctrl was pressed and skip to spell4... this of course doesn't work and actually does weird stuff(can't recall exactly and can't retest as I'm at work). So that led me to making two macros as stated above. So if anyone has any idea how to do what I was trying that would be awesome.
Anyways, back to actual topic. My two macros share some common spells, and they are in the same order in both castsequences. When multiple castsequences are at the same spell in the sequence and that spell is cast, it moves both castsequences to the next spell. This to me is an odd way of handling castsequences as you can't have multiple cast sequences with same spells in same order(of course most people would never do that anyways, but still).
While writing I thought of a halfbaked way to do what I wanted to skip a spell in a sequence, but it would rely on me hitting a modifier for half the sequence.
/castsequence [nomod] spell1,spell2,spell3; [mod:ctrl] spell4,spell5,...;
That would cast the first sequence until I hit ctrl then would start on the second sequence. Anyways, just wanted to share the info, not sure if it's useable for anything, but it was just weirdness I ran into.
kllrwlf
04-04-2008, 07:02 PM
Why don't you do:
/castsequence [nomod:ctrl] spell1, spell2
/castsequence [mod:ctrl] spell3, spell4
or
/castsequence [nomod:ctrl] spell1, spell2, spell4
/cast [mod:ctrl] spell3
Ughmahedhurtz
04-04-2008, 07:39 PM
If you put a modifier in a single castsequence, you will reset it every time the modifier status changes. You have to separate them with semicolons, I believe, to prevent that.
shockbeta
04-04-2008, 08:41 PM
/castsequence [nomod:ctrl] spell1, spell2, spell4
/cast [mod:ctrl] spell3
this would be a better solution as i would only have to hit modifier if I wanted to cast that extra spell.
If you put a modifier in a single castsequence, you will reset it every time the modifier status changes. You have to separate them with semicolons, I believe, to prevent that.
If I'm understanding what you're saying correctly then you think:
/castsequence [mod:alt] spell1,spell2,spell3;[mod:ctrl] spell3,spell4
will reset the sequence everytime the modifier for the sequence is pushed? I believe that the sequence will never reset until all spells are cast for the specified sequence. There wasn't a reset= line in the sequence so there is no reset condition until you finish casting.
Also above has two seperate sequences, the alt sequence and the ctrl sequence. I'm not sure if people always write them out long for readability, and now that we have mods that allow macros to exceed 255 char limit the reason to condense multiple cast and cast sequences lines into one line isn't important anymore. But i still condense mine just in case patch days decide to break those addons.
For instance:
/castsequence [nomod:ctrl] spell1, spell2, spell4
/cast [mod:ctrl] spell3is the same as this:
/castsequence [mod:ctrl] spell3; [nomod:ctrl] Spell1,Spell2,Spell3;
additionally the [nomod:ctrl] could be taken out, unless you wanted to do something else in the macro.
To touch back on an initial point I brought up. The castsequences moving other cast sequences along when their both on the same spell "glitch", well it seems they have to be active at the time. meaning on your action bar somewhere and the action being done. for instance this tests macro on a warlock...
#showtooltip
/castsequence [mod:alt]reset=target Life Tap,Drain Soul; [mod:ctrl]reset=target Life Tap, Demon Armor, Shadow Bolt; [nochanneling:Drain Life,nomod:ctrl,nomod:alt] reset=target Immolate, Siphon Life, Corruption, Curse of Agony, Drain Life
well had more then testing, but what'ev, the first 2 sequences first spells match, according to what I stated in first post, when you hit that button with alt or ctrl held, Life Tap will cast, and both of the first two sequences will move onto the next spell in their sequence. This doesn't not happen. I beleive it's because their both in the same macro and only one of the sequences is currently active when you hit the button. but now this setup 2 macros. first one:
/castsequence Life Tap,Demon Armor;
second one:
/castsequence Life Tap, Immolate;
put both on your action bar and click one, you'll see they both move onto the next spell in their sequence even though you only clicked one of the macros to fire.
This macro will show the weird effect of putting [mod:ctrl] in middle of castsequence in the hopes it will skeip that spell in the sequence when held..
#showtooltip
/castsequence Shadow Ward,Health Funnel,[mod:ctrl] Demon Armor,Life Tap;
The tooltip always shows shadow ward tooltip. although when the macro is pressed nothing happens, it craps out. no errors, just doesn't do anything. holding ctrl and clicking it still shows shadow ward tooltip(since there is no conditional in front of it in the cast sequence, but demon armor is cast, again ctrl-click Life Tap is cast, again, Demon Armo, life tap.... now let's try something else...
#showtooltip
/castsequence [nomod:ctrl]Shadow Ward,Health Funnel [mod:ctrl] Demon Armor,Life Tap;
took out the trailing comma after health funnel, and added [nomod:ctrl] to the beginig of the sequence. Now it doesn't matter if you're holding any mod down, it casts Demon Armor, then Life Tap, the tooltip properly reflects the spell.
One last thing to try:
#showtooltip
/castsequence [nomod:ctrl]Shadow Ward,Health Funnel;[mod:ctrl] Demon Armor,Life Tap;
Added semicolon after health funnel, now works as expected. ctrl isn't pressed while clicking, Shadow ward, health funnel. Ctrl pressed, Demon Armor, Life Tap. Tooltip properly reflects both.
Alright sorry I just rambled on about effects of writing bad macros, but none every really said how the macro behave when you short circuit them.
One last thing, a modifier in a cast sequence doesn't mean it's the reset value. I don't believe modifiers can be the deciding factor to reset a castsequence.
shockbeta
04-04-2008, 08:49 PM
Not sure if anyone caught this, not sure when they allowed it but you're now allowed to /targetfriend, /targetenemy, not sure any others one time in a macro. meaning..
/targetenemy
/cast Siphon Life;
That way you can spam that macro to cycle through nearest enemies and siphon life them. Of course probably want to reverse the order and do some check on your target to limit errors, that way you could cast it on who you're targeting and cycle to the next mob. something like this maybe
/cast [harm,nomod] Siphon Life;
/targetenemy
That wya if you can harm target, and you're not pressing any mod, cast siphon then target next enemy. That way if you already siphoned mob you can mod it and skip.
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.