View Full Version : [ISBoxer] Conditional Macro Generation Based on Slot #
daanji
10-06-2012, 03:58 AM
Currently, I have a team of paladins.
I am making a basic IsBoxer conditional macro for buffing. Basically, what I want to do if have each paladin do a different buff and use a different macro.
In my WoW marcro library, I have the following
Example
!if("slot 9" and character is not "slot 9" and character in "Paladins Holy")/castsequence reset=10,combat Blessing of Kings, !Seal of Insight
!if("slot 10" and character is not "slot 10" and character in "Paladins Holy")/castsequence reset=10,combat Blessing of Might, !Seal of Insight
Of course, this did not work. After re-reading the manual, I misunderstand what "slot #" does (it just checks so see if a character is present in that slot).
So basically, there is no way to create a Slot # based macro generation? For example, If slot == 1, do Kings else if slot == 2, Do Might
What I'll end up doing is creating 2 Action Targets groups called EVEN/ODD and just place the paladins in those.
But I thought I'd ask and perhaps there is a better way.
moosejaw
10-06-2012, 06:37 AM
You probably don't want to use addons but I use smartbuff for these things. You can trigger it with a /click so all the characters will buff at the same time. So if you load the same paly's to the same slots they can be set to only buff might or kings.
I also remember in isboxer there is a "ischaractername xxxxx" or similar for the macros so you can set the slot to specify that character to cast that line. I used that one previously but don't use it right now.
!if("slot 9" and character is not "slot 9" and character in "Paladins Holy")/castsequence reset=10,combat Blessing of Kings, !Seal of Insight
!if("slot 10" and character is not "slot 10" and character in "Paladins Holy")/castsequence reset=10,combat Blessing of Might, !Seal of Insight
Of course, this did not work. After re-reading the manual, I misunderstand what "slot #" does (it just checks so see if a character is present in that slot).
Come on now this is somewhat simple logic and it's almost in plain English. :)
The reason you are confused, is because you're apparently using the Universal Invite Macro as an example, which uses this logic to make sure your character does not try to invite a) an empty slot (thus the if "slot 9" part) or b) himself (thus, the if character is not "slot 9" part), and then proceeds to /invite {SLOT9} -- or rather 1 through 5, but in your example we're talking about slot 9 so just follow along..
The second clause of the !if you're looking at is "and character is not "slot 9"" If you take out the "not", then you will instead have ... "and character is "slot 9"". This is all you need.
The logic you intended:
!if (character is "slot 9" and character in "Paladins Holy") /castsequence reset=10,combat Blessing of Kings, !Seal of Insight
!if (character is "slot 10" and character in "Paladins Holy") /castsequence reset=10,combat Blessing of Might, !Seal of Insight
HPAVC
10-06-2012, 07:21 AM
For future readers, the isboxer wiki page for the conditionals is here http://isboxer.com/wiki/WoW:Macro
daanji
10-06-2012, 12:18 PM
As always thanks Lax, I figured it was something obvious and stupid I was missing. Sorry for all the noob questions lately. I've been trying to go from a basic IsBoxer user to a more Advanced one. I'll be honest, sometimes the IsBoxer "Language" confuses me.
In this case, I swear I had tried that, but I probably had a typo. Thanks again. It works great for me.
Ualaa
10-06-2012, 02:40 PM
I've been trying to go from a basic IsBoxer user to a more Advanced one.
I'd recommend taking a look at: http://isboxer.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2850
The method for CLS macros is essentially based on Lax's Pro setup.
I haven't had a chance to mess around with it much, but it is a clean way to set things up.
Create your team, assign some keymaps and wow macro library macros to toons and the team.
Away you go.
The DPS for each grouping looks to be a straight priority sequence.
It would be rather easy to tweak, if you wanted something taken out, added, or changed in order.
I'd have to add a lot of custom mapped keys, and change hotkeys.
But I'll be moving to 10-boxing, and that will necessitate an overhaul of my configuration.
Since I'm doing (or will be) a massive change, going with the Pro Method makes sense.
daanji
10-06-2012, 03:46 PM
Yeah, I've been reading through all the "Pro Setup" guides lately. Doesn't mean I understand everything yet :)
I started 10-boxing, doing 5x DKs and 5x Paladins. As a result, I had to overhaul my current setup as it was too cumbersome.
Currently, my setup is almost identical to the Pro setup now and supports multiple classes and roles, complete with click bars, macros, and various configuration states.
I'm still expanding it and tweaking everything and bumbling my way through it.
Ualaa
10-06-2012, 05:56 PM
The "Pro" method makes a lot more sense, having looked at the CLS configuration.
I didn't really get it (variable mapped keys), from reading the wiki entry when I first took a look at it.
For some reason, my balance druids are doing IWT even though none of the toons are in a melee group.
As with any configuration, would need to tweak it a bit.
I like my melee IWT, in that if a toon is in the melee ATG they IWT as part of the combat spam but otherwise do not.
A lot of my hotkeys don't do anything, because they're not part of the configuration.
Most likely will go with a variation between the two, ending up hopefully with the methodology/organization of the Pro method, but with all my hotkeys doing what I expect them to do.
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.