Close
Showing results 1 to 10 of 10

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Default lightning and chainlightning macro

    Im sorry if this has been asked but the search function is giving me probs and i cant find what im looking for.


    I would like to make a macro that casts lightning and chain lightning whenever its not on cooldown. Is this possible. Any help is greatly apreciated
    US PvE : Dawnbringer <Gnomercy>


    5 Boxing; Paladin - Marhaus, Shaman x 4 - Lorras, Serikana, Terianna, Ermok

    Plaguedone - Death Knight LVL80

    1.....10.....20.....30.....40....50.....60.....70.....80

  2. #2

    Default

    I basically use a mod macro key, that i watch the cooldown time of the chain lightning, im sure you can set a castsequence to reset after a certain time of cool down, that basically does chain lightning first then noting but lightning bolts until the reset time/combat.
    Meeo/Nibilus

  3. #3

    Default

    Would

    Code:
    /castsequence reset=6 Chain Lightning, Lightning Bolt
    Do it?
    "My dogs could roll heroics with how a lot of you play."
    - Fursphere 2010




  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'Coltimar',index.php?page=Thread&postID=149125#pos t149125
    Would

    Code:
    /castsequence reset=6 Chain Lightning, Lightning Bolt
    Do it?
    You can't use castsequence reset to manage cooldowns per se. The timer resets on each press of the button. For the sequence to reset, 6 seconds _without pressing the macro button_ would have to elapse - i.e. non-casting. The macro as written above would correctly cast Chain Lightning at the start of each combat session, but would fail during combat on trying to cast Chain Lightning before the cooldown is up. However, depending on your talent build (maxed Storm, Earth, and Fire taking the cooldown to 3.5 sec), you should be able to do a macro like:


    Code:
    /castsequence reset=6 Chain Lightning, Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt
    (with normal 6 second cooldown)

    Code:
    /castsequence reset=3.5 Chain Lightning, Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt
    (maxed Storm, Earth, and Fire)

    In combat, the castsequence will wrap back to the front spell after it cycles through. The reset clause is just in there so that Chain Lightning becomes the opening spell again if you don't use the macro for a while.
    Current team: Shnoght (DK) + 4 elemental shamans (Shalph, Sheta, Shamma, Shepsilon)
    Heroics cleared: Drak'Tharon, VH, CoS, UK, Gundrak, HoL, Nexus

    Waiting in the wings at 80: Shaladin (pally), Shmage (mage), Shruud/Shrued (boomkins), Shelta (leftover shaman)

    <Chain Lightning>, Alliance Bonechewer

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'Fursphere',index.php?page=Thread&postID=149154#po st149154
    Not perfect, but immune to haste rating changes... (like poping heroism)

    /castrandom lightning bolt, chain lighting

    How many castrandom macros do people generally use? And do they really work with overall dps? in other terms is it better to have more control over what your casting or just to random a string.
    Meeo/Nibilus

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Calgary, AB and Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    7638
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    The reset in a castsequence macro starts with the first press of the macro sequence.
    Not the most recent press.

    It's very easy to test this...

    /castsequence reset=5 Spell 1, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Etc..
    Spell 1 will regularly come up every 5 seconds.

    If you really want to know about castsequences, check out http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/th...81820910&sid=1 .... the 5th reply is the start of the castsequence stuff.

  7. #7

    Default

    I agree I do not like to over manage my spells and moves. I use a few castrandom macro's that I spam like crazy. The less thinking the better. At the same time modifiers come in handy when I want a more delicate touch.

  8. #8

    Default

    The reset in a castsequence macro starts with the first press of the macro sequence.
    Not the most recent press.

    It's very easy to test this...

    /castsequence reset=5 Spell 1, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Spell 2, Etc..
    Spell 1 will regularly come up every 5 seconds.
    sorry, this is wrong, the 5 seconds are count from the last activation of the macro, as also statet in the Thread you mentioned:
    reset=n/target/combat/shift/alt/ctrl

    Where n is a number of seconds. You can specify any number of these conditions separated by slashes as shown. Seconds are used as a timeout for the command. Each time the sequence runs, it resets the timer. If you don't use the macro within the number of seconds specified, the sequence will start over. This is a very important distinction because it means you cannot use a reset timer to account for cooldown. target resets the sequence when you change targets; combat when you leave combat; shift, alt, and ctrl when you activate the macro with one of those keys depressed.
    OLIPCS - ordinary life is pretty complex stuff
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Pala, Priest, Druid, Hunter, Mage
    Focusless Targetless Leaderless - Wiki
    HotKeyNet - Guide

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Calgary, AB and Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    7638
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I must have read that wrong. I stand corrected.




    I don't really use castrandom all that much, except on my Paladin for Aoe... Holy Shield / Consecrate.
    On that particular team I have Druid Healer, Paladin Tank, Mage/Warlock/S.Priest DPS.
    DPS is divided into two buttons, first is opener which is debuffs/dot type effects.
    Second is spammable dps stuff.

    Tougher things have the first button pressed a bunch and then the second chain clicked.
    Weaker things just the second because they're dead before dots tick a lot.

    My other teams so far are 5x one class.
    Pretty easy to manage that, without the need for castsequence or castrandom stuff.

  10. #10

    Default

    It seems that /castrandom is generally taking precedence over /castsequence because it logically chooses abilities which are not on cool down (or so I believe). Now that haste has become such a standard part of the game, and there are so many proc abilities/cooldowns, /castsequence is becoming increasingly difficult to use effectively. This weekend (don't get to play much if at all during the week) I'm going to try swapping over to /castrandom because I'm tired of my toons dropping out of DPS during a fight until I notice them and then hold up for a second. I swear on my mage she's just stood there for 10 seconds while I'm spamming the big-bang button because haste/procs put her out of sequence and she was standing there waiting for a cooldown.
    ~Elo of BlackHand (Alliance)
    (TBC Team) 1xPally, 4xShaman -> Elothyn(70), Eloshama(70), Eloshamb(70), Eloshamc(70), Eloshamd(70)
    (Wrath Team) 1xPally, 2x Shaman, 1xMage, 1xDruid -> Elothyn(74), Eloshama(74), Eloshamc(73), Elozaen(73), Elothune(73)
    (Alts) 1xPriest, 1xWarlock, 1xWarrior -> Elothin(70), Elozen(70), Elothan(70)

Similar Threads

  1. Serious issue with my lightning macro on ONLY my main
    By Hachoo in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-09-2008, 05:00 AM
  2. chain lightning earthshock macro?
    By Breki in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2008, 09:46 AM
  3. Lightning Bolt Spam Macro
    By Crucial in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-27-2008, 07:20 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-27-2008, 11:35 AM
  5. Lightning Shield Macro + Keyclone rotations?
    By TheKaramel in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-15-2008, 09:39 PM

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •