PDA

View Full Version : /bg chat filter...



Anjuna
07-25-2008, 11:30 PM
There is a really sweet (but unfinished) addon called Duct Tape. It scans BG chat for keywords that you (are supposed to be able to ) specify and filters out the rest of the crap. Right now the issue is that the slash commands for adding keywords to the filter does not work for any other BG than WSG.

The author created the addon and then stopped playing wow... on top of that he said that no one can copy or duplicate the addon... but he doesn't say it can't be fixed to actually work. I suppose it would not hurt to ask if anyone here is interested in checking this out and seeing why it does not work? You could save me some 3 hour bans!

Anyway, here is the link.

http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info9052-DuctTape.html#info

HPB
07-26-2008, 07:08 AM
I know this isn't what you're asking, but I'll throw this in there. I don't use BG chat anymore. I have another tab for whispers and guild chat messages. This way I can see what's important. Just by looking at the BG map and the score, I can make a more intelligent decision as to what I should be doing to help the team out than the random advice being given on BG chat. Every BG there's someone who thinks of himself as a '4 Star General' and thinks everyone should follow his strategy, which is completely different than the last general's strategy. Lots of bickering and fighting on BG chat as well. I just go and do my own thing and forget about bg chat.

Anjuna
07-26-2008, 02:54 PM
My 1st option was to turn off /bg, but i decided to give this mod a chance.... and it works well. TOO WELL.

There has to be someone who can tweak the /add "keyword" commands and make it so you can add keywords to the other 3 battlegrounds (again. it will only add keywords to wsg)

Drakkun
07-28-2008, 07:29 PM
Just scanning the code while in a meeting at work (lol?), it looks like the following code can be copied and modified to add the other BGs.



if (b == "wsg") then
DT_AddWord(DT_WARSONG,c);
end


I would think AB would be added like this:



elseif (b == "ab") then
DT_AddWord(DT_BASIN,c);
end


So to make the entire thing work I would replace



elseif (a == "add") then
if (b == "wsg") then
DT_AddWord(DT_WARSONG,c);
end
elseif (a == "remove") then
if (b == "wsg") then
DT_RemoveWord(DT_WARSONG, c);
end


with



elseif (a == "add") then
if (b == "wsg") then
DT_AddWord(DT_WARSONG,c);
elseif (b == "ab") then
DT_AddWord(DT_BASIN,c);
elseif (b == "av") then
DT_AddWord(DT_VALLEY,c);
elseif (b == "eots") then
DT_AddWord(DT_EOTS,c);
end
elseif (a == "remove") then
if (b == "wsg") then
DT_RemoveWord(DT_WARSONG, c);
elseif (b == "ab") then
DT_RemoveWord(DT_BASIN, c);
elseif (b == "av") then
DT_RemoveWord(DT_VALLEY, c);
elseif (b == "eots") then
DT_RemoveWord(DT_EOTS, c);
end



**** Disclaimer: This is all hypothetical and not tested at all. Please use at your own risk. :D

Anjuna
07-28-2008, 08:03 PM
Amazing! works great!




Up for another one?? (similar mod for trade chat) =P

Drakkun
07-29-2008, 04:21 PM
If I get a free evening in the next couple weeks I will try and scrub something out.

Anjuna
07-29-2008, 06:57 PM
If I get a free evening in the next couple weeks I will try and scrub something out.Oh dude... no worries.

Sent ya a PM with the link / etc! in case you get the time to look at it. ^^