View Full Version : Macro library
suicidesspyder
05-25-2013, 04:27 PM
Since i cant really find what im looking for i figured this could be easiest maybe stickied to for everyone to see. I know macros but trying to figure a target macro for rift is first. So used to attacking not clicking what i need to attack. Also any other macros would be great. Maybe we can all do a collection of macros just for rift like we have for wow.
angers revenge
06-12-2013, 09:14 AM
to get it started:
@self <spell name>
Cast a spell on yourself.
@focus <spell name>
Cast a spell the focused target.
@focustarget <spell name>
Cast a spell at a target of a focused target.
@lasttarget <spell name>
Cast a spell on the last target before your current target.
@targettarget <spell name>
Cast a spell on your target's target.
@pet <spell name>
Cast a spell on your primary pet.
@mark # <spell name>
Cast a spell on the creature or player marked with # (only usable in group/raid).
from http://www.rifthead.com/guides/macros.
The last one is pretty helpful. It target a specific raid icon.
suicidesspyder
06-15-2013, 04:19 PM
so there is nothing like wow with the whole hit button and it auto attacks a target. Like the /targetenemy [noharm][dead] we use in wow. This way you dont have to click every mob.
ebony
06-15-2013, 05:36 PM
so there is nothing like wow with the whole hit button and it auto attacks a target. Like the /targetenemy [noharm][dead] we use in wow. This way you dont have to click every mob.
there is something called smart target in the UI that will target the the 1st closest what it can where it can to cast on a player its in the interface - combat menu.
there is a target nearest in front of player as well that works as well really really.
Smedbox
06-16-2013, 02:25 AM
You can also have an "/assist <name>" macro, then hit whatever spell you want.
ebony
06-16-2013, 05:00 AM
You can also have an "/assist <name>" macro, then hit whatever spell you want.
ya i just added assist in front of my dps keys so it ftl target whatever my main targets. works great. in raids and groups and play.
suicidesspyder
06-16-2013, 01:57 PM
So its best to use a ftl setup similar to wow in rift? See im new to rift so trying to get all my checks in place before i run all five toons. Wow to me is starting to die. Ive maxed my main account and almost another relm with level 90s. All main professions and most secondary are maxed so only other thing to do is complete all quests in game but not ready for that grind yet lol.
CokeZero
06-20-2013, 06:04 AM
If you play a class with a targeted AOE spell, you can place @gtae in your macro to automatically cast the targeted AOE on your current targets location. Example: cast @gtae Fire Storm what this does is eliminate the need to click the spell, then click again somewhere on your screen! Awesome if you just want the spell to go off at your current targets location instead of manually targeting a location!
@gtae
This is an amazing addition to the macro system. I honestly never thought they would add something like this.
Lyonheart
06-20-2013, 12:45 PM
If you play a class with a targeted AOE spell, you can place @gtae in your macro to automatically cast the targeted AOE on your current targets location. Example: cast @gtae Fire Storm what this does is eliminate the need to click the spell, then click again somewhere on your screen! Awesome if you just want the spell to go off at your current targets location instead of manually targeting a location!
thats sweet!
MiRai
06-20-2013, 01:19 PM
If you play a class with a targeted AOE spell, you can place @gtae in your macro to automatically cast the targeted AOE on your current targets location. Example: cast @gtae Fire Storm what this does is eliminate the need to click the spell, then click again somewhere on your screen! Awesome if you just want the spell to go off at your current targets location instead of manually targeting a location!
This is an amazing addition to the macro system. I honestly never thought they would add something like this.
thats sweet!
That is pretty damn sexy.
Smedbox
06-23-2013, 11:36 PM
Here is a macro tip for Ceric Cabalists who wants to have better control of whether Obliterate is really ENABLED or DISABLED on all characters, not just Toggled to some potentially unknown state:
Macro to ENABLE: cast [notactive] Obliterate
Macro to DISABLE: cancelbuff Obliterate
This works for other Toggle abilities too. I have several buffs where I use the ENABLE macro on my various characters and classes, so I can just spam the BUFF buttons to turn everything on.
Smedbox
06-26-2013, 01:50 AM
Here is another macro tip: I've found a decent way to clear your current target on all characters. This is useful for synchronizing the ESC menu across all characters, etc. This macro is actually an error - there is no keyword such as "@none". But it will clear your currently selected target. :) You can use any bogus word instead of "@none".
target @none
Smedbox
06-26-2013, 02:05 AM
And yet another macro tip: Instead of using /targetlasttarget in your Follow macros to try to maintain your current targets, you can save your current target in the Focus slot and then switch back to it.
It fixes two problems with /targetlasttarget that has annoyed me for a long time: If you don't have a current target (it would switch back to whatever you had previously or something bogus), or if your FTL modifier is a combination of multiple modifiers (a FTL Follow macro may actually select multiple chars, one after the other, and /targetlasttarget would lose track).
Here's an example of a Follow macro:
/focus
/targetexact [ctrl] MyChar1
/targetexact [shift] MyChar2
/targetexact [alt] MyChar3
/targetexact [ctrl] [shift] MyChar4
/targetexact [ctrl] [alt] MyChar5
/follow
/target @focus
/clearfocus
Explanation:
Line 1: Saves your currently selected target in the Focus slot.
Line 2: Will be executed if Ctrl is held down (FTL modifier). NOTE: It will also be executed for other modifiers like Ctrl+Shift, or Ctrl+Alt, etc!
Line 3-4: Similar to line 2.
Line 5: Will be executed if both Ctrl and Shift is held down. Can override whatever got selected on line 2.
Line 6: Similar to line 5.
Line 7: Follows your current target - the last character selected by line 2-6.
Line 8: Switches back to what you had selected before you started the macro. Works even if you didn't have anything selected.
Line 9: Clears out the Focus slot. Otherwise it will be visible on the screen in a separate frame.
target @none
Weird - that works on Client A but not on B/C/D/E - they all throw a "No target with the name: @null" error!
Smedbox
06-26-2013, 02:42 PM
Weird - that works on Client A but not on B/C/D/E - they all throw a "No target with the name: @null" error!
Hmm, works fine for all my characters... Try with /suppressmacrofailures at the top of the macro?
Another thing - Because I'm re-using macros for a lot of different specs, I do get some errors in the chat window a lot. For example, I have a macro called "ST" (for single-target dps spam) with spells and abilities for all my specs. That macro will print errors in the chat window because some abilities are not available. There's no UI setting to disable that kind of error, and they're hardcoded to go to the General tab. So I have created a separate tab "Chat" that I use instead of the General tab.
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.