View Full Version : [WoW] DynamicBoxer for ISBoxer: Dynamic Teams - alpha/beta tester needed/welcome !
Moorea
06-08-2019, 05:44 PM
Hi,
I've got a first rough working version of an idea I had a while ago:
I don't want to have to go back to ISBoxer Suite each time I create a new team (just my personal preference, if you love making new teams in ISBoxer + export any change, continue and move on) so I made a prototype addon modifying the behavior of ISBoxer in game addon so it doesn't have to be:
The way ISBoxer (http://isboxer.com/wiki/WoW:Quicker_Start_Guide) works currently is you need to create a new team for each and every combination of characters you may be multi-boxing with
This addon allows you to create only 1 team per layout and dynamically load any characters you wish into it
Likewise it lets you create new characters and teams without having to go back to isboxer suite and export to innerspace
This is quite important for instance in classic when you can't create your teams ahead of time and want to get going asap with your teams
The current release as of this writing is
https://www.curseforge.com/wow/addons/dynamicboxer
but check https://github.com/mooreatv/DynamicBoxer/releases in case (likely) I made a new one since
Please give it a shot and give me feedback here (and/or on https://github.com/mooreatv/DynamicBoxer/issues) !
If you use multiple bnet accounts in your team, please turn on broadcasting and do
/dbox c Foo1234
(replace Foo1234 by your main bnet handle or any other unique to you id)
And while you are at it
/dbox s someuniquesecret
(I'll add some UI for that later, or hopefully, once the kind folks at innerspace/isboxer adopt the idea, they'll generate a unique password and channel for you at export time)
Edit: the UI is there now so just log in and broadcast set channel/password in all windows, only needed once per account (it's saved) - see this update (https://www.dual-boxing.com/threads/55659-DynamicBoxer-for-ISBoxer-Dynamic-Teams-alpha-beta-tester-needed-welcome-!?p=419753&viewfull=1#post419753)
you can get it from here as well: https://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info25009-DynamicBoxer.html
and curse/twitch client
MiRai
06-08-2019, 09:10 PM
The way ISBoxer (http://isboxer.com/wiki/WoW:Quicker_Start_Guide) works currently is you need to create a new team for each and every combination of characters you may be multi-boxing with
This addon allows you to create only 1 team per layout and dynamically load any characters you wish into it
I'm not here to detract from your effort to improve multiboxing, but the way that you describe ISBoxer is inaccurate.
In ISBoxer, you only ever need one Character Set, and you are not required to create X amount of Character Sets (or Window Layouts) for the number of possible combinations of Characters you wish to run together, at any given time. However, additional Character Sets can be created if you're changing what's assigned to it—Key Maps, Virtualization, Click Bars, Menus, etc.—but even then, those non-Character assignments can be adjusted with ISBoxer Actions, and still do not require the creation of a new Character Set.
You and I previously discussed some of this in the ISBoxer Discord when you were coming up with this idea, and I outlined the process of swapping out Characters in the Slots of your Character Set, exporting, performing a /reload in game to refresh the macros, and then playing—all of which should take approximately sixty seconds or less.
I still believe there are going to be deeper underlying issues with this add-on when it comes to custom changes in an ISBoxer profile, as well as more advanced setups, but I'll save them for another time, so as to not drown out the thread.
Also, this is an add-on, and so I've moved it to the add-on forum category.
Moorea
06-10-2019, 09:35 AM
New release ! With bug fix and code cleanup:
0.1.4 June 10th 2019
- Fix /reload on one character needing to rebroadcast from others (Issue #1 (https://github.com/mooreatv/DynamicBoxer/issues/1))
- Better color scheme
- Only show isboxer warnings about bindings the first time
- Split into 3 files for clarity and keeping ISBoxer code changes in one place
- Refactor hooking to be cleaner and more generic and not conflict with our own functions
- Globe lint fixes
get it on https://github.com/mooreatv/DynamicBoxer/releases
until it shows up on curse
I'm not here to detract from your effort to improve multiboxing, but [...]
Whether it's creating new teams or just creating new characters or changing your one pro team manually and then having to re-export, and in game reload; what my addon tries to demonstrate is that all those steps are unnecessary, even if a pro can do them in less than a minute (I can't)
By the way even the Pro system could also benefit from automatically switching class or spec without having to alt-tab out of game to isboxer suite, changing things there, exporting, reloading all windows; when you can just logout the 1 character you want to change (or change spec for pro)
But I'm mostly trying to make the most simple cases work for now (as I didn't know about "pro" until today!), my use case is I have a lot of teams, I create new teams (which means I create new characters) all the time, and I don't want to have to create in game, then exit, go to isboxer, do the setup etc etc... I just want to reuse the existing working setup with whichever toon are logged in or just created.
Again that's just an option, anyone is free to continue using what they want, the way they want, but for folks who want a bit (or a lot) more dynamic and faster setup, maybe give it a shot. If I get around maybe a short video would help demonstrate the value?
I'd like to keep this thread about feedback about the addon rather than nitpicking terminology or fight about philosophy of boxing, I think there is room for more than 1 way of doing things, and the more should be hopefully the merrier
sparvath
06-11-2019, 06:16 AM
sound interesting. will give it a go this week... i got a gazzillion of teams (23)
MiRai
06-11-2019, 10:22 AM
Whether it's creating new teams or just creating new characters or changing your one pro team manually and then having to re-export, and in game reload; what my addon tries to demonstrate is that all those steps are unnecessary, even if a pro can do them in less than a minute (I can't)
Moorea, in the grand scheme of things, those steps aren't unnecessary. Don't you think that improvements to the process would've been made had they been possible? After all this time, it seems odd to think that they wouldn't have, if they could have, at least for something so minor.
I'd like to keep this thread about feedback about the addon rather than nitpicking terminology or fight about philosophy of boxing, I think there is room for more than 1 way of doing things, and the more should be hopefully the merrier
That's fine, but it's only fair that people understand what they're getting into when using your add-on, and what they're losing by doing so. Anything configured, in ISBoxer, that relies on a custom Target, like Action Target Groups, or virtualization, are, most likely, going to break if ISBoxer doesn't know which characters are actually in the Slots of the Character Set.
When you move beyond using 10% of what ISBoxer offers, then your add-on will cease to handle things properly, unless people want to dump tens of man-hours (or more) into their profile to work around everything your add-on "breaks," simply because an add-on, by design, cannot communicate with an external program.
Moorea
06-11-2019, 11:30 AM
Mirai instead of using FUD about new things, why not think it through and say what fundamentally is required to happen outside that can’t possibly happen inside the turing complete game lua engine.
isboxer suite export only exports a partial subset of what is configured by the user, it doesn’t have to be that limited by a static binding. The current way is indeed simpler for the isboxer addon implementation until mine but as I demonstrate it doesn’t have to be.
How about you try it and tell me what doesn’t work and I (or others, hopefully too, it’s open source) can add/fix it (if it requires change to the generator of isboxer suite, which is likely, as I already would need some to avoid some ugly workaround, I think Lax indicated that’d have to be in isboxer2, which it seems I have to learn :) )
And yes I do think going from static to dynamic is potentially a game changing innovation, not something so minor :)
And to get back on topic: 0.1.5 is out, and is now available directly from curse client !
changes since 0.1.4:
- Fix for lua error when not running in multiboxing setup (Issue #3 (https://github.com/mooreatv/DynamicBoxer/issues/3))
- Fix duplicate join event/messages
- Debug output now has multiple verbosity level, use /dbox debug 9 for most verbose (new MoLib support for it)
- Cleanup retries
- Handle message send failure
Ughmahedhurtz
06-11-2019, 03:56 PM
So, how do I use this? I see an explanation of what the overall intent is, but I didn't see a mention of what to do when you swap characters. If I have the Pro config set up, do I need to export all characters at once or does it just "know" which character is in the "CC" group so when I press "z" to counter a spellcast it round-robins that among the spell-counter characters and not the tanks? Any notable caveats or recommendations on how to set up details? Demo video?
Moorea
06-11-2019, 04:12 PM
So, how do I use this? I see an explanation of what the overall intent is, but I didn't see a mention of what to do when you swap characters. If I have the Pro config set up, do I need to export all characters at once or does it just "know" which character is in the "CC" group so when I press "z" to counter a spellcast it round-robins that among the spell-counter characters and not the tanks? Any notable caveats or recommendations on how to set up details? Demo video?
First, thanks for looking into it/considering it !
But if you have a very customized pro system where every character is unique, it probably won't work very well (until we change isboxer to export the full config instead of the just the substituted current one), this is meant for "basic" switching and on the fly new character/team creation. Say you want to swap a dps for another, then it should work (or if you're like me and content with simple 1 through = broadcasting with the occasional vfx and round robin key and where the work happens on the character side - then it always works)
Oh and to answer "What to do when you swap character", the answer is nothing, which is the beauty of it :) [it takes about 1 sec after login for the new team composition to sync]
And yes I should make a video
Ughmahedhurtz
06-11-2019, 08:14 PM
First, thanks for looking into it/considering it !
I'm always open to something that might make repetitive tasks easier. :P
But if you have a very customized pro system where every character is unique, it probably won't work very well (until we change isboxer to export the full config instead of the just the substituted current one), this is meant for "basic" switching and on the fly new character/team creation. Say you want to swap a dps for another, then it should work (or if you're like me and content with simple 1 through = broadcasting with the occasional vfx and round robin key and where the work happens on the character side - then it always works)
Gotcha. Now if I could just get the blues to let more of my accounts into the beta...
Moorea
06-11-2019, 09:46 PM
Very happy to announce I added the last piece (replaced the hardcoded demo secret by a short 2 step channel/secret user prompting UI, that you only need to run once (using keybroadcast)) and I can now call this work 1.0.0 ! (after 6 alpha/beta releases and a lot of learning, work and testing)
1.0.0 June 11th 2019 - 1.0 After 6 alpha/beta releases
- Added UI (2 step dialog boxes, ran only once per account) to set channel/secret pair
- Also re runnable using `/dbox init` later
- Limit maximum number of times we'll try sending/syncing (to 20 times/20s after channel join or /dbox m command)
- DynBoxer.enabled boolean to turn off dynboxer even if loaded/running (used when user cancels out of the setup UI)
- Luacheck'ed and some reformatting to 120 columns
- Ensure `/dbox j` always sends the sync message
- With all the above and testing showing things working, we are I believe feature complete for 1.0 and out of prototype mode!
Now I hope folks can give it a try and give me feedback/bug reports, feature requests etc
ps: forgot to mention earlier but it also updates your EMA team for you so you can immediately push from any toon after login/character creation
I'm always open to something that might make repetitive tasks easier. :P
Gotcha. Now if I could just get the blues to let more of my accounts into the beta...
I wish I had even 1 beta access to test things :-)
But yes I did this also with classic in mind where getting going fast is important and it would be nice if someone has 2+ beta access that they would test it - TIA !
omegared
06-13-2019, 08:35 AM
I have tested this for a limited time and so far i have no problems with it. It works really well. Unfortunately my accounts have expired and im only on trial accounts, so can't even make a party to further test.
fireymerlin
06-13-2019, 06:59 PM
I have tested for a few days.
I have not had any problems.
This addon allows me to change just one team member by simply logging out of one character and into another.
This will make my multiboxing easier.
I have 36 teams of 5 characters on over 10 realms.
Here is a simple example:
I have a team of 5 warlocks. I want to use them to bring all of my level 40 (I think) hunters to TrueShot Lodge so they can buy the "fetch" spell. These hunters are from various realms.
Before this addon, I would have to log out one toon that was close to trueshot lodge, log into the hunter, invite the hunter which meant spelling his name+realm.
Now I just logout a warlock, login a hunter, presess the isboxer invite and it works. Follow works also.
Moorea
06-14-2019, 12:51 AM
Thanks to both of you for trying it and I'm super happy you find it useful and have had no issue using it!
I have tested this for a limited time and so far i have no problems with it. It works really well.
I have tested for a few days.
I have not had any problems.
This addon allows me to change just one team member by simply logging out of one character and into another.
This will make my multiboxing easier.
I have 36 teams of 5 characters on over 10 realms. [...]
And... 1.1.1 is out with a shiny newer One time 2 steps ez setup ui ! (and more secure with the option to use builtin random for both channel and secret)
as well as an important bug fix for when you would have had a hole in the team (ie slot4 is missing for instance, the auto mapping was stopping at the first hole (so before 1.1.0 you would only have remapped ok 1,2,3 but not 5))
Get it on https://www.curseforge.com/wow/addons/dynamicboxer
Changes since 1.0.0:
1.1.1 June 13th 2019
- Avoid rejoining the same channel right away while doing /dbox init setup UI (needed to clear a few more state)
1.1.0 June 13th 2019
- Added optional id/password generator, you can tab between the 2 copy/paste etc (can be used for channel
but mostly for the secret, it must be pasted on all windows, if copied, `/dbox random` to get just this utility)
(Issue #8) with lots of work/learning to get a cool fixed width narrow display and handle tab, escape, click, select,
typing etc as one may expect.
- Handle trial accounts where BattleNet info is nil (Issue #7)
as part of fix prefix provided channel name with DynamicBoxer4, if left empty (but don't) uses "demo"
- Static dialogs are reusing widgets without reinitializing them (!) so changes made in UI config
need to be reverted on OnHide (like clearing password field)
- make sure we leave previous channel when doing "/dbox init"
- fix bug on macro rewrite when missing slots (lua ipairs stops at first hole)
One time setup example screenshots:
https://cdn-wow.mmoui.com/preview/pvw71225.png
https://cdn-wow.mmoui.com/preview/pvw71227.png
https://www.dual-boxing.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=2168&stc=1https://www.dual-boxing.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=2169&stc=1
Boostab
06-16-2019, 12:32 PM
I will be giving it a try some time this week I also have a ton of teams and I have a few more I am trying to push to 120 thanks for putting your time and effort into this sound like a great add on and cant wiat too give it a shot .
Moorea
06-18-2019, 08:19 AM
1.2.0 is out with an even simpler (one time) setup and clearer UI: 3 broadcasted keys:
Ctrl C (copies token from master), Ctrl V (paste into all windows), Enter (done!)
Please give it a shot and let me know / any feedback welcome
ps: cross realm support is next version
https://www.dual-boxing.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=2173&stc=1 https://www.dual-boxing.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=2174&stc=1
Moorea
06-19-2019, 03:43 AM
Here is the long overdue video/demo:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TseQzm4Ktb4&list=PLlutLO8wozeIy0U2htIL3O12bIE5cB1VA
Be gentle, those are my first videos !
ps: I should probably start a new thread now that we are past alpha etc
Moorea
06-22-2019, 12:31 PM
Big new release, v1.3.0 ! Changes since 1.2.0:
1.3.0 June 22nd 2019
adding /dbox show to show the current master token (Issue #16 (https://github.com/mooreatv/DynamicBoxer/issues/16))
adding /dbox reset to clear all saved variables (start from scratch) this has similar effect to prexisting /dbox init but
allows to completely clear all state (follow with /reload for it to take effect)
removed /dbox channel and /dbox secret as the token is now handled through ui; adding /dbox setto
set token string from the command line instead of the UI (but /dbox show/init is better)
Master automatically enables "show token" (/dbox show) when it detects a change in team,
so you can add members/copy existing token. Issue #17 (https://github.com/mooreatv/DynamicBoxer/issues/17).
And it automatically closes the ui popup once the team is complete !
(broadcast the existing since 1.0 /dbox init if you want to change tokens across windows instead of reuse the last one)
Fixed #18 (https://github.com/mooreatv/DynamicBoxer/issues/18) (bug with extra GetParent():Hide() causing master cancel button to hide UI)
Moorea
07-08-2019, 10:27 PM
a lot has changed since the first alpha, please see https://www.dual-boxing.com/threads/55771-DynamicBoxer-wow-addon-for-ISBoxer-Dynamic-Teams-and-more-addon for current information
ps: can we lock this thread ? maybe sticky the other ? TIA!
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.