Log in

View Full Version : Hotkeynet 2 computers and 2 accounts



Braindump
07-05-2019, 02:32 PM
Hello all,
I'm having an issue getting BFA Wow dual boxing working. I'm not understanding the scripts. I run what I feel is an super easy minimal setup. I looked at the forums for a while now trying to find something close to my issue but haven't seen anything that has help. You should know that when it comes to scripts, i'm just stupid.

I have hotkeynet 10
I have done desktop and one laptop.
I manually start WOW on on both machines so I shouldn't need a script to run the launch
I don't use the mouse through Hotkeynet just a few keyboard keys

I open Hotkeynet and WOW on both computers. Turn on my scroll lock. I have my second pc wow character on follow with my main and just use the keys 1 through the =(equal sign).
Hotkeynet net doesn't generate errors at all but it doesn't broadcast to the laptop.


Script that I use

//================================================== ==============
// SAMPLE SCRIPT FOR TWO WOW'S ON TWO PC'S
// (one account on each machine)
//
// Instructions: Copy this entire script (all the blue writing
// on gray background including comments). Save it in a file.
// Load it into HotkeyNet.
//
// Toggle the scroll lock key to turn hotkeys off and on. (You
// can change this if you want, just like you can change
// everything else with HotkeyNet.)
//
// Requires HotkeyNet build 147 or higher.
//
// For more info, go to www.hotkeynet.com (http://www.hotkeynet.com)
//================================================== ==============

//-----------------------------------------------------------
// SUBROUTINE TO LAUNCH A COPY OF WOW.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Command Launch>
<SendPC %1%>
<Run "c:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\WoW.exe">

//-----------------------------------------------------------
// HOTKEY TO LAUNCH BOTH WOW'S.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Alt Ctrl L>
<Launch Local>
<Launch 10.0.0.234>

//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE MAIL LABELS FOR SENDING KEY STROKES
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Label w1 Local SendWin "World of Warcraft">
<Label w2 10.0.0234 SendWin "World of Warcraft">

//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE HOTKEYS FOR ALL KEY COMBINATIONS THAT WILL GET
// SENT TO BOTH WOWS. ADD MORE KEY COMBO'S IF YOU WANT.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Hotkey ScrollLockOn A-Z, 0-9, Plus, Minus, F1-F12 except W, A, S, D, Q, E>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<Key %Trigger%>

//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE MOVEMENT KEYS THAT WILL GET SENT TO BOTH WOW'S.
// ADD MORE KEYS IF YOU WANT.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<MovementHotkey ScrollLockOn up, down, left, right>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<Key %Trigger%>

//-----------------------------------------------------------
// BROADCAST MOUSE CLICKS. REQUIRES ADJUSTMENT OF
// CLICKMOUSE DELAYS ON SETTINGS PANEL. HOLD DOWN OEM3
// (ON U.S. KEYBOARDS, THAT'S THE SQUIGGLE KEY IN UPPPER
// LEFT CORNER) WHEN YOU WANT TO BROADCAST.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<UseKeyAsModifier Oem3>

<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Oem3 LButton, MButton, RButton, Button4, Button5>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<ClickMouse %TriggerMainKey%>

Moorea
07-05-2019, 02:54 PM
I haven't used hkn in ages but will try to help anyway:

what does it say on both computers wrt being connected, check the hkn windows when you press a key

a) check that the IP address is indeed your other pc's
b) if you launch separately you have to attach to the wow windows

<TargetWin "World of Warcraft">
<Capture ...>

Braindump
07-05-2019, 03:56 PM
I haven't used hkn in ages but will try to help anyway:

what does it say on both computers wrt being connected, check the hkn windows when you press a key

a) check that the IP address is indeed your other pc's
b) if you launch separately you have to attach to the wow windows

<TargetWin "World of Warcraft">
<Capture ...>

Thank you for the help. HKN doesn't display errors. Scroll lock is on. I'm not sure what you mean in your response or where I'm supposed to put that in the script. I did as asked though and this is the response when typing the following keys 2 3 4. This setup has worked in the past however it died when Blizz removed Full Screen mode. Not sure of the connection between the two. I tried to get it working several times over the years since and it is clearly beyond me.

Main computer(server)

Sending to 10.0.0.234
Successfully sent.
<Passthrough> completed


Second computer (client)

From 10.0.0.85: <SendWin "World of Warcraft"><Key 2>
<SendWin "World of Warcraft "> completed:Window found. target set to 0xA052E"World of Warcraft"
<Key2>completed

From 10.0.0.85: <SendWin "World of Warcraft"><Key 3>
<SendWin "World of Warcraft "> completed:Window found. target set to 0xA052E"World of Warcraft"
<Key3>completed

From 10.0.0.85: <SendWin "World of Warcraft"><Key 4>
<SendWin "World of Warcraft "> completed:Window found. target set to 0xA052E"World of Warcraft"
<Key4>completed

Moorea
07-05-2019, 04:45 PM
oh I think I know, wow has an extra weird useless window now that takes the input instead of the right one, so you need something like this



<Command Launch>
<SendPC %1%>
<Run "path_to_wow\WoW.exe">
<Wait 1000>
<RenameTargetWin wow%2%_hidden_dialog>
<WaitForWin "World of Warcraft" 5000>
<WaitForWinEnabled 5000>


and use it to launch, or at least bind some key to do the rename of the first "World of Warcraft" window it would find, because the first one is the wrong one

Braindump
07-05-2019, 06:15 PM
oh I think I know, wow has an extra weird useless window now that takes the input instead of the right one, so you need something like this



<Command Launch>
<SendPC %1%>
<Run "path_to_wow\WoW.exe">
<Wait 1000>
<RenameTargetWin wow%2%_hidden_dialog>
<WaitForWin "World of Warcraft" 5000>
<WaitForWinEnabled 5000>


and use it to launch, or at least bind some key to do the rename of the first "World of Warcraft" window it would find, because the first one is the wrong one

No luck, no errors. I've added my script below with the changes you suggested. I may have entered it wrong.




//-----------------------------------------------------------
// SUBROUTINE TO LAUNCH A COPY OF WOW.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Command Launch>
<SendPC %1%>
<Run "c:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\_retail_\WoW.exe">
<Wait 1000>
<RenameTargetWin wow%2%_hidden_dialog>
<WaitForWin "World of Warcraft" 5000>
<WaitForWinEnabled 5000>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// HOTKEY TO LAUNCH BOTH WOW'S.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Alt Ctrl L>
<Launch Local>
<Launch IP_ADDRESS_2>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE MAIL LABELS FOR SENDING KEY STROKES
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Label w1 Local SendWin "World of Warcraft">
<Label w2 10.0.0.234 SendWin "World of Warcraft">


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE HOTKEYS FOR ALL KEY COMBINATIONS THAT WILL GET
// SENT TO BOTH WOWS. ADD MORE KEY COMBO'S IF YOU WANT.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Hotkey ScrollLockOn A-Z, 0-9, Plus, Minus, F1-F12 except W, A, S, D, Q, E>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<Key %Trigger%>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE MOVEMENT KEYS THAT WILL GET SENT TO BOTH WOW'S.
// ADD MORE KEYS IF YOU WANT.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<MovementHotkey ScrollLockOn up, down, left, right>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<Key %Trigger%>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// BROADCAST MOUSE CLICKS. REQUIRES ADJUSTMENT OF
// CLICKMOUSE DELAYS ON SETTINGS PANEL. HOLD DOWN OEM3
// (ON U.S. KEYBOARDS, THAT'S THE SQUIGGLE KEY IN UPPPER
// LEFT CORNER) WHEN YOU WANT TO BROADCAST.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<UseKeyAsModifier Oem3>


<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Oem3 LButton, MButton, RButton, Button4, Button5>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<ClickMouse %TriggerMainKey%>


I did find this article which is the exact same issue that I'm having. I tried his fix and no luck.


Hello fellow Multi-box'ers.
I'm new to this forum, cuz I usually don't have any problems with HotKeyNet.
My setup is 2 accounts on 2 computers (sometimes 3, when i borrow my sons account and laptop) and I have never had any issues getting the scripts to work, the way I intend.
But since Patch 8.0.1, the Battle for Azeroth Prepatch, HotKeyNet dosen't work anymore.
Does any1 else, using this program, experience the same issue or is it just on my system ?
What I can tell, is when the programs are running on both machines, there is no errors and all keystrokes gets registred. Though, whenever a key is pressed on the server computer, the client computers "World of Warcraft"-window gets deselected and the desktop recieve the commands. And when i hit "Space"-key, the "World of Warcraft"-window just closes, without warning.
I can for the life of God, not figure out wth is causing this.
Any1 else ??

Resolved.
Found the thread where the same issue popped up with Patch 7.2.
It seems 2 windows opens named "World of Warcraft" when you launch the game, where 1 of the windows are hidden, invisible or what ever.
This especially seems to be supported by the fact that a renaming command needs to be executed twice, b4 the gaming window is renamed.
I added this renaming command to my script:

<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Ctrl R>
<SendPC local>
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoW1>
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoWa>
<SendPC "PC 2 IP address">
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoW2>
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoWb>

This way the hidden windows get named WoW1 on Server PC and WoW2 on the Client PC.
The gaming windows are renamed Wowa on Server PC and WoWb on Client PC. I didnt bother renaming them again, it's
not needed, I just send the keystrokes to WoWa and WoWb. It works again.
Thanks to muldorante for identifying the core issue.

I can see the renamed window on my server desktop but not the other laptop. HKN does have an error with this script. The IP address is correct and the 2 open HKN are connected. It's weird that in the error it sending to an IP address?? that doesn't exist anywhere in my script.


ERROR MESSAGE
sending to 110.100.87.105
Cannot send to 110.100.87.105: either the IP address is wrong or the two copies of HotkeyNet are not connected.
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoW1> failed: Could not find window "World of Warcraft"
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoWa> failed: Could not find window "World of Warcraft"

Moorea
07-05-2019, 06:16 PM
usually wow is in C:\Program Files (x86)
but my guess is your issue is you mentioned you want to launch wow yourself using bnet
do try ScrollLockOn Alt Ctrl L to see if it does work that way, then you can figure out a way to trigger the "attach" (the rename)

mbox_bob
07-05-2019, 06:35 PM
Your IP address seems wrong. That is a public IP address and would not be on an internal network. If it is in fact a public IP address, and it is supposed to be, I'd be looking at firewalls.

Moorea
07-05-2019, 06:37 PM
yes it's probably obvious but put back 10.0.0.234 which was working before

mbox_bob
07-05-2019, 06:40 PM
idk if that is the whole script earlier, but where it says IP_ADDRESS_2 <--- where is this defined??? if not, replace with the actual IP address.

Braindump
07-05-2019, 07:10 PM
usually wow is in C:\Program Files (x86)
but my guess is your issue is you mentioned you want to launch wow yourself using bnet
do try ScrollLockOn Alt Ctrl L to see if it does work that way, then you can figure out a way to trigger the "attach" (the rename)

No luck, my wow is in this path (C:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft\_retail_\WOW.exe). I open wow through the executable within that folder to bypass the launcher.

Current code


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// PRESS CTRL R, CTRL R, CTRL T TO RENAME WOW'S IF YOU LAUNCH THEM MANUALLY
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Ctrl R>
<SendPC local>
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoW1>
<SendPC local>
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoW2>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// SUBROUTINE TO LAUNCH A COPY OF WOW.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Command Launch>
<SendPC %1%>
<Run "C:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft\_retail_\WoW.exe">
<Wait 1000>
<RenameTargetWin wow%2%_hidden_dialog>
<WaitForWin "World of Warcraft" 5000>
<WaitForWinEnabled 5000>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// HOTKEY TO LAUNCH AND RENAME BOTH WOW'S.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Ctrl R>
<SendPC local>
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoWb>
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoW2>
<SendPC "10.0.0.234">
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoWa>
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoW1>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE MAIL LABELS FOR SENDING KEY STROKES
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Label w1 Local SendWin WoW1>
<Label w2 10.0.0.234 SendWin WoW2>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE HOTKEYS FOR ALL KEY COMBINATIONS THAT WILL GET
// SENT TO BOTH WOWS. ADD MORE KEY COMBO'S IF YOU WANT.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Hotkey ScrollLockOn A-Z, 0-9, Plus, Minus, F1-F12 except W, A, S, D, Q, E>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<Key %Trigger%>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE MOVEMENT KEYS THAT WILL GET SENT TO BOTH WOW'S.
// ADD MORE KEYS IF YOU WANT.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<MovementHotkey ScrollLockOn up, down, left, right>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<Key %Trigger%>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// BROADCAST MOUSE CLICKS. REQUIRES ADJUSTMENT OF
// CLICKMOUSE DELAYS ON SETTINGS PANEL. HOLD DOWN OEM3
// (ON U.S. KEYBOARDS, THAT'S THE SQUIGGLE KEY IN UPPPER
// LEFT CORNER) WHEN YOU WANT TO BROADCAST.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<UseKeyAsModifier Oem3>


<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Oem3 LButton, MButton, RButton, Button4, Button5>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<ClickMouse %TriggerMainKey%>

mbox_bob
07-05-2019, 07:15 PM
Your CTRL+R hotkey does two different things. Neither of which actually launch the game, so the expectation is you load up the game yourself on both PC's, and then press CTRL+R, but due to the double binding on it, I suspect it is broken.

Braindump
07-05-2019, 07:35 PM
Your CTRL+R hotkey does two different things. Neither of which actually launch the game, so the expectation is you load up the game yourself on both PC's, and then press CTRL+R, but due to the double binding on it, I suspect it is broken.

I think I see what you mean. I changed it and it still doesn't work.
HKN still is connected and still no errors.



//================================================== ==============


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// SUBROUTINE TO LAUNCH A COPY OF WOW.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Command Launch>
<SendPC %1%>
<Run "C:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft\_retail_\WoW.exe">
<Wait 1000>
<RenameTargetWin wow%2%_hidden_dialog>
<WaitForWin "World of Warcraft" 5000>
<WaitForWinEnabled 5000>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// HOTKEY TO LAUNCH BOTH WOW'S.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Alt Ctrl L>
<SendPC local>
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoWb>
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoW2>
<SendPC "10.0.0.234">
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoWa>
<RenameWin "World of Warcraft" WoW1>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE MAIL LABELS FOR SENDING KEY STROKES
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Label w1 Local SendWin WoW1>
<Label w2 10.0.0.234 SendWin WoW2>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE HOTKEYS FOR ALL KEY COMBINATIONS THAT WILL GET
// SENT TO BOTH WOWS. ADD MORE KEY COMBO'S IF YOU WANT.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Hotkey ScrollLockOn A-Z, 0-9, Plus, Minus, F1-F12 except W, A, S, D, Q, E>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<Key %Trigger%>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE MOVEMENT KEYS THAT WILL GET SENT TO BOTH WOW'S.
// ADD MORE KEYS IF YOU WANT.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<MovementHotkey ScrollLockOn up, down, left, right>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<Key %Trigger%>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// BROADCAST MOUSE CLICKS. REQUIRES ADJUSTMENT OF
// CLICKMOUSE DELAYS ON SETTINGS PANEL. HOLD DOWN OEM3
// (ON U.S. KEYBOARDS, THAT'S THE SQUIGGLE KEY IN UPPPER
// LEFT CORNER) WHEN YOU WANT TO BROADCAST.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<UseKeyAsModifier Oem3>


<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Oem3 LButton, MButton, RButton, Button4, Button5>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<ClickMouse %TriggerMainKey%>

Moorea
07-05-2019, 07:57 PM
You were missing the (x86) before which was my point, good you corrected it, but

You have defined Launch but you aren't using it

also it seems you have 2 windows per computer now (in your Ctrl-R hotkey) ? is that what you want ?

what exact sequence of things you do starting from nothing is started but hotknet on both computers ?

in general when reporting a problem, please be precise with what are the symptoms (define "no luck" and what isn't working) ?

once you get to actually launch using hotkeynet instead of manually,
try a simple step first like if the login screen work as in if you type 1 in the email field does 1 show up on both (and if not, what are the messages, including did the RenameTargetWin worked succesfully)

in short, do something like:


<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Alt Ctrl L>
<Launch local>
<Launch "10.0.0.234">

and try alt-ctrl-l and see it does launch wow on both and after that hitting 1 sends it to both

Braindump
07-06-2019, 01:10 AM
in short, do something like:


<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Alt Ctrl L>
<Launch local>
<Launch "10.0.0.234">

and try alt-ctrl-l and see it does launch wow on both and after that hitting 1 sends it to both

So I made changes you suggested. I also removed the rename field and took it back to almost the pure sample sheet that HKN has online. I kept the latest changes as I think I was adding to much.


HKN works as I can see it broadcast to the other computer from with HKN. No errors or anything.


I start HKN on desktop (server) then on laptop (client)
I start WOW on desktop manually on the server first then on the client
I manually login into each WOW login screens Server first, then client
I hit scroll lock button and then press one of the only keys I use when I play. ( key 1 through key = )


You were missing the (x86)
also it seems you have 2 windows per computer now (in your Ctrl-R hotkey) ? is that what you want ?


what exact sequence of things you do starting from nothing is started but hotknet on both computers ?


in general when reporting a problem, please be precise with what are the symptoms (define "no luck" and what isn't working) ?


once you get to actually launch using hotkeynet instead of manually,
try a simple step first like if the login screen work as in if you type 1 in the email field does 1 show up on both (and if not, what are the messages, including did the RenameTargetWin worked succesfully)

I read on another post about renaming the wow windows to avoid the hidden window. Although some have got it to work it and I'm sure the code is good, it didn't for me. That is the reason why I removed them and went to basics starter script.. I did as you suggested though and tried to start both server and client WOW's with Alt Ctrl L. It did launch both server and client

I just logged into both and so far i'm working as it should. I can't believe it and almost gave up on it again. Hopefully it won't be short lived.

My script I used


//================================================== ==============
// SAMPLE SCRIPT FOR TWO WOW'S ON TWO PC'S
// (one account on each machine)
//
// Instructions: Copy this entire script (all the blue writing
// on gray background including comments). Save it in a file.
// Load it into HotkeyNet.
//
// Toggle the scroll lock key to turn hotkeys off and on. (You
// can change this if you want, just like you can change
// everything else with HotkeyNet.)
//
// Requires HotkeyNet build 147 or higher.
//
// For more info, go to www.hotkeynet.com
//================================================== ==============


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// SUBROUTINE TO LAUNCH A COPY OF WOW.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Command Launch>
<SendPC %1%>
<Run "C:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft\_retail_\WoW.exe"">
<Wait 1000>
<RenameTargetWin wow%2%_hidden_dialog>
<WaitForWin "World of Warcraft" 5000>
<WaitForWinEnabled 5000>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// HOTKEY TO LAUNCH BOTH WOW'S.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Alt Ctrl L>
<Launch Local>
<Launch 10.0.0.234>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE MAIL LABELS FOR SENDING KEY STROKES
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Label w1 Local SendWin "World of Warcraft">
<Label w2 10.0.0.234 SendWin "World of Warcraft">


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE HOTKEYS FOR ALL KEY COMBINATIONS THAT WILL GET
// SENT TO BOTH WOWS. ADD MORE KEY COMBO'S IF YOU WANT.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<Hotkey ScrollLockOn A-Z, 0-9, Plus, Minus, F1-F12 except W, A, S, D, Q, E>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<Key %Trigger%>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// DEFINE MOVEMENT KEYS THAT WILL GET SENT TO BOTH WOW'S.
// ADD MORE KEYS IF YOU WANT.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<MovementHotkey ScrollLockOn up, down, left, right>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<Key %Trigger%>


//-----------------------------------------------------------
// BROADCAST MOUSE CLICKS. REQUIRES ADJUSTMENT OF
// CLICKMOUSE DELAYS ON SETTINGS PANEL. HOLD DOWN OEM3
// (ON U.S. KEYBOARDS, THAT'S THE SQUIGGLE KEY IN UPPPER
// LEFT CORNER) WHEN YOU WANT TO BROADCAST.
//-----------------------------------------------------------
<UseKeyAsModifier Oem3>


<Hotkey ScrollLockOn Oem3 LButton, MButton, RButton, Button4, Button5>
<PassThrough>
<SendLabel w2>
<ClickMouse %TriggerMainKey%>


Thank you for all your time. You put in the extra effort to help a faceless member of this Forum and that is so cool. If I can in someway I'll play it forward on a subject that i know at least. =)

Moorea
07-06-2019, 01:39 AM
Thank you for all your time. You put in the extra effort to help a faceless member of this Forum and that is so cool. If I can in someway I'll play it forward on a subject that i know at least. =)
You are welcome, I am glad <RenameTargetWin wow%2%_hidden_dialog> that you have in your script now fixed it for you