Log in

View Full Version : Macro Question - Round Robin?



Morganti
07-16-2007, 10:11 AM
Quick question for someone more experienced with LUA than I am:

I have 4 mages and I want one button (X for example) for all of them to be able to cast polymorph, but I want them to cast it one at a time. A simple counter script? Does the WoW interface support this?

Psuedo Code:

/* make the fourth mage cast poly on his turn */
if a = 4
/cast polymorph:sheep
a++
endif
if a > 5 || a < 1
a = 1
endif


Each mage would have a macro with his own particular number. Anyone have any insight into this? Thanks

Scribbler
07-16-2007, 10:40 AM
Depending on how you are broadcasting to the machines (or client if on one machine) can't you set up an exception for that certain key that would delay the output?

I'm faily sure you can do this with auto hotkey on a single machine, maybe you could bind them seperatly on each machine but make a macro for that key outside of wow that emulates those keypresses with the timings you want to use ?

Random thoughts :P

Morganti
07-16-2007, 10:51 AM
I'm using multiplicity in general and multibox to broadcast. I'm not looking for anything timed, I just want to hit a certain key and have mage1 sheep my target, then switch targets hit the same key and have mage2 sheep that target, etc.

Xzin
07-16-2007, 02:30 PM
WoWs interface does not support this. They stripped that out with 2.0.

However, you COULD do it by putting a pause in there - but when you pause, NO inputs are possible. The characters are literally frozen. Not even sure you can do that in combat either.

So... you would have to do it some other way. Perhaps a program that sits in between WoW and your keyboard and fires off output after a delay?

Morganti
07-16-2007, 02:31 PM
How do you handle your sheeps/novas/counterspells then Xzin? Individual keys?

Morganti
07-16-2007, 03:16 PM
Ha! I thought of a way to do it!

I can use the different bars to give the different mages access to each spell. So for instance, Mage1 has access to sheep, frost nova, and counterspell on his bar1, but not on bar2-4. Mage2 has access to those spells only on bar2, etc.

So if I hit the changebar button (which I set the same across all of the mages) it increments to the next mage and does his sheep/cs/nova. I can use the nostromo and do it in one keypress (macro the changebar and cast button together) or do it in two key presses by hand.

I just leave the priest out of the process by not setting his changebar key and by making sure his macros are setup correctly to not do anything when the guy im sheeping is targeted and the cast key is pressed.

keyclone
07-16-2007, 05:29 PM
** cough **

keyclone (http://solidice.com/keyclone)

** cough **

Morganti
07-16-2007, 06:20 PM
Yeah, I noticed your program could do it, but my way is free :)

Morganti
07-17-2007, 09:29 AM
Just a quick update about this for those who may want to try it, my method worked great last night! 4 different polymorphs and 4 different frost nova casts at my disposal with only one button each.

Bunny
07-17-2007, 10:18 AM
That is an elegant solution to the problem. Only disadvantage is that when your mages are flipping through the bars you have to setup the spells your want every mage to have at every time (e.g. fireball) on every bar (or don't you?).
Anyways good idea i think I'll adopt for my frost novas.
Might also be a good idea for running more than one healer (think 10 boxing here ;) )
Bunny

Morganti
07-17-2007, 10:59 AM
Yes, I had to put the same spells on every bar that I wanted all the mages to have access to at all times. It's a cheap price to pay to put a spell on 4 bars to be able to do this though. Multiboxing from what I've found is all about the setup :)

I use bottom left and right bars and the regular bar, so that leaves me with 4 bars to cycle through (which is perfect for 4 mages to take turns with). If I were wanting to do this with only 2 toons I'd probably just add the 2 right side actions bars to the UI and that would leave me with only 2 to cycle through (less to setup).

You could definitely do the same trick with healers and have one button cycle heals on your healers or whatever else you wanted to do with them.