Log in

View Full Version : Multiple elemental shaman macro-kit!



Kaynin
04-14-2008, 02:49 AM
Okay, so I am nearing level 70, and been tweaking my macro's and stuff a lot. Now I wanted to share what I use, and perhaps people can tell me where I might be able to improve, or otherwise this might be a nice guide to starting shaman boxers. ^^

1. General macro's
2. Main/Alt system
3. Offensive macro's
4. Defensive macro's


1. General Macro's

The Big Button(tm)


/script AcceptGroup();
/script AcceptQuest();
/script AcceptTrade();
/script RetrieveCorpse();
/script RepopMe();

The followmain button (I incorporated a ALARM DO NOT CONTINUE CASTING! inside this button. Thoughts on this are appreciated, I sometimes end up stopping the casts in a fight, maybe not worth adding a /stopcasting? How do other people stop casting when things go out of hand?)


/stopcasting
/cleartarget
/target focus
/follow
/cleartarget

My alltime favorite


/dance



2. Main/Alt system

Three shaman, three buttons. Four shaman, four buttons. Etcetera!


Button 1 - Toon 1

/clearfocus

Button 1 - Toon 2

/clearfocus
/focus Toon 1

Etcetera. With a press of a button, you choose a new main, that will drop his focus, and all other alts will focus that new main. In my case, I use F1 to F4 for my swap main keys. F5 too when I 5-box with my main in the bunch. Your main dies, you press the next button on the list and move to that screen. (Or have PiP to fly that toon to the main screen.) and continue as if nothing happened!


3. Offensive macro's

Standard issue Lightning Bolt! (Any spell that requires targeting.)


/assist focus
/cast [target=focustarget, nodead, harm, exists] Lightning Bolt ; Lightning Bolt

With some modifiers and trinkets! In my case, I have to spelldamage trinkets that don't stack, this is my way of utilizing the most out of both. I could pop one on Lightning Bolt for max usage, but I want one ready for my Elemental Mastery bomb.


/assist focus
/use 13 [modifier]
/use 14
/cast [modifier] Elemental Mastery ; [target=focustarget, nodead, harm, exists] Chain Lightning ; Chain Lightning

Same is repeated on all offensive spells. The part that will be used on my alts. "[target=focustarget, nodead, harm, exists]" basicly targets the target of the focus for the spell, checks to see if it is infact harmful, to see if if isn't dead, and most important, to check if it even exists! This seems to be important.


4. Defensive macro's

Totemssss


/castsequence reset=12 Number One Totem, Number Two Totem, Number Three Totem, Number Four Totem

I can go very deeply into this, but there are a lot of different sequences you can use for all different kinds of things! The one thing you should consider, is when using multiple tremor totems, have each toon drop his tremor totem at a different time. (So, one toon drops it first, the other as the second totem, etc.) Other then that, it's highly preferential. I myself have a PvP standard set and a PvE standard set. I also have a button to drop 4x grounding and a button to drop fire nova, or if I modify that button, a small castsequence that drops stoneclaw, then firenova (for PvE purposes). I do my cleansing manually from my main. In PvP I use 4x healing stream. In PvE 3x healing stream and 1x mana spring.

The Heal button. (Based on the mains target.)

The next one I only thought of adding the cleansing bits last night. I have yet to test it. I have to remove most of the not so neccesary modifiers (Such as nodead, and such, they are more just convenient though.) The important modifiers are left in. I see no reason why the cleansing shouldn't work. But if it won't after testing tonight I will post this straight away. What this macro basicly does is this.

If your main has someone targeted. Anything. It will try to cast Lesser Healing Wave with all shamans on that target, or normal Healing Wave if you hold shift/alt or control (Any modifier key.) meanwhile. If your target is cleared, you will remove disease when you hold a modifier key, or poison if you just click it.



NOTE: There are two extra enters inputted in this box for forum convenience.
If you copy-paste this directly into your game, remember to backspace those
two enters first!

/cast [modifier, target=focustarget, exists] Healing Wave ; [modifier, target=target, exists]
Healing Wave ; [modifier] Cure Disease ; [target=focustarget, exists] Lesser Healing Wave ;
[target=target, exists] Lesser Healing Wave ; Cure Poison

I have a seperate binding for healing up my shamans AoE style

In the following macro you can also just have the Chain heal target the player, but I like a light show, so every toon of mine targets the next toon to chain heal. When a modifier key is held, they will all cast a lesser healing wave onto themselves.


/cast [modifier, target=player] Lesser Healing Wave ; [target=<insert toon rotation>] Chain Heal

Those two buttons are all I need for all healing really.



Well, those were the basics of basicly all my macro's, all macro's I haven't mentioned can be directly derived from the above. Like purge "/cast [target=focustarget, nodead, harm, exists] Purge : Purge" and so on and so forth.

Any, and I mean any critisism is welcome! The main reason I post this is to check if I am actually doing this right, or if there is something else I might have skipped. We're all here to improve, so if anyone has ideas that can improve this, it's very welcome. <3

Edited loads for layoutness, I fail at making things look good.

Havelcek
04-14-2008, 09:30 AM
Great post...thanks!

Poolboy
04-15-2008, 10:18 AM
Nifty stuff!

I am just starting a 5x Shaman team myself this week for PvP fun, so there's a lot of good info and stuff to mull over in here.

Some thoughts though ~
Seems you're using Focus to assist off of, yet often also including a physical /assist? Why is this? Seems redundant for casting?

I have a hunch it's for clones to get in on the melee action, correct me if I'm wrong?

If that's the case do you use TwoBoxToolkit addon, and enable sticky follow? Again, my little shammies are just level 10 so far from a night's work, and I found clone melee a pain in the ass tbh, being that I broke follow always, and ticky follow within TBTK addon is kinda clunky when you get into switching mains. But, I digress ~

I've never used a BIG Button myself yet, I've found that a combination of Automaton & TwoBoxToolkit handle rezzing, grouping, quests fine enough. Thoughts?

Your totem sequence. With a hard number reset, do you ever find you goof on your sequence? Would a reset=combat work better?

What is the point of harm, nodead, exixts etc in an offensive spell? I haven't got any of that on my PvE team of casters/hunter... I guess I assumed they get errors and just not cast, then carry on fine. Am I missing out on something important? Perhaps it saves a GCD? Ugh, enlighten me, I have a feeling I've been a big nub all this time.

I'm sure I'll have 450234819 more questions as I progress, thanks for your share though, tres helpful~

Kaynin
04-15-2008, 11:16 AM
Seems you're using Focus to assist off of, yet often also including a physical /assist? Why is this? Seems redundant for casting?

I have a hunch it's for clones to get in on the melee action, correct me if I'm wrong?

The extra /assist is to start autoattack only. I use focus because, lacking cc, I don't need to use focus for anything else. And it seems to work perfect for when switching mains.

It's not that neccesary, elemental shaman autoattack isn't used that much. :p But it's better then nothing. Autoattacking does break follow, I have my follow key within easy reach and it is my most used button. ("c" is my follow key.)


If that's the case do you use TwoBoxToolkit addon, and enable sticky follow? Again, my little shammies are just level 10 so far from a night's work, and I found clone melee a pain in the ass tbh, being that I broke follow always, and ticky follow within TBTK addon is kinda clunky when you get into switching mains. But, I digress ~

I've never used a BIG Button myself yet, I've found that a combination of Automaton & TwoBoxToolkit handle rezzing, grouping, quests fine enough. Thoughts?

I do not use automaton or twoboxtoolkit and have no experience with them yet, so hard to share any thoughts on this. BIG button seems to do fine for me. I've never experienced anything that wasn't working properly with it.


Your totem sequence. With a hard number reset, do you ever find you goof on your sequence? Would a reset=combat work better?

12 seconds for the totem reset is perfect for me really. I always spam it until all totems are up. Which is quick! I never had any problems with it so far. And if you set it to combat, and you're in a 2+ minute fight, you might fail at reputting totems? 12 seconds is enough for me to place totems, it's long enough to have enough time to put all four totems and short enough to be able to replace if I am on the move and need to reposition them for whatever reason. With the reduced gcd time you can put up four totems in no time as well.


What is the point of harm, nodead, exixts etc in an offensive spell? I haven't got any of that on my PvE team of casters/hunter... I guess I assumed they get errors and just not cast, then carry on fine. Am I missing out on something important? Perhaps it saves a GCD? Ugh, enlighten me, I have a feeling I've been a big nub all this time.

harm and nodead basicly stops your alts from attempting to even cast for a milisecond, it's annoying sound wise. But doesn't really do anything physical to your game I believe. It just unclogs keyspamming a bit. You could use it to have extra modifiers for ancestral spirit/or heals on dps keys if a help target is targeted, I don't have that though. For me it's just unclogging my soundbits I suppose. It might also reduce client lag maybe, but if it does it will be at a redundant level anyway. :p

(I'm not entirely sure about this part, but nodead might also help when spamming buttons and to stopcasting as soon as a target dies. It might already work that way in the normal system though, I've always used nodead and never really did testing without on my dps keys.)

'exists' however is important, because otherwise you will just get "You do not have a target." and such bugs as it's not going to the second cast in the macro. It allows the macro to skip ahead if it doesn't exist.

Thanks for the questions though and please ask away. I'm relatively new as well and still learning. :P

Maxion
04-18-2008, 01:47 AM
The reset timer on a castsequence makes the sequence start over if you haven't pressed the button for that amount of time. Or in the case of the combat tag, i guess it automatically resets it when you get out of combat. But either way, completing the sequence (by casting everything in it) will make it start over the next time you hit the button anyway.

Dorffo
04-18-2008, 12:39 PM
just wanted to add my support for a 10-12 sec reset on your totems, especially if your front load your totem mash macros with your short duration totems up first.

great write up.