Log in

View Full Version : Unbinding and rebinding movement keys when switching main?



DrGamut
04-11-2008, 11:05 AM
Is it possible to bind and unbind keys within a macro?

My problem is that I have my movement keys (WASD) unbound on all of my alts so that I can control my main exclusively with them. I can easily make one of my alts the new main using /focus, but their movement keys require rebinding before they're usable.

I don't want to put WASD on the Do-Not-Pass list because I use them when typing messages, nor do I want to use different keys for movement that I would be comfortable adding to the Do-Not-Pass list because darnit I love WASD.

Is there a simpler solution I am overlooking?

Kaynin
04-11-2008, 11:26 AM
It is not possible to macro keybindings. =(

You'll have to put up with the typing annoyences. I usually just pause keycloning when i need to type. :p

DrGamut
04-11-2008, 11:35 AM
It is not possible to macro keybindings. =(

You'll have to put up with the typing annoyences. I usually just pause keycloning when i need to type. :pNo good, then I couldn't issue emotes like /dance!

Looks like you can use the SetBinding API but so very unfortunately it doesn't work in combat anymore. Dang you Blizzard!

There must be a way to pull this off.

DrGamut
04-11-2008, 11:56 AM
Ok! Genius struck.

I put WASD on the Do-Not-Pass list and made the ENTER button the DNP Override key. :D

This is perfect, I press ENTER once to enter my password, and then a second time at the character selection screen which gets me back to default, and from then on it should only toggle when I am chatting. Override off when I'm typing, back on when I send the message. GENIUS!

Guilo
04-11-2008, 12:05 PM
I have two macros I use sometimes

Set Master
/run SetBinding("W", "MOVEFORWARD");SetBinding("A", "TURNLEFT");SetBinding("S", "MOVEBACKWARD");SetBinding("D", "TURNRIGHT"); SetBinding("UP", "");SetBinding("DOWN", "");SetBinding("LEFT", "");SetBinding("RIGHT", "");

and Set Slave
/run SetBinding("W", "");SetBinding("A", "");SetBinding("S", "");SetBinding("D", ""); SetBinding("UP", "MOVEFORWARD");SetBinding("DOWN", "MOVEBACKWARD");SetBinding("LEFT", "TURNLEFT");SetBinding("RIGHT", "TURNRIGHT");

What this does is TEMPORARILY set the bindings for each character, when you log back in it will be your standard setup.

Hope this helps.

DrGamut
04-11-2008, 12:07 PM
I have two macros I use sometimes

Set Master
/run SetBinding("W", "MOVEFORWARD");SetBinding("A", "TURNLEFT");SetBinding("S", "MOVEBACKWARD");SetBinding("D", "TURNRIGHT"); SetBinding("UP", "");SetBinding("DOWN", "");SetBinding("LEFT", "");SetBinding("RIGHT", "");

and Set Slave
/run SetBinding("W", "");SetBinding("A", "");SetBinding("S", "");SetBinding("D", ""); SetBinding("UP", "MOVEFORWARD");SetBinding("DOWN", "MOVEBACKWARD");SetBinding("LEFT", "TURNLEFT");SetBinding("RIGHT", "TURNRIGHT");

What this does is TEMPORARILY set the bindings for each character, when you log back in it will be your standard setup.

Hope this helps.
That's what I was gonna do, but I'd also like to be able to take control from a new main if the main drops in combat and I read that API call doesn't work in combat. So I think I'll try the DNP override idea.

DrGamut
04-11-2008, 12:12 PM
Shucks, there's letters in my password! Removing W, A, S, and D from my account passwords ASAP!

zanthor
04-11-2008, 12:21 PM
You can't rebind keys in combat.
You can rebind them programitcally outside of combat.

The reason they nerfed this was to stop people from running bots that would dynamically rebind keys based on what needed done...

DrGamut
04-11-2008, 12:27 PM
Keyclone doesn't broadcast the override keys. Darnit.

The IT Monkey
04-11-2008, 01:30 PM
I don't know what the problem is maybe but I don't have any of those issues.

WASD is bound on all my toons to movement (so I can drive from anyone).
WASD and all the modified versions there of (Shift+W, Alt+W, ect.) are on my do not pass list.
Keyclone DNP toggle is set to Shift+Pause.

Before entering in my password I toggle the DNP to off.
I enter my password, hit enter, and toggle the DNP back to on.

If I need to switch PiP to a new leader then I am focused on the correct window and can drive from there. I can move any of my toons just by mousing over to that window and driving with WASD.

If I wish to dance or send all the keys to all the toons I just toggle the DNP again.

EDIT: Though I don't see it specifically stated anywhere in any of the posts above... it looks to me like you may be playing on more than one machine. If that is the case then I don't play that way so I can't tell you if the above would work for your needs.

DrGamut
04-11-2008, 02:20 PM
I don't know what the problem is maybe but I don't have any of those issues.

WASD is bound on all my toons to movement (so I can drive from anyone).
WASD and all the modified versions there of (Shift+W, Alt+W, ect.) are on my do not pass list.
Keyclone DNP toggle is set to Shift+Pause.

Before entering in my password I toggle the DNP to off.
I enter my password, hit enter, and toggle the DNP back to on.

If I need to switch PiP to a new leader then I am focused on the correct window and can drive from there. I can move any of my toons just by mousing over to that window and driving with WASD.

If I wish to dance or send all the keys to all the toons I just toggle the DNP again.

EDIT: Though I don't see it specifically stated anywhere in any of the posts above... it looks to me like you may be playing on more than one machine. If that is the case then I don't play that way so I can't tell you if the above would work for your needs.Yeah, that's what I'm doing right now. I wanted to make ENTER the DNP override key though so that I didn't have to press any extra buttons when sending messages to chat (just the enter key to bring chat up, and enter to send message, as always). Unfortunately keyclone doesn't send the hotkeys to the other clients.

Gallo
04-11-2008, 02:24 PM
I mean, I don't think that you WANT to make Enter behave like you're describing. You're much more likely to be chatting on only 1 character as opposed to all 5. I think that it SHOULD be harder to chat with all 5, so that you don't turn into a spam machine.

DrGamut
04-11-2008, 02:39 PM
I mean, I don't think that you WANT to make Enter behave like you're describing. You're much more likely to be chatting on only 1 character as opposed to all 5. I think that it SHOULD be harder to chat with all 5, so that you don't turn into a spam machine.I'm in the habit of pressing the full override when I want to do anything with just my primary character. Also, as it is currently, it's impossible to have chat button as the DNP override and open chat window on all 5 clients (for commands/emotes for example). Have to use a separate key.

The IT Monkey
04-11-2008, 05:33 PM
I mean, I don't think that you WANT to make Enter behave like you're describing. You're much more likely to be chatting on only 1 character as opposed to all 5. I think that it SHOULD be harder to chat with all 5, so that you don't turn into a spam machine.I'm in the habit of pressing the full override when I want to do anything with just my primary character. Also, as it is currently, it's impossible to have chat button as the DNP override and open chat window on all 5 clients (for commands/emotes for example). Have to use a separate key.I'm in the habit of pushing the full override when I am doing ANYTHING on my computer.... /sigh... I hit the pause key to type this post.

Tehtsuo
04-11-2008, 05:49 PM
On a related note, anyone know if you can bind more than 2 keys to a movement? I have WSAD on the DNP list, so only my main will use them. I want to have the arrow keys move just the slaves, and a spread out macro. Problem is, that means that for the slave that moves forward has the up arrow and the spread out button bound to move forward, but I need a third so I can bind the W key to forward, too. Any ideas?

Chorizotarian
04-11-2008, 07:04 PM
The UI only lets you bind 2 keys, but I've read that there is no limit on the number you can bind programmatically.

Djarid
04-14-2008, 02:47 AM
Hmm interesting...I didn't know that ;)

I use keymaps [keyclone] to bind multiple movement keys for my formations.

but I really would like uni-directional keymaps to make this work the way I want