View Full Version : Macro help -- Power Word: Shield - need to check for 'weakened soul'
mojofizznut
09-24-2008, 08:57 PM
I have one macro, and I want to cast Power Word: Shield if the slave doesn't have 'weakened soul' (means I too recently cast on it).
If he does have weakened soul, I want to cast renew on him - (yes I did a search but didn't see this particular macro help)
The failure is too fast on this and it skips the renew:
/cast [target=myslave] Power Word: Shield
/cast [target=myslave] Renew
Thanks for help
Tasty
09-24-2008, 09:21 PM
I'm like 120% sure you can't cast spells based on what buffs/debuffs someone has.
edit: 120% because a long time ago I was looking for a macro to cast pom pyro when mages have clearcasting :P
mojofizznut
09-24-2008, 09:26 PM
well, how about just have it skip on failure then and cast the renew?
Tasty
09-24-2008, 09:44 PM
Tried a castsequence?
Jamien
09-24-2008, 09:57 PM
In a patch a while ago they took out the ability to macro "ifhasbuff" or some such like that, as people were making addons use that for automation (Decursive used to be mash one button, win at internet).
You won't be able to use castsequence to bypass the weakened soul debuff, as it will stop on trying to cast bubble, and will not let you use renew until it's able to cast bubble.
Your best bet is to use a modifier and just watch for the debuff on party frames.
/cast [nomod] Power Word: Shield; [mod:alt] Renew
You could always use /castrandom as well. Granted at times youll end up casting renew instead of shield, but chances are youll be mashing that button anyway and youll put both on.
Maxion
09-24-2008, 10:33 PM
This should work, i think.
Depending on how you have your macros set up, you might need one for each target character.
/castsequence [target=whatever you use] reset=15 Powerword: Shield, Renew, Renew, Renew
etc... or however many times you might want to cast renew if you cant cast the shield yet.
And if you have the talent that reduces the weakened debuff's timer you'll have to set whatever time it lasts as the reset time.
If you have one of this macro for each of your party members, or however you have it set up, it should be able to do what you asked for.
Jamien
09-24-2008, 11:43 PM
That one would technically work Maxion, but as you said if you want to do it for a separate character you need to make a macro for each person, which would end up being a lot of macro space wasted for something like that.
mojofizznut
09-25-2008, 07:18 PM
awesome, the /castsequence did it. Not perfect, as I switch macros in between the casts, but just hit again to move to renew.
elsegundo
09-25-2008, 07:55 PM
i would suggest this:
/castsequence reset=15/target [mod]renew, power word: shield, renew, renew, renew, renew, renew, renew, renew
(you seriously dont need that many renews, since renew doesnt stack on a single target)
this will reset the macro after 15 seconds or when you switch targets.
this SHOULD let you cast renew when you press any mod button with it (shift, alt or ctrl), just in case you want to switch targets and not cast pw:s but just cast renew only on the new target.
see if this works for you. cant really test it out now since im at work.
Jamien
09-25-2008, 10:14 PM
By resetting the castsequence on target it kind of negates the whole "renew if weakened soul".
Plus you haven't set a modifier ...
and that many renews is overkill.
AND!
This should work, i think.
Depending on how you have your macros set up, you might need one for each target character.
/castsequence [target=whatever you use] reset=15 Powerword: Shield, Renew, Renew, Renew Maxion already posted it :)
elsegundo
09-26-2008, 12:27 PM
By resetting the castsequence on target it kind of negates the whole "renew if weakened soul".
Plus you haven't set a modifier ...
and that many renews is overkill.
AND!
This should work, i think.
Depending on how you have your macros set up, you might need one for each target character.
/castsequence [target=whatever you use] reset=15 Powerword: Shield, Renew, Renew, Renew Maxion already posted it :)ahh.. but hasty replies are bad, in general.
you cannot renew if weakened soul. there is no "check" for weakened soul.
modifiers have been set already. check the description. again, hasty replies are bad.
and yes, i know, that many renews is overkill, but again, hasty replies are bad.
good day.
mojofizznut
09-26-2008, 12:53 PM
I was trying to stay brief, but I sense there is interest in this :D
I am switching targets in between. So here is fight sequence:
1) Priest (main) sends in lock pets - (1 void, 4 succ) (ok ok, sometimes I lead with immolate but lets just move on)
2) First macro key 1: Priest throws down "pain" on target, targetless slaves throw 'curse of agony'
3) Second macro key 2: Priest throws "Shadow Word: Shield" on void, slaves throw 'corruption'
4) switch target (if mobs), send void over to get aggro, succ's follow
5) rinse and repeat from step 2 -- only this time at step 3, 'weakened soul' is still active on void. Using simple /castsequence works if I just hit the macro twice, renew lands on voidwalker
I love elegance and purity in coding, but this kludge works for me. If anyone can think how to save that 2nd bump on step 5 when switching between targets (and other macros run in between), well, that would be great but I'm good with this. Doesn't sound like a good way to work around this.
Thanks all for the help as always. Cheers.
elsegundo
09-26-2008, 01:08 PM
i already fixed step 5 for you in my macro.
pressing alt, ctrl, or shift with that macro will skip Shield and will go straight to a Renew.
Additionally, your warlocks will not cast Corruption when you cast the alt-renew. this is good since you might not want to refresh your Corruptions to save mana. but then again, you are working with several characters, and four corruptions on one mob will probably kill it before you have a chance to refresh the Corruption.
If your priest is shadow, you'll most likely start using vampirice embrace to recover health for all. this is the beauty of having a shadow priest. and, if you spec your locks affliction, having Siphon Life and Drain Life only adds to the ridiculous non-stop grinding/questing, never needing to drink or eat.
if i had your setup, i wouldnt even use a cast sequence, as i believe it is too limiting to my play. i only use modifiers and conditionals in my macros. i'll write out the macro for you if you want, even though the previously stated castsequence macro will work fine.
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.