PDA

View Full Version : Addon Idea - CC Target List



Drakkun
03-12-2008, 07:31 PM
I was doing some arena's last night and had a sudden realization about an addon that would make multi-boxing a little easier. In arena's I use an addon called Proximo (http://www.wowace.com/wiki/Proximo and http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info7312.html ) that automatically creates a targetable list of enemies on the other team as you mouse-over them. You can use it to target them, it corrdinates between everyone on the team that has it, allows you to assign macros for when you click the target in the list, etc.

Here is what I can imagine a similar addon being for multi-boxing PvE. It would work like so...

- Select a target and use a macro to add it to the list (maybe even put a raid symbol on it)
- Repeat for each mob in the group
- Have a macro for each character that can CC that targets a certian mob from the list and casts the CC spell

The addon would need to have an exposed api for macros. Something that would let you target a mob in the list based on its location in the list. For example, if I wanted to have a mage always sheep the 2nd one in the list, its macro would be something like:

/cast [target=#addon_target_2#] Polymorph

I wish I had time to work on an addon like this, but my current workload takes up most of my time. Anyone think this is doable?

Wilbur
03-13-2008, 09:47 AM
I'm fairly certain you can only target blizzard specified unit variables in combat. Otherwise you could assign everyone a diffrent CC target which would be OP'ed

Drakkun
03-13-2008, 12:30 PM
The addon would add the targets pre-combat. I would use it for pulling groups inside instances that need CC. And if Proximo can do it in arena, why couldn't it be done in PvE?

aetherg
03-13-2008, 02:09 PM
Unfortunately, the way Blizzard's API works, there is no way to identify enemies except by their name. So when you go up against many mobs of the same type, there is no way to target a specific one. You'll see this with Proximo as well, when a hunter has a pet with the exact same name as the hunter.

Drakkun
03-13-2008, 06:06 PM
Unfortunately, the way Blizzard's API works, there is no way to identify enemies except by their name. So when you go up against many mobs of the same type, there is no way to target a specific one. You'll see this with Proximo as well, when a hunter has a pet with the exact same name as the hunter.I didn't know it worked this way. That's a bummer. Oh well.

Šeceased
03-13-2008, 06:48 PM
this would be a rather interesting.. could you potentialy take the names (from proximo) and with one push of a button have your clones all CC a different target? ie main targets 1st on the list, 1st clone the seconds etcetc.. so sheep 5 arena players with one button.. it would be the same as setting a focus for every one of the players in the arena, simply much much much more efficient.
Even manually setting a focus for a 5 man team (take 5 mages for instance) is not a bad idea as you could combine the insane burst damage with a large amount of crowd control

Drakkun
03-14-2008, 02:13 PM
I don't think you can re-order the list in Proximo. It does provide keybindings for selecting the targets in the list. So you could do a quick select target /assist.

But here's a macro to fill up Promixo with your opponents instantly..



/tar a
/tar b
/tar c
/tar d
/tar e
/tar f
/tar g
/tar h
/tar i
/tar j
/tar k
/tar l
/tar m
/tar n
/tar o
/tar p
/tar q
/tar r
/tar s
/tar t
/tar u
/tar v
/tar w
/tar x
/tar y
/tar z


It doesn't work 100%, but works most of the time for regular teams.

Šeceased
03-19-2008, 06:58 AM
I don't think you can re-order the list in Proximo. It does provide keybindings for selecting the targets in the list. So you could do a quick select target /assist.

CODE

It doesn't work 100%, but works most of the time for regular teams.

Hmm but saying you just got the list up.. can it sync to other teamm8s? similarly to dpsmeters.. and if you can sync it (no need for alphabetical order) can you then target the first on the list via a macro command..

/target ProximoEnemyNr1 NR2 etc.. or something along those lines (obviously not that but would it be possible?)

or on the other hand.. is there a command to say target skull? or diamond etc

Wilbur
03-19-2008, 08:40 AM
You cant target using raid icons, no.

Djarid
03-19-2008, 08:40 AM
@ Šeceased
/target ProximoEnemyNr1 NR2 etc.. or something along those lines (obviously not that but would it be possible?)Have you ever watched "That Mitchell and Webb Look" ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zo1XFz0kac0

Šeceased
03-19-2008, 08:51 AM
You cant target using raid icons, no.

damn blizzard, thwarting every one of my ikkle ideas ;(


@ Šeceased
Have you ever watched "That Mitchell and Webb Look" ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zo1XFz0kac0

hehe yeah I'm like that IRL too :P

Anozireth
03-19-2008, 07:35 PM
I noticed in the 2.4 notes that the UI will now be given a unique identifier for every mob, which will allow mobs with the same name to be differentiated.

Drakkun
03-20-2008, 06:32 PM
Interesting....
:thumbsup: