PDA

View Full Version : [WoW] Seeing the Rested status/amount of ALL your toons



Zub
10-25-2010, 12:57 AM
Hi all,
just checking interest.

With the upcoming expansion, and for people currently leveling toons, how usefull would it be to have a web page that lists the level, xp and amount of rested xp for each of your toons?
This mainly to show you at a glance which of your teams are 'ready' to play and which should rest a bit, for optimized levelling.

Something like:


- Soap level 81 1,874K xp / 3,785K xp 49% 125K Rested (12% of max rested)
- Frizza level 83 114K xp / 4,811K xp 2% 5K Rested (0% of max rested)
- Ghur level 80 124 xp / 3,154K xp 0% 4,652K Rested (FULLY RESTED)
- Cian level 80 124 xp / 3,154K xp 0% 4,652K Rested (FULLY RESTED)
- Wazza level 23 42K xp / 56K xp 80% 80K Rested (FULLY RESTED)
...

(numbers above are obviously all fake)

This would be displayed on a webpage, but would use a tiny wow addon to get the exact in-game values.
Rested values would be updated real-time by calculating the time since the toon was last played and computing the correct rested xp gain
Not sure yet of all the specifics.


Just checking interest before I invest too much time in this.

Kalyse
10-27-2010, 03:38 AM
Would be very handy. I would like to use something like tht already.

But how do you plan to sync the data? My understanding is that you couldn't do it without someone uploading one of their files.

zenga
10-27-2010, 09:42 AM
With a simple macro ...


/script DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME:AddMessage(GetXPExhaustion());


... you can see how much rested xp you have in your chatscreen.I have this hotkeyed on all my leveling toons, takes me 1 push and a look at the other screen to see my status. If jamba could do this, would even be better.

For myself i'd find a special addon with a webinterface overkill.

Zub
10-27-2010, 04:04 PM
@Zenga
the idea is to not have to log into the toons to see the status.

For example, you log on team A (shamans) while team B (druids) are resting.
AFter a couple days your druid's rested will have increased, and this webpage (and probably in-game frame) will allow you to see the numbers. (i plan on calculating the correct rested xp automatically based on current level, xp needed for that level and time logged, in an inn or not)

the more teams you have the more beneficial it will be obviously.


@Kalyse: The syncing is a major problem, as online pages cannot read local files, and addons cannot send to webpages (that I know off)
At the moment I have the addon storing all the needed details, but am unsure how to pass them to the single webpage.
It might end up to be an htm file to use locally.
Still looking into that, working on the prrof of concept atm. Suggestions welcome

Zub
10-30-2010, 07:16 PM
So, so far i've come up with this.:
my addon retrieves the necessary details (xp, rested etc) and stores them in the SavedVariables file.
Then my web page (local, not online) reads those files and displays the aggregated data as below:

http://www.wow-ratings.com/images/multitoons-addon.jpg

what do you think?

Toned
10-31-2010, 03:59 AM
pimp

calyco27
10-31-2010, 04:12 AM
I'd like to know 2 things. is there any possible way blizzard wont like this?
When are you releasing it?

This is going to be amazing for those who have a lot of teams above level 60 or those without RAF. being able to play on the team with the highest rested amount would save a lot of time. I for example want to make 5-6 teams off the bat and get them to 60 then RAF wont be any use for me. so this will be awesome!

MiRai
10-31-2010, 04:20 AM
I'd like to know 2 things. is there any possible way blizzard wont like this?

Why would Blizzard disapprove?

Sam DeathWalker
10-31-2010, 05:04 AM
Very very good infos; and blizz won't care.

Zub
10-31-2010, 05:41 AM
it's just a normal mod, all it does is collect some data and save it in your WTS/Account/<Account Name>/SavedVariables folder. Same as all the mods do.

The second half is an html page with some java script to read and understand the data contained in the mod's saved lua file, and display it nicely.

There is nothing in there that is a problem for Blizzard, not sure what part you are afraid of.
The scripts are currently in working order, i'm just finalizing some error message and polishing it a bit before making it available.


The catch, and some might not like it, is that it is Impossible for an online web page to read a file on someone's computer (for obvious security reasons, except browser cookies), so the only way i found to make this work, is to provide an html page to copy on your machine.
I know some people won't like that part, but heh, the code is available for all to see (reason why i didn't want to do it with a java app) and if they don't like it they don't have to use it :-)

So in the end, I have the addon that i copy in the normal addon folder (WoW/Interface/Addons) and the html page that I copy in the WoW root folder, and call through a browser.
Since the WoW folder is parent to the WTS folder, the html page has rights to read the files there and it all works like that.

Kalyse
10-31-2010, 12:18 PM
I would use it. You just want to make sure that you also record the last date that the data was collected. Some of my guys I haven't logged on for in about 5 weeks.

Zub
10-31-2010, 04:20 PM
I would use it. You just want to make sure that you also record the last date that the data was collected. Some of my guys I haven't logged on for in about 5 weeks.
It is recorded (that's how I calculate the real-time rested xp) but not displayed at the moment.
I'll see if I can add it somewhere.
Note that you'll still need to log in with your toons at least once, to generate the addon details.

Postponing the release a bit, it seems Google Chrome doesn't like my scripts. (works ok in IE and FF however).

Zub
11-02-2010, 07:15 AM
Well, for those interested, here it is:

http://www.wow-ratings.com/MultiToons.zip

Note: This has been tested and found working with IE 8 and FireFox 3.6.8
It doesn't seem to work with Chrome due to limitations on XMLHttpRequest.

This tool consists of 2 parts:

A. The Addon
You will most probably have unzipped this file in the WoW/Interface/AddOns/MultiToons folder. Good move.
The MultiToons.lua and toc files should remain there, and next time you start WoW the addon should be automatically loaded.
To make sure, just type /multitoons while in-game and you should get an answer stating the version number. You can also check the loading chat at the start.

For you toons to be listed, you will need to log at least once on each of them. The Addon will automatically save all the necessary information (current XP, rested XP, Justice Points etc) in WoW/WTS/Account/<Account Name>/SavedVariables/MultiToons.lua file.

To make things easier to read, you can organise your toons in teams. For example, just log on a toon and type /multitoons AllStars to put it in the AllStars team.
To remove a toon from a team, just type /multitoons again.


B. The Web Page
This web page will display all the information gathered by the addon.
The easiest way to do so it to copy the MultiToons.htm file to the WoW folder. For security reasons there is no other way for a web page to see local content (online web pages cannot access local hard drive files)
If you have any security concerns, feel free to check the code in this file; it is all easily accessible, and even commented a bit. If you are paranoid, feel free not to use this at all! :-)

Once you copied the MultiToons.htm file to the WoW folder, open it in a text editor and scroll down to line 20 to 50.
Edit the Account information (no email or password or anything risky, just the name of the folder to look into for the mods SavedVariables.lua)
Save the file, and double-click it to load it in a browser. You will need to be online for the images to load correctly.
Alternatively you probably can type this url in your browser: C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\MultiToons.htm

Once everything is working fine, if you wish to remove the instructions just edit the file and change the showHelp parameter to "false" :-)

If everything goes well, you should end up with something like this:
http://www.wow-ratings.com/images/multitoons-addon.jpg


I'd be very interested to see how it all looks for you guys, so please don't hesitate to post screenshots (or send them to webmaster@wow-ratings.com)

Feedback more than welcome (was it easy enough to install? do you see all the info you want? etc)
Thanks!
-Zub

crowdx
11-02-2010, 02:17 PM
I always use the addon for Titan Panel called "Rested" it shows all the toons on the account and even gives a warning when you log in to let you know a toon is fully rested.
http://wow.curse.com/downloads/wow-addons/details/rested.aspx (http://wow.curse.com/downloads/wow-addons/details/rested.aspx)

Zub
11-02-2010, 04:10 PM
I always use the addon for Titan Panel called "Rested" it shows all the toons on the account and even gives a warning when you log in to let you know a toon is fully rested.
http://wow.curse.com/downloads/wow-addons/details/rested.aspx (http://wow.curse.com/downloads/wow-addons/details/rested.aspx)
the difference is that this webpage will show you the rested status of all your toons, on all accounts. and you can sort them by teams for clarity. Also tells you their money, currencies, honor etc on all toons, across all accounts.

Gorkette
11-02-2010, 08:17 PM
This looks great !! I will give this a try when I get home.

Will this also give totals for Valor Points when Cataclysm goes live?

Zub
11-02-2010, 08:52 PM
This looks great !! I will give this a try when I get home.

Will this also give totals for Valor Points when Cataclysm goes live?
valor?
at the moment it does honor, justice and gold. it's prepared for conquest but haven't tested it so haven't put it in yet.
Adding new currencies to show is a fairly easy task, so i'll be able to change it quickly when it becomes relevant.
Actually, if you look into the addon code (it's only a 100 line total) you'll easily find where the info is taken from.

looking forward to hearing how you go once installed.
cheers,
Zub

Gorkette
11-03-2010, 06:12 AM
I am getting the following error when I attempt to run MultiToons.

The error first occurred when I did the /multitoons command:


Date: 2010-11-03 20:10:11
ID: 1
Error occured in: Global
Count: 1
Message: ..\AddOns\MultiToons\MultiToons.lua line 87:
attempt to index field '?' (a nil value)
Debug:
[C]: ?
MultiToons\MultiToons.lua:87: getPlayerData()
MultiToons\MultiToons.lua:61:
MultiToons\MultiToons.lua:45
AddOns:

Zub
11-03-2010, 07:21 AM
My apologies, i have indeed found a stupid bug on line 87.
I've corrected it, you should be able to download the corrected version now.
http://www.wow-ratings.com/MultiToons.zip

thanks,
-Zub

Edit: the zip contains all 4 files, but you should be able to only replace the Multitoons.lua file if you don't want to redo the changes to the htm page.

MiRai
11-03-2010, 02:10 PM
What if, for the vast majority of people who don't want to upload a file, you could whip up a script that gave the estimated
rested experience by just pulling up the WoW Armory page and going off of the date from your last logout. It would have up
to a 24 hour margin of error, which is quite small in the area of rested XP.

Zub
11-03-2010, 04:33 PM
What if, for the vast majority of people who don't want to upload a file, you could whip up a script that gave the estimated
rested experience by just pulling up the WoW Armory page and going off of the date from your last logout. It would have up
to a 24 hour margin of error, which is quite small in the area of rested XP.

That's how i wanted to do it originally, but gave up on the idea as the armory doesn't give:
- the current xp (could be level 80.1 or 80.9)
- the current rested xp (could have none, or be maxxed already)
- the location (in an Inn or not)
- the needed xp for that level

all it gives really, is the date (not even the hour) of log and the level :(
the result would not be a max of 24h off, but up to 4 times bigger or smaller, so useless.

What i can do however, is add the date info to the team page, and simply display the number of days the toon has been idle. that will give *some* indication i guess.

if you have other ideas on how to do this, don't hesitate to share. Iwasn't able to think of one :(

Gorkette
11-03-2010, 07:59 PM
valor?
at the moment it does honor, justice and gold. it's prepared for conquest but haven't tested it so haven't put it in yet.
Adding new currencies to show is a fairly easy task, so i'll be able to change it quickly when it becomes relevant.
Actually, if you look into the addon code (it's only a 100 line total) you'll easily find where the info is taken from.

looking forward to hearing how you go once installed.
cheers,
Zub

Valor was going to be the next level of points above Justice. Like Frost was to Triumph. Seems to have been scrapped at this point in the Beta.

Installed and ran without any problems. Added groups. Removed from a group and added to another.

Looks great, gives a fantastic overview of current status.

Now it got me thinking about something similar for tradeskill cooldowns.

Zub
11-03-2010, 08:36 PM
Valor was going to be the next level of points above Justice. Like Frost was to Triumph. Seems to have been scrapped at this point in the Beta.

Installed and ran without any problems. Added groups. Removed from a group and added to another.

Looks great, gives a fantastic overview of current status.

Now it got me thinking about something similar for tradeskill cooldowns.
Cheers :-)
i'll stay away from the profession cooldowns myself, as they would be a pain to code and are easily checkable via the armory (and soon the team page - telling how long you've been offline)


Regarding the rested xp tool, could you post a screenshot of what it looks like now? (or PM it to me if you prefer not to show it to all)
If you prefer not to, don't worry. i'm just curious to see how people arrange their stuff using my tools :-)

MiRai
11-04-2010, 06:38 AM
That's how i wanted to do it originally, but gave up on the idea as the armory doesn't give:
- the current xp (could be level 80.1 or 80.9)
- the current rested xp (could have none, or be maxxed already)
- the location (in an Inn or not)
- the needed xp for that level

all it gives really, is the date (not even the hour) of log and the level :(
the result would not be a max of 24h off, but up to 4 times bigger or smaller, so useless.

What i can do however, is add the date info to the team page, and simply display the number of days the toon has been idle. that will give *some* indication i guess.

if you have other ideas on how to do this, don't hesitate to share. Iwasn't able to think of one :(
Right, right... hmm...

I don't want to make this complicated but I just watched Inception (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1375666/) so I'm going to go deep with this idea. I'm going to PM you...

Zub
11-04-2010, 09:10 AM
Right, right... hmm...

I don't want to make this complicated but I just watched Inception (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1375666/) so I'm going to go deep with this idea. I'm going to PM you...
lol indeed you did, and it was pretty deep! Thanks for the feedback though

naPS
11-12-2010, 03:10 PM
This is handy as hell. I've been using it quite a bit - thanks!

The only issue I have with it is that it won't let me exclude certain toons. As I have a small financial empire going in game, I've got about 15 bank toons that all show up in the list. I would love to be able to exclude them from showing up. Is this possible?

Gorkette
11-12-2010, 06:44 PM
You should be able to disable the addon specifically for the toons you dont want to appear in the list. You may need to remove the data from the .lua file if you have already logged them in.

naPS
11-12-2010, 11:59 PM
Yeah, I thought about that, but I load / unload addons so often using ACP it would most definitely get screwed up. It would be awesome if you could just put a switch inside the .lua that it stores that says that the toon is cool to display or not, and have a command line toggle for it. If not, I can most definitely live with it, it's incredibly useful.

Thanks for writing this!

Zub
11-13-2010, 04:52 AM
sorry was away for a bit.
yeah the obvious solution is to remove the addon for those you don't want to see.
If this is not possible, then i suggest puttnig them in a team that starts with 'zzz' or whatever so they get sorted at the very bottom.

unfortunately i have 0 time at the moment to work on this, but will put it on the todo list for sure.
Thanks for the feedback :-)

naPS
11-13-2010, 05:25 PM
Ah, excellent idea about the grouping. Going to do that now. Thanks!

auscontrol
01-28-2011, 02:33 PM
Must say i LOVE THIS ADDON. Fantastic Job. Only 1 problem :( The Images don't work. looks like the they dont exist on your webserver anymore. Anychance for a fix :) i know your busy, but it just isnt pretty :P

Zub
01-28-2011, 05:52 PM
hey mate, thanks for the feedback.
Sorry bout that I'm currently working on a big (non-wow) web project and my accounts are currently unsubscribed, didn't notice.
My guess is that this happened with the armory change when all the icons got different sizes.

hopefully fixed now :-)

auscontrol
01-29-2011, 11:22 AM
Yep all fixed. Thanks. Seriously best Addon ever :D