PDA

View Full Version : ISSUE with Target=TargetTarget & Click Castsequences.



Ualaa
07-23-2009, 05:37 PM
I recently switched to Target=TargetTarget, as detailed in the "No Focus Manifesto".

Prior to moving to the Click Castsequences, my DPS spells on the spacegirls were similar to this:
#show Lava Burst
/cast [target=targettarget] [] Lava Burst

My Click castsequence dps macro on the spacegirls is:
#show Lava Burst
/Click MultiBarBottomRightButton9
/Click MultiBarBottomRightButton10

On MBBRB9, I have:
#show Lightning Bolt
/castsequence [target=targettarget] [] reset=8 Lightning Bolt,,,,,, (Comma's up to the 255 character limit)

On MBBRB10, I have:
#show
/castsequence [target=targettarget] [] reset=8 Flame Shock, Lava Burst, Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt, Lava Burst, Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt



When a spacegirl is targeting my pally, and the pally has a target, this works perfectly.
I get an initial Lightning Bolt, which because of the cast time is sufficient for my Pally to establish threat.
After that, each press goes through my FS, LvB, LB spam macro.

However, if the pally has no target or is out of range, the [] safety no longer works even though my Spacegirl has something targeted.

Anyone have any ideas?

lazygirl
07-24-2009, 05:33 PM
I use a similar key setup. Had the same problem initially.

To prevent slaves from randomly attacking whatever's closest when you don't have a target, use this as your condition:
[target=target, exists, harm] [target=targettarget, harm]

Using [target=target, exists] instead of [] as your fallback (for when they are leading) will keep them from always activating when target=targettarget is not true.

The only thing I could think of for the range issue is a range check. I have one of these on my Mages for sheeping. Basically I hit it, and it tells me in the chat window if they are within sheeping distance. This is useful since the slaves are a little behind the tank, and it can be hard to tell for sure without looking at their screens whether the ability is in range.

/script if (IsActionInRange(9, "targettarget")==1) then SendChatMessage("I can sheep","PARTY") else SendChatMessage("Can't sheep!!","PARTY"); end

If this is pull related, you could do the same thing on your tank, to make sure their pull is in range. In the above, 9 is the action id of the button where I put Polymorph. If this was to check range on your main, you'd want to change targettarget to just target.

Hope that helps.

Ualaa
07-26-2009, 12:12 AM
Thanks, I'll give that a try.

Zzyzxx71
09-24-2009, 10:57 AM
Have we verified this works? I'll make the appropriate changes to the documentation if so, I just realized last night that failover and single target casting isn't working.

This is in regards to castsequence only - not casts. Casts still work.

Bettysue
09-24-2009, 11:09 AM
[target=target,harm,exists] can be reduced to just [harm]

You are telling the toon to target their current target, which is redundant and not necessary.

[harm] will only be true if they have a target and that target is hostile to them.

The exists section is also not required because in order for you to have a target that is hostile, or friendly for that matter it has to exist otherwise you would have not target for which to check that status against.

Anyway that should help reduce the macro length a bit, also you may want to select a target in the "big button and not the individual cast sequences, to help with latency related targeting problems.

for example change:
#show Lava Burst
/Click MultiBarBottomRightButton9
/Click MultiBarBottomRightButton10

to:

#show Lava Burst
/target [harm][target=targettarget]
/Click MultiBarBottomRightButton9
/Click MultiBarBottomRightButton10
/targetlasttarget
and remove the targeting logic from the sequences.

Now they will have either their preassigned target if it is hostile or the friendly persons target. they will then attempt to cast a spell from the sequence, and will regain their initial target or lack thereof after casting such spell.

Zzyzxx71
09-24-2009, 11:19 AM
Do a search for "No Focus Manifesto" - the purpose for the [] is for failover.

Initially /click wasn't worked into the philosophy. we're working that out.

Ualaa
09-24-2009, 12:06 PM
For me, [] did not work as a fall through.
But [target=target, exists, harm] did.

Obviously the harm condition cannot exist, unless you have a target.
Not really sure why, but [harm] did not work as a fall through, while [target=target, exists, harm] did.
It shouldn't make a difference, but it did for me.

Bettysue
09-24-2009, 12:27 PM
odds are the target was neutral when it didn't work, to make sure it would cast against anything not friendly then you should use [nohelp]. That will work unless you have some sort of addon affecting macro interpretation. The empty set [] basically makes a macro with parameters cast as though none of the parameters existed as long as nothing before it evaluates to true. So for it to work as a failsafe you would have to have a valid target selected as though you had simply dragged the spell out of your spell book onto the action bar and clicked it.

Regardless of what's happening with the [] or [harm] [target=target] is always useless as it simply sets your target to your target...

When working with castsequences and /click macros, make sure all the individual components work apart from the /click. It'll save you a lot of headache trying to hunt down a problem.

Whowantstoknow
09-24-2009, 01:19 PM
On MBBRB10, I have:
#show
/castsequence [target=targettarget] [] reset=8 Flame Shock, Lava Burst, Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt, Lava Burst, Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt, Lightning Bolt


First off the reason we use concurrent castsequence macros (with or without /click) is to avoid cast sequences like this as due to the client server nature of the game you are losing dps - also this forces you into a fixed rotation when you want to be using a priority based system



However, if the pally has no target or is out of range, the [] safety no longer works even though my Spacegirl has something targeted.

Anyone have any ideas?The [] will not work when your Shamans have something targetted as the first condition is true - it will try to cast on your targets target which will almost certainly be friendly if your target is a mob. You need to make the first conditional false for the macro to fall through to [] ie

[target=targettarget,harm] []

Zzyzxx71
09-24-2009, 02:41 PM
/cast [target=targettarget] [] Lightning Bolt <--- works when you have a mob directly targetted

/castsequence reset=combat [target=targettarget] [] Lightningbolt,,,,,,,, <-- does not work when you have a mob directly targetted

Conditions are the same, the result is different.

Whowantstoknow
09-24-2009, 03:09 PM
/cast [target=targettarget] [] Lightning Bolt <--- works when you have a mob directly targetted

/castsequence reset=combat [target=targettarget] [] Lightningbolt,,,,,,,, <-- does not work when you have a mob directly targetted

Conditions are the same, the result is different.

No it really does not.

As a test log in 1 character (to remove other variables) spam the top macro against a target dummy and you will get "You have no target" (as the target dummy does not have a target) add the ,harm and it will work fine

The second macro will not work as their is a typo - but spam

/castsequence [target=targettarget] [] Lightning Bolt, - will give you "target does not exist"
/castsequence [target=targettarget,harm] [] Lightning Bolt, - works fine

Zzyzxx71
09-24-2009, 03:17 PM
No it really does not.

As a test log in 1 character (to remove other variables) spam the top macro against a target dummy and you will get "You have no target" (as the target dummy does not have a target) add the ,harm and it will work fine

The second macro will not work as their is a typo - but spam

/castsequence [target=targettarget] [] Lightning Bolt, - will give you "target does not exist"
/castsequence [target=targettarget,harm] [] Lightning Bolt, - works fine

That first macro is exactly what I used until I switched to /click.

Notice the first macro was /cast - not /castsequence.

I definitely will try the abovelisted alternatives, thanks all.

Whowantstoknow
09-24-2009, 03:45 PM
That first macro is exactly what I used until I switched to /click.

Notice the first macro was /cast - not /castsequence.

I definitely will try the abovelisted alternatives, thanks all.

this:

/cast [target=targettarget] [] Lightning Bolt

definately does not work (I am at the target dummy now) the only way I could see it working is if you are using an addon such as BT4 which allows you to autoassist

Just think about it logically you need the first condition to be false before it will try the second catch all condition. It will not be false if you have a target so it will try to target your targets target which will most likely be your tank. You can make it false in multiple ways (like adding the ,harm) or add a condition before it to test if you have a hostile targetted ie

[target=target,harm][target=targettarget,harm]

Zzyzxx71
09-24-2009, 03:49 PM
this:

/cast [target=targettarget] [] Lightning Bolt

definately does not work (I am at the target dummy now) the only way I could see it working is if you are using an addon such as BT4 which allows you to autoassist

Just think about it logically you need the first condition to be false before it will try the second catch all condition. It will not be false if you have a target so it will try to target your targets target which will most likely be your tank. You can make it false in multiple ways (like adding the ,harm) or add a condition before it to test if you have a hostile targetted ie

[target=target,harm][target=targettarget,harm]

I'll be damned - I guess I should look at my own documentation every once in a while...

/cast [target=targettarget, harm] [] Lightning Bolt

is what I had in my own manifesto... /facepalm.

Ualaa
09-25-2009, 12:47 AM
With the no focus manifesto, your dps toon is always targeting your active toon.
The active toon chooses the target, with the dps toon then casting at that target.

The fall through initially did not work, when I would fly the flower picker or miner out of range of the main toon.
However this did work:
/castsequence [target=targettarget, harm] [target=target, exists, harm] Lightning Bolt,,,

In a castsequence, the secondary condition of only [harm] did not work, even though looking at it, it should.




I've basically moved to something very similar to this... still using no focus or target=targettarget for assist.

DPS Button
#show Lightning Bolt
/Cast Elemental Mastery
/Click MultiBarRightButton1
/Click MultiBarRightButton2
/Click MultiBarRightButton3
/Click MultiBarRightButton4

Button 1
#show
/castsequence [target=target, harm] [target=targettarget, harm] reset=combat Flame Shock,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Button 2
#show
/castsequence [target=target, harm] [target=targettarget, harm] reset=combat Lava Burst,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Button 3
#show
/castsequence [target=target, harm] [target=targettarget, harm] reset=combat Chain Lightning,,,,,,

Button 4
#show
/cast [target=target, harm] [target=targettarget, harm] Lightning Bolt

Bettysue
09-25-2009, 03:31 PM
target=target is never needed in a macro, it's a waste of valuable characters...

Zzyzxx71
09-26-2009, 01:54 PM
#showtooltip Flame Shock
/castsequence [target=targettarget, harm] [target=target, exists] reset=combat flame shock,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

This is working, thanks all.