Log in

View Full Version : SWTOR Character Configuration Tool



Norrin
02-21-2012, 11:54 PM
Guys,
I got sick of setting my variable keystroke keys be hand every time I wanted to run a different party, which for me is a lot.
I was not happy with any solution so I wrote my own.

The tool basically just opens a given ISBoxer profile, allows a Character Set to be selected, and then configures the Variable Keystrokes for each Slot of the Character Set based on the Position in the Game Party Frame. By the magic of C# and xml it updates the ISBoxer profile xml.
One of the downsides is that you have to reload the xml back into ISBoxer and export. So its not real seamless.

Also the design kind of sucks, but then I did write it in a couple of hours.

The source code is available to download as well.


You can find a very long winded and wordy description here along with download links.
Sorry its not more professional written, but hey I write code not docs about the code.
http://www.fivemasted.com/Summary.html

Pyro_box
02-22-2012, 02:24 PM
Thank you for posting this; I will be moving up to (4) accounts later this week and will be utilizing many of the concepts, ideas, and proceedures that have been posted over the past couple of months, including this one.

Apatheist
02-25-2012, 11:25 AM
Not sure if I'm doing something wrong, but I can't get it to work. In ISBoxer I go File > Save As and save my XML file. Then, in the tool, I go File > Load and select the XML file. However, in the Character Set drop box, there's no set to select.

Norrin
02-25-2012, 12:25 PM
Apatheist, those steps would be correct. Sounds like there is a problem with the application.
I can look into it if you want to paste your profile. I think everyone uses pastebin? I can run thru the debugger and find out whats wrong.

Apatheist
02-25-2012, 12:55 PM
It's probably something I've done wrong, I'm bad at this technical stuff :P

Cheers

Norrin
02-25-2012, 01:34 PM
I see what the problem is. The Variable Keystrokes (PartyMemberOneSelect, PartyMemberTwoSelect, PartyMemberThreeSelect, PartyMemberFourSelect, and SelfSelect) were not found.
I hate having to use those, but because I don't know how ISBoxer generates its Code for keys, I use those to get the code.

I guess I could just use the Target Slot 1 thru Target Slot 4 Keystrokes. With the PartyMember#Select keystrokes though, they are not used for anything else so better bet they won't mess anything else up.
I am also adding a console to the application to better track state and errors and things like that.

For now though just add the PartyMemberOneSelect - PartyMemberFourSelect, and SelfSelect. They should be set to what you have set in SWTOR.

Norrin
02-25-2012, 01:40 PM
I see I didn't really ever test with a team that has less than 4 characters in it. Apparently that causes badness.
I am fixing that now.

Apatheist
02-25-2012, 01:57 PM
Well, 4boxing really isn't a problem in Warzones since if you join as a full group, your hotkeys/character slots won't change.

The reason I wanted to try this was because when I PvP, I drop one character out and play with 3 + a healer from my guild. I wanted something that would let me quickly adjust my group while the Warzone is starting.

I'm not really sure how PartyMemberOneSelect are set up? I just make 5 new variable keystrokes with those names, but what do I put in the default combination?

*Edit - I see what you meant now. I added the standard in-game targeting hotkeys (the same as Target Slot 1, etc) and the XML is showing up in Character Set now. I should have tried that before, but I assumed there'd be a different setting, since it didn't seem to make sense to have a second variable keystroke with the same function :P

. . . So, if I understand correctly, when I add a 4th player to my group, I go into the tool and in "SWTOR Position", change the number to reflect which slot each character is in according to the game client?

Norrin
02-25-2012, 02:10 PM
Yeah I made this so I could fairly quickly drop/add new party members that are not necessarily mine.
The PartMemberOneSelect key would be set to what you your keybind is in game for Target Party 1, defaults to F2 I believe.
the SelfTarget would be set to what your Target Self key in game is set to, defaults to F1.

Your Target Slot 1 thru Target Slot 4 keys should end up being the same which is why I might just change the app to use those instead as most everyone has those already.
I am about to put a new version that fixed the error having to do with a party less then 4. Actually the issue wasn't party size, it not having all the variable keystrokes in the slots setup.

Norrin
02-25-2012, 02:21 PM
New version has been uploaded.
There is a new option to Use Party Targeting. If you don't care about being able to Target Party Members leave it unchecked and it will not be used.
Using the Target Party Members requires the Target Party 1 thru Target Party 4 variable keystrokes to be included. These map directly to what is in game, and though act very similiar to the Target Slot keys, they get set differently. Where target Slot keys are set based on Slots in ISBoxer these Target Party keys stay mapped to actual Party location. The are needed because of the way SWTOR deals with selecting the slot your in.

I will probably be creating a new version, that uses a cleaner UI for selecting Party Locations. In that version I think I will removed the need for the PartySelect keys and instead just use the Target Slot keys.

Norrin
02-25-2012, 02:30 PM
. . . So, if I understand correctly, when I add a 4th player to my group, I go into the tool and in "SWTOR Position", change the number to reflect which slot each character is in according to the game client?

Yes that is correct.
If your playing a 3 man team and you have a fourth, say a friend, then in the tool, leave the SWTOR Position where your friend is at set to 'Not Used'

Apatheist
02-25-2012, 02:37 PM
Hm . . still not quite working. When I load the XML file and set "SWTOR Position", I set it according to which slots my characters are in on my main window? Also, I notice in the Variable Keystrokes tab (in your app) the party hotkeys are filled in, but there's no hotkey listed for assist or follow. Not sure if that's normal?

Scratch that. I was making the changes, going into ISBoxer and clicking export, without loading the XML file first. Derp!

Tested with 4 characters. Dropped one out of group, adjusted with tool, works perfectly with 3. Invited random guy from group, adjusted, works again. I can actually do Warzones now without a massive headache.

Legend!

Norrin
02-25-2012, 03:10 PM
Awesome! I am so happy its working for somebody other than me.

Riiker
03-09-2012, 03:07 PM
This is the best tool to be made for SWTOR since ISBoxer! It is so versatile. I absolutely love this tool!!! You absolutely rock!

Norrin
03-09-2012, 05:02 PM
This is the best tool to be made for SWTOR since ISBoxer! It is so versatile. I absolutely love this tool!!! You absolutely rock!

Thank you Riiker. Glad I could help.

Riiker
03-09-2012, 08:48 PM
I think the only reason more people haven't downloaded this is because they don't understand variable keystrokes. I know I had to figure them out before I could use this. The combination of variable keystrokes and your program greatly greatly simplified my setup. Making changes and adding new things is so much easier as well. I'm a fan.

Norrin
03-09-2012, 10:08 PM
Yeah I still have some modifications I want to make to it, but to be honest it does everything I need it to do so the motivation is not really there.

Riiker
03-09-2012, 10:16 PM
The one thing that might be nice is a popup window which asks for your ingame key binds. Might make it easier for newer users.

Norrin
03-09-2012, 11:04 PM
The one thing that might be nice is a popup window which asks for your ingame key binds. Might make it easier for newer users.

Good Idea. I originally had a popup window I was going to use for that, but took it out.

Korruptor
12-23-2012, 11:04 AM
It doesn't seem that this tool works with the current ISBoxer XML format. Has this project been abandoned?

Norrin
12-23-2012, 01:29 PM
I have not touched the config tool in about about 6 months as I stopped playing SWTOR.
I will not have time to fix it until after Christmas (maybe Monday 24th).

The code is simple C# if anyone wants it.
I will try to get it working again for those who use it.

Korruptor
12-23-2012, 01:56 PM
I know i would appreciate it if you could! I'd take a stab at maintaining it if I had a working example to get familiar with first.

Norrin
12-24-2012, 05:25 PM
Korruptor, where you using the 'Use Party Targeting' feature.
If so that was causing an error on parsing the xml as it was looking for Variable Keystrokes Target Player 1 - 4, where it should have been looking for Target Party 1 -4.
I made that change in the code and updated the Source and Package.

Other than that everything seemed to work for me.

Korruptor
12-25-2012, 05:14 PM
Hi Norrin,

In my profile, my VK's are specified at the slot number level (Slots 1, 2 etc)

The error I am receiving is:

Clearing Character Slots
Openning D:\Program Files (x86)\InnerSpace\SWTOR.xml to Parse.
Sequence contains no elements
Openning D:\Program Files (x86)\InnerSpace\SWTOR.xml to Parse.
Sequence contains no elements

Norrin
12-25-2012, 05:37 PM
That looks like the parse error I was seeing before I changed it.
Did you try the new version?

Would help too if I could get a copy of the SWTOR.xml your using.

Korruptor
12-25-2012, 09:43 PM
That looks like the parse error I was seeing before I changed it.
Did you try the new version?

I downloaded them around 1PM CST today from the links here:
http://www.fivemasted.com/Summary.html



Would help too if I could get a copy of the SWTOR.xml your using.

Sure, here it is:
http://pastebin.com/10zs49D0

Norrin
12-26-2012, 01:13 PM
Thanks.

Spending the day with the family, then will take a look.

highliner420
01-03-2013, 08:55 PM
Hi Norrin,

In my profile, my VK's are specified at the slot number level (Slots 1, 2 etc)

The error I am receiving is:

Clearing Character Slots
Openning D:\Program Files (x86)\InnerSpace\SWTOR.xml to Parse.
Sequence contains no elements
Openning D:\Program Files (x86)\InnerSpace\SWTOR.xml to Parse.
Sequence contains no elements

Getting the same error here.

Norrin
01-04-2013, 04:02 PM
Sorry guys with work starting up again this week, I have been slacking on looking into this further.
I have time today though so I will see if I can get it working properly again.

Korruptor
01-04-2013, 10:57 PM
No worries Norrin, I know how the holidays go with family. Any time spent on this is much appreciated!

ecgric
04-11-2013, 01:22 PM
Ok so is it me ? I can't get this to work. Any help here would be appreciated. I follow the steps and it all loads but doesn't update the file when I hit the set positions tab. I go to reopen the file in ISBoxer after I hit set positions and it still has the original settings. Here is my file if you need to look at it. Its based off of Rikers set up and its pretty much clean except for me adding my team. I'm only running 3 right now to level up with my other 50. Then it will be four. Paste ID 5691888832

GoofySGB
08-10-2015, 05:46 PM
Is this tool still available, both link don't look like there working.

Norrin
08-11-2015, 02:21 PM
Sorry my website is having issues lately and most of the tools I had up there are now lost.
I think I still have a copy of this laying around. However if your using ISBoxer its pretty much built in now.