PDA

View Full Version : [ISBoxer] Multiple (faked) castsequences



Redbeard
03-07-2011, 08:49 PM
So. There are no castsequences in Rift. So I setup 1 toolbar with my abilities then I have a keymap that says "when cahr 1 presses 4, hit 1 then 2 then 3 then 4 etc"

I made my own castsequence. Works great. I have delays in there and everything.

Problem is. I am playing multiclass. So I would like to setup multiple keymaps where 4 does 1 thing for char 1 and something else for char 2. I think id be fine without this except for the delay... If im going to setup cadence fore xample. My main dudes keymap says dont advance for 1.5 seconds... but cadence needs 2 or 3 seconds or whatever. Wont work. Follow me?

Is there a way I can do this in Isboxer?

Ualaa
03-07-2011, 09:38 PM
What I would do is:

One mashed button, on whatever hotkey you want to mash.
Have it do a series of Do Mapped Key actions.
Then have a Mapped Key for each toon.

Something like:

Main Mapped Key
- Hotkey "1".
- Do Mapped Key (Toon A), Target: Toon A
- Do Mapped Key (Toon B), Target: Toon B
- Do Mapped Key (Toon C), Target: Toon C

Mapped Key: (Toon A)
Step 1
- Keystroke Action, Send "1" to Toon A
Step 2
- Keystroke Action, Send "2" to Toon A

Mapped Key: (Toon B)
Step 1
- Keystroke Action, Send "3" to Toon B
Step 2
- Keystroke Action, Send "4" to Toon B
Step 3
- Keystroke Action, Send "5" to Toon B

Mapped Key (Toon C)
Step 1
- Keystroke Action, Send "1" to Toon C



Doesn't matter the window you're in.
You press your hotkey.
And it has each of the toons do their own mapped key.

And that mapped key can be as many or as few steps as desired.
You could have their key not advance for 'x' seconds, if you want.
One toon could be one step, mashing a single key.
Another toon could alternate between: 1, 2, 1, 3, 1, 4, 1, 5.... or whatever.

Lyonheart
03-07-2011, 10:31 PM
i need to do this for when i play Riftstalker tank. Will test it out tomorrow!

Redbeard
03-07-2011, 10:46 PM
Thanks Ualaa, I knew there had to be a way to do it.

When you get bored in WoW come play some Rift on Alsbeth with us :)

Redbeard
03-08-2011, 09:19 AM
Edit: Sorry for wall of text!

So I set this up last night and it worked like a charm... and best of all, i was actually able to read what you said about Isboxer and implement it correctly Ualaa, haha (thats a knock against me not you).

So my next problem is: This game has no modifier in a macro for [nochanneling]...

So here is what happens. One of the bards abilities is a 2 second channel. The mapped key gets to that key and i hit my button and it casts the ability. So far so good. Then I have it set so it doesnt advance for 2 seconds. But if i hit the button again, it recasts the channeled ability (because to my understanding if you halt advancement for x seconds, it just keeps hitting your current button until it can move on to the next step in the keymap).

So that wont do.

SO I thought, I will add an additional step and bind it to something which shouldnt break the channel. So I have another button which just has a macro saying "petattack".. which is a command you can do while not breaking the channel. Then I take out the 2 second stop from the channeled ability and add it to the next step "petattack" button.

So to my understanding, when I hit 4, it should 1) hit my channeled ability 2) immediate next keypress should go to my petattack macro and stay there for 2 seconds regardless of how many times i spam the key.

Doesnt seem to do that, it sitll seems to be recasting the channel.

So im not sure what im doing wrong.

Bloodcloud
03-08-2011, 09:40 AM
Problem is. I am playing multiclass. So I would like to setup multiple keymaps where 4 does 1 thing for char 1 and something else for char 2. I think id be fine without this except for the delay... If im going to setup cadence fore xample. My main dudes keymap says dont advance for 1.5 seconds... but cadence needs 2 or 3 seconds or whatever. Wont work. Follow me?
Is there a way I can do this in Isboxer?

one step simpler with more flexibility is to do this without the domap


Mapped Key: (Toon A) hotkey "1" -> Advanced: State ON
Step 1
- Keystroke Action, Send "1" to Toon A (don't advance until at least 3 sec)
Step 2
- Keystroke Action, Send "2" to Toon A
-----------------
Mapped Key: (Toon B) hotkey "1" -> Advanced: State OFF
Step 1
- Keystroke Action, Send "3" to Toon B
Step 2
- Keystroke Action, Send "4" to Toon B
Step 3
- Keystroke Action, Send "5" to Toon B
-----------------
Mapped Key (Toon C) hotkey "1" -> Advanced: State OFF
Step 1
- Keystroke Action, Send "1" to Toon C
------------------
Mapped Key RESET hotkey "3"
Step 1
- Keymap-action -> new Keymap Step action ->(Toon A) Step 1
- Keymap-action -> new Keymap Step action ->(Toon B) Step 1
- Keymap-action -> new Keymap Step action ->(Toon C) Step 1
-------------------
Mapped Key DPS-ON hotkey "2"
Step 1
- Keymap-action -> new Keymap State action ->(Toon B) -> ON
- Keymap-action -> new Keymap State action ->(Toon C) -> ON
Step 2
- Keymap-action -> new Keymap State action ->(Toon B) -> OFF
- Keymap-action -> new Keymap State action ->(Toon C) -> OFF


If you spam "1" only ToonA does it's sequence (Tank to get aggro)
If you press "2" ToonB and ToonC start their sequence (press "2" again and they stop)
if you target a new mob press "3" to reset the sequences

Works like a charm :)

(Had the same in HKN and moved this behaviour to ISBoxer :)

Bloodcloud
03-08-2011, 09:55 AM
Edit: Sorry for wall of text!

So my next problem is: This game has no modifier in a macro for [nochanneling]...

So here is what happens. One of the bards abilities is a 2 second channel. The mapped key gets to that key and i hit my button and it casts the ability. So far so good. Then I have it set so it doesnt advance for 2 seconds. But if i hit the button again, it recasts the channeled ability (because to my understanding if you halt advancement for x seconds, it just keeps hitting your current button until it can move on to the next step in the keymap).

So that wont do.

SO I thought, I will add an additional step and bind it to something which shouldnt break the channel. So I have another button which just has a macro saying "petattack".. which is a command you can do while not breaking the channel. Then I take out the 2 second stop from the channeled ability and add it to the next step "petattack" button.

So to my understanding, when I hit 4, it should 1) hit my channeled ability 2) immediate next keypress should go to my petattack macro and stay there for 2 seconds regardless of how many times i spam the key.

Doesnt seem to do that, it sitll seems to be recasting the channel.

So im not sure what im doing wrong.

Good that you mention this. I tried to debug this last night as well.
Maybe we have to ask Lax for another option in ISBoxer, (do not press this button again for at least) I thought the current option did the trick, but looking at my chatline I see "111111111122211111111" for my Bard which should be "1" 2 sec wait "2" 1.5sec wait "1"


Just talked to Lax and he suggests an EMPTY step with a "do not advance for at least ..." :)
Will check this tonight when I am @ home again.

Mosg2
03-08-2011, 12:46 PM
I tried setting up a two-step button that looked like this:

Step one: E to all Windows
Do not advance to the next step for 1.0 seconds
Step two: nothing
Do not advance to the next step for 1.5 seconds

I played with the timing for over an hour. For whatever reason, when you're casting a channeled spell and you hit another ability EVEN WHILE YOU'RE ON THE GCD it will cancel it. I tried different timings paired with different ability-que settings in game. Meaning, no que, short que, full que. Still, no dice.

Without [nochanneling] I'm just not that impressed with channeled abilities.

Ualaa
03-08-2011, 07:03 PM
I'd probably go with an extra step, after the one that you don't want to advance.
Have nothing in the extra step.
But have the extra step set to not advance.

That way, your ability fires off only once.
And then the next step, which does nothing, is the one that sticks and does not move for the duration.

Redbeard
03-08-2011, 07:22 PM
Ualaa, sounds like thats what Mosg2 tried above.

I will give it a shot tonight personally to see if I have any luck.

Alge
03-09-2011, 01:54 AM
Something like this might work:

Step 1: Action 1: Fire the channeled ability
Step 1: Action 2: use a Mapped Key Step Action to manually set the current mapped key to step 2

Step 2: No action, do not advance for next x seconds

Step 3: whatever you want to do on the next key press


I have not tried this. It's just an idea from what I saw in ISBoxer.

Alge

Bloodcloud
03-09-2011, 05:59 AM
I tried setting up a two-step button that looked like this:

Step one: E to all Windows
Do not advance to the next step for 1.0 seconds
Step two: nothing
Do not advance to the next step for 1.5 seconds

I played with the timing for over an hour. For whatever reason, when you're casting a channeled spell and you hit another ability EVEN WHILE YOU'RE ON THE GCD it will cancel it. I tried different timings paired with different ability-que settings in game. Meaning, no que, short que, full que. Still, no dice.

Without [nochanneling] I'm just not that impressed with channeled abilities.

I succeeded with the wait step.
what I did was:

=========
Step one: E to all Windows
<untick the do not advance here> <no wait in the casting step>
Step two: nothing
Do not advance to the next step for 2.5 seconds
=========

you need to un-tick the do not advance in the first step, so that this step is only executed once!!
then the next step gets spammed.

you can test/debug it by opening the chat window in your client and see how fast the "E" is sent to the clients.
(tip: I added a clickbar which shows me the stepnumber the castsequence is on, so I can see whats going on :)

also be aware that RIFT has a QUEUEING ability for spells (check this out in the settings menu and make sure that the queue is short or none)

Redbeard
03-09-2011, 08:03 AM
I will try it again bloodcloud, I didnt have luck with this.

Edit: Im also having trouble with motif's firing off twice. Im having all sorts of bard problems lol.

Edit#2: I just tried this and went from a 2.0 second dely to a 2.5 second delay like you mentioned. Its working better but still doesnt seem flawless.

And I cant wrap my head around why other than the game just doesnt like spam during channeled abilities. Hmm.

Bloodcloud
03-09-2011, 10:39 AM
I will try it again bloodcloud, I didnt have luck with this.

Edit: Im also having trouble with motif's firing off twice. Im having all sorts of bard problems lol.

Edit#2: I just tried this and went from a 2.0 second dely to a 2.5 second delay like you mentioned. Its working better but still doesnt seem flawless.

And I cant wrap my head around why other than the game just doesnt like spam during channeled abilities. Hmm.

I have an issue with swapping clients.
It seems that every client swap resets the steps.

if I spam "1" doing
step 1 -> cast 30 sec bard buff
step 2 -> wait 30 sec

and i swap clients the buff is cast again immediately.

Will do more testing once i am @ home again tonight.

According to Lax, every client has it's own state of the steps.
The steps can be synced by "Keymap action-> New Mapped Key step action -> all others)" (then step +1) (will also try with add +1)
I imagine with the "do not advance.." it makes it more tricky because if you switch in a "wait phase" of a step to another client window that client executes the next step, so no wait ..

Lokked
03-09-2011, 12:43 PM
I use this, and some might find it worthwhile to add a Manual Reset sort of switch, in the event you press your Cadence Hotkey while in the middle of a GCD, then you have to wait 2 seconds before casting it correctly.

ISBoxer Hotkey: Shift 2 (or whatever)
Step 1: Set Mapped Key Step Action - <Cadence's Mapped Key> - Set to 1 on all
Step 1: <Activate Cadence's Mapped Key, so it performs Cadence and then advances>