PDA

View Full Version : How do you blizzard (or other AEs) with your mage?



Perrigrin
02-26-2009, 09:42 AM
Sorry if this is the wrong forum for it, but here goes:

I'm debating replacing one of my elemental shamans with my level 70 mage (well, level him to 80 solo / boost first obvioulsy) for the simple reason that I'm considering him for a main switch.

Now, one of the benefits of a mage is his AE ability, but how do you guys control that when 5 boxing? I mean arcane explotion is easy enough, but would require him to be in the middle of things - which is not always desirable - so I guess - how do you ground target?

cheers!

Nisch
02-26-2009, 12:01 PM
I wrote my own program, AOEMouse, which broadcasts my mouse location to the alt computers when you hit the Hotkey, and stops when you click the mouse.

I'm full hardware though. Not sure about people using one machine.

Bigfish
02-26-2009, 01:47 PM
How to use Targetable AoE's multiboxing with in game macro's (no addons or programs needed)! ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=18845')

gitcho
02-26-2009, 01:56 PM
I just got ground-based AOE targetting figured out on my group of 1xpally,1xPriest, and 3xFrost Mage - and it's very very good.

I use hotkeynet (free, and awesome, btw) to control both the keyboard command that tells all 3 mages to cast blizzard (or flamestrike or whatever), and the mouse click that tells them exactly where to place it.

I use the ~ key as my modifier, and simply hold it down and click in the middle of my screen to send the "mouse-click" to the relative coordinates on the screens of my 3 mages. It works great! (see http://www.hotkeynet.com/ref/clickmouse.html ). There more that you can do with hotkeynet, but i'm only using the basics =)

The key to getting this working effectively (no matter what software you're using), is to have the view set correctly on all your clones - i use 100% top-down view and zoomed out (not at an angle).

I used to have arcane-explosion+consecrate+holy-nova all mapped to a button that I would spam, but the 3x mage blizzard is much faster, and SO much more mana efficient.

Let me know if you're interested, and I'll send you the hotkeynet script I use.

elsegundo
02-26-2009, 03:33 PM
i mouse over to my druid's window and manually select it. this after my pally or bear druid gets everyone into a bunch. i can still attack (swipe/maul or hammer/shield) with my tank from my slave's window as im placing my hurricane.

Vyndree
02-26-2009, 04:05 PM
How to use Targetable AoE's multiboxing with in game macro's (no addons or programs needed)! ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=18845')

As full-hardware, I approve this message. :)

You don't even have to bind a key to mouseclick unless you want to -- if you've got mouse multiplexing then you can simply SetView() in order to get all the screens in-line for the mouse position and direct/click manually. I can actually reliably hit near the same spot away from my characters if I want to Volley or whatnot. So, people with mouse multiplexing can cast aoes dynamically on any point with relative reliability.

If you don't have mouse multiplexing, your screens are different resolutions, etc, you can at least use the mouseclick keybinding to cast the AoE directly above your characters or however you pre-position it.

Lance
02-26-2009, 04:21 PM
I use setview and wireless mice.

gitcho
02-26-2009, 04:47 PM
i didn't like setview because the api only accepts 1-5 as arguments, and none of them give me the zoomed out view i needed for ground-targeted AOE. Is there any other software option beside manual?

Maxion
02-26-2009, 04:55 PM
i didn't like setview because the api only accepts 1-5 as arguments, and none of them give me the zoomed out view i needed for ground-targeted AOE. Is there any other software option beside manual?
The trick here is to first save the view you want to one of the 5.

Sam DeathWalker
02-26-2009, 04:57 PM
You can't use 1 but you can tell 2-5 how far and what not to be out.

SET cameraDistanceMax "25"
SET cameraDistanceMaxFactor "2"
SET cameraPitchA "19.0"
SET cameraYawA "0"
SET cameraDistanceA "20"
SET cameraPitchB "80.0"
SET cameraYawB "0"
SET cameraDistanceB "20"

pinotnoir
02-26-2009, 05:01 PM
I wish this worked with keyclone. There is a option to pass mouse hotkey but its very clunky. Then when you click on your screen the alts just sorta place the aoe wherever. It is not very accurate. Someone needs to figure a way to do it with keyclone so my 3 mages can start throwing imp blizzards around.

zanthor
02-26-2009, 05:24 PM
Innerspace allows for mouse replication that rivals any hardware solution. I use this daily for my "Shoot em Up" daily as well as interacting with NPC's on all 5 at once, etc.

elsegundo
02-26-2009, 05:48 PM
i can tell who software boxes and who hardware boxes from the replies here. =]

Malekyth
02-26-2009, 06:14 PM
I also just mouse over to the other windows and click. For Hurricane, it's alt-3, click in main window, mouse over to upper left window on second monitor and double click, mouse over to upper right window on second monitor and double click, etc. The view is correct enough on a given client to be effective 90% of the time.

WoW's custom views have been very flaky for me, btw. They are often not saved between sessions, however I end the session (whether through Alt-F4, logging out, logging out at an inn, exiting at a inn, or whatever). In the unlikely event that they are saved between sessions, and I dare to change one later, I can expect to lose it with the next restart. Non-viable solution, alas.

Toned
02-26-2009, 07:23 PM
Innerspace FTW makes this very trivial to setup, and very accurate.

gitcho
02-26-2009, 07:32 PM
You can't use 1 but you can tell 2-5 how far and what not to be out.

SET cameraDistanceMax "25"
SET cameraDistanceMaxFactor "2"
SET cameraPitchA "19.0"
SET cameraYawA "0"
SET cameraDistanceA "20"
SET cameraPitchB "80.0"
SET cameraYawB "0"
SET cameraDistanceB "20"This is interesting ... how would I then save/bind this to /setview(2-5)?

Sam DeathWalker
02-26-2009, 08:18 PM
http://www.wowwiki.com/World_of_Warcraft_API

Go to your keybindings ingame if you prefer instead of using the wtf file and you can set keys for savecamera2-5 (1 is alwasy first person).


This is getting to be an ongoing problems though. After you save its ok, but if you then change with the mousekey held down when you exit the game saves the last positions you had and overwrites the wtf file settings. You can make your wtf file read only but then you cant use keyclone much ... really need a way to reset prior to exit, I guess you can if you remember to but ...

pinotnoir
02-26-2009, 09:24 PM
Innerspace FTW makes this very trivial to setup, and very accurate.

How long have you been using innerspace? I remember you were using keyclone back when you were on mag. The aoe ability is a pretty big deal I am missing out on. I may have to try innerspace. Three imp blizzards are very nice. Now I have 4dk's so death and decay x4 would be great as well.

Gadzooks
02-26-2009, 09:56 PM
Innerspace allows for mouse replication that rivals any hardware solution. I use this daily for my "Shoot em Up" daily as well as interacting with NPC's on all 5 at once, etc.Do you mean the one where you shoot the protodrakes with the harpoon gun?

I just have one toon do it, they all get credit. There's only a couple of dailies that don't share.

Nisch
02-26-2009, 10:22 PM
I wrote my own program, AOEMouse, which broadcasts my mouse location to the alt computers when you hit the Hotkey, and stops when you click the mouse.

I'm full hardware though. Not sure about people using one machine.

So you're full hardware - yet you wrote a program to broadcast your mouse? That would be a hybrid setup. :)

Yeah, well I also run Octopus, but I guess in the case of semantics, I'm hybrid. Octopus is what I use for mouse sharing though fulltime

Perrigrin
02-27-2009, 02:49 AM
Ok, so I'm software using keyclone ... that mean I'm screwed then?

Fef
02-27-2009, 08:17 AM
I software box using Octopus, with one big window and four thumbnail clients on the side of the screen (24').
I just manually aim my AOEs on the main window and then on each of the five little thumbnail views. One press, 5 clicks, not that bad. On top of that it allows me to readjust distance in case the pack of mobs would move toward my group.

Gadzooks
02-27-2009, 11:24 AM
Ok, so I'm software using keyclone ... that mean I'm screwed then?I'm software boxing, I can't get it to work. Everything works the way it should, but the slave windows don't trigger when ";" is pressed, as the mouse isn't registered (not sure of the language here). It will only trigger if the window of the slave is active.

Lance
02-27-2009, 01:56 PM
WoW's custom views have been very flaky for me, btw. They are often not saved between sessions, however I end the session (whether through Alt-F4, logging out, logging out at an inn, exiting at a inn, or whatever). In the unlikely event that they are saved between sessions, and I dare to change one later, I can expect to lose it with the next restart. Non-viable solution, alas.I've noticed the same thing and I know when it happened it was the big patch before wrath was released. It had worked perfectly for about a year up till that point. Now it can be flaky for me as well. It's on my to do list to fix but it works most of the time and the reason I haven't got round to fixing it (apart from being lazy ofc) is that I don't really aoe that much I just use it for quest turn ins and flight masters etc. I really should try to get it sorted once and for all. My problem when it happens always seems to be one char uses some other view that is not what I've set in the wtf and the other 3 are ok. Means I have to click quest givers twice.

zanthor
02-27-2009, 02:01 PM
Innerspace allows for mouse replication that rivals any hardware solution. I use this daily for my "Shoot em Up" daily as well as interacting with NPC's on all 5 at once, etc.Do you mean the one where you shoot the protodrakes with the harpoon gun?

I just have one toon do it, they all get credit. There's only a couple of dailies that don't share.Yep, I mount all 5 to the guns, aim them all bottom left to zero and then shoot a drake 1x and it dies. The sky is filled with fiery death for about 30 seconds and I walk away with all 5 done.

zanthor
02-27-2009, 02:02 PM
Ok, so I'm software using keyclone ... that mean I'm screwed then?No, but you would have to change solutions to unscrew or wait for Rob to unscrew his mouse broadcast which he said would be fixed in a future version... of course with no updates in months for KeyClone I'd not hold my breath.

pinotnoir
02-27-2009, 05:55 PM
Ok, so I'm software using keyclone ... that mean I'm screwed then?No, but you would have to change solutions to unscrew or wait for Rob to unscrew his mouse broadcast which he said would be fixed in a future version... of course with no updates in months for KeyClone I'd not hold my breath.

I looked at the innerspace information and I am confused. There seems to be two seperate softwares. One says its a beta isbox or something. I couldnt find out how much it cost or where to download the one you guys are talking about. If you can give me some details I would appreciate it. I like Rob from keyclone. He has helped me on the phone a few times. The mouse broadcasting for aoe has become a big issue now that I am using mages and dk's. If I need to change software solutions to take advantage of this I will.

Toned
03-02-2009, 05:51 PM
You're missing the point. Innerspace has been out for years it is the platform that allows you to run multiple games. Really, Innerspace is the foundation of your setup. The original Innerspace post from Zanthor had his scripts that he made ( i never took a look at ) I'll assume those work with some effort.

ISXToolBoxKit is an Innerspace extension specific to WOW and Specific to Multi-boxing. This is basically Zanthor's original post on steroids, it's a little idiot proof package of joy brought to the world by Lax.

I checked Innerspace out back when it first came out and I was doing macroquest2 stuff in EQ1. It was pretty cool but wasn't OMG amazing but it was definately something to keep an eye on. Then I moved over to WOW and took another look at innerspace... at that time multi-box software wasn't as abundant as it is now. Most people were using Innerspace with ISXWoW to bot the game. So, I stayed away from that and chose keyclone. Keyclone has many bugs and is very slow. Don't get me wrong Keyclone is amazing for an out of the box 5min setup for a new multi-boxer, but my needs have exceeded what Keyclone offers (lack of updates is key here I think).

Toned
03-02-2009, 05:55 PM
Download Innerspace here: http://www.lavishsoft.com/joomla/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=2&Itemid=2
ISXBoxerToolkit here: http://www.lavishsoft.com/wiki/index.php/IS:ISBoxer

$ 10 = 90 days or $36 = 1yr for FIVE Machines.

pinotnoir
03-03-2009, 02:57 AM
Thanks! I will look into it. I would love to be able to blizzard x 3 with accuracy. Looks like a change is in my future.

mikekim
03-03-2009, 06:29 AM
I moved from Keyclone to HotKeyNet and the broadcasting works excellent. ( i can even log off all my toons at the same time using the broadcast feature)

it took a day to setup but the excellent script from Olipcs helped.

Thread ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=19690')