PDA

View Full Version : [ISBoxer] Macros kept on ISBoxers side



JackBurton
03-20-2014, 06:42 PM
Are there any advantages to keeping your wow macros in game and not porting them to ISBoxer? I get really excited when i see people post their ISBoxer profile but their profile rarely gives me any ideas for improvement to my own profile. I rarely see wow macros kept on ISBoxer side anymore. Does the KISS concept make it overwhelmingly advantageous to simply keep them all in game?


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Lc6KJFxCTw

Example

If you want to look at my work in progress. backup your project or dont save your current profile after you copy my macros over. My keycombo's may confilct with yours. I'm returning from a long break and rebuilding mine so they are very raw and unrefined. I'm also trying to improve upon my old old similar class spell thread. (http://www.dual-boxing.com/threads/47044-ISBoxer-Macros-and-Team-Synergy)

My Game Helpers>World of Warcraft>Macro Sets>paste wow macro sets from clipboard (http://pastebin.com/SRwNU28w)


Sources

Macro DB Forum

Khatovar's Advanced Macro's Post (http://www.dual-boxing.com/threads/46393-Khat-s-Newbie-Guide-for-Multiboxing-Vol-2?p=354393&viewfull=1#post354393)

Khatovar's Super Awesome Useful Macros
(http://www.dual-boxing.com/threads/46393-Khat-s-Newbie-Guide-for-Multiboxing-Vol-2?p=354397&viewfull=1#post354397)
The MoP Macro Library (http://www.dual-boxing.com/threads/47938-The-MoP-Macro-Library)


General Macro Sites

WoW Lazy Macros (http://wowlazymacros.com/)

Arena Junkies (http://www.arenajunkies.com/macros/)


Details

WoW Wiki (http://www.wowwiki.com/Portal:Main)

Wowhead (http://www.wowhead.com/)


Troubleshooting Macro's

Possible WoW Key Combinations

You have eight per key to choose from with this kind of macro. these are in yellow in the conflict tracker.

examples:
1) unmodified Y
2) Shift Y
3) Ctrl Y
4) Alt Y
5) Alt+Shift Y
6) Alt + Control Y
7) Shift + Control Y
8) Shift + Alt + Control Y

1120
Get the spreadsheet here (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AhDFjej8mqqmdGZaQ2p0ejc3R2lyZDBkRTFLQ3Bne Gc&usp=drive_web#gid=27)

WoW Key Combination Conflicts

A macro you are trying to add to your profile can seem like its broken if its not assigned assigned a key combination or is given a keycombo which is in conflict with other key combinations. There are Blizzard binds, Windows Binds, ISboxer Defaults, ISBoxer User created macros, ISBoxer FTL modifers, and ISBoxer macros that include "Allow extra modifers". All the keybinds you have in your blizzard bindings may conflict with isboxer as well. I don't want my bags popping up in my face while im spamming my dps key. I have these mapped in Brown to avoid those they will be different on your clients. There are some semi hidden ISBoxer binds that you should avoid. for example assigning Alt-F4 to a macro will make client seem to crash because F4 exits the that current client. These are in blue in the conflict tracker. Avoid key combinations that are taken by windows. some examples of these are the dreaded windows key, Alt-Tab, ctrl Escape, and control alt delete. These are Black in the conflict tracker.

Also: From this Thread (http://www.dual-boxing.com/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=360356)


Can't remember what key combos you have used? Can't find that duplicate key combo?

The following Excel 2010 file reads your ISBoxer configuration file and parses it for all of your key combinations.

Download: ISBoxer XML KeyMap Parser v4.2.xlsm (https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B_FdyRHSk1kLQ2UtQnpQTXVvdDg)
Updated: 5/7/12
Bug and logic tweaks
Clearer color coding


Typo's

One of the biggest problems with macros is a typo. <wrong> /cast healing wavw <correct>/cast healing wave

Incorrect Syntax

<wrong> /cast healingwave <correct> /cast healing wave consider using Fitzcairn's Macro Explain-O-Matic (http://www.macroexplain.com/) to validate macros

Addons

You have inspect the blizzard binds after installing an addon as installed addons sometimes take up key combination resources. Most experienced multiboxers use the very minimum amount of addons. At the end of your changes when you export your isboxer profile to Innerspace ISBoxer will warn you when you if any of your Game Helper macro's have keybind conflicts. It will tell you which macros are under conflict but it wont show you which keybinds are still open create a spreadsheet (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AhDFjej8mqqmdEg5MFRKWlptNTBaSDg5N0RweVlSY 2c#gid=1) to track them yourself so your not finding open key combinations by trial and error.

Reload

If a macro doesnt seem to work in game after you've made a tweak. Do a /reload in game so that the changed isboxer addon's macro's takes effect. This is probally the #1 reason peoples macros dont seem to work for them.
big changes - when making adjustments make it a little at a time. if you make 10 changes and afterwards something is wrong you will have to look at all ten of those macros to see what the problem is instead of just troubleshooting that last two changes you made.


Understanding Multiple Modifier Macros

General Macro's


/cast [harm] Lightning Bolt; [help] Healing Wave

Dynamic Macros

I used to have just about all the key combinations on my keyboard taken up before i found these conditionals. You can create one macro for all your classes if your smart and you cluster similar spells together. or spells that compliment each other best. So instead of creating and managing six separate macros you can drop them all in one. and save six key combinations!



!if (character in "Class Shaman") /cast [harm] Lightning Bolt; [help] Healing Wave
!if (character in "Class Death Knight") /cast [harm] Festering Strike
!if (character in "Class Priest") /cast Smite
!if (character in "Class Warlock") /cast Incinerate
!if (character in "Class Paladin") /cast Hammer of the Righteous
!if (character in "Class Mage") /cast Frostbolt



!if (character in "Class Priest") /cast Smite
•if you have any toons in your group that are in an "Action Target Group" named "Class Mage" exactly, then have that toon(s) cast Frostbolt


!if ("slot 1" and character is not "slot 1") /invite {SLOT1}

so if you had your toon2 execute this it would /invite toon1
this is used with 4 other lines to add the whole group.


!if (character is "slot 1" and character in "Class Shaman") /cast [@{SLOT2},exists,dead][@{SLOT3},exists,dead][@{SLOT4},exists,dead][@{SLOT5},exists,dead] Ancestral Spirit
If you have a toon in slot 1 and on top of that he is also in Action Target Group named "class shaman" exactly then search for dead toons in your party in this order to rez toon2 toon3, toon4, and then toon5.
Read this wiki article (http://isboxer.com/wiki/WoW:Macro) to read more and see more examples.


Macro's With Modifiers

ISBoxer "allow extra modifers" are there to allow for macros that use modifiers in the macro. These are in purple in the conflict tracker.



/cast [nomodifier] <Mount of your choice>
/cast [modifier:ctrl] Find Minerals
/cast [modifier:shift] Find Herbs
/cast [modifier:alt] Smelting


FTL Macro's

The "Can use FTL Modifiers" requires the "Allow extra modifiers" checked to work correctly. You really dont need to create any additional FTL macros but some folks have had great idea's. Like Zorba The Geek's Targeting Modes If you dont plan on creating FTL macros you still need to know what current macros use macros to avoid those keybinds. These are in Red in the conflict tracker.


/assist {FTL}

**moderators feel free to edit**

Lax
03-20-2014, 07:14 PM
It boils down to personal preference. Most people don't want to mess with macros at all, and therefore most profiles you see people posting will have no custom WoW macros. If you're going to set up WoW Macros though, setting up through ISBoxer definitely carries the advantages over setting up in-game.


I'm rebuilding my Pro configuration right now for my WoW Paladins, and currently I'm not using WoW Macros. I'm having ISBoxer press the same buttons in the game that I would use when playing solo. However, the problem with this method is that if I rearrange my Action Bars, then I also have to update my ISBoxer profile to match the new buttons.

But, the same problem exists once in a while for WoW Macros too. For example, the "CLS" configuration contained a WoW Macro for every ability for every class. When Cataclysm hit, they changed many of those abilities, so tons of macros had to be changed or removed.

JackBurton
03-20-2014, 10:57 PM
Ualaa on game helper macro keybind conflict troubleshooting:



Check that you don't have any conflicting keybinds on the window that is not following.
Basically open your keybinds and pick a blank one... then bind Shift F11, Ctrl F11, Alt F11, Shift + Ctrl F11... going through each combination of F11 and Backslash.
Unbind/Clear the keybind as you make them, so you're sure that key bind is free.

shamelessly stole from this thread (http://www.dual-boxing.com/threads/50497-Slave-not-assist-Master-but-Master-assist-slave?p=386706&viewfull=1#post386706)

JackBurton
03-20-2014, 10:58 PM
<reserved>

JackBurton
03-20-2014, 11:01 PM
{reserved}

Sam DeathWalker
03-22-2014, 03:57 AM
A lot of my time in ISboxer is spent trying to assign a key combination to a new macro, I also have used most all free key combinations. It would be nice if isboxer could suggest an unused key combo based upon an ordered list (say shift alt ctrl first then shift ctrl then alt ctrl then etc.) in other words you tell isboxer your preference of suggestions then isboxer sees what is in use and suggests based upon the order you told it.

I used the xml parser but the 2nd page shows almost nothing.

Lax
03-22-2014, 12:57 PM
A lot of my time in ISboxer is spent trying to assign a key combination to a new macro, I also have used most all free key combinations. It would be nice if isboxer could suggest an unused key combo based upon an ordered list (say shift alt ctrl first then shift ctrl then alt ctrl then etc.) in other words you tell isboxer your preference of suggestions then isboxer sees what is in use and suggests based upon the order you told it.

I used the xml parser but the 2nd page shows almost nothing.

I would suggest that any feature requests you have be posted on isboxer.com rather than buried on a thread here.

I think this is totally misguided since the WoW Macro Library was added. Any time someone says they have used most all free key combinations and they are having trouble finding a new one to use, I have to wonder what's wrong with their configuration (in fact I can specifically tell you what's wrong with it). Frankly there are way more key combinations than abilities any given character can use.

Jack exemplifies this perfectly:

Dynamic Macros

I used to have just about all the key combinations on my keyboard taken up before i found these conditionals. You can create one macro for all your classes if your smart and you cluster similar spells together. or spells that compliment each other best. So instead of creating and managing six separate macros you can drop them all in one. and save six key combinations!
Yet his macro covers 6 different classes which don't need the same macros. So I can tell you right off the bat (and I've tried telling him this dozens of times over the years) that he has a macro management problem because he didn't need 6 different key combinations.

He should have a WoW Macro Set for Priest, and a WoW Macro Set for Shaman, and the Priest macro set should only be assigned to Priests, and the Shaman macro set should only be assigned to Shamans. They can both contain a WoW Macro assigned to Ctrl+Shift+Alt+Q, and there is no conflict, because they are assigned only to different Characters. It's like having Dynamic Macros except without using Dynamic Macros for the sake of using Dynamic Macros, and it's much easier to manage...

There are cool uses for Dynamic Macros, but there's no similarity to the macros given, it's literally 100% different for every case.


A macro you are trying to add to your profile can seem like its broken if its not assigned assigned a key combination or is given a keycombo which is in conflict with other key combinations. There are Blizzard binds, Windows Binds, ISboxer Defaults, ISBoxer User created macros, ISBoxer FTL modifers, and ISBoxer macros that include "Allow extra modifers". All the keybinds you have in your blizzard bindings may conflict with isboxer as well. I don't want my bags popping up in my face while im spamming my dps key. I have these mapped in Brown to avoid those they will be different on your clients. There are some semi hidden ISBoxer binds that you should avoid. for example assigning Alt-F4 to a macro will make client seem to crash because F4 exits the that current client. These are in blue in the conflict tracker. Avoid key combinations that are taken by windows. some examples of these are the dreaded windows key, Alt-Tab, ctrl Escape, and control alt delete. These are Black in the conflict tracker.
FTL macros ARE macros that "Allow extra modifiers", fyi. I'd like to know where you get these "hidden ISBoxer binds", Alt+F4 is a Windows thing (try it on your browser) and F4 does not exit.

luxlunae
03-22-2014, 08:35 PM
I myself switched from using conditional macros to class specific macro sets when I switched to Pro a few months ago. I really prefer pro because it gives you the option to be complicated when you want to be complicated or to get started on a new class in under half an hour when you DONT care about being precise/complicated.

My recommendation, when you make a new level one teampull up the spell book and make /cast macros for all of the abilities you'll learn until level 10, export and reload once, and then figure out how you want to use them later without having to reload again (by default I always start any dot macros with a castsequence reset=target DOT, null).

The way I initially handled my macro sets was to make my first one (priest I think it was), with a level 90 priest that had all of the abilities and ran them alphabetically from shift alt q to shift alt . And then ctrl shift alt for the same keys. I then copy this set for each class so I don't have to rebind/recreate fifty macros per class. Yes this means the bottom of my DK list has twenty priest macros, but who cares I'm not triggering them. I also developed a few macro naming conventions: rather than the name I just say what a buff is Buff Stats Buff Spellpower etc, and battle rez and rez are just called that not the ability name. I also started doing "t Name" for abilities that are talents not default spells. Obviously not something that really matters, just a personal preference.

The one thing I do not do is re-sort the macros by name at any time, because as I said I was very methodical about assigning key binds in order and I don't want them to be out of order if I need to add more to the end.

Druids are the only class for which I have multiple sets, I have druids split into Druid Caster (Boomkin/heal macros) and Druid Melee (kitty/bear). Half of the macros are the same.

Sam DeathWalker
03-23-2014, 09:00 AM
Ok I did not realize that you can use the same keys if they are sent to different characters.

MiRai
03-24-2014, 02:57 PM
My recommendation, when you make a new level one teampull up the spell book and make /cast macros for all of the abilities you'll learn until level 10, export and reload once, and then figure out how you want to use them later without having to reload again (by default I always start any dot macros with a castsequence reset=target DOT, null).
For new teams I have a 'No Spec' Mapped Key which only spams my 1 and 2 keys. Then when the character hits level 10 I can assign a Mapped Key to them that is more suited for their actual spec.