Log in

View Full Version : [WoW] Hiding and showing the UI



Saqor
06-28-2013, 03:07 PM
Hey Boxers. After a long hiatus I'm considering getting back into boxing World of Warcraft.

I have a setup using KeyClone with one main screen and the other four accounts quartered on the other screen, and I use maximizer in KeyClone to switch out which character is in the main window.

However, I'd love to be able to Macro hiding and showing the UI - not toggling it, but turning it on or off.

I've googled some, but whenever it's asked the answers are usually "Use Alt-z lolz noob" style nonsense.

Alt-z is not a macro, and it toggles - neither of which is what I'm after. Specifically I want my small windows to have to UI, but of course I need it on the main window. I probably can't get Maximizer to do this automatically, but as I have a macro I run after maximizing that sets up focus, follow and the like, I was thinking I would tag this hypothetical command on that - if it exists.

JohnGabriel
06-28-2013, 03:15 PM
I think it will require an addon, as there is no single slash command.
http://www.wowpedia.org/World_of_Warcraft_API#Toggle_Functions

I am not sure about KeyClone, but can it send different commands to different windows? For example in IsBoxer you can send an alt-z to just one window, or all windows, or some windows. You can have commands run when you switch to certain windows as well.

JohnGabriel
06-28-2013, 03:22 PM
Well here is an article that does what you want, maybe:

http://www.wowwiki.com/Removing_Blizzard_default_frames

MiRai
06-28-2013, 05:33 PM
I'm going to assume that because there are secure actions involved, that you're going to need an add-on to accomplish what you want:


<Binding name="TOGGLEUI">
if ( UIParent:IsShown() ) then
securecall("CloseMenus");
securecall("CloseAllWindows");
UIParent:Hide();
SetUIVisibility(false);
ActionStatus_DisplayMessage(format(UI_HIDDEN, GetBindingText(GetBindingKey("TOGGLEUI"), "KEY_")))
else
UIParent:Show();
SetUIVisibility(true);
end

But even if you could create a macro solely for toggling the UI you would still need to bind it to a key for it to function...

So, why not just change the key binding from ALT+Z to something easier to press? Are you looking to save on computer resources by toggling off the UI?

Saqor
06-28-2013, 05:41 PM
I don't want to toggle it. I want to turn it off. Or on. But if I turn it off - it's off, even if it was already off. Hence, alt-z is not what I'm after.

Also, I want to put it in a Macro because I'm already running said Macro when switching windows, and if possible I'd like to be able to accomplish more with that same keypress.

Saqor
06-28-2013, 05:46 PM
It is possible to do from a Macro.


/script UIParent:Hide();
/script SetUIVisibility(false);

will hide it

and conversely


/script UIParent:Show();
/script SetUIVisibility(true);


will show it.

MiRai
06-28-2013, 06:18 PM
Well, then... There you go. >_>

Saqor
06-28-2013, 06:19 PM
Yeah, well, I figured I might as well post the solution for the next person looking for it - it's a common enough question, but I found no answers before now.