Log in

View Full Version : Mediochre macro'r, need assist



mojofizznut
06-16-2008, 12:07 PM
So I'm loving dual-boxing, using 5 on one PC with keyclone, and I want to expand my macroing.

I've read numerous faqs listed here - but couldn't find answers to the following questions I have:

1) I see approx 18 macros available for general, and 18 for just the character only in the 'macro' main panel option. But I'm reading folks saying there is a 255 limit for number of macros? I know there is a limitation of 255 chars of text in a macro - but how do you do more than 30 or so per character?

2) I want to start using the quest/group accept, but I don't understand how to use /script -- do you still bind these script macros to a macro icon, and then bind to a action bar slot and then bind to a key? Also, how do you bind macros directly to keys without assigning an action bar slot with macro icon?

I switched to bongos from bartender and I agree, its much easier to do keybinding. Great community, thanks for all the help.

mojofizznut
06-16-2008, 02:21 PM
I see a few views but no replies - maybe I need to clarify my question.

Are you supposed to place /script commands in a text file somewhere in the WOW install? Here is what I'm trying to do, I want to enable the quest get/accept/turnin from Falcor's post:

Part 1 - Setup an Action Keybind.





http://www.dual-boxing.com/forum/icon/codeS.png Source code
1 2
/script SetBinding("L", "TURNORACTION") /script SaveBindings(1)



Change the L to a key of your choice.

Part 2 - The Macro.





http://www.dual-boxing.com/forum/icon/codeS.png Source code
1 2 3 4 5 6
/script SelectGossipAvailableQuest(1) /script SelectGossipActiveQuest(1) /script CompleteQuest() /script GetQuestReward(1) /script SelectGossipOption(1) /script AcceptQuest()




The first line selects the first available quest.
The second line selects the first active quest, which will supercede the first available if you currently have a quest.
The third line allows you to complete a quest you currently have.
The fourth line selects your reward.
The fith line is to select the gossip option that is not part of a quest. (Used to confirm you are ready to escort after taking a quest)
The sixth and final line will accept a quest that you do not have.




What is throwing me off is part 1. Setting an action keybind, I would assume means cutting and pasting the script code and putting it into a macro with icon, then dragging icon to an action bar slot, then assigning the slot to a key command - yes? But it seems like part 2 is saying to do that - so do you put the part 1 in an autload section so the key is already mapped? Or is this a two-key macro mapping? Thanks for help - confused with /script -

Coltimar
06-16-2008, 03:04 PM
Also, try to consolidate macros when you can. I have a few that I need to combine :/ TrinityBar used to double the number of macros you could have, is this still true?

mojofizznut
06-16-2008, 04:35 PM
I guess I just need a better understanding of how to use /script

I don't see any reference explaining the command /script, how it is used etc in any of the macro faqs.

I tried loading both of these scripts -- assigning a key (yes I made my own key instead of "L"), then one to run the part 2 -- and no response from the slave, so clearly I'm misunderstanding this. Thanks for any tips here.

Djarid
06-17-2008, 03:18 AM
regarding number of macros: there are 36 macros available without an addon.

Trinity Bars 2 is a replacement of the default action bars. It allows UNLIMITED buttons any of which can be configured as a macro button (with a length of 1023 characters)

I have every action configured as a macro (I like the flexibility) so I figure I currently have around 40 macros on my level 23 priest :)

regarding how the script works.

it is simply a command in the same way as /cast, /use, /dismount etc except that it allows you to execute native lua code

for more info plese see here http://www.wowwiki.com/Making_a_macro

Frosty
06-17-2008, 08:17 AM
I see a few views but no replies - maybe I need to clarify my question.

Are you supposed to place /script commands in a text file somewhere in the WOW install?
You can place /script right into your normal macro editing screen/window.