View Full Version : Done before? Toon picker
Darelik
08-11-2009, 10:29 PM
In a nutshell, I'd want to create a system where one is able to choose the team make-up and have everything in-game reflect the selection.
Say i had 5 accounts with 10 toons each. And I decided that today I wanna play the following:
Account 1, Toon 5
Account 2, Toon 8
Account 3, Toon 3
Account 4, Toon 9
Account 5, Toon 1
What would happen is, it would replace the necessary files to reflect the selections that I have made. The files would perhaps include macros-cache.txt (for various invite, assist or follow macros that includes the toon names) and maybe the jamba.lua (so the team is good to go).
Has this been done before? If not, am I correct in saying that I would have 252 combinations of team make-up? And hence, a script to read the files and change it accordingly instead of creating separate files for injection nto the appropriate folders would be better I'd think.
Darelik
08-11-2009, 10:58 PM
Uhhhhhh....
Use focus. Write your macros so the leader is flexible. You don't need to copy anything.
I'm using an FTL setup and it's only the assist macro that I have to change everytime I want to switch in/out a toon but it's getting annoying.
Btw, does ISBoxer/Innerspace do this? It says that it keeps separate settings for each toon. To what extent do these settings go? Or what do these per-toon settings include? Would I be able to switch different toons in/out the way I described it? Even so, instant PiP swap and stupidly easy aoe seems enticing...
But I just wanted to create a script to 'read' the necessary files to find and replace toon names depending on the selections.
Ualaa
08-11-2009, 11:08 PM
The easiest method would be to prioritize your accounts for control.
You'll only ever have 1 of the 2 toons from account 1 at once.
You'll only ever have 1 of the 2 toons from account 2 at once.
If you were to go with the target=targettarget assist method this could work quite well.
Basically your "Big Button" controls both Targeting and Follow.
Search for the "No Focus Manifesto".
The Big Button is something like this:
/target [target=ToonA, nodead, help, exists]; [target=ToonB, nodead, help, exists]; [target=ToonC, nodead, help, exists]; [target=ToonD, nodead, help, exists]; [target=ToonA, exists]
/Follow
Normally you're running five toons, and this will force all of the toons to target Toon A, if Toon A is present and alive. If not they all target Toon B, etc. The other toons are never forced to target Toon E, because if only toon E is alive, you're actively controling them already and if none of the toons are alive, then the last conditional has your slaves target the master toon to follow them back on the corpse run.
I'm not sure how many characters it would take, but if your primary control was always the toon on account A, then you could make your big button read... Account-A-Toon-A as the first toon in the big button and Account-A-Toon-B as the second toon. Now we move on to the second account, and have the third toon in the Big Button refer to the first toon on account two. The fourth condition refers to the 2nd toon on account two. If there's space in the macro, you'd like to include each toon on account 3 and then account 4 as well.
Targeting four toons easily fits in the normal Big Button, but I'm not sure if you'd have the characters to include eight targets - six seems quite likely to me.
By only including say six toons, we have Toon A or B on account 1, Toon C or D on account 2 and Toon E or F on account 3. This allows for any toon on your first account to lead every toon on the remaining four accounts. In the event that the toon on Account 1 is dead, then every toon would target either Toon C or Toon D, whichever you were playing. The drawback will be, having party members die on Accounts 1-3, with survivors on accounts 4 and 5, with the Big Button not doing much.
Anyway, once you have all the toons targeting your chosen leader, you need to make a few macro's for them. For spellcasters, the format is like this:
/cast [target=target, exists, harm] [target=targettarget, exists, harm] Lightning Bolt
/cast [target=targettarget, exists, help] [target=targettargettarget, exists, help] Lesser Healing Wave
A macro goes through each conditional until it finds one which reads as true.
The first macro will allow any toon to cast Lightning Bolt at a hostile target.
However, if they're targeting your lead toon (who is not hostile), then the LB goes to the target of your target.
The Big Button has you targeting a friendly on account 1. So almost always you cast at the target of your account 1 toon.
But if for example Toon 4 is your miner and all the other toons are out of range, or you're playing Toon 4 solo, the macro allows your spell to land on a hostile.
The second macro is for a healer type toon.
The first conditional is target=targettarget.
So the healer is targeting your lead toon, and the heal goes to whoever they target, should the lead toons target be friendly.
If this fails, then it goes to the target of the lead toon's target, which will almost always be your team's tank.
For a class like a Hunter (with Auto Shots) or a melee type, preface your macro with an assist.
If your active toon is the party leader, it could be "/assist [target=party1]".
Jamba has an option to auto promote the master of your team to party leader.
You'd want a macro which reads, "/Jamba setmeasmaster all" on a key which is not broadcast.
When you switch to a new lead (which only happens when the previous leader is dead), tap this key.
This is probably not exactly what you were looking for, but it will function just fine.
The healer (any healer on any of your accounts) heals the target of your leader's target.
The DPS target their attacks at the target of your lead toon.
It would run best if your primary toons were the tanks.
If you had a tank on account 1, and a different tank on account 4, prioritize in the big button which one leads.
Darelik
08-11-2009, 11:17 PM
Aye, I use FTL and I have no problems with macros or Jamba. I basically wanted something that would allow me to choose which toons I'd want to play with from each account. If the only way to do this is to homogenize each toon on say, account 1, so they relate to the "tag" account1, then it would be easier.
I'd probably just give ISboxer a shot to see if it does this.
Ualaa
08-11-2009, 11:25 PM
From the demo video's of ISBoxer, you make sets which you choose from when loading.
Basically make a Prot Pally, Elem Shm, Elem Shm, Elem Shm, Disc Priest set.
Then make a Feral Druid, Elem Shm, Bal Druid, Destro Warlock, Disc Priest set.
Then make a etc...
To load it looks like they start ISBoxer first.
Then click launch game from its toolbar, which has an option for each configured set.
Basically when making the set, choose modifier keys for each toon.
It would be easiest if every toon on Account A had the same mod keys etc.
Bettysue
08-12-2009, 12:37 AM
/click may help you here. You need a big button macro and then a macro for each account. Here's how it would work.
Bigbutton:
/click [mod:rctrl,mod:rshift,nomod:alt] AccountMacro1
/click [mod:rctrl,mod:ralt,nomod:shift] AccountMacro2
/click [mod:ralt,mod:rshift,nomod:ctrl] AccountMacro3
/click [mod:rctrl,mod:ralt,mod:shift] AccountMacro4
/click [mod:rctrl,nomod:alt,nomod:shift] AccountMacro5
Change the "AccountMacro1" to the name of the button you put the macro on. (MultiBarRightButton1 for instance)
Then your account macros will be:
/target [target=ToonAAcct1,exists][target=ToonBAccount1,exists][target=ToonCAcct1,exists][target=ToonDAcct1,exists][target=ToonEAcct1,exists]
/target [target=ToonAAcct2,exists][target=ToonBAccount2,exists][target=ToonCAcct2,exists][target=ToonDAcct2,exists][target=ToonEAcct2,exists]
/target [target=ToonAAcct3,exists][target=ToonBAccount3,exists][target=ToonCAcct3,exists][target=ToonDAcct3,exists][target=ToonEAcct3,exists]
/target [target=ToonAAcct4,exists][target=ToonBAccount4,exists][target=ToonCAcct4,exists][target=ToonDAcct4,exists][target=ToonEAcct4,exists]
/target [target=ToonAAcct5,exists][target=ToonBAccount5,exists][target=ToonCAcct5,exists][target=ToonDAcct5,exists][target=ToonEAcct5,exists]
place the above macros on a bar somewhere they could be clicked.
All your spell macros will then be:
/click [mod] BigButtonMacro
/cast [target=targettarget,harm][target=targettargettarget,help][] SpellName
/targetlasttarget [mod]
Don't forget the fallthrough "[]" or your main will stand there like an idiot. Also remember to put the [mod] on targetlasttarget or your main will keep changes target and all your alts will be very very confused.
Follow macro would be:
/stopmacro [nomod]
/click BigButtonMacro
/follow
/targetlasttarget
It will now target the appropriate toon that is online from the account and cast the spell. Of course you have to fill in the names of the characters, and will need to change the click button name refrences to wherever you put the macros.
I hope that helps a little
Bettysue
Darelik
08-12-2009, 02:05 AM
Then your account macros will be:
/target [target=ToonAAcct1,exists][target=ToonBAccount1,exists][target=ToonCAcct1,exists][target=ToonDAcct1,exists][target=ToonEAcct1,exists]
/target [target=ToonAAcct2,exists][target=ToonBAccount2,exists][target=ToonCAcct2,exists][target=ToonDAcct2,exists][target=ToonEAcct2,exists]
/target [target=ToonAAcct3,exists][target=ToonBAccount3,exists][target=ToonCAcct3,exists][target=ToonDAcct3,exists][target=ToonEAcct3,exists]
/target [target=ToonAAcct4,exists][target=ToonBAccount4,exists][target=ToonCAcct4,exists][target=ToonDAcct4,exists][target=ToonEAcct4,exists]
/target [target=ToonAAcct5,exists][target=ToonBAccount5,exists][target=ToonCAcct5,exists][target=ToonDAcct5,exists][target=ToonEAcct5,exists]place the above macros on a bar somewhere they could be clicked.
like i said before, i do have FTL and it's /click infused and all i have to change is the toon name for the "assist" macros. it's not about the macros themselves that i have a problem with when switching toons but the macros-cache.txt file itself whenever im changing toons. i want the toon-switch to go faster than manually find and replacing each and every instance of the toon name within the macros-cache.txt file for me to be able to login and play properly and have all the macros work properly.
Bettysue
08-12-2009, 03:14 AM
Carefully read those quoted macros they aren't the FTL macros, they are account based, you simply put all the names of toons that exist on account one in the first, then all then names of toons on account 2 on the second and so on. Since you can't have 2 toons from 1 account logged in at the same time it will select the current toon logged in as the target.
It's basically the same as putting [mod:ctrl, target=acountOnePallysName][mod:crtl,target=accountOneShamansName] into your current FTL macro setups big button.
Just read them over carefully they will do exactly what you are asking to do without modifying anything each time you log on different characters. I personally use this exact setup. It clicks a particular macro based upon the modifier set and that macro then selects a toon based on existing, and they only exist if they are logged in. The names are Toon A from account 1, Toon B from account 1, etc in the first macro. Then Toon A from Account 2, Toon B from account 2 etc in the second macro.
For this to work, make sure you make the exact same macros on every character for each account. /target [target=ToonAAcct4,exists][target=ToonBAccount4,exists][target=ToonCAcct4,exists] would have 3 blocks in it if you had three characters on that account or ten if you had ten characters. Most of mine have just 2 because I swap in a tank for 1 of my shamans, or my mages for boosting a different set of chars.
Darelik
08-12-2009, 03:57 AM
hmmm so for /assist, i would:
/assist [target=ToonAAcct4,exists][target=ToonBAccount4,exists][target=ToonCAcct4,exists]
let me try...
Bettysue
08-12-2009, 04:36 AM
you sir would be correct. /target /assist /focus could all be used wherever I put /target. I started out on the /target method and never saw a good reason to switch, /assist should work just as well and most likely make your macros a bit cleaner for spells.
Darelik
08-12-2009, 05:00 AM
oh it works. yay! ty.
Bettysue
08-12-2009, 11:28 AM
Ya took me a couple hours while finally ticked off with switching macros around one night to figure it out. Glad it worked with assist.
Good Luck,
Bettysue
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.