PDA

View Full Version : party battle text



pengwynman
11-24-2008, 05:51 AM
i'm in search of an addon that will allow my party's outgoing damage to display on my UI in the form of 'battle text'. I've been using MikScrollingBattleText and really like it, so when I got the idea for this I started tinkering and tried adding different events, but there doesn't appear to be a way to show your party's outgoing damage (there is a way to show that they have done damage, but i can't find a way to show HOW MUCH damage...). anyone know of a way to do this using MSBT or any other mod?

Daleka
11-24-2008, 10:51 AM
I know somewhere on here there is a change to the lua of Scrolling Combat Text that shows all party damage as your own. I used it for a while till I found Mik's. Only problem I saw was that it showed your parties damage no matter what, ie your not boxing and in a raid, still shows all party damage.

pengwynman
11-24-2008, 12:07 PM
yeah i saw something about that too, but i've kind of grown attached to MSBT and i'm not really familiar with lua either

Bettysue
11-24-2008, 03:02 PM
I the addon called SCTD or scrolling combat text Damage change this:


local COMBATLOG_FILTER_MINE = COMBATLOG_FILTER_MINE


to this:


local COMBATLOG_FILTER_MINE = bit.bor (
COMBATLOG_OBJECT_AFFILIATION_PARTY,
COMBATLOG_OBJECT_AFFILIATION_MINE,
COMBATLOG_OBJECT_REACTION_FRIENDLY,
COMBATLOG_OBJECT_CONTROL_PLAYER,
COMBATLOG_OBJECT_TYPE_PLAYER,
COMBATLOG_OBJECT_TYPE_OBJECT,
COMBATLOG_OBJECT_TYPE_PET,
);


It will show your party damage as well as party pets for those pet classes. This was found in about 2 secs using "party damage" as a search criteria. Be sure to use the search first, so the informative threads don't get mixed into the clutter of non-informative duplicate threads :D

pengwynman
11-26-2008, 07:39 PM
i took the time to do this at lunch today, and i'm pretty pleased with how it's working so far
here is the original thread:
[HowTo] Change SCTD to show party damage as well. ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/index.php?page=Thread&postID=50867')

i'm still using MSBT to display my damage, and SCTD displaying party damage. here's a screenshot of what i have so far (keep in mind i did this on my lunch break today :P)

http://i34.tinypic.com/2j3goyh.jpg
You can see the party damage in yellow text on the right side. Still have some tweaking to do to get it looking how i want... actually i still need to tweak my entire UI, i haven't really done anything with it since 3.0.2 hit :P

Vainte
11-28-2008, 11:00 AM
I really like MikScrollingBattleText also and as far as I know it can display anything you like. It actually has documentation too, if you look in the addons folder.

Anyway lets see if I can describe what I did to get party damage to show up.

1. /msbt
2. I went to the scroll areas tab and made a new area called partyout. Then hit configure scroll areas and put it next to my damage.
3. Goto the Triggers tab, click on add new trigger
4. For the Output message do something like '%a %n'

Most main events ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/file:///C:/Games/World%20of%20Warcraft/Interface/AddOns/MikScrollingBattleText/readme.html#MainEvents') allow the following substitution codes:
%n - The name of the source of the event. %r - The name of the recipient of the event. %a - The amount associated with the event. %s - The skill name associated with the event. 5. Now you have a new tigger added. Click on the circle to configure the conditions.
6. Main Event should be skill damage (basically all spells)
7. Delete all the default conditions
8. Add a condition, source unit affiliation = party member. (Basically what this is saying is when the source of a spell is coming from a party member fire this trigger)
9. Save the condition changes.
10. Click the A edit the fonts the way you want.
11. Click the little screwdriver/wrench. Then I changed the Output scroll area to my new partyout box.
12. Profit?

Hopefully this all made sense.

You can also make triggers for other things, like white damage, skill misses (so you can see what party spells are being resisted).
Also I made a scroll area with PartyIn when my party members are taking damage. here the condition is recipient unit affiliation = party member.

Meeo
11-28-2008, 04:04 PM
Thanks Vainte!

As much as i like MSBT, its was way fast and i love it now that i can see dmg out and dmg in of my party members!!

pengwynman
11-28-2008, 04:31 PM
I really like MikScrollingBattleText also and as far as I know it can display anything you like. It actually has documentation too, if you look in the addons folder.

Anyway lets see if I can describe what I did to get party damage to show up.

1. /msbt
2. I went to the scroll areas tab and made a new area called partyout. Then hit configure scroll areas and put it next to my damage.
3. Goto the Triggers tab, click on add new trigger
4. For the Output message do something like '%a %n'


Most main events ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/file:///C:/Games/World%20of%20Warcraft/Interface/AddOns/MikScrollingBattleText/readme.html#MainEvents') allow the following substitution codes:
%n - The name of the source of the event. %r - The name of the recipient of the event. %a - The amount associated with the event. %s - The skill name associated with the event. 5. Now you have a new tigger added. Click on the circle to configure the conditions.
6. Main Event should be skill damage (basically all spells)
7. Delete all the default conditions
8. Add a condition, source unit affiliation = party member. (Basically what this is saying is when the source of a spell is coming from a party member fire this trigger)
9. Save the condition changes.
10. Click the A edit the fonts the way you want.
11. Click the little screwdriver/wrench. Then I changed the Output scroll area to my new partyout box.
12. Profit?

Hopefully this all made sense.

You can also make triggers for other things, like white damage, skill misses (so you can see what party spells are being resisted).
Also I made a scroll area with PartyIn when my party members are taking damage. here the condition is recipient unit affiliation = party member.ah! that's exactly what i was looking for! i wasn't sure if those %a %n etc. codes would work, i couldn't find a list of the codes or what exactly they called. now i can just use one addon for all my scrolling damage needs :] thanks a bunch!

ghonosyph and the moocrew
11-28-2008, 06:24 PM
OKAY, So can we take this one step further? i've just set up party damage, but its still a little meh for me.... too much spam for melee class, here's what i'd like to do with it from the point now.... can we make is set up specific scroll areas for each party member so you have(i have 4 toons in my multibox group) can we have four separate scroll areas scrolling the clone's dmg (*one area for each toon) ?

i'm gonna play with it and see, any suggestions if anyone has a clue will be greatly appreciated! <3 thanks in advance!



ps: vainte! THANKS SO MUCH for linking this up for us!!! JUST what i wanted...almost hehe but close enough to get me started! hehehe<3

zanthor
11-28-2008, 06:38 PM
Ok, this rocks. The only complaint I have is that it doesn't combine events for a total, but maybe I've just missed that option.

ghonosyph and the moocrew
11-28-2008, 07:03 PM
I really like MikScrollingBattleText also and as far as I know it can display anything you like. It actually has documentation too, if you look in the addons folder.

Anyway lets see if I can describe what I did to get party damage to show up.

1. /msbt
2. I went to the scroll areas tab and made a new area called partyout. Then hit configure scroll areas and put it next to my damage.
3. Goto the Triggers tab, click on add new trigger
4. For the Output message do something like '%a %n'



Most main events ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/file:///C:/Games/World%20of%20Warcraft/Interface/AddOns/MikScrollingBattleText/readme.html#MainEvents') allow the following substitution codes:


%n - The name of the source of the event.
%r - The name of the recipient of the event.
%a - The amount associated with the event.
%s - The skill name associated with the event.

5. Now you have a new tigger added. Click on the circle to configure the conditions.
6. Main Event should be skill damage (basically all spells)
7. Delete all the default conditions
8. Add a condition, source unit affiliation = party member. (Basically what this is saying is when the source of a spell is coming from a party member fire this trigger) okay so here's where i made MY change to make it so i can show a specific member's name. Instead of adding source unit affiliation party member, i chose to set source unit affiliation = <character name> make sure you use proper capitalization however... and in the out put message(to keep things easier to keep track of, instead of %n for name, just put the name in... i set up 4 different scroll areas, shrank the size, and then put my characters in one at a time, also specifying crits in a separate event, so it would separate them(bigger text, and sticky option)
9. Save the condition changes.
10. Click the A edit the fonts the way you want.
11. Click the little screwdriver/wrench. Then I changed the Output scroll area to my new partyout box.
12. Profit?

Hopefully this all made sense.

You can also make triggers for other things, like white damage, skill misses (so you can see what party spells are being resisted).
Also I made a scroll area with PartyIn when my party members are taking damage. here the condition is recipient unit affiliation = party member.

so the text in red is what i chose to do to solve my problem, i had to make 6 separate triggers( 3 extra characters in my party, 2 triggers per character one for melee/skill swings, one for melee spells/swings crits.. works out pretty awesome =) thanks for getting me started vainte! <3

elsegundo
12-01-2008, 09:50 PM
bumping for usefulness plus, have question.... does this work for random procs and conditionals like Night Fall for locks or Execute for warriors?

pengwynman
12-02-2008, 01:21 PM
beleted

*someone should fix the delete button :P

dodar
12-08-2008, 04:54 PM
oh hell yes. thank you guys for the info, i am gonna hook this up tonight.

and pengwyn, do you really keep all five drooz in moonkin form? i generally keep just my main beaked. how much would you say that it ups their dps %-wise? their is the plus dmg from spirit bonus, the +4% from master shapeshifter, and frenzy (though i'm not sure they get hit often enough for that to matter much). i could see wanting to do this for big raids where healing is already more than covered, but so far i've always used my back-up drooz for hybrid dps/healing.

pengwynman
12-09-2008, 04:06 PM
oh hell yes. thank you guys for the info, i am gonna hook this up tonight.

and pengwyn, do you really keep all five drooz in moonkin form? i generally keep just my main beaked. how much would you say that it ups their dps %-wise? their is the plus dmg from spirit bonus, the +4% from master shapeshifter, and frenzy (though i'm not sure they get hit often enough for that to matter much). i could see wanting to do this for big raids where healing is already more than covered, but so far i've always used my back-up drooz for hybrid dps/healing.i dunno, i haven't really tried running around with just 1 boomkin, mostly because when i'm questing i rarely need to heal so I might as well get the added regen and dmg miright? plus having 370% armor helps when silly rogues try to gank me ;]

ghonosyph and the moocrew
12-09-2008, 04:27 PM
lol yea boomkin form is the way to go, until you start raiding/grouping in dungeons there's no reason NOT to stay in boomkin... plus 5 /dances is funny as sh*$(#t! lol :)

here's a pic of how i have mine setup... :)

my damage on my main is shown in the column with no name on it, then my druid (in orange, and my two deathknights in teal and light blue)

i havent figured out how to do trinket/ability procs for certain abilities(like sudden doom, or when omen of clarity procs) but i'm curious if anyone might have a way to figure that out :D... on a side note this way i have setup does get quite a bit spammy, but you can control the scroll animation speed in the frame animation setup... :) good luck!

http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/6782/scrollingtextsampleyk3.jpg ('http://imageshack.us/')
http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/scrollingtextsampleyk3.jpg/1/w640.png ('http://g.imageshack.us/img136/scrollingtextsampleyk3.jpg/1/')

pengwynman
12-09-2008, 07:23 PM
lol yea boomkin form is the way to go, until you start raiding/grouping in dungeons there's no reason NOT to stay in boomkin... plus 5 /dances is funny as sh*$(#t! lol :)

here's a pic of how i have mine setup... :)

my damage on my main is shown in the column with no name on it, then my druid (in orange, and my two deathknights in teal and light blue)

i havent figured out how to do trinket/ability procs for certain abilities(like sudden doom, or when omen of clarity procs) but i'm curious if anyone might have a way to figure that out :D... on a side note this way i have setup does get quite a bit spammy, but you can control the scroll animation speed in the frame animation setup... :) good luck!

what's that graph you have at the top for?

dodar
12-09-2008, 09:30 PM
hmm, not sure i get the logic. i only have four drooz, but when i am just world pve questing i kill everything so frickin fast anyways, why would i need to squeeze out a few more percent dmg? four starfires kill almost anything straight up, but my most common technique is DoT and forget. that way, i spend barely over one global cooldown worth of time on any single target and then am on to the next. they are all so mana efficient that i rarely ever need to drink at all. and even when mobs attack me, the vast majority of the time they are attacking my boomkin, so why waste talents on frenzy and such for the others?

my main reasoning is for instance runs though. the drooz run with a tank friend and i've found that my 3 cows can off-heal at least as much hps as a single dedicated healer while still managing to come very close to as much dmg as my boomkin. the only real draw back is that they burn mana faster when playing both roles, but i have all the mana regen talents maxed on them (with talent points i've saved from not buying up their boomkin form), so they've done pretty well so far. they also have their rejuv bought up, so their HoT stacks are insane.

interesting to see different play styles though. and it might be that having five instead of four dps pushes dmg over the treshhold (like five mages) where you just never get touched.

pengwynman
12-09-2008, 09:39 PM
hmm, not sure i get the logic. i only have four drooz, but when i am just world pve questing i kill everything so frickin fast anyways, why would i need to squeeze out a few more percent dmg? four starfires kill almost anything straight up, but my most common technique is DoT and forget. that way, i spend barely over one global cooldown worth of time on any single target and then am on to the next. they are all so mana efficient that i rarely ever need to drink at all. and even when mobs attack me, the vast majority of the time they are attacking my boomkin, so why waste talents on frenzy and such for the others?

my main reasoning is for instance runs though. the drooz run with a tank friend and i've found that my 3 cows can off-heal at least as much hps as a single dedicated healer while still managing to come very close to as much dmg as my boomkin. the only real draw back is that they burn mana faster when playing both roles, but i have all the mana regen talents maxed on them (with talent points i've saved from not buying up their boomkin form), so they've done pretty well so far. they also have their rejuv bought up, so their HoT stacks are insane.

interesting to see different play styles though. and it might be that having five instead of four dps pushes dmg over the treshhold (like five mages) where you just never get touched.yeah i haven't really done many instances since i hit northrend, all BC and earlier instances were pretty easy with 5x boomkin- i think it's just preference mainly. like you said, you like to dot and forget, but i prefer to just hit them once and be done with it. i have tried doing instances with my main specced feral and 3 of them hybrid-healing/dps which was pretty fun, but it will take a lot more tweaking for me to be able to do heroics and whatnot.

dodar
12-10-2008, 04:02 PM
yeah, i just built up a starter tank set for my bull as well so i can at least start playing around with feral. can't wait until dual spec are in. thinking i'll off spec my three cows resto, so if my guild needs me to handle tanking and healing in raids i can swap'em up. mboxing healers seems like it would be really bad-assed since coordinating heals between various players is pretty tricky.

damn, i wish you guys were on my server. i have this dream of forming an all-stealth raid for boss-farming and faction city raiding. i have a couple other mboxers in my guild, but none are druid-boxers.

genocyde
12-10-2008, 05:45 PM
If anyone has a simple solution to getting MSBT to throttle my party's damage I would be grateful. As much fun as it seeing 10,000 numbers when spamming arcane explosion and holy nova I'd much rather see the
xx,xxx dmg (40 hits, 12 crits) type display when my 4 slaves are aoe'ing away rather than having my entire screen flood with numbers

pengwynman
12-10-2008, 08:01 PM
If anyone has a simple solution to getting MSBT to throttle my party's damage I would be grateful. As much fun as it seeing 10,000 numbers when spamming arcane explosion and holy nova I'd much rather see the
xx,xxx dmg (40 hits, 12 crits) type display when my 4 slaves are aoe'ing away rather than having my entire screen flood with numbersyeah, my roommate went to a 25-man raid on my comp without realizing that i had been messing with the combat text... 25 separate sources of damage can get a bit spammy...

i seem to remember seeing a setting somewhere for throttling, but i can't think of where it might be.. i'm at work right now, i'll try to remember to take a look when i get home if someone else doesn't answer first :P

ghonosyph and the moocrew
12-10-2008, 08:24 PM
Look at the settings window, when you first type /msbt the window that appears, there's a way in there(its pretty obvious when you see it) to throttle down the speeds, tho i dont know much about the syntax or settings ... havent figured it out yet how it all works hehehe!

as to the question "whats the graph at the top of my screen?" its recount fps chart.... if you use recount (its a damage meter addon, you can find it on curse.com) something like /recount realtime fps brings it up... its resizeable and show's a flowing chart of fps... you can also set latency and mem usage i believe to their own charts.... its pretty neat, i like it just for the looks of it ;)



i'd be interested in starting an all druid team on a server somewhere, but only two of my 5 are under raf bonus time, and i'm still working my dk's and druid to 80 on azgalor yet.... perhaps once i get to the goal i may start a group and chill with yas =) we'll see... what server do you reside on, alliance/horde?

pengwynman
12-10-2008, 08:46 PM
what server do you reside on, alliance/horde?Boulderfist-US, horde :D
join meh!!

species6729
04-22-2009, 08:01 AM
8. Add a condition, source unit affiliation = party member. (Basically what this is saying is when the source of a spell is coming from a party member fire this trigger) okay so here's where i made MY change to make it so i can show a specific member's name. Instead of adding source unit affiliation party member, i chose to set source unit affiliation = <character name>make sure you use proper capitalization however... and in the out put message(to keep things easier to keep track of, instead of %n for name, just put the name in... i set up 4 different scroll areas, shrank the size, and then put my characters in one at a time, also specifying crits in a separate event, so it would separate them(bigger text, and sticky option)

I just downloaded the latest ver. of Mik's Scrolling battle text 5.4.49. Under set source unit affiliation = " ". I see options " Focus, Mine, Outsider, Party Member, Raid Member, Target, You"
I do not see where I can type in the "character name" anywhere. Do I miss some steps in the setup :?: