View Full Version : Help writing a /click macro (specific)
JU1CYFRU1T
09-02-2009, 03:12 PM
I am absolutely HORRIBLE at writing macros and theny usually take significant effort to get working properly (FINALLY got my /castsequence reset=3 Dinvine Plea, Sacred Shield macro to work... after 15 minutes of trying)....... lol
Anyway, here is my specific question (as specific as I can get):
I want to write a one-button /click using the 969 rotation, and I am getting lost with the buttonbar1000344534 numbers... so what are the button numbers for 1-5 on Bartender4 bar 9?
This is the tricky part... I want this as my "cast-sequence"...
Shield of Righteousness
Hammer of the Righteous
Consecration
Holy Shield
Shield of Righteousness
Judgement of Light
Hammer of Righteousness
That rotation lets me front-load my TPS, so that when DPS jumps the gun, I am not wasting GCDs on Hand of Salv or Righteous Defense before I have even started my rotation.
I know that for some here, writing this rotation with the correct notation is like touch-typing (*read:mindlessly simple), but for some reason I can't get the button number correct. If I knew the button numbers would this be correct:
#showtooltip <--- spam-button
/click magicbutton 1
/click magicbutton 2
/click magicbutton 3
/click magicbutton 4
/click magicbutton 1
/click magicbutton 5
Where each button is the corresponding number above? As anyon 969 button-mashers know... once everything is on cooldown, it doesn't matter what you push... you could use all 4 fingers and mash buttons 1-5 and it wouldn't change a thing.
Second question:
Do I need to put macros for each spell in the "magicbutton" bar, or can I just dual-bind the actual spell (drag it from my spellbook)? I can type "/cast Shield of Righteousness" as a macro, and bind that to the button... but IMO it's easier to just put the spell there. Will that work with a /click, or do I NEED the "/cast" for each button I bind to.
Does this look correct as far as coding and sequence for what I want to do? What would the "reset" be for this? reset=combat? I don't think that would really work correctly for chain-pulls. I try to leave combat as infrequently as possible so that I can keep Divine Plea up. When I am playing with my rl friends, I don't like waiting around, having to tell DPS "Give me 20 seconds for this cooldown". I know they will wait (what choice do they have... I'm the tank)... but you know what I mean.
Does this code look correct? If so, what are the button numbers for "Bar 9" in Bartender4? I am going to bind the spells there, and then disable the bar so that I don't see it. I want to keep the normal spells on my UI for situational needs, and have the /click for button-mashing.
This could have gone into the "newbie" section, but I figured that with all the macro geniuses in this section... it would get a better (and more accurate) response in here.
Thanks
Rocky Rhode
09-02-2009, 04:14 PM
Just read - http://www.dual-boxing.com/showthread.php?t=18539
It contains all the /click info you need to get your 1-button spam rocking....
JU1CYFRU1T
09-02-2009, 05:45 PM
Thanks for the link...
Can anyone tell me "specifically" what the "buttonbarxx" would be for Bartender4 bar 9 (1-5)? Plugging in the data from that thread will be a snap with info in that thread, I just don't know which buttons to call with my /click macro.
It should look something like this, but I don't know how to find the correct number:
BT4Button109;leftbutton
Do you just count the buttons (i.e. 1-12, 13-24, 25-36) or is there a better way to figure out what number I want to start with. I know that I will NEVER need 9 action-bars worth of stuff... so it just makes sense to put it there.
**EDIT** I am confused about one thing. When I click the main spam button, it is going to send out a command to all 5 buttons at the same time, correct? If it does that... how does it prioritize which will actually take effect? /castsequence is broken (from what I was reading), so this was my best option.
The macro for Protadins in the post you linked to me is using a /castsequence (which is what I DONT want to use). How would I get around this problem... and make sure that my macro triggered the correct spell at the proper time? Do I need to add delays before each spell?
Like this:
ShoR
,HotR
,,Consecration
,,,Holy Shield
,,,,ShoR
,,,,,JoL
How does this all work without a /castsequence... or would /castsequence be better for what I am trying to do? I read in the LB > /castsequence thread that using /click is better (than /castsequence)... so that is what I was trying to do. I think I am more confused now than before I read that thread..... ROFL.... GRRRR
rahven32
09-02-2009, 06:10 PM
/print GetMouseFocus():GetName()That will tell you the name of whatever is under your mouse. So if your hovering over the button you want to click and hit that in a macro it will tell you what button it is.
Also as far as how to use a click macro for a 969 rotation you would have to do something like this.
Main button
/click button1
/click button2
/click button3
/click button4
/click button5
/click button6
/click button7SoR
/castsequence Shield of Righteousness ,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,etc So a basic 969 to cast everything is 45 seconds. You will want to restart SoR at that point. will want to have enough comma's for it to pass all the way down to the last spell in your click macro. The amount of comma's is completely dependant on how fast you click.
Rocky Rhode
09-02-2009, 06:43 PM
I run the macro that Stealthy posted ......
Hi all,
Here's my one button spam for Prot pallies:
Macro 1:
/cast [nocombat] divine plea
/startattack
/click MultiBarLeftButton1
/click MultiBarLeftButton2
/click MultiBarLeftButton3
/click MultiBarLeftButton5
/click MultiBarLeftButton6
/click MultiBarLeftButton7
Basically I start spamming this just before entering combat make sure divine plea is up and running as soon as I hit combat. Once I'm actually in combat, that line of the macro is skipped.
Here are the rest of the macros that get called from the /click functions:
Macro 2:
#showtooltip
/assist focus
/castsequence reset=8/combat judgement of light,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Insert whatever judgement is appropriate.
Macro 3:
#showtooltip
/startattack
/castsequence reset=6/combat Hammer of the Righteous,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Macro 4:
#showtooltip
/startattack
/castsequence reset=8/combat holy shield,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,
Macro 5:
#showtooltip
/startattack
/castsequence reset=6combat Shield of Righteousness,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Macro 6:
#showtooltip
/startattack
/castsequence reset=8/combat Consecration,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,
Macro 7:
#showtooltip Cleanse
/cast Cleanse
Note - there aren't supposed to be spaces inbetween the commas, it just 'appears' that way in my posts.
I set cleanse as the last macro instead of Hammer of Wrath, since I find myself using cleanse much more during boss fights. I have a another button macro'd for all pallies to cleanse each other as well if necessary.
Hope this helps.
Cheers,
S
This works absolutely flawless....I modified the comma's to account for my spam rate...roughly 5-click/sec
My Shadow Priest & Druid run similar /click macros as does my Shaman on trash. For boss fights I have a three sequence setup to put up the initial dots from the Druid and Priest; then drop to a second set of macros for the full on DPS adding my Shadow pet...and Elemental pet. Lastly I have my "OH POOP" macro for toons to shift out of forms span heals on the tank along with healing themselves.
Its far from perfect....but ...works for me thus far. I know that once I get into Heroics my macros will change...I plan to duel spec the Shaman, Druid and Priest to allow situational healing based on encounters.
Hope that helps out....
Whowantstoknow
09-02-2009, 08:01 PM
I am absolutely HORRIBLE at writing macros and theny usually take significant effort to get working properly (FINALLY got my /castsequence reset=3 Dinvine Plea, Sacred Shield macro to work... after 15 minutes of trying)....... lol
Anyway, here is my specific question (as specific as I can get):
I want to write a one-button /click using the 969 rotation, and I am getting lost with the buttonbar1000344534 numbers... so what are the button numbers for 1-5 on Bartender4 bar 9?
This is the tricky part... I want this as my "cast-sequence"...
Shield of Righteousness
Hammer of the Righteous
Consecration
Holy Shield
Shield of Righteousness
Judgement of Light
Hammer of Righteousness
That rotation lets me front-load my TPS, so that when DPS jumps the gun, I am not wasting GCDs on Hand of Salv or Righteous Defense before I have even started my rotation.
I know that for some here, writing this rotation with the correct notation is like touch-typing (*read:mindlessly simple), but for some reason I can't get the button number correct. If I knew the button numbers would this be correct:
#showtooltip <--- spam-button
/click magicbutton 1
/click magicbutton 2
/click magicbutton 3
/click magicbutton 4
/click magicbutton 1
/click magicbutton 5Where each button is the corresponding number above? As anyon 969 button-mashers know... once everything is on cooldown, it doesn't matter what you push... you could use all 4 fingers and mash buttons 1-5 and it wouldn't change a thing.
Second question:
Do I need to put macros for each spell in the "magicbutton" bar, or can I just dual-bind the actual spell (drag it from my spellbook)? I can type "/cast Shield of Righteousness" as a macro, and bind that to the button... but IMO it's easier to just put the spell there. Will that work with a /click, or do I NEED the "/cast" for each button I bind to.
Does this look correct as far as coding and sequence for what I want to do? What would the "reset" be for this? reset=combat? I don't think that would really work correctly for chain-pulls. I try to leave combat as infrequently as possible so that I can keep Divine Plea up. When I am playing with my rl friends, I don't like waiting around, having to tell DPS "Give me 20 seconds for this cooldown". I know they will wait (what choice do they have... I'm the tank)... but you know what I mean.
Does this code look correct? If so, what are the button numbers for "Bar 9" in Bartender4? I am going to bind the spells there, and then disable the bar so that I don't see it. I want to keep the normal spells on my UI for situational needs, and have the /click for button-mashing.
This could have gone into the "newbie" section, but I figured that with all the macro geniuses in this section... it would get a better (and more accurate) response in here.
Thanks
You do not need to use /click when all the spells are instant cast. Just run a /castsequence
heffner
09-02-2009, 08:52 PM
Yes, the /castsequence in a single macro works fine since they are all instant casts. That's what I use.
The reason not to use /castsequence is due to delay between subsequent spell casts that is dependent on your own connection. If they are instant casts this doesn't exist so there is no benefit unless you run out of room in a single macro. It gets close to 255 characters for my paladin, but I have the full rotation in a single macro. It's in a post someplace on this forum.
Cheers.
Ualaa
09-03-2009, 12:11 AM
I'm using:
Big Button:
#show Holy Shield
/stopmacro [mod]
/startattack
/ClickMultiBarBottomRightButton7
(I use /stopmacro [mod] so I can click 1 (my big button location) with either Alt or Ctrl held, to have my Shammies dps ranged stuff down, without the pally wasting mana on Holy Shield or spamming my screen with "Target Out of Range" messages. There aren't enough characters in the castsequence for a stopmacro command or the startattack.)
Action Button:
/castsequence reset=9 Holy Shield,Hammer of the Righteous,Judgement of Light,Shield of Righteousness,Consecration,Hammer of the Righteous,Holy Shield,Shield of Righteousness,Judgement of Light,Hammer of the Righteous,Consecration,Shield of Righteousness
For a 96969 rotation, you need to use 8/9 second cooldown spells first, then a 6 second, then a different 8/9 second, then a different 6 second, then the remaining 8/9 second. This means, Hammer of the Righteous and Shield of Righteousness are at even points in the sequence; you cannot start with either of these.
Basically the six second cooldowns are: Hammer of the Righteous and Shield of Righteousness.
The nine second spells are: Holy Shield, Consecrate and Judgement of Choice.
So we have:
A1. (9) Holy Shield
A2. (9) Consecrate
A3. (9) Judgement
B1. (6) Hammer of the Righteous
B2. (6) Shield of Righteousness
Pick one of Holy Shield, Consecrate and Judgement to start the sequence. You have enough characters in the macro to start off Judgement of Wisdom or Judgement of Light, but you cannot judge wisdom twice, we're one character short.
Your sequence will look like this:
A / B / A / B / A / B / A / B / A / B / A / B
Substitute A1, A2 and A3, in the order of your choice, for the first three A's.
Pick B1 or B2 to start and then alternate between them.
I like Holy Shield to be the first "A" and fourth "A", because it ups the Pally's mitigation massively, and causes massive threat, when the pally is hit. It doesn't have to be the first A in the sequence, but needs to be three places apart for continual protection in longer fights.
I personally will manually cast Avenger Shield and Divine Plea. AS to pull, and DP when the cooldown is up and the fight will last more then a few clicks.
You will need 1 point into the Retribution talent to reduce the cooldown on Judgements from 10 seconds to 9 seconds. The second point gets you nothing, as far as a 96969 macro goes.
EaTCarbS
09-03-2009, 12:25 AM
/click is best for priority based rotations imo. I dont really see the need for a prot pally to use one.
JU1CYFRU1T
09-03-2009, 01:49 PM
Thanks to EVERYONE for the help... /castsequence here I come.
I'm using:
Big Button:
#show Holy Shield
/stopmacro [mod]
/startattack
/ClickMultiBarBottomRightButton7
(I use /stopmacro [mod] so I can click 1 (my big button location) with either Alt or Ctrl held, to have my Shammies dps ranged stuff down, without the pally wasting mana on Holy Shield or spamming my screen with "Target Out of Range" messages. There aren't enough characters in the castsequence for a stopmacro command or the startattack.)
Action Button:
/castsequence reset=9 Holy Shield,Hammer of the Righteous,Judgement of Light,Shield of Righteousness,Consecration,Hammer of the Righteous,Holy Shield,Shield of Righteousness,Judgement of Light,Hammer of the Righteous,Consecration,Shield of Righteousness
For a 96969 rotation, you need to use 8/9 second cooldown spells first, then a 6 second, then a different 8/9 second, then a different 6 second, then the remaining 8/9 second. This means, Hammer of the Righteous and Shield of Righteousness are at even points in the sequence; you cannot start with either of these.
Basically the six second cooldowns are: Hammer of the Righteous and Shield of Righteousness.
The nine second spells are: Holy Shield, Consecrate and Judgement of Choice.
So we have:
A1. (9) Holy Shield
A2. (9) Consecrate
A3. (9) Judgement
B1. (6) Hammer of the Righteous
B2. (6) Shield of Righteousness
Pick one of Holy Shield, Consecrate and Judgement to start the sequence. You have enough characters in the macro to start off Judgement of Wisdom or Judgement of Light, but you cannot judge wisdom twice, we're one character short.
Your sequence will look like this:
A / B / A / B / A / B / A / B / A / B / A / B
Substitute A1, A2 and A3, in the order of your choice, for the first three A's.
Pick B1 or B2 to start and then alternate between them.
I like Holy Shield to be the first "A" and fourth "A", because it ups the Pally's mitigation massively, and causes massive threat, when the pally is hit. It doesn't have to be the first A in the sequence, but needs to be three places apart for continual protection in longer fights.
I personally will manually cast Avenger Shield and Divine Plea. AS to pull, and DP when the cooldown is up and the fight will last more then a few clicks.
You will need 1 point into the Retribution talent to reduce the cooldown on Judgements from 10 seconds to 9 seconds. The second point gets you nothing, as far as a 96969 macro goes.
Thanks for the info... but I am not *NEW* to being a tankadin... just new to writing one-button macros.
Here is my sequence (and it DOES work, I do it ALL THE TIME).
Instead of running a 969, you CAN start with Hammer of the Rightous... it just becomes a 696. It's all the same. The reason that a lot of progression tankadins start with "9" is because Holy shield is 30% block... which makes them "unhittable" with very MINOR gear (you only need to have the defense minimum, and an addional 5% block, 5% dodge, and 5% parry + Holy Shield and you will be "unhittable").
I, on the other hand, am "undergeard" for my group. I am in heroic / conquest mixed gear... while my group is all in tier 8 equivalent. I **NEED** to frontload my TPS, so this is my rotation
Avenger's Shield (pull)
Hammer of the Righteous (6 second CD #1)
Shield of Righteousness (6 second CD #2)
Consecration
Judgement of Light
Hammer of the Righteous
Holy Shield
Shield of Righteousness
Consecration
etc... back into 969 rotation
As you can see... staying within the 969 (or 696) rotation is STUPIDLY easy... and doing this rotation (above) will front-load your TPS so that DPS could go on a crit-spree to open, and they are highly unlikely to take agro.
Would I need to do my castsequence like this:
/castsequence reset=9 Hammer of the Righteous, Shield of Righteousness, Consecration, Judgement of Light, Hammer of the Righteous, Holy Shield, Shield of Righteousness
Basically... three questions re: ^
Do I need to put the full 969 (or 696) rotation twice so that it functions correctly? If it hits a spell on cooldown, does it just move on to the next spell, or how does it handle that... if it skips properly, wouldn't you just need the single 969 rotation?
Second, do I need that second Hammer of The Righteous, or will it do that automagically when I spam the button? I am going to assume that because it is a "sequence" it steps from 1-10... it doesn't start over every time you press it, or does it?
And lastly... what does the "reset=9" do? If I just spam that button, it will cycle through the entire line every time... and if I don't push it for 9 seconds it will restart? Or will the macro get hung up at the last spell until I stop pressing the button? I know that I can copy other people's macros, but I want to LEARN what I am doing so that I can help others in the future. Sorry for the "hand-holding" requests... but I really don't get all this macro-mumbojumbo (yet).
I am not concerned with macro length, because I have SuperDuperMacro... I just want to make sure that I understand how it functions
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.