Log in

View Full Version : Running + Dotting?



Yagamoth
06-30-2008, 07:36 AM
Since I'm not too much experienced in building macros, I'd like to know whether something like this is possible after all.

My idea would be:

cast dot on my mains target
follow main again

The goal would be to quickly follow my main again after dotting.

Or don't they even stop following when I cast instants?

further question: would that work for a cast (e.g. shadowbolt) aswell?

Kyara
06-30-2008, 07:51 AM
When casting DOT's, your follow isn't broken. Same goes for frostbolts / fireballs (non channeling casts).

I do have an issue in which my follow breaks after casting arcane missiles and would like the follow to restart after the cast of AM.

Macro now looks like:
#showtooltip Fireball
/assist [target=MAIN, noharm, nodead]
/cast Arcane Missiles
/follow MAIN

But the follow is cast halfway the channeling instead of waiting for it to finish. Is there anyway to delay it?

Yagamoth
06-30-2008, 08:08 AM
Thanks for the information.

I've got another question... Can something like that exist?

Sequence:
Warlock Pet 1 attack,, - case, target NOT in target of Warlock Pet 2 or 3
Warlock Pet 2 ,attack, - case, target NOT in target of Warlock Pet 1 or 3
Warlock Pet 3 ,,attack - case target NOT attacked by Warlock Pet 2 or 1

I'm planning on getting 2 Shadow Priests and 3 Warlocks in my team.

Ken
06-30-2008, 09:12 AM
When casting DOT's, your follow isn't broken. Same goes for frostbolts / fireballs (non channeling casts).

I do have an issue in which my follow breaks after casting arcane missiles and would like the follow to restart after the cast of AM.

Macro now looks like:
#showtooltip Fireball
/assist [target=MAIN, noharm, nodead]
/cast Arcane Missiles
/follow MAIN

But the follow is cast halfway the channeling instead of waiting for it to finish. Is there anyway to delay it?Delays are not possible in WoW and also illegal, because it is a form of automation.

A suggested change for the macro is:
/assist [target=MAIN, exists, noharm, nodead]

This way the macro doesn't give an error when you solo-play with this character.


Thanks for the information.

I've got another question... Can something like that exist?

Sequence:
Warlock Pet 1 attack,, - case, target NOT in target of Warlock Pet 2 or 3
Warlock Pet 2 ,attack, - case, target NOT in target of Warlock Pet 1 or 3
Warlock Pet 3 ,,attack - case target NOT attacked by Warlock Pet 2 or 1

I'm planning on getting 2 Shadow Priests and 3 Warlocks in my team.
The problem is that in the case that something goes wrong, your cast sequence is borked and it will probably be impossible to sync it again until the reset.

I have my 3 warlocks set up so:
- 1 button press makes the pets run to the same target
- 3 different other buttons that send each pet to the main target separately. This way you control the pets separately.

Yagamoth
06-30-2008, 09:49 AM
But it is possible to make sth like: "don't attack in case another one attacks"?

My problem with 3 different buttons would be, that I only have a limited amount of keys on my keyboard. I'm currently playing a warlock and a druid (single), but I've got barely enough keys ^^;

using: qwe asd to move
Fastbuttons: yxcvghrtz123456 CAPS
Slower buttons: Alt+ --> qweasdyxc123

But... Since I probably won't be using ground targetting spells I got some keys free... Ok, at least the single ones should work.

thanks

Ken
06-30-2008, 09:57 AM
But it is possible to make sth like: "don't attack in case another one attacks"?
Nope, you can only check if the other one is targetting something.
Like [target=party1pettarget,exists]. So if you'd do a /cleartarget on all, it might work, but you'd have to do that manually first, each time you want to start selecting a group of targets.


My problem with 3 different buttons would be, that I only have a limited amount of keys on my keyboard. I'm currently playing a warlock and a druid (single), but I've got barely enough keys ^^;

using: qwe asd to move
Fastbuttons: yxcvghrtz123456 CAPS
Slower buttons: Alt+ --> qweasdyxc123

But... Since I probably won't be using ground targetting spells I got some keys free... Ok, at least the single ones should work.

thanks
I don't have that problem. I work around the key shortage in several ways:
- Use EDSF for movement. This way you have more keys surrounding your movement keys, thus you have more keys that you can assign keybinds to. The 12 ones around it (that i use) are: QWRTYGBVCXZA. They fit on the main bar.
- Group abilities together in 1 macro underneath 1 button with modifiers. For example: You have Life Drain and Soul Drain. You can put them both 1 macro and put a modifier underneath one of the two, so you'd have to press shift to activate the other.

Here is a graphical overview on how I always set up my keyboard:
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2138/2511460900_ecbb107ab2_o.png
The layout only differs very slightly with every character group and F1-F12 is put on a separate bar too.
The keypad is used for buffs, mounts and other things that I don't use often, because I have to take my hand off the mouse to press these buttons and that makes activating them slower.

[edit] For example:
'A' triggers a macro on my warlocks that sends the pets to the focustarget. If I press alt+A, they also start firing wands. So usually I press A, wait for the pets to attack and the press alt+A. When I'm in a hurry(PvP) I only press alt+A and the pets start attacking while I start firing wands.
Link to my macro: http://www.dual-boxing.com/wiki/index.php/Macro:Warlock_focus-based_Pet_and_Wand_attack_combination

Yagamoth
06-30-2008, 10:11 AM
I love this forum, so fast answers :D



But it is possible to make sth like: "don't attack in case another one attacks"?
Nope, you can only check if the other one is targetting something.
Like [target=party1pettarget,exists]. So if you'd do a /cleartarget on all, it might work, but you'd have to do that manually first, each time you want to start selecting a group of targets.


I'll take simply 3 buttons for it. But in case anyone got a propper solution for this:
I want to run (wasd) and simply hit "f" to let one of the pets attack... speaking of which... That's something different than I originally wanted, but that was senseless anyway. I guess there is a single cast sequence good enough o0...

The thing about "esd" is, that I am such a lazy person... Further, earlier I was playing on a laptop and the trackpad was in the way ^^... So I'm that much used to it, I don't know whether I could change it anymore.

Running --> send one pet --> at the same time use shadowword pain and... don't know the name, but the warlocks instant (With talent) curse to do damage --> next target (depends, whether the enemies will drop to that)

Vyndree
06-30-2008, 01:21 PM
Are you looking to send pets in one at a time at the same target? (put your targeting method of choice at the top of each macro -- i.e. /assist focus or /assist CharName)

These macros should be resilient to pets dying and/or not being summoned out.

STAGGERED PET ATTACK:
PET1:
/petattack [harm,nodead]

PET2:
/petattack [target=PET1target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PET1,help,nodead]
/petattack [harm,nodead]

PET3:
/petattack [target=PET2target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PET2,help,nodead]
/petattack [target=PET1target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PET1,help,nodead]
/petattack [harm,nodead]

PET4:
/petattack [target=PET3target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PET3,help,nodead]
/petattack [target=PET3target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PET2,help,nodead]
/petattack [target=PET1target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PET1,help,nodead]
/petattack [harm,nodead]


PET5:
/petattack [target=PET4target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PET4,help,nodead]
/petattack [target=PET4target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PET3,help,nodead]
/petattack [target=PET3target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PET2,help,nodead]
/petattack [target=PET1target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PET1,help,nodead]
/petattack [harm,nodead]


If you want pets to be going to different targets I find that having a /focus button for each character and then doing a simple /petattack [target=focus,harm,nodead] (you can even put that at the top of my macros above) works brilliantly. Setting up the focus'es can take prep time, or you can integrate it into your dps buttons...

INTEGRATED FOCUS + DoT + PETATTACK:
CHAR1:

/cast [harm,nodead] Shadow Word: Pain
/stopmacro [noharm][dead][target=focus,harm,nodead]
/focus
/petattack

CHAR2:

/assist CHAR1
/cast [harm,nodead] Shadow Word: Pain
/stopmacro [noharm][dead][target=focus,harm,nodead][target=PET1target,noexists]
/focus
/petattack

CHAR3:

/assist CHAR1
/cast [harm,nodead] Shadow Word: Pain
/stopmacro [noharm][dead][target=focus,harm,nodead][target=PET1target,noexists][target=PET2target,noexists]
/focus
/petattack

CHAR4:

/assist CHAR1
/cast [harm,nodead] Shadow Word: Pain
/stopmacro [noharm][dead][target=focus,harm,nodead][target=PET1target,noexists][target=PET2target,noexists][target=PET3target,noexists]
/focus
/petattack

CHAR5:

/assist CHAR1
/cast [harm,nodead] Shadow Word: Pain
/stopmacro [noharm][dead][target=focus,harm,nodead][target=PET1target,noexists][target=PET2target,noexists][target=PET3target,noexists][target=PET4target,noexists]
/focus
/petattack

Diego
08-03-2008, 07:54 PM
If you want pets to be going to different targets I find that having a /focus button for each character and then doing a simple /petattack [target=focus,harm,nodead] (you can even put that at the top of my macros above) works brilliantly. Setting up the focus'es can take prep time, or you can integrate it into your dps buttons...
Okay, so I have a /focus button set up for each of my warlocks (4 distinct buttons on the action bar for each of my locks). After setting the focus for each mob I want the lock's pet to attack, I then issue a global button for all locks that sends their pets off to the assigned focus:


/pet attack [target=focus,harm,nodead]/stopmacro [target=focus,harm,nodead]


This works well. Each of the warlock's voids go after the focus I've assigned. Brilliant. However, the issue I am running into is that when the pet is finished with the mob they have been assigned (due to the fact that my locks have obliterated it), they run back with nothing to do. How can I create a sequence that will allow them to pick up the next mob that is still alive and the target of one of the other lock's pets?

It would be really nice if I could make a global pet attack macro that would initiate with the assigned focus then once done move on to the next available. I'm thinking of something like:


/pet attack [target=focus,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=focus,harm,nodead]
/pet attack [target=PETNAME1target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PETNAME1target,harm,nodead]
/pet attack [target=PETNAME2target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PETNAME2target,harm,nodead]
/pet attack [target=PETNAME3target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PETNAME3target,harm,nodead]
/pet attack [target=PETNAME4target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=PETNAME4target,harm,nodead]


I assume this would work they way I want it to. Basically, the lock's pet that is free'd up would pick up the next target thats alive that another lock's pet is current engaged with. However, I can't test this due to macro space .. is this even correct? (If so, how do I shorten to get around macro size contraints?) If not, Is there a better way?

Thanks!!

Vyndree
08-03-2008, 10:28 PM
After setting the focus for each mob I want the lock's pet to attack, I then issue a global button for all locks that sends their pets off to the assigned focus:



Petattack sets off a GCD? That shouldn't be happening. Is it because you're typing /pet attack rather than /petattack? Maybe?

What I do on my hunters is assign my commonly-pressed button to also 'assist pet', similarly to what you've pasted below except with one change... I don't use pet names (I have an earlier thread about my felguards having identical names).

/assist MainAssistNameHere
/petattack [target=focus,harm,nodead][harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [target=pettarget,harm,nodead]
/petattack [target=party1pettarget,harm,nodead][target=party2pettarget,harm,nodead][target=party3pettarget,harm,nodead][target=party4pettarget,harm,nodead]

Technically you can condense it further to...

/assist MainAssistNameHere
/petattack [target=focus,harm,nodead][harm,nodead][target=party1pettarget,harm,nodead][target=party2pettarget,harm,nodead][target=party3pettarget,harm,nodead][target=party4pettarget,harm,nodead]

Diego
08-03-2008, 11:59 PM
This works, thanks Vyndree!

lightstriker
08-11-2008, 10:04 PM
Vyndree must be the MacroMaster here.

How would you modify the pet macros for seed of corruption? You can only have one SoC per mob.

Lock1 assist tank target, cast seed
Lock2 assist Lock1 target, tabs to next mob, cast seed
Lock3 assist Lock2 target, tabs to next mob, cast seed

I dont think you would have the same key with keyclone. The latency would mess it up.

Reading "INTEGRATED FOCUS + DoT + PETATTACK" , /focus moves to the next target
Is there a /nexttarget or previoustarget macro?

thanks, i don't know anything about macros beyond /assist

Vyndree
08-11-2008, 10:46 PM
Lock1 assist tank target, cast seed
Lock2 assist Lock1 target, tabs to next mob, cast seed
Lock3 assist Lock2 target, tabs to next mob, cast seed

I would be careful here -- the "tab to next target" could target something out of range or a pat or a different group and draw in more...

That being said... I'm assuming your tank is either your party leader or your focus...

Lock1:

/target [target=focustarget,harm,nodead][target=party1target,harm,nodead]
/stopmacro [noharm][dead]
/cast Seed of Corruption

Lock2:

/target [target=Lock1target,harm,nodead][target=focustarget,harm,nodead][target=party1target,harm,nodead]
/targetenemy
/stopmacro [noharm][dead]
/cast Seed of Corruption

Lock3:

/target [target=Lock2target,harm,nodead][target=Lock1target,harm,nodead][target=focustarget,harm,nodead][target=party1target,harm,nodead]
/targetenemy
/stopmacro [noharm][dead]
/cast Seed of Corruption


I haven't tested the above, but I'd assume that it works from this page ('http://www.wowwiki.com/Making_a_macro#.2Ftargetenemy.2C_.2Ftargetfriend') on /targetenemy macros. You may have issues if there are less than 3 mobs, but I'm not sure about that...

barraccuda
08-12-2008, 02:34 PM
When casting DOT's, your follow isn't broken. Same goes for frostbolts / fireballs (non channeling casts).

I do have an issue in which my follow breaks after casting arcane missiles and would like the follow to restart after the cast of AM.

Macro now looks like:
#showtooltip Fireball
/assist [target=MAIN, noharm, nodead]
/cast Arcane Missiles
/follow MAIN

But the follow is cast halfway the channeling instead of waiting for it to finish. Is there anyway to delay it?
/in #/follow main might work #=number of second so put w/e you want there