Log in

View Full Version : Beginning boxer trouble



Sagen
05-26-2008, 10:00 PM
Yep, I started today. It was fun, started a mage team, buut had a few issues.

After three-boxing my shamans, all on the same laptop with AutoHotKey, I logged out my main, closed the other two clients and tried to log on my priest. crash.
It told me my installation was 'severely damaged' and that it needed to revert...

Could the multi-boxing have done this, or is it more likely due to the fact that I closed the other two clients through the 'Close button' in the windowed mode?


Also, I did this using the accounts of two of my cousins who trusted me with their passwords. Is this against the Terms of Service?

Shaitan256
05-26-2008, 10:27 PM
Can't get it, but Mutliboxing isn't the reason for that, I used AHK with 5 Char's for about 25-30 levels nothing happened...

Are you running it with different Path's for your WoW? I Mean something like 3 (or whatever number you want to Box) Folders with a WoW Copy for it self? or are you running with only 1 Folder?

Maybe when you copied it into another Folder it could be corrupted through the copying process so some Files are missing or something.

(U cuold also use the wiki or something for advice , do you've read the Guides and stuff?)

Sagen
05-26-2008, 10:46 PM
Heheh... I just read enough to get the code working. It works flawlessly, so I think it's the fact that I closed two clients by basically alt-f4ing them while a third was running. My idea is that it screwed something up in the ui.

I haven't made any wow copies, though I am considering it, just so I can back things up and don't have to patch a third time. Right now I've been knocked back to re-downloading patch 2.3 and up... so... it's taking a while.

Fun, though. I think I'm going to like this.

Oh, and if you wanted to look it over, this is the code I cut-and-pasted from wikipedia to work my 3-shaman group.


#IfWinActive, World of Warcraft
WinGet, WowWinId, List, World of Warcraft
ClonesPush(strKeys)
{
global WowWinId1
global WowWinId2
global WowWinId3
global WowWinId4
global WowWinId5
IfWinNotActive, ahk_id %WowWinId1%
ControlSend, , %strKeys%, ahk_id %WowWinId1%
IfWinNotActive, ahk_id %WowWinId2%
ControlSend, , %strKeys%, ahk_id %WowWinId2%
IfWinNotActive, ahk_id %WowWinId3%
ControlSend, , %strKeys%, ahk_id %WowWinId3%
}

; *** Hotbars 1-0 ***
~1::ClonesPush("{= down}{= up}{1 down}{1 up}")
~2::ClonesPush("{= down}{= up}{2 down}{2 up}")
~3::ClonesPush("{= down}{= up}{3 down}{3 up}")
~4::ClonesPush("{= down}{= up}{4 down}{4 up}")
~5::ClonesPush("{= down}{= up}{5 down}{5 up}")
~6::ClonesPush("{= down}{= up}{6 down}{6 up}")
~7::ClonesPush("{= down}{= up}{7 down}{7 up}")
~8::ClonesPush("{= down}{= up}{8 down}{8 up}")
~9::ClonesPush("{= down}{= up}{9 down}{9 up}")
~0::ClonesPush("{= down}{= up}{0 down}{0 up}")

~Enter::Suspend, Toggle

~/::Suspend, On
~Escape::Suspend, Off

~r::Suspend, On

Shaitan256
05-26-2008, 11:01 PM
Oh my ... it's easier then my old AHK script ^^ my old was like:



WinGet, wowid, List, World of Warcraft

~2::
KeyWait 2
IfWinActive, World of Warcraft
{
ControlSend,, 2, ahk_id %wowid1%
ControlSend,, 2, ahk_id %wowid2%
ControlSend,, 2, ahk_id %wowid3%
ControlSend,, 2, ahk_id %wowid4%
ControlSend,, 2, ahk_id %wowid5%
Return
}


And the Shift+X was the funniest ^^ Ctrlsend shift down x down, x up shift up ahk_id ...
^^ It was a lot work to add only 1 Combination^^ (even with Copy + Paste it to 5 Cloneversion) I had to edit the Numbers of the ID for each as well^^

Hm, I hope for you your WoW isn't crashing again, and wish you a lot of fun with Boxing.

btw, found my script with googling only AHK Script + WoW or something.

Sagen
05-27-2008, 12:01 AM
Yah, I found mine on the world's source of all knowledge and answers. Wikipedia... <3


I like its use of a custom-made function. Really efficient-izes everything

Shaitan256
05-27-2008, 12:04 AM
I'm using Octopus now, it's more comfortable , and easy to set up ^^ You could use my Guide in the German forum part, I made it with Pics, so you can see what you have to do ;) or use the Thread in the Software tools part, It way better than AHK, and it's free too^^

Sagen
05-27-2008, 12:17 AM
All right, I'll look into it- Thanks for the suggestion!

spannah
05-27-2008, 01:39 AM
Also, I did this using the accounts of two of my cousins who trusted me with their passwords. Is this against the Terms of Service?

In short yes, it is against the Terms of Service and in fact you can get the accounts banned. All accounts must be under the same name, preferably yours ;)

Multiboxing usually attracts attention, you may want to get your own accounts rather sooner then later.

Sagen
05-27-2008, 01:47 AM
Hoooooo... wow. Um... well, in that case... ok. >_o

Yeeaah, I'll shy away from that one.