View Full Version : Targetting with HotKeyNet
legg1
06-01-2008, 12:57 PM
Anyone noticed that even if you choose SendWin, SendWinM or SendWinMF, you have to click 2-3 times for the 4 slaves to target the main chars mobs? or is it omething only i suffer from?
Im gonna break my finger soon i think after mass-clicking assist to have some sort of Micro going on in instance.
(tried search)
ElectronDF
06-01-2008, 01:37 PM
I focus my main. I use HKN to broadcast keys. So my targeting is in my macros. I use
/cast [target=focus-target] UltimageDamage (for DPS)
and
/cast [target=focus-target-target] SuperHeal (for healing).
So I don't really have to wait for targetting.
legg1
06-01-2008, 01:49 PM
I've got:
/target [target=party1target] for assist
/follow party1 for follow.
tried both seperate, and in 1 macro.
Still takes 2-3 clicks before they react
Freddie
06-01-2008, 02:02 PM
Anyone noticed that even if you choose SendWin, SendWinM or SendWinMF, you have to click 2-3 times for the 4 slaves to target the main chars mobs? or is it omething only i suffer from)
When this happens with SendWin, it's usually because HKN types too fast. What happens is, the computer takes maybe 100 ms each time it activates the next WoW. By the time that finishes, HKN has already typed the command but WoW didn't receive it because it wasn't activated yet. The solution is to slow down HKN's typing. Unfortunately the only way to do this is to insert a delay in the hotkey, which frightens some people because they think all delays are against the rules. I don't think this type of delay is against the rules because even with the delay, you are typing commands into WoW as fast as the computer is capable of doing it. But I don't work for Blizzard.
When this happens with SendWinMF, it's usually because the second Background Focus Delay number on the settings panel needs to be longer.
I've never seen this happen with SendWinM and WoW together, so I don't know what's up with that. :(
legg1
06-01-2008, 02:41 PM
wouldnt that be the same as setting delay in the "Settings" page of HKN, to make it use 100ms between the windows ?
Or do you mean directly into the hotkeys.txt file ?
Katharsis
06-01-2008, 03:12 PM
Aren't you guys saying that you have macros used for targeting and a hotkey to activate the macro? If that is the case then there is no typing involved. I think it's latency. Sometimes my /target focustarget macro connects on first click, sometimes it takes two.
Freddie
06-01-2008, 04:06 PM
I've got:
/target [target=party1target] for assist
/follow party1 for follow.
tried both seperate, and in 1 macro.
Still takes 2-3 clicks before they react
I've never played WoW so I don't know how those commands execute, but if they get entered on the chat line, I can tell you a reason why this isn't working. In WoW (like many games) the client takes a huge amount of time (by computer standards) to move the cursor to the chat line. You can see this by making a simple hotkey like this:
<hotkey F1>
<SendWinM "World of Warcraft">
<text /say hey there bud wassup>
I deliberately omitted the final "Enter" so you can read what gets typed on the chat line. If you press this hotkey when the cursor is not yet on the chat line, you'll see that nothing gets typed on the chat line except the initial slash. Why? Because HKN finishes typing before the cursor reaches the chat line. If you want the hotkey to work, you have to insert a delay like this:
<hotkey F2>
<sendwinm World>
<text /><wait 100><text say hey there bud wassup>
You probably don't need a full 100 ms there, but it's a good idea to start with more than you need and whittle it down till you find the shortest delay that works on your machine.
Like I said earlier, I don't think this type of delay violates the rules because it's simply there to make HKN's typing speed match the client. It's not separating one command from another. in fact there's only one command. But if you disagree or you're worried that Blizzard disagrees, you have to avoid chat line commands. There's just no way to type them with HKN without using an explicit delay. HKN types too fast and the typing has to be slowed down.
wouldnt that be the same as setting delay in the "Settings" page of HKN, to make it use 100ms between the windows ?
Or do you mean directly into the hotkeys.txt file ?
Background Focus Delays on the settings panel isn't a delay between windows. It's an extremely short delay used internally by HKN with SendWinMF (and only SendWinMF) when it tries to fool the target window into thinking it's in the foreground even though it's not.
Katharsis
06-01-2008, 04:23 PM
you have to avoid chat line commands
However, you could type the "/" to open chat and THEN activate the hotkey <text say hey there's Bud> , yes? I haven't tried this.
Freddie
06-01-2008, 05:35 PM
That would work. But if you do it the way you and Electron are recommending, does the chat line get used?
Katharsis
06-01-2008, 05:51 PM
Nope, I haven't started building chat commands in HKN yet. I probably will...one day.
Toned
06-01-2008, 07:46 PM
Wow way to forum.... Can we get this moved out of the movie forums.
keyclone
06-01-2008, 08:23 PM
<hotkey F2>
<sendwinm World>
<text />
<wait 100>
<text say hey there bud wassup>
i'd be very careful with HKN... this kind of thing is completely bannable by blizzard
Draku
06-01-2008, 10:48 PM
Hey Legg.....can we clarify, are you sending single keys that are mapped to Macros, or are you sending the command (ie /asssist) as part of the hotkey definition?. are you running multiple clients per PC?
Perhaps show your Hotkey config file.
I multibox across PCs and multiptle clients within a PC and don't experience this.
You could also come post on the HKN forum if you want.
www.hotkeynet.com
Freddie
06-01-2008, 11:06 PM
<hotkey F2>
<sendwinm World>
<text />
<wait 100>
<text say hey there bud wassup>
i'd be very careful with HKN... this kind of thing is completely bannable by blizzard
Is that because it types on the chat line? Or because of the delay? If it's the delay, the only reason it's there is to slow down the typing so it can be read. Suppose the typing was slowed down by something that paused for a few milliseconds after every keystroke, like AuthoHotKey's SetKeyDelay (http://www.autohotkey.com/docs/commands/SetKeyDelay.htm') command. Would that be legal?
keyclone
06-01-2008, 11:32 PM
any delays are where the question gets raised.
the other would be the single keypress spawning multiple keys input to the client
ie:
F2 --> /say hey there bud wassup
in this case, 1 key press turned into 25 plus enter. definitely ban-able as per blizzards policy (1 key pressed == 1 key entered into the destination window)
and yes, AHK gets into these kind of grey areas.
the G15 keyboard is iffy.. and blizzard tolerates it due to logitech being the company they are.
if this weren't the case, keyclone would have had out-of-game macros a long time ago
Freddie
06-01-2008, 11:43 PM
F2 --> /say hey there bud wassup
in this case, 1 key press turned into 25 plus enter. definitely ban-able as per blizzards policy (1 key pressed == 1 key entered into the destination window)
Okay, in that case, the whole question of slowing down the typing is moot because chat commands themselves are illegal. Thanks for educating me.
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.