Close
Showing results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Default is /focus working differently in 3.0.1?

    Hey all, I just logged on after today's patch and found that my focus macros are not working properly. Is it just me? I haven't seen anyone else mention it and hope it's just some weird variable with my setup that can be fixed. I put a few characters from different teams on each of my focus-and-follow macros, e.g. my F1 key:

    Code:
    /run UIErrorsFrame:Hide(); 
    /cleartarget
    /focus Osaar
    /focus Malekyth
    /follow Osaar
    /follow Malekyth
    /run UIErrorsFrame:Clear(); 
    /run UIErrorsFrame:Show();
    This should focus and follow Osaar or Malekyth, depending which is online. This patch, I get the follow as expected, but focus only works for the character at the end of the list ... i.e. Malekyth can be focused, but Osaar cannot. I haven't tested much further than just enough to become frustrated, but it seems it clears focus when I tries to focus a nonexistent toon too (and doesn't use the [exists] option to keep it from doing so).

    Anyone else? It'd suck to have to make a unique focus-follow macro for every character on every account. Not the end of the world, but macro space is limited.
    MY MINIONS on Lightbringer US: Osaar (80 BE Paladin) - Esaar, Isaar, and Usaar (80 BE Warlocks) - Harmsworth (80 UD Priest)

  2. #2

    Default RE: is /focus working differently in 3.0.1?

    No need to make unique macros
    In fact, the macro's used to change focus are the same on all my accounts/characters.
    It can become a huge macro this way, Macaroon ftw \o/

    Code:
    /run UIErrorsFrame:Hide(); 
    /cleartarget
    /focus [exists]Osaar;[exists]Malekyth
    /follow focus
    /run UIErrorsFrame:Clear(); 
    /run UIErrorsFrame:Show();
    Is what will fix your problem probably, i'm not sure if it was exist or exists, my highest bid is on the latter.
    Mine kept messing up untill I used the exists even pre patch.

    I'm not sure why you had the follow with names tho, you just set the focus so why not just follow that
    Real-Life is overrated,
    in the end we all die and our family will be like "can i haef your stuff"

    Singleboxing WoW
    2box Eve: Umpha & Lumpha

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    173

    Default

    Yes, I experience the same .. If you have a focus target, and you try to focus someone, not in range or online .. You'll lose your focus target.

    Before patch, you'd not lose your current focus target. WEIRDO!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    173

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 'aNiMaL',index.php?page=Thread&postID=144031#post1 44031
    Is what will fix your problem probably, i'm not sure if it was exist or exists, my highest bid is on the latter.
    exist

  5. #5

    Default RE: RE: is /focus working differently in 3.0.1?

    I'm not sure why you had the follow with names tho, you just set the focus so why not just follow that
    hehe, good catch ... no reason, it's just one'a them sloppy scripting things you don't notice 'til someone points it out on a messageboard.

    I tried [exists] (and [exist] ) last night and concluded that /focus doesn't respect options ... but I did it differently, a /focus [exists] for each character on its own line, and expect that was what failed it. I'll update my macros tonight.

    Thanks guys!
    MY MINIONS on Lightbringer US: Osaar (80 BE Paladin) - Esaar, Isaar, and Usaar (80 BE Warlocks) - Harmsworth (80 UD Priest)

  6. #6

    Default

    I found this out too. [exists] works off target afaik, don't think it'll work (try it out and let me know). I changed to something like this:

    /cleartarget
    /targetexact ziggy
    /targetexact jiggy
    /targetexact biggy
    /focus [exists]
    /cleartarget

    It will remove your current target (you can use /targetlastenemy or /targetlasttarget at end if you want), probably some ways to improve it but it works for me I had just switched to Jamba too so I was beating my head trying to figure out what was going on, lol!

Similar Threads

  1. Focus Macros not working 100% for me
    By AlienChild in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-30-2009, 03:56 AM
  2. Focus with Hex working yet?
    By Gares in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-06-2009, 09:58 PM
  3. Are people just doing this differently?
    By gitcho in forum Software Tools
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-26-2008, 12:02 AM
  4. Focus follows mouse not working ?
    By Moorea in forum Software Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-27-2008, 01:35 PM
  5. Focus Macro Not Working as Expected
    By Boylston in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-26-2008, 06:43 PM

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •