Close
Showing results 1 to 10 of 10

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Default Serious issue with my lightning macro on ONLY my main

    Ok sometime since 3.0.2 I've noticed my Lightning Macro is totally broken on my main shaman (and ONLY my main shaman). First, here is the macro:

    #showtooltip
    /cast [mod:ctrl,target=focustarget,exists][mod:ctrl] Chain Lightning
    /cast [nomod,target=focustarget,exists][nomod] Lightning Bolt

    Now, first let me preface this by saying it works on ALL of my other shamans. The actual issue isn't that it doesn't work at all, its that if I switch mods mid cast it FAILS the spell! WTF?

    Ok, so if I hit "2" (2 is the key the macro is bound to), all 5 shamans start casting LB at my main's target. Now, if I immediately start hitting "Ctrl+2" (to start casting chain lightning at the same target as soon as the LB goes off), it immediately FAILS the lightning bolt my main is casting. The other 4 shamans all keep casting the LB, then when they finish the LB all 5 shamans start casting CL. Now in the middle of that CL cast, if I start spamming "2" again, it FAILS the CL my main is casting (but all 4 clones keep casting CL just fine) and then when the CL goes off, all 5 shamans start casting LB.

    This is f'ed up. It only started recently but I can't say when. I can duplicate the behavior EVERY time. If I keep spamming the SAME key it doesn't happen (ie: if I spam ctrl+2 and all 5 shamans start casting CL, I can keep spamming ctrl+2 and my main keeps casting just fine, its ONLY if I switch to the button for the OTHER lightning spell that it fails my main's cast).

    I've tried rebinding 2 and ctrl+2 just in case they were set somewhere else, and also I've checked interface options to see if i had some sort of auto cancel set up - nothing!

    Any ideas on this? It seems like it would be seriously dropping my DPS and causing aggro issues.
    <Multiplicity>
    Blood Elf Death Knight, 4 Orc Shaman - Burning Legion Horde US (PvP)
    Ellianaa - Haachoo - Hachu - Hachuu - Hahchoo

    Heroics down: Gundrak, Drak'Tharon, Utgarde Keep, Utgarde Pinnacle, Culling of Stratholme, Halls of Lightning, Ahn'Kahet, Violet Hold, Nexus, Azjol-Nerub, Halls of Stone

  2. #2

    Default

    Personally i suggest just using two buttons for those spells since they are so frequently used and changed between.

    But i think the problem is that when you change the mod mid cast, it then checks for the exists thing, which comes out false for your main since he has no focustarget.
    This may cause it to think "oh no, i shouldn't be casting right now" or something.
    I'm going to live forever, or die trying.
    5 Shaman Northrend Heroics - My YouTube Channel - Details about my setup (outdated)
    T2 Heroics: lvl 80 Heroics wearing lvl 60 armour
    Running 5-6 accounts on one computer, currently playing Horde on US-Skywall.
    My main teams:
    5x Shamans lvl 85
    5-class team lvl 100: Paladin, Druid, Shaman, Mage, Priest

  3. #3

    Default

    Well I also tried using this macro on my main instead:

    #showtooltip

    /cast [mod:ctrl] Chain Lightning
    /cast [nomod] Lightning Bolt


    Does the same thing, even without any focustarget mumbo jumbo Didn't happen pre 3.0, though I'm not sure if it started BECAUSE of 3.0 or sometime after... Again, only happens on my main shaman
    <Multiplicity>
    Blood Elf Death Knight, 4 Orc Shaman - Burning Legion Horde US (PvP)
    Ellianaa - Haachoo - Hachu - Hachuu - Hahchoo

    Heroics down: Gundrak, Drak'Tharon, Utgarde Keep, Utgarde Pinnacle, Culling of Stratholme, Halls of Lightning, Ahn'Kahet, Violet Hold, Nexus, Azjol-Nerub, Halls of Stone

  4. #4

    Default

    this is really odd, there is no excuse from the macro itself for this to be happening. I would try looking at other sources. Check your bindings for something bound as <CTRL>2, or better yet. change your bind key to... x and test it there. if it works fine as x you probably have a binding somewhere you are unaware of. Be it in the bind window or another mod.

  5. #5

    Default

    are one of those spells channeled?

    try combining the macro:
    #showtooltip
    /cast [mod:ctrl,target=focustarget,exists][mod:ctrl] Chain Lightning; [nomod,target=focustarget,exists][nomod] Lightning Bolt

  6. #6

    Default

    I recommend you drop the "nomod" from your macro. It isn't needed and maybe causing the problem. New macro:

    #showtooltip
    /cast [mod:ctrl,target=focustarget,exists] Chain Lightning; [mod:ctrl] Chain Lightning; [target=focustarget,exists]Lightning Bolt; Lightning Bolt

    The extra CL and LB I added are redundant but shouldn't hurt. In your setup, does even the main have a focus target? I use a focusless setup so I don't remember how it works when you use a focus system.

  7. #7

    Default

    its has a casting time if yeh switch to fast from 2 to ctrl 2 it'll try casting the other spell which cancels the first one and since global coolddown still in affect yeh cant cast the second one

    that about the only thing I could figure

    try /castrandom Chain Lightning,Lightning Bolt
    just spam it

  8. #8

    Default

    /cast [mod:ctrl] Chain Lightning; [] Lightning Bolt

  9. #9

    Default

    Ok guys I figured out what the problem was (and it was really stupid - I really feel quite retarded right now).

    My main account uses X-Perl, and when I was casting one spell, then spam casting a different one, the cast bar on my main character's frame would say "FAILED!" in red. I found out the spell is actually still casting (spread my characters out and tested). In X-Perl pre-3.0 it didn't do this, it would just keep showing your existing casting bar without putting the FAILED message up, not sure why this changed - hopefully its just a config option I can change.
    <Multiplicity>
    Blood Elf Death Knight, 4 Orc Shaman - Burning Legion Horde US (PvP)
    Ellianaa - Haachoo - Hachu - Hachuu - Hahchoo

    Heroics down: Gundrak, Drak'Tharon, Utgarde Keep, Utgarde Pinnacle, Culling of Stratholme, Halls of Lightning, Ahn'Kahet, Violet Hold, Nexus, Azjol-Nerub, Halls of Stone

  10. #10
    Member Tdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    In 5 places at once...
    Posts
    1029

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'Hachoo',index.php?page=Thread&postID=144914#post1 44914
    Ok guys I figured out what the problem was (and it was really stupid - I really feel quite retarded right now).

    My main account uses X-Perl, and when I was casting one spell, then spam casting a different one, the cast bar on my main character's frame would say "FAILED!" in red. I found out the spell is actually still casting (spread my characters out and tested). In X-Perl pre-3.0 it didn't do this, it would just keep showing your existing casting bar without putting the FAILED message up, not sure why this changed - hopefully its just a config option I can change.
    LOL I actually did the same thing at first. I was like WTF??? why did my spell fail? But then I also have a HUD so I could see that my main was still infact casting. I was scrathing my head though at why your macro wasn't working as it all seemed to be in order LOL

Similar Threads

  1. lightning and chainlightning macro
    By Kissell13 in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-18-2008, 10:31 AM
  2. chain lightning earthshock macro?
    By Breki in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2008, 09:46 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2008, 10:53 AM
  4. Lightning Bolt Spam Macro
    By Crucial in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-27-2008, 07:20 PM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-27-2008, 11:35 AM

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •