PDA

View Full Version : How to use Targetable AoE's multiboxing with in game macro's (no addons or programs needed)!



Ellay
01-28-2009, 06:31 PM
While since I rolled Death Knights for fun, I simply had to figure out a way to utilize AoE's that you have to click to target :)

Basically you may have to switch your format up a bit, since mine is kind of funky and someone can hopefully make this cleaner.

First things first.

decide which key on your keyboard you want to act as a left mouse click. I choose something I usually don't type in which is " ; "

/script SetBinding(";", "CAMERAORSELECTORMOVE")
Now copy/paste that into WoW while in the game
Do the same for this line as well

/script SaveBindings(1)

There now you've bound your left click mouse to the " ; " key. (The Left Click on your mouse button still does the same thing don't worry!!)
If you ever want to remove this functionality - > /wow/WTF/<accname>/bindings-cache.wtf and remove the entry.

Next step make a macro such as this

/script SetView(4);SetView(4)
/cast Death and Decay

To explain the view pieces, they run from 1 through 5 and you can actually save to a viewing you like, it just positions your camera in that location so you don't need to worry about how your facing. The second entry of setview moves your camera to that position instantly instead of moving to that angle.
Bind that to a key and simply push the button then press ;
I have mine setup so my cursor stays on top of my characters so when I press it, it throws it down right on top of me.
The cleaner part of this is that I use F9 for the hotkey on my action bar macro, and my n52 has the ; key bound as well, so I push then 1 after the other, or together and poof you've got a targetable AoE without moving to that screen and clicking.

Hope this helps.

Ellay
01-28-2009, 06:33 PM
Additionally, you can set up any type of camera view you want in game and "save" that camera view. So if you want to throw a spell far away from you, save a camera view for really far away. If you want to throw it right on top of yourself, make a camera view that is set to be right on top of your head really close to the ground.

elsegundo
01-28-2009, 06:36 PM
i remember this from another thread. is this different?

Jafula
01-28-2009, 06:37 PM
Very nice; but I have a question.
I have mine setup so my cursor stays on top of my characters How do you do this? Are you a hardware boxer? As a software boxer, I have 4 toons on one screen and the cursor can be anywhere.

Ellay
01-28-2009, 06:40 PM
i remember this from another thread. is this different? It was removed previously because we wanted to make sure it wouldn't get nerfed like the mini map ping in the past for targetable aoe's. I believe others have posted on this as well, just making it more known.


How do you do this? Are you a hardware boxer? As a software boxer, I have 4 toons on one screen and the cursor can be anywhere. This is why you set up camera views that are favorable to the type of AoE you want to do, either it but right on top of you or very far away in front of you :)

elsegundo
01-28-2009, 06:54 PM
thanks! i was looking for it the other day.

this is great to use in certain situations, where the targeted aoe's need to be up close, especially (for example DnD ).

Evilseed
01-28-2009, 07:01 PM
I can see this being OK for a DK in a limited sense if they are ok with getting off a D&D w/o complete situational awareness. For people like mages/warlocks/druids/hunters/DKs and others who have ranged AOE spells that require targetting, they are going to need help by a 3rd party program to do the mouse movements and clicking.

elsegundo
01-28-2009, 07:10 PM
I can see this being OK for a DK in a limited sense if they are ok with getting off a D&D w/o complete situational awareness. For people like mages/warlocks/druids/hunters/DKs and others who have ranged AOE spells that require targetting, they are going to need help by a 3rd party program to do the mouse movements and clicking.yea i kinda figured that too. since DK's are melee characters, i would imagine the best use of DnD to be up close, and the second use would be to pull aggro on a pull. other use would be for treents. otherwise, unless the tank has good hold of aggro, and especially when most targetted AoEs are channeled, having a mage or warlock cast their blizzard and rain of fire, respectively, while in melee range may cause interruption.

Jafula
01-28-2009, 07:13 PM
The clicking can be done by

decide which key on your keyboard you want to act as a left mouse click. I choose something I usually don't type in which is " ; "

/script SetBinding(";", "CAMERAORSELECTORMOVE") but the cursor positioning is still random for me depending on where I last clicked on that wow window.

The solution for me here in this case is to save my view so that I am zoomed in all the way and my character is looking directly at the floor. This way I'm pretty much guaranteed to click close enough to my toon. Only works if I stand in the middle of the mobs for the likes of the Blizzard spell on my mage.

Freddie
01-28-2009, 07:43 PM
Years ago I had a simple program that would move the cursor to center screen with a hotkey or after "x" amount of seconds. For the life of me I can't remember the name of the program, or where I got it.
HotkeyNet can do it the first way but not the second (there is no way to do timed stuff automatically in the program).

Evilseed
01-28-2009, 07:50 PM
Or boardcasting wireless mice (hardware).

Years ago I had a simple program that would move the cursor to center screen with a hotkey or after "x" amount of seconds. For the life of me I can't remember the name of the program, or where I got it.Yea I've used some of those I found on google for other purposes (mostly work related stuff in the past). I personally would stay far away from those "after X amount of seconds" as that doesn't fit along with Blizzard's policy of automation including the ability to set delays.

algol
01-28-2009, 08:19 PM
Years ago I had a simple program that would move the cursor to center screen with a hotkey or after "x" amount of seconds. For the life of me I can't remember the name of the program, or where I got it.
Sounds like a laptop utility. Anyway, you could probably do that in about ten lines of Visual Basic ('http://www.vb6.us/tutorials/move-mouse-api') .

Evilseed
01-28-2009, 08:46 PM
I originally wanted to use such a program to recenter the mouse on all screens - then grab my broadcasted mouse and go to town. Just a quick way to set a uniform starting location.

My screens are not all the same size, so the broadcasted mouse is wonky at best. :)Fursphere maybe we should talk then. Tell me exactly what would work for you and I will see about getting it coded into MC.

algol
01-28-2009, 10:01 PM
Oh, and Java's Robot.mouseMove(x,y) will do it too. Set that up with a key listener and you've got yourself a way to center your mouse with a key press.

Freddie
01-28-2009, 11:02 PM
My screens are not all the same size, so the broadcasted mouse is wonky at best. :)
HotkeyNet can scale the broadcast mouse position to different screen sizes and/or different window sizes. Maybe other programs do the same thing, I don't know.

Bigfish
01-29-2009, 10:59 AM
One of the many macro threads on how to do this should be stickied, since it seems to come up so much. That and a Wiki page added. Is that done being moved yet?

Tizer
01-31-2009, 07:54 AM
While since I rolled Death Knights for fun, I simply had to figure out a way to utilize AoE's that you have to click to target :)

Basically you may have to switch your format up a bit, since mine is kind of funky and someone can hopefully make this cleaner.

First things first.

decide which key on your keyboard you want to act as a left mouse click. I choose something I usually don't type in which is " ; "

/script SetBinding(";", "CAMERAORSELECTORMOVE")
Now copy/paste that into WoW while in the game
Do the same for this line as well

/script SaveBindings(1)

There now you've bound your left click mouse to the " ; " key. (The Left Click on your mouse button still does the same thing don't worry!!)
If you ever want to remove this functionality - > /wow/WTF/<accname>/bindings-cache.wtf and remove the entry.

Next step make a macro such as this

/script SetView(4);SetView(4)
/cast Death and Decay

To explain the view pieces, they run from 1 through 5 and you can actually save to a viewing you like, it just positions your camera in that location so you don't need to worry about how your facing. The second entry of setview moves your camera to that position instantly instead of moving to that angle.
Bind that to a key and simply push the button then press ;
I have mine setup so my cursor stays on top of my characters so when I press it, it throws it down right on top of me.
The cleaner part of this is that I use F9 for the hotkey on my action bar macro, and my n52 has the ; key bound as well, so I push then 1 after the other, or together and poof you've got a targetable AoE without moving to that screen and clicking.

Hope this helps.
followed this, but i dont understand how/where my mouse button gets bound to ";"



/script SetBinding(";", "CAMERAORSELECTORMOVE") - doesnt do it, that just binds a view right?

confused :>

Shaitan256
01-31-2009, 01:04 PM
Oh, and Java's Robot.mouseMove(x,y) will do it too. Set that up with a key listener and you've got yourself a way to center your mouse with a key press.

As I read : Predefined Mousemovement (set to x,y) isn't allowed.

king.pa
01-31-2009, 06:56 PM
the issue here is when we are software boxing... when my cursor goes over a windows, and when I move the mouse to another window, the mouse pointer is very often on the edge of each wow window...

The best way to get the cursor at a precise x,y spot could be a script (or anything else) that moves the cursor itself from a location to another instantly .. each 0,1 sec the cursor would be placed on a specific spot on each wow window, then jump to another specific spot... this way each window would have the mouse in its center instead of its edge

no mouse movment, but a mouse jump .. I don't know if I'm understandable telling this ... but imagine that you switch your mouse from the wow1 windows to the wow2 windows at your maximum sliding speed ... the cursor could stay in the middle of the wow1 window, while you already can be at the middle of the second wow window ...

this piece of software wont be clicking or doing something illegal .. just shifting the mouse pointer from a position to another without any trail done almost instantly !!!
tac tac tac tac (0,4sec) ... the mouse centered (or wherever you can want to clic) itself into each wow window.. and you just have to cast your ground aoe spell and press the left clic binding to get it done !!! and this could be allowed because that's just a mouse positioning.

btw isn't it already doable with AutoHotKey ?

Shaitan256
01-31-2009, 07:03 PM
I guess it's doable but if it comes to Timing things this counts as not legit again.

What could be done is something like this (just a thought)

press key the mouse is going to a defined spot (1 action per click) then click so I guess it's legit. Than do it this way: the mouse jumps (like you said) to next windows but after a click then click mouse again would be like, "Defined Mousemove Button" DMB, click, DMB, click DMB, click, DMB, click and so on could be done in under a second. If you understand what I mean.

king.pa
01-31-2009, 07:16 PM
hmm, the aoe would be cast on each toon each time I hit the "aoe" key after I pressed the spot1 key ... it could be done in a 1/2 sec or less, no automation : just hit the keybinding for the aoe, at the same time AHK move the mouse to were you asked by choosing a x,y spot, then again, the keybinding for the second spot... no timing, no automation... could be perfectly safe !!

Shaitan256
01-31-2009, 07:22 PM
I guess we kinda mean the same :) but you say click/press at the same time. That's what was confusing me(I guess it's a bad sentence XD).

I thought you meant it going every 0,1 sec to the next spot what would be automation, If have to click (as we both said kinda xD) it's not.

I guess this would work, because you have 1 action per click. Only question left: Is mousemovement allowed to be on a keypress? I hope otherwise I could get banned for playing with Gamepad^^ so i think it works.

Tizer
02-02-2009, 06:58 AM
Well, even if i cant get this to work, i've pulled something positive out of this thread, that being

"/script SetView(4);SetView(4)"

which i've now added to all my slave follow macros :) \o/

Falkor
02-02-2009, 04:57 PM
i remember this from another thread. is this different?

I used a similar method last year to accept quests from an NPC :)
Good job Ellay!

Spin
02-13-2009, 06:01 PM
I'm a little confused and I apologize for being dense.

I'm trying to understand exactly how to this is supposed to work. I understand that I'm creating a keybind that will make the ";" the equivilent of a left mouse click. I understand that it saves the binding into a file. What I'm having some difficulty with, is understanding exactly what this means:

[/quote]To explain the view pieces, they run from 1 through 5 and you can actually save to a viewing you like, it just positions your camera in that location so you don't need to worry about how your facing. The second entry of setview moves your camera to that position instantly instead of moving to that angle.[/quote]

Does this mean that there are 5 specific camera views or that there are 5 specific user defined camera views? What exactly does Setview(4) mean? How exactly do I save the camera view?

The reason I ask, is that I'm using 2 Dks and I would like to use DnD as a PBAoE ability so that I can trigger them at the same time. Currently I can't use both DnDs.

Falkor
02-14-2009, 08:09 PM
Original post was by myself but blizzard changed the binding for it :P

Osiris
03-19-2009, 02:13 AM
To Ellay's original post, I follow the whole thing up to "I have mine setup so my cursor stays on top of my characters so when I press it, it throws it down right on top of me."

When I do this, it moves the camera, but the mouse is still all over the place...are there any suggestions other than trying to keep the mouse centered on my toons? Is there a macro that will recenter the mouse?

I am actually using 5 computers and I do have a wireless mouse setup, it is just I'd love to be able to hit a button and have them AOE on top of themselves, and another for like 30 yards out...

Evol
03-19-2009, 10:18 PM
AFAIK, there is no way to move the mouse with in-game macros, so the only method of getting the 30-yard out AE that you described without using software would be to keep the mouse pointer exactly where you want it and leave it there.

For point blank range though, there is another solution. You can save your own camera angle. What I do is a save a camera angle that is zoomed all the way in and pointing down at the ground. Therefore, the mouse pointer, wherever it may be, will result in the center of the AE spell being within a couple yards of the character. The hitch to this method is that for some stupid reason, even though you can save custom camera angles easily through normal in-game functions, it is apparantly impossible to save those custom camera angles across sessions. So as soon as you log out, you lose it. So I've resorted to quickly zooming in the camera on all my toons, saving the angle with a set keybinding, and then everything is peachy for that particular play session. It's kind of annoying, but only takes a few seconds every time I log in. The default camera angles don't seem to be zoomed in enough to safely use for point blank AE.

If anyone has found any way to save custom camera angles so they stay even when you log out, I'd love to hear it.

Tonyx
03-20-2009, 06:07 AM
So I've resorted to quickly zooming in the camera on all my toons, saving the angle with a set keybinding, and then everything is peachy for that particular play session. It's kind of annoying, but only takes a few seconds every time I log in.

Care to share your macro here?

Malekyth
03-20-2009, 02:00 PM
I presume the camera settings are set in some text file. I'm at work and can't test it, but could you write a batch file to copy in a version of that config file with proper camera settings before running WoW? When I was using Keyclone, I handled different groups' different FTL setups by running batch files that copied the appropriate .ini files over keyclone.ini, started Keyclone and then started WoW. It seems to me that if you could only get that one config to save on logout, or if someone could figure out the format and just write something by hand, you'd be able to automatically copy it in and would be set from then on.

PerzianPenguin
03-25-2009, 03:40 AM
Anyway this can be implemented for blizzard?
or other mage AoE? :?:

Spatulor
03-27-2009, 11:59 PM
with this set up, I get some truly bizzare mouse movement when I hit the ";" button. it flickers across all my open clients, frequently changes the camera position of one or more of my characters, and just generally screws me up. It seems to be returning to the last cursor position in every client, for some reason. I had the impression that it would effect a click in every client, not actually move the mouse to each client. this would be fine, however, if it didn't move the camera and then not return to my main. I can see how this would be excellent for hardware boxers, however.

Hairball
04-12-2009, 05:40 PM
So if "CAMERAORSELECTORMOVE" = "Left Click"

What is "Right Click" ? :)

Gankstah
04-30-2010, 09:45 AM
do you need a n52 keyboard to make this work? I didnt understand where to put the first /script command? I tried typing it in game. But im assuming it needs to be a macro of some type maybee in a keyboard / hardware function?

thx in advance.

lacitpo
04-30-2010, 12:33 PM
This thread and the addon linked within could probably be used in conjunction with this method

http://www.dual-boxing.com/showthread.php?t=29050

Gankstah
04-30-2010, 03:24 PM
thx i was retarded didnt notice it.