PDA

View Full Version : Looking for an X-Keys Pro .xkp file



The IT Monkey
09-06-2007, 06:16 PM
Hey all,
Been working on this for hours and I fear if I go too much long I am going to loose interest.

I want to program my x-keys pro with unicodes... you know, like this Ç

The recommended way, by Xzin, is with a barcode scanner. Well I have the scanner but can't find software to print the barcodes up with it and even if I did I don't know if my barcode scanner would read it (no luck with any of the free downloads).

Anyway, was hoping someone would have already done this with their X-keys pro and would maybe share the .xkp file so I could program my keyboard the same.

Thanks in advance if anyone can help...
-J (The <frustrated> IT Monkey)

Twentytw0
09-06-2007, 07:33 PM
Try editing the config file with a hex editor. Goodluck with that though.

The IT Monkey
09-06-2007, 07:41 PM
Try editing the config file with a hex editor. Goodluck with that though.
Ass
hahaha

The IT Monkey
09-06-2007, 08:27 PM
I am afraid that most (if not all) barcode fonts don't bother with any characters besides the standard keyboard. If you know of any that do please point me to it.

That still wouldn't guarentee my barcode scanner would read them. Would be much easier if someone had done this before and could pm the .xkp file.

And0
09-07-2007, 12:05 PM
Are you using XP/2k? If so, try going to Start -> Programs -> Accessories -> System Tools -> Character Map. You can copy and paste unicode characters. Will this work for your purposes?

The IT Monkey
09-07-2007, 12:11 PM
Are you using XP/2k? If so, try going to Start -> Programs -> Accessories -> System Tools -> Character Map. You can copy and paste unicode characters. Will this work for your purposes?

Naa, this doesn't quite do it. The problem is most barcode font are written with just the basic character set in mind. Any advanced / extended keystrokes just don't have a barcode equivilent.

And as far as the character map thing... well it helped me copy the the keys I want into a text file but you can't paste those keys into the x-keys. x-keys is strictly a recorder type device.... so if I tried to paste the character it would not get the character but WOULD get ctrl-v.

Thanks for trying to help though. I appreciate ALL help in this... this will be my third day working on the issue.

EDIT: P.S. - if I ever do get this sorted out I'll be sure to share the file for those of you who are in the same boat.

And0
09-07-2007, 12:26 PM
Ahh, now I understand.

Try installing this tool: http://www.cardbox.com/quick.htm

Once it's installed and running, it gives you access to extended unicode input using Alt+hex code. For example, ? is done with Alt+.0388

Be sure to check the quick usage page:http://www.cardbox.com/quick/instructions.htm
"Hold down the Alt key, and type a dot (decimal point) on the numeric keypad, followed by the hexadecimal code number of the Unicode character you want. Then release the Alt key."

You access A-F with the side keys on the numpad. It's a little clunky, but it should give you keyboard input... I hope?

Xzin
09-07-2007, 12:42 PM
You need a way to OUTPUT the PS/2 data. This is a bit different because you are using USB.... but the Xkeys is ONLY going to pickup the correct code. You MIGHT be able to install a host based program that translates exotic keypresses into real scan codes.... but the preferred method would be to have the X-keys output the correct code to begin with.

In order to do that, you need to get the right code into it. My prior FAQ was somewhat inaccurate and outdated - I just updated it. The barcode trick is noy likely to work. Most barcodes are a standard text + number only set to keep errors to a minimum. Some can encode information and extended sets but then you need an exotic reader and well... sort of seems like it is not worth the trouble.

My best suggestion is to fool around with a programmable PS/2 keyboard. SOME exist but I have no tested them yet personally so I cannot say for sure that one will work. In theory, it should but there could be some quirk about the X-keys that I do not yet know about.

I also have NO experience with the USB X-Keys. In theory one should be able to hack away at the .xkp file if the structure is fairly simple and the codes are non encoded and you know about key scan codes and are comfy with a hex editor. Not exacccctly simple but well :) This is boxing. C'mon :)

Otherwise, you need a method of outputting the proper scan code to the X-keys. There might be a way to have another computer SEND PS/2 codes out via a PS/2 port... in effect acting as one huge programmable keyboard. But I have not delved down into that yet nor do I have any current plans to. Surely, somebody somewhere HAS done so though, given the age of PS/2 and serial port technology.

The IT Monkey
09-07-2007, 01:09 PM
Granted my xkeys is usb it is also pre SE. I don't know what difference that makes.

Here is a chunk of the code that is in the .xkp file... it is viewable in a text editor this way:
[code:1]D "USB 58 Key"
G {00 20 04 00 01 01 2C}
L1{
K{
00 {08 00 03 00 04 FE 04}
01 {08 00 03 00 0D FE 0D}
02 {08 00 03 00 16 FE 16}
03 {08 00 06 00 04 FE 04 1E FE 1E}
04 {08 00 06 00 0C FE 0C 1E FE 1E}
05 {08 00 06 00 14 FE 14 1E FE 1E}
06 {08 00 06 00 1C FE 1C 1E FE 1E}[/code:1]

I am ASSUMING that the code 00 is the key assignment and that key 00 is the upper left key. That being said the code next to 00 SHOULD represent the "a" key being pressed down and then released.

I thought that this was hex code, and it still could be, but a little drunken research last night made me think it was not as hex codes have two digit numbers in a higher range than anything hat seems to be in this code.

I tried installing macro recorder II last night but it didn't seem to want to work with MY xkeys, possibly because it is pre SE.

Gonna work on this more today, and hope that others do as well, if I learn anything I will post it here.

If anyone has other suggestions please post them and I'll see what I can do about researching this.

My current plan is to try to find a VIRTUAL programmable keyboard. One that is on-screen and, by preference, free.

The IT Monkey
09-07-2007, 01:18 PM
but I can program the xkeys WITHOUT software... just by putting it into record mode and clicking the button I want to record. It should then take whatever key stroke I send it.... RIGHT? please say right...

I am willing to spend money on a NEW x-keys but it is not sounding like they are any easier to program.

And0
09-07-2007, 01:22 PM
Just to contribute to the discussion, here is a .xk1 file. I don't have any files with the .xkp extension. It seems like the macro maker gives a number depending on which model the macro file is for. xk1 is for Desktop, xk2 is for Pro.

[code:1]
1
0,0,1,"a1",0,0,0,"0004,1004,0030,1030,"
1,0,1,"b1",0,0,0,"0005,1005,0030,1030,"
2,0,1,"c1",0,0,0,"0006,1006,0030,1030,"
3,0,1,"d1",0,0,0,"0007,1007,0030,1030,"
...
...
16,0,1,"a5",0,0,0,"0004,1004,0034,1034,"
17,0,1,"b5",0,0,0,"0005,1005,0034,1034,"
18,0,1,"c5",0,0,0,"0006,1006,0034,1034,"
19,0,1,"d5",0,0,0,"0007,1007,0034,1034,"
0,1,0,"",0,0,0,""
1,1,0,"",0,0,0,""
2,1,0,"",0,0,0,""
3,1,0,"",0,0,0,""
...
...
[/code:1]

This is what it looks like opened in a text editor. It seems the codes are four digit numerics (HID codes?), with the first being a 0 or 1 for down or up. If you can figure out the codes they're using for the keys, you can just edit it in plain text.

The IT Monkey
09-07-2007, 01:56 PM
no I haven't good.. call.

[edit] Just did and it works for numbers... don't have a barcode that is not numbers. so BC might work if you got it to do the © type of keys we are talking about

keyclone
09-07-2007, 02:01 PM
@IT Monkey
i don't have the x-keys... can you tell me if it works with keyclone? are you just assigning keystrokes to keys and when you press the physical button, it goes into the system like a normal keyboard would? (if so... keyclone would work with it)

The IT Monkey
09-07-2007, 03:25 PM
@IT Monkey
i don't have the x-keys... can you tell me if it works with keyclone? are you just assigning keystrokes to keys and when you press the physical button, it goes into the system like a normal keyboard would? (if so... keyclone would work with it)

Keyclone works with x-keys if x-keys is programmed with keystrokes (modifiers work as well such as shift-ctrl)

Keyclone doesn't handle much more coming from the x-keys though... long strings loose some of the characters.... though you can program the x-keys to slow down soooo... I guess it would work for longer ones as well.

p.s. BARCODES SUCK!

The IT Monkey
09-07-2007, 03:59 PM
Okay completely frustrated by this now.

What do you guys think if I just unbound all numberpad keys (with the exception of enter, +, -) and just did variables of that on my xkeys.

Do any of you use the number pad for anything in game if you have an xkeys?

That would give me 13 + 13 with shift + 13 with crtl + 13 with alt. That would give me 52. Then I could do a alt-shift combo for some more.

The IT Monkey
09-07-2007, 05:44 PM
I play a solo toon as well from my main box. I don't want to unbind his keys.

Los
09-08-2007, 08:00 AM
ah my friend, but you can make binds character based and not account based (uncheck the checkbox above the bindines menu inside wow!)

Lost Ninja
09-08-2007, 08:40 AM
Will WoW not take direct input keys?

Like a joystick mode...

If it did or could be worked in with a mod of some variety you have I think another 100 buttons straight off. :D

And0
09-08-2007, 06:49 PM
Ok, I got it figured out!

Use the X-Keys Macroworks II (the new macroworks from their site). Click on a button you want to program. The recording thing that pops up, click the "Edit (pause recording)" button. Now you can paste in special characters, like Ç, which I just typed from the X-keys. Let me know if that works for you!

The IT Monkey
09-09-2007, 02:20 AM
I ran across that as well, unfortunately the new macroworks II does not seem to work with my X-keys. Would love to know if it works with X-keys SE, I may pick one up if it does. My X-Keys is older.

What I ended up doing was finding all the regular keys in WoW that are unbound and using those along with their variants of alt shift ctr.

And0
09-09-2007, 01:34 PM
My X-Keys Pro is labeled SE on the back, and works fine with both Macroworks and Macroworks II.