Log in

View Full Version : Release: Multibox Tools



Carnage
11-10-2008, 01:50 PM
Development is on hold, except for bug fixing. Release: http://multiboxtools.dyndns.info/multiboxtools/publish.htm

Currently having issues with my server.

DISCLAIMER: I will not be held responsible if any macro or keybind settings are lost with the use of this program, This is a learning project for me, I cant predict bugs. This is hosted on my home-server, so it is possible that it might be offline at times, however the program works fine offline. The program looks for updates from my server when you load it, this is the only interaction with the internet that this program uses. It does not store any personal information except for the data you enter into it, e.g WoW directory, account name, charectername. If the source code is needed i will post it.

Hey, im a student learning VB.net at college - I multibox 5 charecters, so i decided to put the stuff ive learnt so far at college to the test. Ive been working on a program that creates keybinds and macros for my charecters without me having to go in each of them and add it manually. It writes straight to the macros-cache.txt and bindings-cache.wtf files, my problem is, im not that great at the designing part at the moment. Here is a look at my program:

(Please forgive me for bad quality imageS)

http://img395.imageshack.us/img395/1840/amountul1.jpg


This is the first window that shows up, this is where you enter how many charecters you want to configure macros / keybinds for. All of these settings are saved and you dont have to enter them again, unless you decide to edit differnt charecters.

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/1013/settingsformtg3.jpg

Then this window appears, here depending on how many charecters you chose, is where you enter the details such as WoW directory locations, account names, charecter names and your realm name. After your finished with this, a window appears asking what you would like to do, use the macro creater or the keybind creater.

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/4410/macroformfr8.jpg
(ignore the text on the icons, thats just where i foolishly decided to get them from my macro menu)

This is the macro form, it allows you to enter a macro into the textbox, choose a icon and then check what charecters you want that macro to be sent to, and it will add the macro to the selected charecters. The name of the macro is also stored in the settings, this is because the keybinds menu uses it - but we will get into that later. I have made two built-in macros so far, thats the invite and follow macros - If you click invite then it will make the macro in the text box into a macro that invites all your charecters, and if you wish you can add /ffa (free for all) by clicking a button that adds / removes it for you. The follow macro will show 5 macro boxes (or less depending on how many charecters you selected), it will automatically make macros to follow and promote each of the charecters, each of these macros are then sent to each charecter. Thats 25 macros created with a flick of a button ;) You can change the icon, but at the moment the amount of icons ive included is very small.

http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/1626/invitehr0.jpg http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/7957/followgx6.jpg


Then theres the keybind creater, this is incredibily simple:

http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/3554/keybindsmenugl3.jpg

You select what you want to bind, Spell , Macro, Item - enter the name of it e.g fireball, type the key you want to bind it to, select the modifyers and then check what charecters you want it added to. Any macro names that you have made in the macro creater are saved so they can be bound with ease, they show in a listbox when you select to bind a macro. You can simply doubleclick on a macro in the listbox and it will add its name to the name textbox.



Upcoming Features:

Profile saving features More icons Ability to add key to key textbox by pressing the key Cast Sequence Maker More indepth macro creater ( [target=targettarget, harm] ) ect.. Backup Features - Backup your interface and WTF folders and restore them if requested.Added:
Ability to save the settings to a file Ability to open the settings from the file - This allows you to have multiple, boxing setups and use them without having to mess with the settings


Known Issues


After any update, saved settings are deleted Some of the icons have writing on them Throws error message if you enter a setting wrong, such as account name. Macros are getting created twice

TroubleShooting:

Could not find a part of the path
This means that you have entered either the wrong account name, charecter name or realm name. Click Quit and run the program again, ensuring that the entered details are correct.

Error #001
The config file is corrupted or isnt something intended for my program. If the config file is one that you have created in my program and this message still shows then its a bug, please report it to me.

Noids99
11-10-2008, 02:04 PM
Looks like it would be a useful utility mate so why not? Think of us as a group of alpha testers for you, more than willing to provide feedback to help you polish it as required :P

Majestic_Clown
11-10-2008, 02:13 PM
I like :D

Freddie
11-10-2008, 02:24 PM
Should i release this?
The screenshots look good. It's nice to see somebody putting a lot of thought into the user interface.

If you want feedback then release it. There's no way to know in advance whether you'll get any feedback or that you'll like the feedback, but if you want some, you have to publish. It's like putting a note in a bottle and tossing it in the ocean. :)


Im relativily new to programming, im not sure how i get it to check for updates from a website.
The easiest way is with ClickOnce ('http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/t71a733d(VS.80).aspx'). If you're using a recent version of Visual Studio it will do the whole thing for you automatically.


Im quite certain its free from bugs, but it would be just my luck for it to not work for anyone else
That will always happen. That's a normal part of writing programs for the public. It happens because different people use programs in different ways and in different environments so bugs get "exposed" to some users but not others. That's why software needs to be beta tested. If it didn't happen we wouldn't need testers. A big part of learning to write programs for the public is figuring out ways to debug your programs when the bugs are visible only on the users' machines.

Good luck!

Oatboat
11-10-2008, 02:53 PM
in my best Ben Stiller voice "Do it, Do it......... Do it."

Zerocool2024
11-10-2008, 03:08 PM
I think it would be a great idea to have a program that will allow me to set the # of toons to have these set buttons bound and macros made just for them. That would make things a whole lot easier, specially since I have a box team of every class, and some times I like to clean house of the UI and I forget to keep the macro/Bound keys info and I WTFcrit in my own face... :thumbsup:

entoptic
11-10-2008, 03:18 PM
College huh? Need to pay off that loan huh? I am sure everyone here would do the "donate 5 dollars to use" thing and help you pay off that loan of yours. Or at least give you booze/drug money!

If not we will use it for free as well. It's a great app and I look forward to more of your work.

Carnage
11-10-2008, 03:24 PM
Just tidying up the code, I need to learn how to make it so it reads the config better.

At the moment it has about 5 text files;

Dirs.txt - stores directory info
Accounts.txt - Stores account names
charecters.txt - stores charecter names
settings - stores realm, and the amount
macronames - stores macronames
macroIDnumber - stores that number that is in the macros-cache, i dont know what purpose it serves but ive made it so its unique (kindof)

What id love to be able to do is learn how to read from the text file too, so i can read the macros already setup so it adds it to the macro list. E.G

MACRO 16777223 "Follow Wonxa" Ability_Creature_Cursed_01
/target Wonxa
/jamba setmaster Wonxa
/follow
/promote
END

Bit in bold is what id like to be able to read, also there has to be a easier way to get all of the macro icons names, they are in the wowhead.com code but it would take me ages to save them all :(


College huh? Need to pay off that loan huh? I am sure everyone here would do the "donate 5 dollars to use" thing and help you pay off that loan of yours. I dont have a student loan at the moment, im 17 - I acctually get paid £30 a week for going to college, as this is a learning experience and not for income i wouldnt charge for it, maybe id add a donate at sometime in the future.

Carnage
11-10-2008, 05:36 PM
Released, Please if you come across any bugs - report them to me here and i will fix them asap.

Fizzler
11-11-2008, 01:54 AM
I am liking this idea very much. I will have to check it out.

Noids99
11-11-2008, 03:31 AM
I have been looking at this and plugging my FTL setup into it and something occurred to me. At the risk of making multiboxing even easier than it already is, an application like this would be able to setup a standard FTL macro/keybind setup for anybody, only requiring the toon names etc. to be applied. Obviously there would be some variation between different class combos but the basics of the system would be the same across the board. Nice work Carnage.

Carnage
11-11-2008, 04:47 AM
I was thinking about something along those lines, but I havent got a clue how FTL setups work - I use target of target and dont see any reasons to switch to FTL.
I intend to use focus for hex, if its still there - i havent been keeping track ;)

What i was considering was, user selects classes, enters names and details - program makes macros and displays them for the user to choose keybinds - but im not sure, its just me thinking atm :)

Svpernova09
11-11-2008, 11:48 AM
I tinkered around with it and I like it. Here are a few thoughts I'd like to see:

Ability to read macros that already exist and to edit them.
More Icons (already in the to do)
Automatically clear the macro name and macro boxes when successfully adding a macro and add them to the list of existing macros.
Be able to specify which macros are character specific and which are set to account wide


Great start so far :_D

Carnage
11-11-2008, 12:17 PM
Be able to specify which macros are character specific and which are set to account wideAt the moment, any macros or keybinds you create are charecter specific. Im guessing the only uses for account wide macros / keybinds would be for like the accept all macro? What other uses is there?

I will work on it, and some of the others you suggested - for now i need to work out a way so that i can exclude certain files from being updated.

Svpernova09
11-11-2008, 12:30 PM
Be able to specify which macros are character specific and which are set to account wideAt the moment, any macros or keybinds you create are charecter specific. Im guessing the only uses for account wide macros / keybinds would be for like the accept all macro? What other uses is there?

I will work on it, and some of the others you suggested - for now i need to work out a way so that i can exclude certain files from being updated.I use the distinction between personal and account wide macros for when I'm soloing, I use the party1 to target and assist off of. When I'm in a raid or pvping, I use the main toon's name for following and assisting. To keep these separate (since I use the same icons for follow and assist so I can easily spot them at a glace) I have the party1 account wide and the toon's name in the toon specific, since Aahh and Trois will never be grouped with Snapin, or any of my other "main" toon from other teams.

Carnage
11-11-2008, 12:37 PM
Ah i see, Ill be working on it soon - although progress will slow when WoTLK hits, as ill be using my spare time to enjoy the new content ;D

Svpernova09
11-11-2008, 12:48 PM
Ah i see, Ill be working on it soon - although progress will slow when WoTLK hits, as ill be using my spare time to enjoy the new content ;DNo worries, I'll be doing the same :_D

Carnage
11-11-2008, 02:57 PM
Update:

Ive added a feature so that you can save your settings into a config file, this means that its much easier and less tedious to use multiple setups at once. It also means that after an update you can just open your settings instead of having to enter them all again!

Its straight forward to use, just like anyother save / open features. Enter the details and save it, then to open those details open it. The open / save features can be accessed from the menu bar, File > Open / Save, this is only avaliable on the amount and directory settings windows.


After learning how to read from a file more effectivily, ive managed to get the majority of settings to store in a single file and basically have just finished recoding the program for it to work around this new way. Best way for me to learn is doing it like this ;)

I have also just relised that everytime i update its also overwriting the settings that need to be saved, macronames, macro ID number ect.. - Im sure this is what is causing multiple macros, Im working on a solution.

Carnage
11-12-2008, 06:30 PM
Added:

Every shaman icon (i think), it would take me forever to test each of them ingame, so if anyone finds one that doesnt work report it here, thanks.
Accept all macro

The project will be put on hold as it is the release of WoTLK tomorrow (durhh) and ill be enjoying that too much to be programming. However, I will still fix bugs - im not aware of any at the moment.
I just need to test a few things to see if i fixed some bugs ;)

//Carnage

Fizzler
11-16-2008, 12:56 AM
Thanks for the updates. I am sure many folks will be bured in WoTLK.

Xid
11-16-2008, 06:03 AM
Development is on hold, except for bug fixing. Release: http://multiboxtools.dyndns.info/






Carnage, I would really like to try out your program (just started setting up my very first 2-box team) but I am having problems reaching your site.

I follow your link but I get the "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage" error in IE and the "Network Timeout - The server at multiboxtools.dyndns.info is taking too long to respond." error in Firefox.



It's 1am, so it's possible your Hosting provide has the server down for some reason. Anyway, just wanted to lt you know.


OK, i'm an idiot that didn't read the first few lines of your original post :huh: . I will try again later when your server is up.


Thank you,

Xid

Carnage
11-16-2008, 12:16 PM
Its back up, ive got the flu so i must not have relised i turned it off