Close
Showing results 1 to 9 of 9

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Default What am I doing wrong?

    /cast [modifier:alt] water shield, flametongue weapon; [nomod:alt] earthbind totem, flametongue totem, healing stream totem, grounding totem
    Onyxia-alliance.

    2x63 demo warlocks, Robinwood and Glorificus
    5x70 elemental shamans

  2. #2

    Default RE: What am I doing wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by 'Nicbennett',index.php?page=Thread&postID=159269#p ost159269
    /cast [modifier:alt] water shield, flametongue weapon; [nomod:alt] earthbind totem, flametongue totem, healing stream totem, grounding totem
    It is difficult to say but I believe you are trying to do this

    /castsequence [mod:alt] water shield, flametongue weapon; earthbind totem, flametongue totem, healing stream totem, grounding totem

    Don't cut / paste because my spelling is awful and I have likely made an error.



    note: the [nomod:alt] is redundant without another condition
    Priest - Druid - Shaman (80/80/80) Blackrock US

  3. #3
    Rated Arena Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    107

    Default main problem

    You have spaces after the , no macros will work with spaces after the ,

    /cast [modifier:alt] water shield,flametongue weapon; [nomod:alt]
    earthbind totem,flametongue totem,healing stream totem,grounding
    totem

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Calgary, AB and Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    7638
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    /cast .... is used for single spells.
    /castsequence ... is used for multiple spells.

    A macro will function with or without spaces after the comma's, or at least mine do.
    If I use a targeting function in a macro, I personally need a space after the closing bracket or the macro won't run.

    Example: /cast [target=party1target] Fireball
    Example: /castsequence [target=focustarget] Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt, Chain Lightning

  5. #5

    Default RE: What am I doing wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by 'Nicbennett',index.php?page=Thread&postID=159269#p ost159269
    /cast [modifier:alt] water shield, flametongue weapon; [nomod:alt] earthbind totem, flametongue totem, healing stream totem, grounding totem
    you cannot have two different cast sequences go off simply by adding a mod/nomod.

    im guessing you're trying to... if you press alt, watershield then flametongue. if alt is not pressed, earthbind, flametongue totem, healing stream totem, grounding totme.

    what you can probably do, which you'll have to test since im at work, is this:

    /castsequence [mod:alt] water sheild, [mod:ctrl] flametongue weapon, earthbind totem, flametongue totem, etc.

    im a bit rusty on syntax.... sorry if there are typos.

  6. #6

    Default RE: RE: What am I doing wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by 'Riault',index.php?page=Thread&postID=159278#post1 59278
    /castsequence [mod:alt] water shield, flametongue weapon; earthbind totem, flametongue totem, healing stream totem, grounding totem

    Don't cut / paste because my spelling is awful and I have likely made an error.



    note: the [nomod:alt] is redundant without another condition
    I actually had castsequence in my macro, I just mistyped it here. I apologize for not explaining, I thought it was clear what I was trying to do. What I wanted was to have it cast water shield then flametongue weapon when I hold alt and otherwise do my totems. riault had it perfect, thank you very much


    One more question-how would I have it do something else done if I hold shift or ctrl? Such as just casting a grounding totem, which can be vital if I get jumped by a caster.
    Onyxia-alliance.

    2x63 demo warlocks, Robinwood and Glorificus
    5x70 elemental shamans

  7. #7

    Default

    Code:
    /castsequence [mod:alt] water shield, flametongue weapon
    /castsequence [nomod:alt] earthbind totem, flametongue totem, healing stream totem, grounding totem
    That's I think what you're after.

    I'm not entirely sure what people above me are trying to say, all I see are macro's that will never work. :P You need /castsequence and not /cast and you can't use multiple tests in one cast sequence.

    A castsequence is basicly this:

    /castsequence [ test ] reset=x/combat Spell, Spell, Spell

    It's impossible to add a different test to a later spell as the structure wouldn't be logic anymore. In the code bit on top of my post is a macro that will work, you might want to add a reset to it though. But basicly " /castsequence [ test ] reset=x/combat Spell, Spell; [ test ] reset=x/combat Spell, Spell " This isn't a legal way of making a castsequence. Due to the fact that a castsequence has reset flags, you can't have one cast sequence broken into two pieces with only one reset flag. It's not possible. So don't, and just keep them apart like I showed on top of this post. :P
    Slowly crawling back towards the experience that is Multiboxing Mayhem

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'Kaynin',index.php?page=Thread&postID=159461#post1 59461
    Code:
    /castsequence [mod:alt] water shield, flametongue weapon
    /castsequence [nomod:alt] earthbind totem, flametongue totem, healing stream totem, grounding totem
    That's I think what you're after.
    Yes; I believe that is what he is after and it is what I described in:

    /castsequence [mod:alt] earthbind totem, flametongue weapon; earthbind totem, flametongue totem, healing stream totem, grounding totem

    which is identical but more concise.

    The ";" gets lost in there but it allows you to drop the extra /castsequence and [nomod:alt] serves no purpose if [mod:alt] precedes it.

    I tested
    Code:
    /castsequence [target=player,mod:shift] reset=5 renew,flash heal; [target=player] reset=10 greater heal, prayer of mending
    and it works as intended.
    Priest - Druid - Shaman (80/80/80) Blackrock US

  9. #9

    Default RE: RE: RE: What am I doing wrong?

    One more question-how would I have it do something else done if I hold shift or ctrl? Such as just casting a grounding totem, which can be vital if I get jumped by a caster.
    Are you trying to do something like this?

    /castsequence [mod:alt] spell1,spell2, spell3; [mod:shift] grounding totem; otherspell1, otherspell2, otherspell3

    If you think about it, a /cast is simply a /castsequence of length 1 you can keep daisy chaining them together with ";" all you want.
    Priest - Druid - Shaman (80/80/80) Blackrock US

Similar Threads

  1. What did I do wrong?
    By Coltimar in forum New Multi-Boxers & Support
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10-10-2008, 01:03 AM
  2. What Am I Doing Wrong?
    By Hotkeying_nub in forum Software Tools
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 07:38 AM
  3. Doing something wrong...?
    By Zeroxiv1 in forum New Multi-Boxers & Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-26-2008, 06:21 AM
  4. so what am i doing wrong
    By simpletom in forum General WoW Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-29-2008, 09:25 AM
  5. What Am I Doing Wrong?
    By Hotkeying_nub in forum New Multi-Boxers & Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-01-1970, 12:00 AM

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •