Close
Showing results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Default Focus Changing... How do you guys handle it?

    I'm trying to brainstorm better ideas on how to change all characters' focus to my main. Jamba works great with the macro updating, but I don't believe it works in combat.

    How do you guys handle it?

    To contribute, I'll include the add-ons and macro I use below:
    ADD-ONS: Jamba, Hotkeynet

    FUNCTION: I use two macros to switch leaders. Each character is setup with a "Make Leader" (CTRL+F) and "Focus Leader" (ALT+F) macro. When I press CTRL+F, HKN broadcasts CTRL+F to my current "Main" window, and ALT+F to my slave windows. Jamba is also setup to make the 'master' character the leader, so the window that initiates /setmeasmaster turns into the group lead. The macros are written as follows:

    MAKE LEADER MACRO:
    /jamba setmeasmaster all
    /clearfocus

    FOCUS LEADER:
    /focus party1

    Since "Party1" is always the group leader, as soon as Jamba makes my "main character" the group lead /focus party1 will always change the slaves focus to the group lead.

    The negatives:
    1) There's a delay between receiving group lead, so I have to hit the button at least twice for /focus party1 to properly focus on my slave windows
    2) If the group lead is someone outside of your Jamba group, then it doesn't work

  2. #2

    Default

    You could try my targeting addon:
    [Addon] ActionBarTargeting: Automatic focus-free targeting and follow macros

    It supports switching mains in combat using either focus or the actionbar macro conditional.
    All my codes r belong to you: wow5box

  3. #3

    Default

    I use Jamba and Keyclone. I 3 box, so I have 3 macros (would be 5 for 5boxing obviously) I have my keyclone maximizer bound region 1 -F1 region 2 -F2, region 3 -F3. I also have 3 macros bound to each of my toons. Macro for F1 is /focus frosty macro for f2 is /focus frostytwo and macro for f3 is /focus frostythree. (Frosty is always on region 1, frosty2 on region2 and frosty3 on region3) I also have the jamba "Switch Leader when focus changes" option turn on. I can't remember exactly what it's called, but whenever my main switches his focus, the new focus becomes the main, and jamba is hidden on his screen, and populated on the new one. It also just so happens that since the focus macros are bound to the same keys as my maximizer, it switches everything with only 1 button push. I always kind of assumed that this is the way most people have it set up, but always happy to hear some others!!!
    Team Frosty - Gorefiend US

    Frosty 70 mage, Frostytwo 60 mage, Frostythree 60 mage

  4. #4

    Default RE: Focus Changing... How do you guys handle it?

    Quote Originally Posted by 'Mikey',index.php?page=Thread&postID=193511#post19 3511
    I'm trying to brainstorm better ideas on how to change all characters' focus to my main. Jamba works great with the macro updating, but I don't believe it works in combat.

    How do you guys handle it?

    To contribute, I'll include the add-ons and macro I use below:
    ADD-ONS: Jamba, Hotkeynet

    FUNCTION: I use two macros to switch leaders. Each character is setup with a "Make Leader" (CTRL+F) and "Focus Leader" (ALT+F) macro. When I press CTRL+F, HKN broadcasts CTRL+F to my current "Main" window, and ALT+F to my slave windows. Jamba is also setup to make the 'master' character the leader, so the window that initiates /setmeasmaster turns into the group lead. The macros are written as follows:

    MAKE LEADER MACRO:
    /jamba setmeasmaster all
    /clearfocus

    FOCUS LEADER:
    /focus party1

    Since "Party1" is always the group leader, as soon as Jamba makes my "main character" the group lead /focus party1 will always change the slaves focus to the group lead.

    The negatives:
    1) There's a delay between receiving group lead, so I have to hit the button at least twice for /focus party1 to properly focus on my slave windows
    2) If the group lead is someone outside of your Jamba group, then it doesn't work
    Not sure if this is what you want, but let's see.

    If you have 2 Toons (just make more for 5), do you have the windows switch when you change master? If not, you should as I set that up last night and it rocks. So, presuming you hit F2 and ToonB is now the leader and moves to your main screen, your mouse is over that window. Try this...

    <HotKey 1>
    <If MouseIsOverWindow Wow1>
    <SendLabel Wow2>
    <Key 2>
    <Else If MouseIsOverWindow Wow2>
    <SendLabel Wow1>
    <Key 2>

    This means that if your main window is Wow1 (your ToonA), and if you click "1" while moused over it, Key 2 gets sent to Wow2 (which is binded to a macro that focuses/follows/grabs his buns. The reverse happens if Wow2 is your active window and you hit "1".

    Is that what you are looking for?

  5. #5

    Default

    My current script involves two functions; i'll call it SwitchMain and SetMaster for the sake of simplicity:

    SwitchMain does a few things:
    Reposition/resizes the next WoW Slave window (let's call this "Slave1") into the "Main" window position (reposition/resize)
    Reposition/resizes the WoW Main window (let's call this "Main") into one of the "Slave" positions
    Renames the old "Main" into "Slave1", and renames "Slave1" to "Main"

    SetMaster:
    Sends a hotkey to "Main" to activate a macro (/jamba setmeasmaster, autopromote to leader)
    Sends a hotkey to all "Slaves" to activate a different macro (/clear focus, target party1 - the new leader, and make him focus)

    On all keystrokes:
    All action hotkeys are sent unmodified to "Main". All "Slaves" receive Key + modifier to perform that same action, except with target focustarget (Example: /cast [mod:alt, target=focustarget] Sinister Strike)

    I combined a lot of functions obviously (SetMaster is also my follow-me macro, it also does jamba invite, etc.).

    It works perfect in a group environment, but doesn't work in Raid or if someone else is group lead. I'm trying to brainstorm different ways of making a fool-proof way to make all my slaves make the new master it's focus. I'll probably try something like /cleartarget on all slaves, /target self on main then do an assist train lol. Not the most elegant solution but since setting master really should be a one-time action it might work.

  6. #6

    Default

    /focus Name
    /jamba setmeasmaster all
    /jamba-follow strobeonme all
    /script SetView(5);SetView(5);

    I put that scrip on each toon. Along with
    /focus Name
    /script SetView(5);SetView(5);

    Goes on the slaves

    Now it works like this for my 5 box teams
    Lead is f1
    /focus NAME
    /jamba setmeasmaster all
    /jamba-follow strobeonme all
    /script SetView(5);SetView(5);

    Each slave is f1
    /focus NAME
    /script SetView(5);SetView(5);

    I repeat this to all toons but for each toon that becomes Lead it would be
    F2 (new lead)
    /focus NAME
    /jamba setmeasmaster all
    /jamba-follow strobeonme all
    /script SetView(5);SetView(5);
    f2 slaves
    /focus Name
    /script SetView(5);SetView(5);

    So all toons now focus my new lead with the push of f1-f5. Without switching leader to each toon. Works fine in combat. I also have these set up in maximizer (keyclone) to switch the new toon to my main screen.

  7. #7

    Default

    my method are similar to Wolpak
    using only 1 macro for all toon

    macro :
    /focus [@mouseover]

    addon : Pitbull unit frames
    the pitbull ui addon are so i can set all the group alphabetically

    HotKeyNet
    set one of your key (the key bind to the macro above) to broadcast by region
    **mine set on F8**
    <Hotkey F8>
    <If MouseIsOverWindowRect WoW1 0 0 250 550>
    <SendLabel w1, w2, w3, w4, w5>
    <Clickmouse Noclick>
    <Key F8>
    <RestoreMousePos>

    <Else If MouseIsOverWindowRect WoW2 0 0 250 550>
    <SendLabel w1, w2, w3, w4, w5>
    <Clickmouse Noclick>
    <Key F8>
    <RestoreMousePos>

    <Else If MouseIsOverWindowRect WoW3 0 0 250 550>
    <SendLabel w1, w2, w3, w4, w5>
    <Clickmouse Noclick>
    <Key F8>
    <RestoreMousePos>

    <Else If MouseIsOverWindowRect WoW4 0 0 250 550>
    <SendLabel w1, w2, w3, w4, w5>
    <Clickmouse Noclick>
    <Key F8>
    <RestoreMousePos>

    <Else If MouseIsOverWindowRect WoW5 0 0 250 550>
    <SendLabel w1, w2, w3, w4, w5>
    <Clickmouse Noclick>
    <Key F8>
    <RestoreMousePos>

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    on 04-08-2009
    Don't rez ancient threads.
    Blog : Herding Khats
    Team : Kina - Çroaker - Messkit - Lìfetaker - Wìdowmaker
    Newbie Guides : Multiboxing Vol. 1 - Multiboxing Vol. 2 - HotKeyNet - Jamba
    The Almighty Lax made a liar out of me, apparently I DO get prizes for it.
    *Commences Wielding the Banhammer like there's piñatas up in here and I'm Lady Thor*

    _ Forum search letting you down? Use the custom Google search _

Similar Threads

  1. How do you guys handle the Tribunal on Heroic?
    By Hachoo in forum WoW Wrath of the Lich King (67-80)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-21-2009, 05:29 PM
  2. Request - Center Mouse Before Changing Focus
    By supertux1 in forum Software Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-29-2008, 07:33 PM
  3. How do u guys handle Bloodlust?? for Shamans.
    By smokebum in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-24-2008, 10:53 AM
  4. How do you handle this?
    By tokegry in forum General WoW Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-29-2008, 12:20 PM
  5. Stupid focus problem, how do I make someone focus not in my group?
    By shivetya in forum New Multi-Boxers & Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-17-2008, 08:16 AM

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •