Close
Showing results 1 to 9 of 9

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Default Pressing a macro again before the cast is complete cancels the cast

    Hey all, I wonder if anyone has the same issue as mine.

    I use a very simple /castsequence macro for my warlocks. The macro basically askes them to cast Chaos Bolt, then Incinerate four times. Whether or not I add the "reset=" or "target=" modifiers does not solve my problem.

    Okay, the problem is when I press the macro once, the warlocks cast Chaos Bolt. When they complete, I press again and the warlocks cast Incinerate. If I press the macro BEFORE the Incinerate completes, the first Incinerate spell would immediately stop as if I included /stopcasting, and they start doing the second Incinerate (i.e. the third spell in the macro)

    Anyone got some insight into this? I believe this issue was non-existent or at least not so obvious in previous builds of the game. I used to be able to press the macro a little quicker, and you know, a bigger room for manual error. While now, I had to really be sure the casts complete before pressing the buttons again...

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2

    Default

    Is there any problem with my problem? Is it not possible at all, or did I just ask a stupid question?

    Help would be appreciated.

  3. #3

    Default

    Interesting, casting should not be interupted unless you tell it to (i.e. /stopcast, jumping, esc etc). You should be able to spam that macro and just get errors while you are casting.

    Posting the macro would help to diagnose it. I am not an expert at these things but some folks on here are very good at finding macro anomalies.
    Guilds: Spirit of St Louis/Saint Louis
    US- Trollbane/Zuljin Horde and Alliance


  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'moosejaw',index.php?page=Thread&postID=153410#pos t153410
    Interesting, casting should not be interupted unless you tell it to (i.e. /stopcast, jumping, esc etc). You should be able to spam that macro and just get errors while you are casting.

    Posting the macro would help to diagnose it. I am not an expert at these things but some folks on here are very good at finding macro anomalies.
    jepp, try the macro (i.e.):
    /assist MAINXY
    /castsequence reset=5 Chaos Bolt, Incinerate, Incinerate, Incinerate, Incinerate
    Blackhand:
    Team 1: Sealz (73), Exd (72), Lolknight (77) - Just lvling Lolknight atm :/
    Team 2: Dieplx (70), Omgknight ( 68 )

  5. #5

    Default

    The one above me should work. Remember though that if for some reason the sequence cannot move forward it resets. So if your timers is not up yet for the next spell and you spam it, it resets before you want it to.

    Thats why /castrandom is a bit better in some cases.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'Sam DeathWalker',index.php?page=Thread&postID=153489#p ost153489
    Remember though that if for some reason the sequence cannot move forward it resets. So if your timers is not up yet for the next spell and you spam it, it resets before you want it to.
    No it doesn't. The reset=x option in a macro refers to the time it takes for the macro to reset if it is not being pushed, not the time between the point it last executed a command. You can (and I often do) make a syntax error and the castsequence will work up to that point, and then you just stand their spamming a button that doesn't work and won't reset.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Calgary, AB and Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    7638
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    If you have multiple abilities, and do not care the order in which they fire, or even if they fire: A, A, A, B, A, C, D, A, A, A, A, A, A, D etc...
    Then a castrandom is the best.
    You will sometimes get a lot of one ability, but in the long term it will be about an equal number of each ability.
    If an ability cannot fire the random should not pick it. So you could include spells with cooldowns in the macro.

    If you prefer the order it casts, for example warlock wants:
    /castsequence [mod] reset=5 Unstable Affliction, Corruption, Immolation, Curse of Agony, Siphon Life
    /castsequence [nomod] reset =5 Corruption, Curse of Agony, Siphon Life

    Then... use a sequence.
    Both have their uses, depending what you want to accomplish.

  8. #8

    Default

    I had a problem where I would spam arcane missiles on my mage, and it would restart the channeling, spending the mana. I ended up doing this:

    /cast [channeling]; Arcane Missiles

    That means that it just does nothing if I'm currently channeling, so I can now spam the 1 key (which also makes my priest /castrandom Smite, Holy Fire, Mind Blast ) without worrying that I'm restarting my arcane missiles ever femptosecond.

    Maybe using a conditional "fallthrough" like that would work.

    I've never really noticed a problem with regular casting on my /castrandoms... at least for me, if my toon is in the middle of casting, nothing happens.

    I didn't really check your code taht closely - do you have any /target or /follow, or /stopcasting or /startattack stuff in the macro that could be overriding a cast?
    -- Author of MultiTool- a set of tools to make life easier for Multi Boxers and/or people who quest together
    -- Author of FlaskMinder - a lightweight addon to remind you about your food buff and flask/elixirs

    Rexxar Horde:
    Main team: 80 Prot pally, 80 Holy/Disc Priest, 80 Arcane Mage
    Alt team: 80 Combat Rogue, 80 Resto Druid

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'DgtlSorcrs',index.php?page=Thread&postID=153838#p ost153838
    I had a problem where I would spam arcane missiles on my mage, and it would restart the channeling, spending the mana. I ended up doing this:

    /cast [channeling]; Arcane Missiles

    That means that it just does nothing if I'm currently channeling, so I can now spam the 1 key (which also makes my priest /castrandom Smite, Holy Fire, Mind Blast ) without worrying that I'm restarting my arcane missiles ever femptosecond.

    Maybe using a conditional "fallthrough" like that would work.

    I've never really noticed a problem with regular casting on my /castrandoms... at least for me, if my toon is in the middle of casting, nothing happens.

    I didn't really check your code taht closely - do you have any /target or /follow, or /stopcasting or /startattack stuff in the macro that could be overriding a cast?
    I want to add to that channeling conditional. You can tell it a spell name also like [channeling: Drain Life] . I use this on my solo lock and have 3 keys for drain life, mana and soul. So if I double strike any key it won't stop that channel. But if I am doing drain life and want drain soul it will interupt and start drain soul. Channeling is great when used like this.
    Guilds: Spirit of St Louis/Saint Louis
    US- Trollbane/Zuljin Horde and Alliance


Similar Threads

  1. How to Cast Frostbolt over and over again with one macro?
    By PerzianPenguin in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-25-2009, 06:49 PM
  2. nomodifier = cast on target modifier = assist cast?
    By Exblah in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-10-2008, 08:29 AM
  3. Macro to cast only when modifier is pressed???
    By dualness in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-09-2008, 04:50 AM
  4. warlock cast sequence macro?
    By evildave in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-26-2008, 02:12 AM
  5. cast sequence macro with different targets?
    By opt in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-13-2008, 06:25 PM

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •