Close
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Showing results 21 to 30 of 30
  1. #21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'Fursphere',index.php?page=Thread&postID=30483#pos t30483
    You guys that are writing "huge" macros, or using every macro slot....

    WTF are you doing?!?! :P lol

    3 of my shammies use probably 18 macros each, the 4th using probably 23ish (healer). I'm just curious what you're doing that requires so many macros....



    having all the same class reqwuires very few macros, ive only got like 12 per character :P On my second team I will have a ton of macros though.


    As for copying the wow folder, you dont have to copy any of the patch files, but everything else you will if you want to have them seperate.


    @thinus, i dont think you need the /stopmacro [modifier] in there but not positive.

    @kyntestorme; yes thats against the TOS, 1 key can be bound to multiple keys (ie shift-ctrl-0) but the moment pressing one key once gives you two spells your busted.
    http://pewpewsquad.blogspot.com/ http://www.stage6.com/user/pewpewss/videos/
    Team 1- 5 shamans <The PewPew Squad> Team2 - <Y o u Lo se> 70 druid, 70 shaman, 1 paladin, 24 mage, 1 mage
    Team 1 -> <1--10--20--30--40--44--50--60--70>

  2. #22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'thinus',index.php?page=Thread&postID=30584#post30 584



    Quote Originally Posted by 'Achakul',index.php?page=Thread&postID=30580#post3 0580
    Do i have to copy the entire wow folder? That's a good 10 gigs per copy and I don't have that much space.


    Well then you will need to modify your macros. Why do you need so many? You need to give us more information before we can help you.

    Also look at using MODIFIERS.

    Code:
     Fireball: /cast Fireball Fireblast
    /cast Fireblast Pyroblast 
    /cast Pyroblast
    can be combined into one macro with modifiers

    Code:
     /cast [modifier:alt] Pyroblast 
    /cast [modifier:shift] Fireblast 
    /stopmacro [modifier] 
    /cast Fireball
    If you bind the macro above to your 1 key then pressing 1 will cast fireball. Pressing SHIFT+1 will cast Fireblast and ALT+1 will cast Pyroblast. Just make sure that SHIFT+1 and ALT+1 is UNBOUND!

    NOTE: The macro above was sucked out of my thumb and not tested but looks good in theory.

    you can actually condense that macro even more into this

    /cast [modifier:alt] Pyroblast; [modifier:shift] Fireblast; Fireball

    However, without any [target=blah] in there you must have a hostile target already for it to work. just add in any , target=focus type thing you want inside the brackets and you're fine.

    *edit* make sure to put the one without any modifier last because when a macro is run it goes until a condition is met and then stops.
    http://pewpewsquad.blogspot.com/ http://www.stage6.com/user/pewpewss/videos/
    Team 1- 5 shamans <The PewPew Squad> Team2 - <Y o u Lo se> 70 druid, 70 shaman, 1 paladin, 24 mage, 1 mage
    Team 1 -> <1--10--20--30--40--44--50--60--70>

  3. #23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'marvein',index.php?page=Thread&postID=30766#post3 0766
    @thinus, i dont think you need the /stopmacro [modifier] in there but not positive.
    I put the /stopmacro in just to catch modifier combinations not handled in the macro. If you handle ctrl+1 and shift+1 but not alt+1. So if you press alt+1 but you meant to press shift+1 you don't get the default 1 behaviour. If that makes any sense.
    The Orcks of War
    Shaman Borck Zorck Dorck Porck Corck
    Mixed Team - Msblonde - Mswhite - Msblack - Msred - Msbrown -

  4. #24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'thinus',index.php?page=Thread&postID=30788#post30 788

    Quote Originally Posted by 'marvein',index.php?page=Thread&postID=30766#post3 0766
    @thinus, i dont think you need the /stopmacro [modifier] in there but not positive.
    I put the /stopmacro in just to catch modifier combinations not handled in the macro. If you handle ctrl+1 and shift+1 but not alt+1. So if you press alt+1 but you meant to press shift+1 you don't get the default 1 behaviour. If that makes any sense.
    http://pewpewsquad.blogspot.com/ http://www.stage6.com/user/pewpewss/videos/
    Team 1- 5 shamans <The PewPew Squad> Team2 - <Y o u Lo se> 70 druid, 70 shaman, 1 paladin, 24 mage, 1 mage
    Team 1 -> <1--10--20--30--40--44--50--60--70>

  5. #25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'thinus',index.php?page=Thread&postID=30788#post30 788

    Quote Originally Posted by 'marvein',index.php?page=Thread&postID=30766#post3 0766
    @thinus, i dont think you need the /stopmacro [modifier] in there but not positive.
    I put the /stopmacro in just to catch modifier combinations not handled in the macro. If you handle ctrl+1 and shift+1 but not alt+1. So if you press alt+1 but you meant to press shift+1 you don't get the default 1 behaviour. If that makes any sense.
    oh ya, that does
    http://pewpewsquad.blogspot.com/ http://www.stage6.com/user/pewpewss/videos/
    Team 1- 5 shamans <The PewPew Squad> Team2 - <Y o u Lo se> 70 druid, 70 shaman, 1 paladin, 24 mage, 1 mage
    Team 1 -> <1--10--20--30--40--44--50--60--70>

  6. #26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'Lokked',index.php?page=Thread&postID=30331#post30 331
    You use more then 36 macros on EACH of your toons???

    Just FYI:

    Use a separate WoW folder for each toon, even if they are all the same class. This will give you 36 individual macro slots for each char (18 on Account tab, 18 on Character tab).

    And, as stated above, there are 18 macro slots on the Account tab, but also another 18 on the Character tab.

    Lokked
    The only reason to do this is if you want 36 macros for each toon and those toons are the same account which is not the case for multi-boxers. You do not need to copy the WoW folder to get 36 {18+18} macros per character.The default file structure allows for 18 macros shared by all characters on a single account and another 18 macros for each character.

    The shared macros are stored under WTF\Account\[ACCOUNT NAME]\macros-cache.txt

    The individual macros are stored under WTF\Account\[ACCOUNT NAME]\[CHARACTER NAME]\macros.txt

    For a 5 boxer who plays all accounts from one directory, your macros would be as follows where [ACCOUNT#] is each individual account and [CHARACTER1] is the first character for that account:

    WTF\Account\[ACCOUNT1]\macros-cache.txt

    WTF\Account\[ACCOUNT1]\[CHARACTER1]\macros-cache.txt

    WTF\Account\[ACCOUNT2]\macros-cache.txt

    WTF\Account\[ACCOUNT2]\[CHARACTER1]\macros-cache.txt

    WTF\Account\[ACCOUNT3]\macros-cache.txt

    WTF\Account\[ACCOUNT3]\[CHARACTER1]\macros-cache.txt

    WTF\Account\[ACCOUNT4]\macros-cache.txt

    WTF\Account\[ACCOUNT4]\[CHARACTER1]\macros-cache.txt

    WTF\Account\[ACCOUNT5]\macros-cache.txt

    WTF\Account\[ACCOUNT5]\[CHARACTER1]\macros-cache.txt


  7. #27

    Default

    My reason for copying the wow folder is for addons and keybindings and all that good stuff so that the data in each one can be changed seperately. While the macros are seperate from account to account the other things (especialy display) are not.
    http://pewpewsquad.blogspot.com/ http://www.stage6.com/user/pewpewss/videos/
    Team 1- 5 shamans <The PewPew Squad> Team2 - <Y o u Lo se> 70 druid, 70 shaman, 1 paladin, 24 mage, 1 mage
    Team 1 -> <1--10--20--30--40--44--50--60--70>

  8. #28

    Default

    1. I don't actually use that many macros, I'm merely suggesting ways to have big/many if you need.
    2. For my groups currently (highest being 31) I have about 8-10 common macros, mostly to do with invites, switching focus, emotes... stuff like that. Then each spell that targets an enemy as a macro, individual for my hunters, eg 1 for arcane, 1 for serpents sting... Warlocks use sequences far more, so each macro will have three or more actions defined, CoW = Cure of Weakness, Corruption, Immolate, Shoot (with wand)... etc.
    3. I have bee experimenting with Trinity 2, its great once you get the hang of it, but it doesn't deal with macros in the same way the game does... My locks use this macro which works absolutly from a normal action bar button:
      Code:
      #showtooltip
      /assist focus
      /castsequence reset=combat/target Curse of Agony,Corruption,Immolate,Shoot
      Essentially hit the button four times, get my three main DoTs (x2) on the target and continue wanding till death...

      However Trinity only works for the follower (who has me as a focus) because the macro fails when it hits the focus part, I'm working on working round that but for now Trinity is no good for complex stuff. ;(
    4. If you want to have an install for each character but don't have the HDD space to do so look up junctioning (its on the forums somewhere) its a method for assigning virtual paths to directories or files (well similar method) so you can have one physical installation and then each of the 2ndary installs uses the data/addons/etc from the primary.
    Currently running 3x City of Heroes under Octopus

  9. #29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'Fursphere',index.php?page=Thread&postID=31042#pos t31042
    Dispel magic - use a castsequence with a chain effect. one macro per toon.... /dance? Is it that hard to type /dance on the broadcasted keyboard? :P

    same for /spit and /say. Then again I type like 100 words per minute, so I don't even think twice about typeing like that. :P
    Don't have a broadcasted keyboard, 1 machine, and typing /dance versus hitting the macro key is the difference between the ganker still looking at his corpse and the ganker having released already. I also turn my key broadcasting off when I hit "/" so I can use chat channels without spamming them with all 5 characters.
    The Orcks of War
    Shaman Borck Zorck Dorck Porck Corck
    Mixed Team - Msblonde - Mswhite - Msblack - Msred - Msbrown -

  10. #30
    Member Ughmahedhurtz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North of The Wall, South of The Line
    Posts
    7169

    Default

    Heh...filling your character macros up on one toon? For druids, I might understand that.

    My mage gang is 45. I have the following character-specific macros:
    Arcane missiles
    Buffs (all of 'em, castsequenced)
    Trinketed fireball
    round-robin counterspell
    Trinketed fire blast
    Focus switching
    Follow
    Mount
    round-robin Frost Nova
    round-robin Sheep
    PoM-Pyro
    Scorch
    Wand


    So 13 in all, plus my usual ones on the General macros tab:
    Accept everything
    Assist focus

    My warlocks have a few more macros for fear, death coil, soulstones, petattack/petpassive, etc. but even then they don't use all the slots on the character tab. :P Combine abilities that make sense...it'll not only save macro space but will save you lotsa time and headaches when you stop micromanaging things. Good macros work FOR you.

    I'd share what macros you're using as has been suggested. Might be we can help you minimize/simplify things a bit.
    Now playing: WoW (Garona)

Similar Threads

  1. Healing Macros? Buff Macros fo Triboxing
    By Hawkz in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-06-2009, 04:39 AM
  2. Macros Calling Macros
    By Schwarz in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-29-2008, 11:20 AM
  3. WoW Macros
    By archer75 in forum New Multi-Boxers & Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-16-2008, 02:01 AM
  4. software tool macros vs hardware tool macros
    By Supercod in forum Software Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-07-2008, 05:06 PM
  5. Need help with a few macros:
    By l0de in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-23-2007, 02:32 AM

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •