Log in

View Full Version : Effective Multitarget Healing



Anemo
09-10-2008, 02:11 PM
One of the major factors putting me off boxing 5 client’s was the inability to heal different party members without masses of keybinds/macros.

My current setup is a combination of hotkeynet ('http://www.hotkeynet.com') and the healbot addon ('http://wow.curse.com/downloads/details/3802/') . The way it is configured is both my Main (Paladin) and my healer (Priest) have the healbot party list positioned in the exact same spot on both screens. Hotkeynet is set to send shift + left mouse clicks only to the healer’s window allowing me to shift click any target on my Paladin’s yet having the Priest do the healing.

I have also configured it for normal mouse clicks for backup Paladin healing and ctrl/shift/alt modifiers with left and right mouse button. It is also very handy for using purify/cleanse/dispel/shield etc

Here is an example of my main heal script in hotkeynet. Keep in mind that this is using multiple PC's rather than two instances of WoW running on the one.

<Hotkey LShift LButton>
<SendPC 192.168.1.1>
<SendWin "World of Warcraft">
<ClickMouse LButton>

With the alt modifier (I'm sure there is an easier way but this works)

<Hotkey LAlt LButton>
<SendPC 192.168.1.1>
<SendWin "World of Warcraft">
<keydown LAlt>
<ClickMouse LButton>
<keyup LAlt>


If you are running multiple clients on the same PC you will need something along the lines of this:

<Hotkey LShift LButton>
<SendPC Local>
<sendwinm wow2>
<ClickMouse LButton>

There are a few settings you may want to change in the healbot addon to make this work correctly. The main issue with the default is that your party member lists will be in a different order on each PC. To get around this I set 'Healing Bars' under the Healing tab to 'Raid' and set sorting of extra bars to by name. You may also want to play around with the size and spacing of the bars to allow more margin for error.

Within Hotkeynet I also had to set ClickMouse delays to 100 rather than the default 15 to get consistant click sending most likely due to my slower second PC. This can be found under Options > Settings and requires you to edit both fields.

Using this method I have managed to free up loads of keys and made tanking and healing a random group fairly viable.

Hopefully someone else finds this of some use. I'll be on the forums frequently anyone has any questions thanks to Error 202 preventing me from starting 5 boxing at the moment :cursing:

olipcs
09-11-2008, 08:16 AM
Hi, sounds very interresting!
I tested hotkeynet for the aoe-position-based-spells, which didn't work out for me so well, because i wasn't using the same camera views on all my toons.
But for clicking 'fixed' gui elemets (like the healbot-gui) this seems to be a very nice solution.
Will try it out, when i'm @ home..

olipcs
09-11-2008, 04:45 PM
tryed it out.
After a littlebit tweaking of my resolution it works wonderful :) Thanks!

alfa
09-12-2008, 03:32 AM
seems very nice :) thanks

is it possible to use this with keyclone ?

Ajuga
09-12-2008, 05:14 AM
seems very nice :) thanks

is it possible to use this with keyclone ?

Yup

SilverSlice
09-12-2008, 06:02 AM
i have to test this out.

but if one forward mouseclicks and movements with the mouse to each window.
does this not causes issues with /follow and other more commenly factors with multiboxing?
or did i completely missunderstand the post above.

btw multibox healere so far i thougth that would be the most diffcult thing to do
if this works that means that since healers are the most difficult ting to get for any raid groups,

could be more attractive to be a shammyhealer(S) for raiding then hehe

Silver

Anemo
09-12-2008, 06:45 AM
It only sends a mouse click (no drag) if you are holding down shift at the time and doesn't break follow etc

One thing I should have mentioned is it appears to only be viable if all your windows are the same ratio. For example I use 1920x1200 on my main and 960x600 on 4 other windows and it works fine but if your other windows are 4:3 the clicking will be off. You will also want to make sure all use the same UI scale.

Can be pretty handy for buffing if you have a mixed group too. Setup healbot on all PC's and have something like alt + right mouse set to each classes buff. You just go down the list alt + right clicking and each character has their healbot set with alt + right click to a different buff.

My example:
Paladin 1 has healbot alt + right mouse set to Blessing of Wisdom
Paladin 2 has healbot alt + right mouse set to Blessing of Might


An alternative to healbot could be to use Grid and Clique.

The ideal setup would be Clique and the standard party interface but as far as I can tell the party order is hard-coded which would give a different order on each window.

Does anyone have other idea's on getting around this? I really need to play around with ag_unitframes. I think it may be possible to setup a group using that which is in the same order on all PC's and could replace the normal party list for me.

Main character alt + right clicks party member #1 on healbot and both Paladin 1 and 2 will buff with the appropriate blessing.

alfa
09-12-2008, 08:17 AM
seems very nice :) thanks

is it possible to use this with keyclone ?

Yup

great thx a lot :D

ZorbaTheGeek
09-12-2008, 08:36 AM
Get your party order the same on all windows by using Pitbull unit frames and enabling the "sort alphabetically" and "show self in party" options. Every toon will then see the exact same party layout, obviously clique works fine with pitbull.

Golle
09-12-2008, 09:01 AM
I 5box and im using the keypads to heal my party members.(found this in another thread)

Simply download an addon called Bindpad, it's an addon where you make macros and you bind the macro's directly to a key on ur keyboard.
I set it up like 7,8, 9 heal party1. 4,5, 6 heal party2. 1,2,3 heal party3. 0, Del, Enter heal party4.

It's not perfect but it's working decently.

Anemo
09-12-2008, 09:04 AM
Get your party order the same on all windows by using Pitbull unit frames and enabling the "sort alphabetically" and "show self in party" options. Every toon will then see the exact same party layout, obviously clique works fine with pitbull.Thank you so much. I have no idea how I missed those options when I was using pitbul previously.

I have set that up and clique and its exactly what I was after, I no longer need healbot which was taking up screen space!