View Full Version : Noob macro questions
mackenziemi
12-13-2007, 02:43 PM
Hi all
Like the subject says I am new to dual-boxing, but having a blast with it so far. I have a couple of questions I am wondering about
First is there a file that I can copy an paste text, say from notepad, to that will put macro's into the game for me? Or is there a way to import them?
Second, I was thinking of how to design my macros to make is as easy as possible to control a particular toon. I was wondering if it would be a good idea to say use the modifier "ctrl" for say Toon2 and then say "alt" for Toon3. That way if I want to press "1" for Toon2 I would press ctrl-1 to have that command executed. Now obviously there are other things to consider with this strat, but on the whole it a good idea?
Thanks
mackenziemi
amalgam
12-13-2007, 03:13 PM
C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\WTF\Account\<ACCOUNT NAME>
There's a file there called "macros-cache.txt". Feel free to edit it all day long.
Sample contents:
[code:1]MACRO 6 "ACCEPT" Spell_unused
/script AcceptGroup();
/script AcceptQuest();
/script AcceptTrade();
/script RetrieveCorpse();
/script RepopMe();
END
MACRO 8 "FIREBALL" Spell_Fire_FlameBolt
#showtooltip Fireball
/assist focus
/cast Fireball
END
MACRO 9 "FIREBLAST" Spell_Fire_Fireball
#showtooltip Fire Blast
/assist focus
/cast Fire Blast
END
MACRO 11 "FOLLOW" Spell_Nature_Invisibilty
/follow focus
END
MACRO 10 "FROSTBOLT" Spell_Frost_FrostBolt02
#showtooltip Frostbolt
/assist focus
/cast Frostbolt
END
MACRO 5 "INVITE" Spell_unused2
/invite Betavas
/invite Gammavas
/invite Betadot
/invite Gammadot
END
MACRO 7 "NOVA" Spell_Frost_FrostNova
/castsequence reset=24 Frost Nova,,
END
MACRO 1 "POLY" Ability_CheapShot
/focus
/run SetRaidTarget("focus", 1)
/run if UnitSex("target")==1 then g="female " else g="male " end;s="Sheeping a "..g..UnitLevel("target").." %T";c="Party";if GetNumRaidMembers()>0 then c="raid" end;SendChatMessage(s,c)
/cast Polymorph
END
MACRO 12 "SB" Spell_Shadow_ShadowBolt
#showtooltip Shadow Bolt
/cast [target=focustarget, harm, nodead] Shadow Bolt
END
MACRO 2 "SB/PA" Ability_Creature_Cursed_04
/cast Shadow Bolt
/petattack
END[/code:1]
To further clarify, the structure of these is fairly simple.
[code:1]MACRO 2 "SB/PA" Ability_Creature_Cursed_04
/cast Shadow Bolt
/petattack
END[/code:1]
"MACRO 2" obviously identifies which macro it is.
"SB/PA" is the name of the macro. I keep macros named in all Caps due to old coding habits.
The third part of the first line is the name of the icon to use. I don't know where you'd go to find a list of all these names but I'm sure such a list exists.
The next part contains the macro itself followed by a new line and the "END" obviously marks the end of the macro.
Pretty easy stuff, no?
there is a way to import the macros but i don't know what is is sorry. What i do is write my macros at work on note pad then when i get home i just cut and paste. and on macros that i use on 4 toons i set them up write the name using keyclone so it goes to all 4 hit enter so it goes to the text part of the macro then hit ctrl+v and then my macro is done x4.
The other part of your question gets a little strange. you can use alt for 1 and ctrl for another but it will all depend on what your trying to do and what classes you are doing it with.
why have it like this:
Mage1
/cast [modifier:alt] fireball
Mage2
/cast [modifier:ctrl] fireball
when you can have it like this:
Mage1 + Mage2
/cast Fire Blast
/cast [modifier:alt] fireball
/cast [modifier:ctrl] Frostbolt
the posibilities are endless, please clarify the question a little more.
mackenziemi
12-13-2007, 03:29 PM
Let me clairify this, I am planning on doing it differenly than having them all be of one class. so for me is would like
Mage 1
/cast Fire Blast
Priest 1
/cast [modifier:alt] Heal(Rank1)
/Warlock 1
/cast [modifier:ctrl] Curse of Agony
I should have clarified that better in my explaination. What do you think about doing this now?
mackenziemi
It will work but what you will find is efficency problems. It will also start becoming a problem when you are grinding and have to hit Alt+3, Crtl+1, Shift+2, 3, Alt+5 just to start each fight.
My sugestion if you have the need to have 5 diffrent classes then try to match like spells together. Yout Heals and DPS should be seperate but try to have as many of your dps work together. like bundeling shadowbolt and fireball etc. the more classes you add the more problems that will come up later expecialy as they start getting special skills.
But to answer your question yes you can do it the way you are doing. But i think that later you will find it a pain in the ass to get anything done and you will have a hard time when things start to go wrong. And as you level there is alot more things that will cause stuff to go wrong. I hate alarmbots in Gnomergan.
MortimerDuke
12-13-2007, 05:10 PM
For me, I have a series of buttons depending on the situation. I run 5 classes on 1 comp with keyclone.
I run Pal, Warlock, Mage, Priest, Shaman and pretty much instance whore.
I have a "Nuke" button. This maps to everyone but the Pal and their own castsequence of nuking. Though the mage just hurls fireballs.
Then I have a 'Nuke sans priest' button, which is the same as above but leaves me priest available for healing when I anticipate that the 2.5s, or whatever the cast for smite is, is too long.
I then have a "heal paladin" button for the priest as well as the shaman, which I rarely use other than "all hands on deck heal".
With my particular setup, I rarely need to heal people other than my Paladin.
Part of multiboxing, as I'm finding out, is to reduce micro as much as possible. By doing all this bundling, I do end up lowering my efficiency, but when situations demand I get in there and go micro crazy I retain some efficieny with a single nuke and single heal button. If you can manage the micro of all the button clicks that real granularity demands, then go for it I guess.
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.