PDA

View Full Version : [WoW] Combat-Sensitive Mount Macro



Tehtsuo
12-16-2011, 06:46 PM
Now that I've started up boxing again with (a new) Team Teht, I've decided to dedicate all my time to making my multibox setup as smooth and streamlined as I can, and then level with the extra time. If a key map isn't working or I feel like I could increase my team's flexibility with more configuration work, I stop what I'm doing and work on it. When I'm satisfied, I go back to what I was doing.

Yesterday, I got my mounts; I decided immediately "I don't like the way they mount." The reason is, different characters are getting out of combat at different times, so it's a pain in the butt to get them all mounted. I decided "There's got to be a way to make this work better" so I broke out the API listings and started browsing. Below is what I came up with:


/run if not UnitAffectingCombat("player") and not UnitAffectingCombat("party1") and not UnitAffectingCombat("party2") and not UnitAffectingCombat("party3") and not UnitAffectingCombat("party4") then CallCompanion("MOUNT",1) end
/run if UnitIsPVP("player") then CallCompanion("MOUNT",1) endThe above macro checks every member of your party to determine if they are in combat, and mounts the first mount in your mounts window if not. If you want a different mount, you'd have to specify a different number in the CallCompanion call. Also note: The "UnitAffectingCombat" function does not evaluate to true if a character has drawn proximity agro from an NPC - it will only evaluate true after the character has been hit by the NPC or performed an action on the NPC. However, I still find it to work nearly flawlessly, because the function is very reliable at determining when a unit leaves combat. Now I can just spam the key after combat and know that when I do see them mounting, there's not going to be one left without a mount when the cast completes.

Update: I added a line to turn this into a regular mount macro when your character is pvp flagged. This means you'll be able to mount regardless when you're in a BG, where you won't always be in a party together with your team, and you may want to mount anyways to go collect one of your team from a different graveyard or something.

Ualaa
12-17-2011, 03:19 AM
Thanks for sharing that.

One toon not mounting, and getting left behind... isn't fun.
That will help a lot.

Tehtsuo
12-17-2011, 08:41 AM
Updated with PVP mode

luxlunae
12-18-2011, 10:01 PM
Thanks for sharing that.

One toon not mounting, and getting left behind... isn't fun.
That will help a lot.

That's why I always make sure i add my mounts to grid and show them as an icon in the middle of the unitframe. I also make sure I have separate mount/dismount macros.

Luxxi isn't mounted? WHY ARENT YOU MOUNTED LUXXI?