Log in

View Full Version : Healmacro Question



torytrae
02-09-2009, 07:06 AM
Hi guys,
currently I run a lv21 Team - 1 ProtPala + 4 Ele Shammy.

I use the /focus main macro to get my pala as focus. Then I use focustarget in each spell, like spamming LBs.
For healing I made a round-robin macro that does something like:

/stopcasting
/cast healspell

So I usually spam LBs and depending on the dmg my Pala gets I assign one or multiple Shammys for healing via round-robin.
That works fine.

Now I had a problem when one of my shammys gets dmg. I currently assigned like 4 keys for this:

Strg-F2: Shammy 1 gets heal by Shammy 2
Strg-F3: Shammy 2 gets heal by Shammy 1
Strg-F4: Shammy 3 gets heal by Shammy 4
Strg-F5: Shammy 4 gets heal by Shammy 3

The question now: In those macros I change the focus to the new shammy for healtarget. I think it is better to use a fix target instead, right?
So instead of using something like:

/clearfocus
/focus Shammy1

I could simply use:

/cast [target=Shammy1] Healspell

I just have this idea now at work. Doing so would not make the heal-shammy lose his focus on my pala right? So he would target-heal Shammy1 and then could go on spamming LB on my focustarget right?

Chranny
02-09-2009, 09:17 AM
Surely.

elsegundo
02-09-2009, 04:03 PM
there are many ways of healing your slaves.


how about with modifiers:

nomod - heal focus
alt- heal shammy1
ctrl - heal shammy2
shift - heal shammy3
alt+shift - heal shammy4

or make four different buttons, each one focusing on a different shammy.

Owltoid
02-09-2009, 05:57 PM
Alternatively, you could use a mouseover healing solution as discussed here:

[HotKeyNet] Mouseover healing - using the tank as the main while sending signals to the healer ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=19094')

If you set it up right, then you could party heal or raid heal without changing a thing. Just mouseover the name plate (while controlling your tank) and it will send the message to your healer to heal that target.

torytrae
02-10-2009, 09:39 AM
About modifiers: Will not work. I use a G13 (+G15 Keyboard) for my 4 toons and the steelseries wow-mouse for my tank.
So no way to add in modifiers. I have to assign everything to a single button.
Its not an issue though, as the G13 + wow mouse have enough buttons for stuff.

Later for my warrior tank I will use castrandoms anyway, so to put in shockwave, thunderclap, shield slam, revenge all in one castrandom. Gotta try if this works out.

Mouseoverhealing might be an idea. Thanks :)

elsegundo
02-10-2009, 03:58 PM
make a key on your g13 an ALT key. done.

or make three of your keys on your mouse, since it has a billion buttons anyway, an alt/ctrl/shift key.
but thats all up to you. i'd do that since... well... that gives me a billion x3 keys, instead of just... 3 keys.

Motgib
02-10-2009, 05:41 PM
I don't think I'm understanding why modifiers won't work. Are you already using up every single action button + every single modifier? If not there shouldn't be any issue with writing a modifier directly into your healing macro (unless there is something I am missing here...)
Shammy1 healing Macro:
/cast [nomod, target=shammy2] Heal spell
/cast [mod=shift, target=focustarget] damage spell
/cast [mod=ctrl, target=focustarget] damage spell
/cast [mod=alt, target=focustarget] damage spell

Shammy2 healing macro:
/cast [nomod, target=focustarget] damage spell
/cast [mod=shift, target=Shammy1] Heal spell
/cast [mod=ctrl, target=focustarget] damage spell
/cast [mod=alt, target=focustarget] damage spell

Shammy3 healing macro:
/cast [nomod, target=focustarget] damage spell
/cast [mod=shift, target=focustarget] damage spell
/cast [mod=ctrl, target=Shammy4] Heal Spell
/cast [mod=alt, target=focustarget] damage spell

Shammy4 healing macro:
/cast [nomod, target=focustarget] damage spell
/cast [mod=shift, target=focustarget] damage spell
/cast [mod=ctrl, target=focus target] damage spell
/cast [mod=alt, target=Shammy3] Heal spell

With this setup if you assigned this macro to Action Bar button 1, and you press [1] Shammy1 heals shammy2 and the rest dps, [Shift+1] Shammy2 heals Shammy1 and the rest dps, [ctrl+1] Shammy3 Heals Shammy4 and the rest dps, and [alt+1] Shammy4 heals Shammy3 and the rest dps.

This macro still only takes up one action button (the same amount as your current healing macro). You could also change it so that [nomod] always =dps on all shammies and the different mods = different heals, that way you would combine your dps spam, and healing macro into one button, if in fact space is limited.

torytrae
02-11-2009, 07:28 AM
Oh I see. So you mean I could simply assign like "shift" or "alt" to one key on the G13 (or WoW mouse) and then press that key together with the normal button on the G13 to make it go to WoW as Shift+Key?
Well, sure, good idea. Gonna give it a try :)

Yes, I do have like "Shift Ctrl F1" for example assigned to one key on my G13 or G15 in this case. Pushing modifiers didnt work because I was not using my hands on the "normal" keyboard ... I just wasnt thinking about to assign shift or alt on my G13 to use it.

elsegundo
02-11-2009, 07:31 PM
yea. i think it would work better because you'll have many more combinations of keys to work with. and you can make macros in-game to utilize these shift/alt/ctrl states.