PDA

View Full Version : [ISBoxer] Guide: Using ISBoxer Based Macros, conserving key-combinations and resolving conflicts



JackBurton
04-14-2012, 10:24 PM
You want to let isboxer handle your macros because instead of editing your macros across all your clients you can now do it centrally. This makes Improving your setup less Daunting.

Like you, Jack, all my macros are stored within ISBoxer and generated at export into the ISBoxer addon. Once you're setup like this you no longer need action bars, or the keybinds made to them.

I literally have 12-15 keys bound inside the game options (everything else was systematically unbound), with a few more bound to addons. Most of my gamehelper macros are bound to CTRL or ALT numpad keys (SHIFT is dodgey on the numpad) or combinations of CTRL, ALT and SHIFT with letter and function keys (Don't forget to avoid ALT-F4 =P).

http://s17.postimage.org/ggvc5hdkf/macro.png (http://postimage.org/)
Creating a Macro (http://postimage.org/)

Game Helpers>World of Warcraft>Quick Setup38

Right click new wow macro and input your macro


General Macro's

example:


/cast [harm] Lightning Bolt; [help] Healing Wave


assign a key combination. you have eight to choose from with this kind of macro. these are in yellow in the conflict tracker.

examples:
1) unmodified Y
2) Shift Y
3) Ctrl Y
4) Alt Y
5) Alt+Shift Y
6) Alt + Control Y
7) Shift + Control Y
8) Shift + Alt + Control Y

if we chose Y then that key combination would be closed and no longer available.

Dynamic Macros

I used to have just about all the key combinations on my keyboard taken up before i found these conditionals. You can create one macro for all your classes if your smart and you cluster similar spells together. or spells that compliment each other best. So instead of creating and managing six separate macros you can drop them all in one. and save six key combinations!

example:

!if (character in "Class Shaman") /cast [harm] Lightning Bolt; [help] Healing Wave
!if (character in "Class Death Knight") /cast [harm] Festering Strike
!if (character in "Class Priest") /cast Smite
!if (character in "Class Warlock") /cast Incinerate
!if (character in "Class Paladin") /cast Hammer of the Righteous
!if (character in "Class Mage") /cast Frostbolt

explanations of the conditionals used:

!if (character in "Class Priest") /cast Smite
•if you have any toons in your group that are in an "Action Target Group" named "Class Mage" exactly, then have that toon(s) cast Frostbolt

!if ("slot 1" and character is not "slot 1") /invite {SLOT1}
•if you have a toon in "slot 1"(client1/toon1) and on top of that you have any other toons that are NOT in slot one(your first slot), then /invite slot 1
so if you had your toon2 execute this it would /invite toon1
this is used with 4 other lines to add the whole group.

!if (character is "slot 1" and character in "Class Shaman") /cast [@{SLOT2},exists,dead][@{SLOT3},exists,dead][@{SLOT4},exists,dead][@{SLOT5},exists,dead] Ancestral Spirit
•if you have a toon in slot 1 and on top of that he is also in Action Target Group named "class shaman" exactly then search for dead toons in your party in this order to rez toon2 toon3, toon4, and then toon5.
Read this wiki article (http://isboxer.com/wiki/WoW:Macro) to read more and see more examples.

Macro's With Modifiers

ISBoxer "allow extra modifers" are there to allow for macros that use modifiers in the macro. These are in purple in the conflict tracker.

example:

/cast [nomodifier] <Mount of your choice>
/cast [modifier:ctrl] Find Minerals
/cast [modifier:shift] Find Herbs
/cast [modifier:alt] Smelting


FTL Macro's

The "Can use FTL Modifiers" requires the "Allow extra modifiers" checked to work correctly. You really dont need to create any additional FTL macros but some folks have had great idea's. Like Zorba The Geek's Targeting Modes (http://www.dual-boxing.com/threads/32720-ISBoxer-Multi-Mode-FTL-Targeting) If you dont plan on creating FTL macros you still need to know what current macros use macros to avoid those keybinds. These are in Red in the conflict tracker.

example

/assist {FTL}



All the keybinds you have in your blizzard bindings may conflict with isboxer as well. I don't want my bags popping up in my face while im spamming my dps key. I have these mapped in Brown to avoid those they will be different on your clients.

There are some semi hidden ISBoxer binds that you should avoid. for example assigning Alt-F4 to a macro will make client seem to crash. Innerspace closes the client when you press alt F4. These are in blue in the conflict tracker.

Avoid key combinations that are taken by windows. some examples of these are the dreaded windows key, Alt-Tab, and ctrl Escape. These are Black in the conflict tracker.

When you export your isboxer profile to Innerspace ISBoxer will warn you when you if any of your Game Helper macro's have keybind conflicts. It will tell you which macros are under conflict but it wont show you which keybinds are still open create a spreadsheet (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AhDFjej8mqqmdEg5MFRKWlptNTBaSDg5N0RweVlSY 2c#gid=1) to track them yourself so your not finding open key combinations by trial and error.

http://s17.postimage.org/9qjygp97z/minefield.png (http://postimage.org/)
keycombo tracker (http://postimage.org/)

Ualaa
04-15-2012, 04:43 PM
I haven't really done many of my macros within IS Boxer.
Most of my stuff is set up as a Keybind action, to a macro that resides within the Warcraft client.

I can certainly see the advantage of centralizing them within the software.
Rather than having a Paladin open (from one team) which lets me copy/paste their macros over to a Paladin on a new team.
And then log the rest of that team in, to copy/paste to the other four...

The Wow Macro Library, and Named Macro Action are powerful.
You can set the targets, either as a character set or as individuals, for a given macro set.
So you can use team specific macros or role specific, such as all healer Paladins across every team.




I like the idea of a spreadsheet for keybinds.
But doubt I'd ever go to the trouble of making one.

Destahd
04-16-2012, 06:04 AM
I'm doing something similar to this, but mixing in the named macros.
576

I find it simpler to have specific macros per toon and easier to switch the macros/targets...

EDIT: One thing I want to move to is making a mapped key for the healer/priest. That way I can toggle his spam off for bosses and click heal, while spamming for trash.

JackBurton
04-16-2012, 10:53 PM
Ualaa


I haven't really done many of my macros within IS Boxer.
Most of my stuff is set up as a Keybind action, to a macro that resides within the Warcraft client.
.

About the time zorba the geek was still playing wow i saw one of your old profiles. You had like differnt colors for your teams. something like gold team, colorB, colorC team, etc.. or something to that effect.

Argentina

i'm gona end up doing something like that too. or a hybrid.

Ualaa
04-17-2012, 12:33 AM
A lot of my teams were named after colors.
My "boxing teams", has each member of a given team colored to show which team they're on.

It wouldn't make much difference if they were called Shaman Team, Warlock Team, etc.




A given macro will be the same, whether it resides in Warcraft of IS Boxer.
You can do things like:

!if (character in "Class Shaman") /cast [harm] Lightning Bolt; [help] Healing Wave
!if (character in "Class Death Knight") /cast [harm] Festering Strike
!if (character in "Class Priest") /cast Smite !if (character in "Class Warlock") /cast Incinerate
!if (character in "Class Paladin") /cast Hammer of the Righteous
!if (character in "Class Mage") /cast Frostbolt ... if the macros reside within IS Boxer...



My Paladin heals are either broadcast across a Repeater Region (over my Grid), or use the two healing macros Mosg2 developed.
/castsequence [@focus,exists,nodead] Flash of Light, Flash of Light
/cast Holy Shock

/castsequence [@focus,exists,nodead] Holy Shock, Holy Shock, Holy Shock, Word of Glory

I personally have the macros in Warcraft.
And send the alternating keybinds of "1" and "2", on steps 1 and 2 of my two-step DPS macros.

But you could put each of those macros within the IS Boxer macro library.
And have a Named Macro Action on steps 1 and 2, and alternate between them.

They'd be easier to edit, across teams... within IS Boxer.

Khatovar
04-18-2012, 10:02 PM
Closed per OP request - see http://www.dual-boxing.com/threads/47044-ISBoxer-Macros-and-Team-Synergy