Log in

View Full Version : Help needed: Rogue combopoint announcement



kamuji
09-09-2008, 07:23 AM
Since a while back I've been dualboxing two rogue's. Recently I started to take on another rogue.
While levelling from 1-60 I never had any problems with it.
But I never really know the exact amount of combo points off my slave's.
Unless I would look over to the screen where their windows are.

Now I was thinking about creating a mod for it, though i have no previous experience with it.
Since my first attempt failed pretty hard i was wondering if anyone here now how I can announce
a certain message if i have 5 combopoints automaticaly.

The new and"improved" but still not working code is now:

cca_version = "0.1";

-- When the AddOn loads...
function CombopointAnnouncer_OnLoad(self)
-- Register the game events neccesary for our functionality
self:RegisterEvent("ADDON_LOADED");

end

function CombopointAnnouncer_OnEvent(self, event, ...)
if ( event == "ADDON_LOADED" ) then
local addon = select(1, ...);
if ( addon == "CombopointAnnouncer" ) then
DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME:AddMessage("CombopointAnnouncer " .. cca_version .. " loaded!");
end
return;
end

if ( GetComboPoints() == 5 ) then
SendChatMessage("Ossu has 5 combopoints, use a Finishing Move!", "RAID_WARNING");
end

end
Any help in the mather is greatly appreciated.

lolzoria
09-10-2008, 09:51 AM
hello there, maby you could youse an simple script?


i have not tryed it my selfe but, i belive the simple script command
GetComboPoints() migth do the trick, found it on wowwiki.


if ( GetComboPoints() == 5 ) then

print "You have 5 Combopoints, use a Finishing Move!";

end



Source http://www.wowwiki.com/API_GetComboPoints

kamuji
09-10-2008, 10:09 AM
That was one of the first things I try'd aswell, though it doesnt work.
And "print" would not help me since I want to send it to my main.

Though for a temporary fix im currently using a script with a macro:

/cast [stealth] pick pocket
/cast [stealth] cheapshot; [nostealth, combat] hemorrhage; [nostealth, nocombat] stealth
/script if ( GetComboPoints() == 5 ) then SendChatMessage("Player has 5 CP", "WHISPER", "ORCISH", "Playername"); end

Not really what I was looking for but for now it should do the trick.