View Full Version : New broadcasting software - taking ideas!
skarlot
07-23-2008, 09:37 AM
I have a new KM to go with this, but that is pretty much said n done I should think.
My design here is something new. I plan on presenting it as a flow chart. It will work P2P or enslave one copy to another.
So you will have different types of interconnectable modules, such as
- Sources (local, network)
- Lists (black go one way, white go the other)
- Conditions (like is foreground, keydown, etc)
- Remapping
- Injectors
- Round robins
- Instances
- Eventually triggers that do this or that.
This is just an idea really, I expect it will run suitably fast in managed code, cos damned if I'm doing it in C++ :P.
The point is, it will be totally customizable, probably to the point of recursive looping, and self debugable (so people get off my back!!).
Don't expect it to be free ok! But it is a good time for input, since once these things start to be coded, it can be a lot more tedious to change stuff, and things tend to skew and blow out like Octopus!
Really this should work out extensible (thats the idea) - but I'm putting it out there. I plan to properly support X-keys and G15 too.
BobGnarly
07-23-2008, 04:36 PM
Let me see if I understand correctly.
You're going to develop software that will compete with keyclone (among others I suppose), but has these exciting properties:
Your software will be in whatever managed language you prefer because you can't be bothered with writing it in C++. From the start you are planning for the code to be, at some point, resistant to change, so we better get any requests we want in now before its inevitable crash and burn. Once you've done your part, we all need to "get off [your] back" and support it ourselves. And lastly, don't even imagine that it will be free, after all these glorious perks!Can I order in advance?
skarlot
07-23-2008, 10:50 PM
While you've warped what I've said a bit, the point is, from the point of view from software design, earlier is better, which is the reason I posted.
In fact you've just twisted it totally, your not the kind of person this would be for anyway, jerk.
skarlot
07-23-2008, 11:28 PM
Put it this way, I plan to use it to 10 box. Although I'm wondering if this is all a mistake now - everytime you mention money, some shit happens. I'm hardly likely to compromise speed. It's a personal interest not a commercial venture foremost. My goal is not to compete, I would tihnk that was obvious from my tone. I don't sugar coat and all that shit that comes with that. Managed code is much more productive and if the benefit is for me, then the benefit is for the user too. I have no idea where this BobGnarly drew that I was writing it to be resistant to change, when I said totally the opposite. I said nothing about what people need or need not do - anyone who has a fucking brain will see that self debugable is a good thing. I did not imply I wasn't going to support it!! Hell, I've supported Octopus for free for 6 months+( to some extent ). Does that clarify??? Sorry, I do take some stuff for granted - but he has indeed construed things that aren't there, and imagined things and invented reasons never mentioned.
Im not sure what is happening in this thread. Skarlet has brought alot of MB happyness with Octopus. He is going to rewrite it for his own usage into a new product, probably even better than octopus already is. And if all goes well he feels he might be able to charge a little money for it (what hopefully gives good support like keyclone is bringing to the MB table).
I did not read the OP like you guys did, and I don't think there is a reason to interpret it the way it has been done now. Im looking at it from a programmers view so I'm not that appaled by
and self debugable (so people get off my back!!).
But it probably could have used some better formulating ; )
Anihoe, Im a big fan of Skarlot's work so far and hope he is comming through with the new piece of software : )
krumbley
07-24-2008, 06:35 AM
Can I suggest the following -:
Provide a decent means of trialing the software without paying
Either provide a discount for multiiple licenses or make it a multiple usage license in the first place (ie do not penalise peolple who use more than 1 PC)
If the license is locked to hardware, then provide an automated method for switching licenses.
skarlot
07-24-2008, 06:43 AM
Yes If I am inclined to charge - there will have to be a trial version and It won't be more for extra PC's, nor will it be runtime activation. In fact I don't even like the idea of OS/machine based activation, but I dont wanna think about this now, wanna see if it's gonna work out first :)
DualTholo
07-24-2008, 08:26 AM
mhh i have an idea for your new software
my second PC is far away, of course you can integrate a screenshot or monitor stream so that i can handle the other toon from far away or so
Do you know what i mean?
Knapenburger
07-24-2008, 09:01 AM
mhh i have an idea for your new software
my second PC is far away, of course you can integrate a screenshot or monitor stream so that i can handle the other toon from far away or so
Do you know what i mean?You mean far away on a friends account in his house?
If you have them on follow them I suggest you zoom out more.
Freddie
07-24-2008, 11:04 AM
my second PC is far away, of course you can integrate a screenshot or monitor stream so that i can handle the other toon from far away or so
I've been asked for this feature about a half dozen times, so you're not the only one who wants it.
Freddie
07-24-2008, 11:18 AM
I think current hardware is fast enough for it to be useful for certain purposes -- certainly for slow things like checking stats, moving inventory, etc. The window could be small and the frame rate slow to suit whatever the hardware can handle. And hardware is getting faster all the time, so this feature will become more and more useful. As for sending commands, if this is written carefully, I don't think that would be affected.
Edit: I should add that the first guy who asked me for this wanted it because his two PCs were in different rooms of his house but on the same local network. We're not necessarily talking about Internet latencies.
skarlot
07-24-2008, 11:28 AM
It's doable from a directX hook for sure, that would be how fraps and so on do it. I thought about writing a video recorder to stream from all windows into one AVI but never got around to it. This is out side the scope of this project, at least for now.
Here's a feature request:
Round Robin groups - e.g. Playing a mixed group I may have a pally on instance 1, mages on instances 2 and 3 and a loc and priest on 4 and 5 so I want 3 round robin groups, one group with 2 and 3 in it and mebbe F9 and F10 to be round robined for ice block and sheep (but passed normally to other instances), and one group with 4 and 5 with their own keys assisgned for Fears for instance, and a third group for 1 and 5...
Ghallo
07-24-2008, 05:28 PM
Most of the features you mentioned are ones I would want.
Per clone white/black list. (I'd just set this up to have the clones receive based on these lists rather than the master broadcasting based on these lists).
Per clone "send only", which can be swapped with a keybind (so the "main" is send only).
All configuration features as part of profiles so I can setup everything a different way for each of my teams.
Ability to copy profiles, both as a "new template" and from one PC to another.
TEST MODE. Once all the white/black lists are setup, I'd like a simple way to play around and test what commands are making it to what clients, and to see what my Maximizer setup will look like. Doesn't need to be pretty - just needs to get the job done.
If possible (thinking big here) - have mappings to foreign keys so I can really get crazy with keybindings.
I'll think of more later. I really like Octopus - it does just about everything I need - so a beefier version of that would make me happy as a clam.
Fleecy
07-24-2008, 09:17 PM
Per clone white/black list. (I'd just set this up to have the clones receive based on these lists rather than the master broadcasting based on these lists).
Per clone "send only", which can be swapped with a keybind (so the "main" is send only).
Ability to copy profiles, both as a "new template" and from one PC to another.
TEST MODE. Once all the white/black lists are setup, I'd like a simple way to play around and test what commands are making it to what clients, and to see what my Maximizer setup will look like. Doesn't need to be pretty - just needs to get the job done.
A per clone white/black list is a feature I'd love too. Especially for mixed class groups. I have my mixed class key binds a such:
Mage = Ctrl+Shift+ <key>
Priest = Alt+Shift+ <key>
Hunter = Shift+ <key>
etc....
I have all my key bindings set on the white list (obviously) but when keys are pressed eg... Ctrl+Shift+B, which causes the mage to cast FireBall, it also causes the Priest to toggle bags, or maybe the Warlock to cast some other spell that might be bound to Ctrl+B. To get around this I just bind the "problem" key to a blank toolbar button. All the clients still recieve the key binding but its simply ignored becaue of the blank button. But... if it was simply ignored/dropped by Octopus version 2 (for lack of better name) that would be awsome!
Freddie
07-24-2008, 11:27 PM
Let's think positive. Internet. . . by satellite! :)
skarlot
07-25-2008, 06:34 AM
Here's a feature request:
Round Robin groups - e.g. Playing a mixed group I may have a pally on instance 1, mages on instances 2 and 3 and a loc and priest on 4 and 5 so I want 3 round robin groups, one group with 2 and 3 in it and mebbe F9 and F10 to be round robined for ice block and sheep (but passed normally to other instances), and one group with 4 and 5 with their own keys assisgned for Fears for instance, and a third group for 1 and 5...This is something on the list.
Most of the features you mentioned are ones I would want.
Per clone white/black list. (I'd just set this up to have the clones receive based on these lists rather than the master broadcasting based on these lists).
Per clone "send only", which can be swapped with a keybind (so the "main" is send only).
All configuration features as part of profiles so I can setup everything a different way for each of my teams.
Ability to copy profiles, both as a "new template" and from one PC to another.
TEST MODE. Once all the white/black lists are setup, I'd like a simple way to play around and test what commands are making it to what clients, and to see what my Maximizer setup will look like. Doesn't need to be pretty - just needs to get the job done.
If possible (thinking big here) - have mappings to foreign keys so I can really get crazy with keybindings.
I'll think of more later. I really like Octopus - it does just about everything I need - so a beefier version of that would make me happy as a clam.lol, templates for profiles as well :P I'll have to see. Currently I see the system rendering key combo's down various 'modules' (not finalised the terminology yet heh). By foreign key I see it as, sends the key to another PC, which then maps it. My current thinking allows for this. The actual time to get this done is probably like, 2months, if all goes well, and within a week probably how it's like latency wise - whether I need a full C++ layer as well, probably not. Although, the KM I did is in C++ so it's as fast as possible.
DualTholo
07-25-2008, 06:34 AM
Mhh
Do you think i am Acc Sharing?!?!? No way!
I have 3 PC´s in my House, all in 1 Room but 2 PC are on the table from my Girlfriend an my table is to small for this.
But i think its right when you say RemoteWoW .
The Pc´s are in the same LAN.
i damed my english by the way...
Some of my suggestions have been voiced already, and I know I'll think of some more soon.
I just want to backup skarlot here since I am a programmer by trade as well, and this is the BEST time to make suggestions or what you'd like to see. Things you can add/do in the design phase is the best way to see it to fruition. When you develop software, you have to come up with a design first, because adding anything to it later on can be a hassle. Feature creep, code rewrite, etc. :p A scope of work is what he;s looking for, because some features will define how he's going to write this.
DualTholo
08-10-2008, 09:08 AM
I have e new Idea for this programm
An changeable Taskicon
So that you see in this icon if the Software broadcast or do nothing
skarlot
08-14-2008, 08:19 AM
l I have been coding away for a few weeks now (no I don't have a job, I'm juggling a few different projects at home) and I'm making progress, mainly with the GUI. I'm keeping the functionality in managed C++ while building the GUI in WPF/C#. Although WPF isn't possible in C++, at least deriving from DependencyObject is, so the whole thing can be built around the WPF property model, and I don't need to mess around with C# Interop.
This is quickly turning into a framework of sorts. It will not have any in built game specifics, so you might have an "Instance" class but a "WoWInstance" might add config.wtf options but another game might require some different tweaks. Then everything WoW can be hidden. It is very much suitable for addon modules, which is where I want to go with it - so any kind of control can be hosted. How it's all going to work, I don't know, but I'll get it goin. Suggestions always welcome!
l I have been coding away for a few weeks now (no I don't have a job, I'm juggling a few different projects at home) and I'm making progress, mainly with the GUI. I'm keeping the functionality in managed C++ while building the GUI in WPF/C#. Although WPF isn't possible in C++, at least deriving from DependencyObject is, so the whole thing can be built around the WPF property model, and I don't need to mess around with C# Interop.
This is quickly turning into a framework of sorts. It will not have any in built game specifics, so you might have an "Instance" class but a "WoWInstance" might add config.wtf options but another game might require some different tweaks. Then everything WoW can be hidden. It is very much suitable for addon modules, which is where I want to go with it - so any kind of control can be hosted. How it's all going to work, I don't know, but I'll get it goin. Suggestions always welcome!
If you need someone to alphatest your new software let me know. Im really interested in seeing what you have come up with, and to help you improve it.
triCalcifer
09-02-2008, 09:28 AM
my suggestion :
[Keyclone] .::Request::.Mouse click solution 101 ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=12768')
hehe, i guees it would be cool to see some new sotware on the block, and id definatly
support it. and i dont get the flame here guys, i mean i dont wanna pay 1000$ for a new
crappy full of bugs Adobe license, so i find alternatives to mega coorperations!
but a solo-programmer who works for a community derserves to get paid and paid
good. if a guy wants money or other benifits for a product he created, its his
choice in the end. If you dont wanna buy it, dont.
sory for the flame, no harm intendend. :)
Calcifer
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.