PDA

View Full Version : Macros Calling Macros



Schwarz
10-28-2008, 02:34 PM
What I want to do is come up with a cast sequence that will dps a target and heal another target. I know you can't switch targets with one marco but could you setup 2 macros

dpsMac "/tar focus /cast lightning bolt"

healMac "/tar Tank /cast healing wave"

Alltogether mac "castsequence dpsMac,dpsMac,healMac"

Would that work?

Oatboat
10-28-2008, 03:25 PM
tons of macros on the wiki.. please check there.

Golle
10-28-2008, 03:32 PM
I don't think it's possible to execute, with a macro, execute another macro. It would be considered botting and therefore I think Blizzard removed that function.

but something liek this maybe(consider this pseudo-code);
/cast [nomodifier, target=focustarget, harm] Bolt; [modifier: Shift, target=tank, help] Heal

I don't think it's 100% since I haven't used [modifier] myself, but it should cast Bolt unless you are holding shift while pressingthe macro.

Schwarz
10-28-2008, 03:42 PM
The hopes was to put this dps/heal macro on a clone but I figure if I use my main I might be able to get away with /castrandom.

spamMac: /castrandom lightning bolt,greater healing wave

if I understand castrandom correct it will only goto the valid options. So If I have a harm selected it should shoot it with a lightning bolt. If i select my tank then it should cast a greater healing wave.

Jheusse
10-28-2008, 03:43 PM
There's a way to do it though it's a little crude, I think it's something along the lines of ClickButton, you can make a macro click a specific button at a specific location on a specific taskbar. If that button happens to house another macro I would think you could chain macros this way.

Check out Zorba's thread here ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/index.php?page=Thread&postID=129743&highlight=#post129743') , he did some stuff with macros nesting through buttons that way I think.

And you can do all kinds of crazy things with Macaroon these days, I have a lot of learning to do still.

elsegundo
10-28-2008, 04:18 PM
i believe...

/click actionbutton#

where # is the number for the action button you want to press. i believe this is a left click, unless otherwise noted.
if you can get a script to press several macros keyed to different action buttons on your action bar, then that's one way to do it.
i've seen something like this mentioned somewhere last year and do not know the exact source, or know how to configure it properly.

good luck.

phara
10-28-2008, 04:23 PM
spamMac: /castrandom lightning bolt,greater healing wave

if I understand castrandom correct it will only goto the valid options. So If I have a harm selected it should shoot it with a lightning bolt. If i select my tank then it should cast a greater healing wave.Some suggested this on another thread, but it doesn't work that way. Castrandom CAN pick a spell that is on cooldown even if another spell is available. I tested it last night with holy shield, AS, and judgement (long cooldowns, easier to test). I had as many as 4 clicks in a row where one of the spells was available but the macro picked one on cooldown and I got the "spell not ready" error. /castrandom can still be effective, but you have to mash the hell out of the button.

It sounds like you want to do something like:


/castsequence [target=focus]dps spell, [target=tankname] heal spell

But I don't think that works (not home to try it). If I recall, modifiers have to be at the start of the sequence only (therefor you could only have a single target).


There's a way to do it though it's a little crude, I think it's something along the lines of ClickButton, you can make a macro click a specific button at a specific location on a specific taskbar. If that button happens to house another macro I would think you could chain macros this way. Yes, you can chain macros together by using /click and putting different macros on the buttons ... but you can't put the /click in a /castsequence, and you can't cast multiple spells by chained /clicks (it would work the same as putting multiple /cast for GCD spells in one macro, the first one met would be used and rest ignored).

However, I think the following would work for what you want, if you can use multiple /click in a single macro (again, not home to try it). It might also fail if the first sequence is hit and the comma in the second one gets ignored, you'll just have to experiment.

Macro A:


/click Button1
/click Button2

Macro on button 1:


/castsequence [target=focus] dps spell,

Macro on button 2:


/castsequence [target=tankname] ,heal spell

Note the comma in each sequence. If both /click will fire in the same macro, it *might* work since the empty spell (comma) doesn't trigger the GCD.

How to get the name of the button to /click:

1. Position your mouse over the button you want to click from a macro.

2. Paste the following in your chat box:


/script Message( GetMouseFocus():GetName() );

3. Use the name that appears in the popup window after your click statement:


/click FrameNameFromStep2

robtest
10-28-2008, 04:32 PM
I had much the same thoughts for my second shammy to support the lead melee shammy in my two box setup. I wanted her to do a little damage to the target, but to throw an occassional heal spell on the melee/tank.

Now the above mentioned "modifier" solution might work, but you still have to hit that modifier. The other suggestion to use [harm] and [help] modifiers means that you have to change your target constantly. I also found in testing that putting both these in one statement ended up with me casting the harm spell until the enemy died, and then casting the heal spell...

I was really looking for a spam solution. What I came up with was to use two /castrandom spells: 1) attack and 2)heal_tank. By putting multiple commas(,,,) at the end of the /castrandom statement, you are basically telling it to have a couple options of "doing nothing", which lets the first /castrandom attack statement do nothing, and allow the second /castrandom heal_tank statement execute because the first one didn't reset the global cooldown giving you a "spell not ready". Keep in mind that you are using the RNG, so it might actually have instances of "doing nothing" for both statements, but I just look at that as a mana saver! LOL

Trying to do a /castrandom [harm] spell1, spell2, spell3, [help] lesser healing wave ??? ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=15046')

phara
10-28-2008, 07:09 PM
Actually something much more simple appears to work ... I just tested this:


/castsequence [nomod] reset=target Lightning Bolt,Lightning Bolt,
/castsequence [nomod,target=phara] reset=target ,,Healing Wave

And the net effect was my shaman would cast 2x LB on his target, then cast 1x healing wave on me, and repeat.

Ughmahedhurtz
10-28-2008, 07:13 PM
Actually something much more simple appears to work ... I just tested this:


/castsequence [nomod] reset=target Lightning Bolt,Lightning Bolt,
/castsequence [nomod,target=phara] reset=target ,,Healing Wave

And the net effect was my shaman would cast 2x LB on his target, then cast 1x healing wave on me, and repeat.Interesting. I didn't really think this would work. Hafta try this on one of my groups tonight. :D

robtest
10-28-2008, 07:23 PM
Actually something much more simple appears to work ... I just tested this:


/castsequence [nomod] reset=target Lightning Bolt,Lightning Bolt,
/castsequence [nomod,target=phara] reset=target ,,Healing Wave

And the net effect was my shaman would cast 2x LB on his target, then cast 1x healing wave on me, and repeat.

Extra commas FTW !!! Basically the comma on the end of the first /castsequence lets it "do nothing" on the third sequence. The first two commas in the second /castsequence let's it "do nothing" the first 2 times and then fire on the third time thru. This methodology keeps the two commands from stepping on each other and giving you a "spell not ready" error message.

Very nice!!! :thumbsup:

phara
10-28-2008, 07:28 PM
Actually something much more simple appears to work ... I just tested this:


/castsequence [nomod] reset=target Lightning Bolt,Lightning Bolt,
/castsequence [nomod,target=phara] reset=target ,,Healing Wave

And the net effect was my shaman would cast 2x LB on his target, then cast 1x healing wave on me, and repeat.

Extra commas FTW !!! Basically the comma on the end of the first /castsequence lets it "do nothing" on the third sequence. The first two commas in the second /castsequence let's it "do nothing" the first 2 times and then fire on the third time thru. This methodology keeps the two commands from stepping on each other and giving you a "spell not ready" error message.

Very nice!!! :thumbsup:Hmm actually it's doing lb,heal,lb,heal ... thought I was getting the 2x lb. It worked great for hungarfen, but for trash it's too much healing. My only thought at this point is whilst I spam the button while LB is casting it's causing the macro to drop through to the second sequence, then it's consuming the commas and waiting for GCD to cast heal. I'll keep at it and see if I can get it to do the 2x (or more) LB between the heals.

phara
10-28-2008, 08:43 PM
My only thought at this point is whilst I spam the button while LB is casting it's causing the macro to drop through to the second sequence, then it's consuming the commas and waiting for GCD to cast healThis :( "another action is in progress" causes it to drop through to the next line. So this approach will work if you just want to do dps,heal,dps.heal ... but you can't get any more complex than that. It's working ok for me on bosses now (coilfang and just starting auch instances), but it would be nice to have 2 dps spells in there.

robtest
10-28-2008, 08:46 PM
I played with it a bit. If you spam it fast, it never does a heal. ;(

Here is my current one:

/assist focus
/castrandom [target=focus] lesser healing wave,,
/castrandom [harm] lightning bolt(rank 1), earth shock, lightning bolt, chain lightning,,,,
/startattack

You can play with the commas on the end, or swap the order of harm/heal to fine tune it to your liking...



to go with my melee:

/targetenemy [noexists, harm]
/cast stormstrike
/startattack
/castrandom [exists,harm] lightning bolt, frost shock, chain lightning,,,

Ughmahedhurtz
10-28-2008, 08:58 PM
Yeah, you won't be able to spam it unless you "pad" the empty spots. ;) I was thinking about that myself. :P

Schwarz
10-29-2008, 12:19 AM
Thank you so much for this I think this is going to make things alot easier once I eventually get into 10 mans with 2 other buddies of mine.

using something like



/castsequence [nomod] reset=target Lightning Bolt,Lightning Bolt,
/castsequence [nomod,target=phara] reset=target ,,Healing Wave



How does this actually execute? You spam it seems to go back to 1 lightning bolt 1 heal. Does every press of the button advance both cast sequence at the same time (not actually b/c the first sequence is casting something and the 2nd isn't).

Also what is the reset=target part doing?

Correct me If I am wrong but you could spam this if you got the commas correct due to how many times you spam the button.

robtest
10-29-2008, 02:38 AM
Thank you so much for this I think this is going to make things alot easier once I eventually get into 10 mans with 2 other buddies of mine.

using something like



/castsequence [nomod] reset=target Lightning Bolt,Lightning Bolt,
/castsequence [nomod,target=phara] reset=target ,,Healing Wave



How does this actually execute? You spam it seems to go back to 1 lightning bolt 1 heal. Does every press of the button advance both cast sequence at the same time (not actually b/c the first sequence is casting something and the 2nd isn't).

Also what is the reset=target part doing?

Correct me If I am wrong but you could spam this if you got the commas correct due to how many times you spam the button.




My understanding is that if you actually take your time and let the spells fully cast... the first button push should give you a lightning bolt, then the Global Cooldown(GC) won't be up, so the second sequence won't fire, then on the second go round, you get another lightning bolt, and again "GC" isn't up so the second one doesn't fire. The third time thru, the first sequence actually executes the "do nothing" (that is the comma with nothing after it), so the "GC" is still valid allowing the second cast sequence to fire the Healing Wave.

My problem is that I am using KeyClone and I am spamming it rather hard to get my melee shammy in front to do his thing, so I don't get smooth transitions using this methodology...

The reset=target basically resets the macro back to start when you change targets (ie. kill the target and go on to the next one).

phara
10-29-2008, 10:06 AM
My understanding is that if you actually take your time and let the spells fully cast... the first button push should give you a lightning bolt, then the Global Cooldown(GC) won't be up, so the second sequence won't fire, then on the second go round, you get another lightning bolt, and again "GC" isn't up so the second one doesn't fire. The third time thru, the first sequence actually executes the "do nothing" (that is the comma with nothing after it), so the "GC" is still valid allowing the second cast sequence to fire the Healing Wave. This is how it does work ... if you only press the button after the current spell is finished casting it will do the 2x lb, 1x heal. But that of course doesn't work for most of us because we spam :)

How does this actually execute? You spam it seems to go back to 1 lightning bolt 1 heal. Does every press of the button advance both cast sequence at the same time (not actually b/c the first sequence is casting something and the 2nd isn't). It's really just coincidental that it works at all to do 1lb, 1 heal. The first castsequence stops executing if the spell cannot be cast without advancing the sequence, then the macro drops to the next line, where it consumes the commas because they don't use a GCD, leaving the first sequence with 1 more lb to cast still and the second sequence with a heal ready to cast. Spamming it fast enough makes it drop through to the heal just due to timing.

olipcs
10-29-2008, 10:20 AM
Btw. I stumbled across an addon called Macro Sequencer ('http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info7911-MacroSequence.html') , which should also easily do this!
Has anybody tried the addon, or know somethings about it?

Fef
10-29-2008, 11:20 AM
I downloaded and tried this when I was looking for a way around the 255 characters limits in WoW macro. Honestly, I gave up quite quickly. I really didn't find it easy (granted I'm not good at macros and all these things).

I use /click now, and I'm very happy with it.