View Full Version : How do you actually dual box?
Gnomon
07-14-2007, 08:11 PM
Ok, I've perused this site, and while there is a very extensive FAQ, it seems to focus on hardware, software and multi boxing 5 characters.
What I'm interested in knowing, is how to control 2 characters.
1) Do the wasd keys go to both characters, or does one character follow the other?
2) Can I use the mouse in mouse look mode? I tend to run with both left and right buttons held down.
3) I have a lock and a pally who are not too far from each other in level. The lock is 39, and the pally is 26. Does dual boxing them make sense? I figured using my 70 rogue wouldn't make sense because the lower character wouldn't get much xp.
Thanks
1) Do the wasd keys go to both characters, or does one character follow the other?
I prefer to have my character(s) follow my main character, but some like it the other way.
2) Can I use the mouse in mouse look mode? I tend to run with both left and right buttons held down.
You should be able to.
3) I have a lock and a pally who are not too far from each other in level. The lock is 39, and the pally is 26. Does dual boxing them make sense? I figured using my 70 rogue wouldn't make sense because the lower character wouldn't get much xp.
I would level the paladin up closer to the 39 before boxing, but that's just me.
MrLonghair
07-14-2007, 08:53 PM
a)
Using /follow (/script FollowUnit("party1") is the bes idea) is the best way to move, with WASD or other keys your movement will be directed to wherever your characters nose is pointing, which even on two identical computers will be near impossible to handle perfectly. It's bugged right now and disconnecting followers, some people are not affected by it, so pray that you are one of the few lucky ones.
b)
You should be able to use mice just fine, via software or hardware. I haven't bothered to config multibox/synergy to that degree, as I have the second computers mouse easily accessible for quick acts like looting, quest turnins.
c)
Feels like they are too far apart. How much is your paladin going to gain from the enemies the warlock can kill?
Gnomon
07-15-2007, 01:04 AM
Thank you for your replies. I'm looking to do this with AutoHotkey, as my main computer is quite fast. (64 x2 4600+, 2GB RAM, 10K RAID 0, 8800GTS). I've gotten both characters up, and it doesn't feel sluggish. Also, I've had some simple success with AHK (both toons jumping).
How do you transmit the mouse clicks and coords through AHK?
Thank you for your replies. I'm looking to do this with AutoHotkey, as my main computer is quite fast. (64 x2 4600+, 2GB RAM, 10K RAID 0, 8800GTS). I've gotten both characters up, and it doesn't feel sluggish. Also, I've had some simple success with AHK (both toons jumping).
How do you transmit the mouse clicks and coords through AHK?
This is the script i'm using for clicking.
I've got it set so when I click in a certain area (where my blank macro's are on my first wow client (warrior) it'll cast a macro on my second client (priest).
[code:1]LButton::
MouseGetPos, x, y
If (y > 879 and y < 914) {
If (x > 787 and x < 834)
ControlSend,,{shift down}{5 down}{5 up}{shift up}, ahk_id %wowid2% ; Heal Priest
Else If (x > 864 and x < 907)
ControlSend,,{shift down}{6 down}{6 up}{shift up}, ahk_id %wowid2% ; Shield Priest
Else If (x > 935 and x < 978)
ControlSend,,{shift down}{7 down}{7 up}{shift up}, ahk_id %wowid2% ; Renew Priest
Else If (x > 1005 and x < 1049)
ControlSend,,{shift down}{8 down}{8 up}{shift up}, ahk_id %wowid2% ; Fortitude Priest
Else
Click
}
MouseGetPos, x, y
If (y > 792 and y < 835) {
If (x > 787 and x < 834)
ControlSend,,{shift down}{1 down}{1 up}{shift up}, ahk_id %wowid2% ; Heal Warrior
Else If (x > 864 and x < 907)
ControlSend,,{shift down}{2 down}{2 up}{shift up}, ahk_id %wowid2% ; Shield Warrior
Else If (x > 935 and x < 978)
ControlSend,,{shift down}{3 down}{3 up}{shift up}, ahk_id %wowid2% ; Renew Warrior
Else If (x > 1005 and x < 1049)
ControlSend,,{shift down}{4 down}{4 up}{shift up}, ahk_id %wowid2% ; Fortitude Warrior
Else If (x > 1181 and x < 1231)
ControlSend,,{shift down}{9 down}{9 up}{shift up}, ahk_id %wowid2% ; Fade Priest
Else
Click
}
MouseGetPos, x, y
If (y > 750 and y < 795) {
If (x > 602 and x < 651)
ControlSend,, 1, ahk_id %wowid2% ; Follow Warrior
If (x > 676 and x < 721)
ControlSend,, S, ahk_id %wowid2% ; Stop Follow Warrior
If (x > 462 and x < 506)
ControlSend,, 4, ahk_id %wowid2% ; Drink and Eat
Else
Click
}
Else
Click
Return[/code:1]
You can use this to get co-ordinates.
[code:1]#Persistent
SetTimer, ShowMousePos, 5000
return
ShowMousePos:
MouseGetPos, x, y
ToolTip, %x%`, %y%
return[/code:1]
Gnomon
07-15-2007, 09:32 AM
How do you transmit the mouse clicks and coords through AHK?
This is the script i'm using for clicking.
I've got it set so when I click in a certain area (where my blank macro's are on my first wow client (warrior) it'll cast a macro on my second client (priest).[/quote]
I was unclear with my question. Thank you for that info though, it is definitely useful!
When I asked about mouse clicks and coords, what I really wanted to know about was mouse look.
I use both my wasd keys and mouse to move (holding down both mouse buttons, and steering with the mouse). That way, either of my hands can control movement, allowing the other hand to press hotkeys for spells, melee etc.
The only thing that has changed for me when using AHK is my left click can no longer rotate 360 degrees around my character but I can still use my right click to steer.
Notes
07-15-2007, 07:43 PM
My opinios after a few days of testing with 5 wows, on 1 pc:
1) Do the wasd keys go to both characters, or does one character follow the other?
I use KeyClone, and you can set keys not to be broadcasted. I'm used to navigate with my mount but I also use my AWSD keys and Q & E.
Don't broadcast them = done :wink:
2) Can I use the mouse in mouse look mode? I tend to run with both left and right buttons held down.
Why would you like to look around on your other chars ? Not needed imo, just macro all their spells and yer done. Set your other chars to follow you and then run your main window / character with both mouse buttons pressed.
I fixed this by giving eac box char this macro:
/target Wnote(name of my main char)
/follow
Then just put it under a hotkey( I used F) and the will follow you as soon as you press F..
:D That's all ;)
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.