View Full Version : help with "/assist party1"
phetish
09-08-2008, 03:35 PM
I've designed my setup so that my Keyclone maximizer buttons are also tied to a macro that changes the group leader to the newly maximized screen. for example, my warrior dies, and I press F6 to switch the view to my warlock and make the warlock the new group leader. since all of my macros have /assist party1 as the first line, when a leader change happens, the slaves all target the new group leader's target.
ok - my problem is that the new group leader still links party1 in it's macros to the old (and dead) group leader. As I'm spamming the macros, it's repeatedly swapping from my old leaders target (which is probably dead by now) to the new target or perhaps the closest target depending on the situation.
I want to keep my macros as simple as possible, but do I have to put [nodead] or some other conditional in there?
is there a "best practice" for dealing with /assist? I'm trying to keep from using focus unless necessary as I understand that at the higher levels, focus should be for CC and heals instead.
Thanks in advance!
mrtwentyfourth
09-08-2008, 05:07 PM
Me my self use the /assist focus approach, and when i change to a new main all the slaves change the focus to that main, and my main uses a /clear target /clear focus macro to get my new main in place and cleared his focus and ready to attack. Works good for leveling, not how sure the /clear target will work for pvp, so i might remove that when i hit 70.
phetish
09-09-2008, 12:02 AM
ok - I think i "brute forced" my way through this...
let's say my current toon dies, I hit F7 to switch to a different toon and here's what happens:
1. Maximizer switches views
2. Everyone runs this macro except for the new "main"
/promote Toon2
/focus Toon2
/assist party1
3. The new "main" runs this macro: (also bound to F7)
/clearfocus
This allows me to use focus for my healer, since the focus is updated every time I switch to a new "main" toon.
Since the focus is cleared on the new "main", I can use [target=focus, noexists] as a test for the "main" status in macros, and have separate actions based on main vs slave status - freeing me to use "/assist party1" for targeting as a slave.
I've only VERY roughly tested this... but it seems to work for now.
I'll let you know how testing works out as I use these as I level.
As a bonus, this also cleared a problem I had with the MultiboxerV2 addon where the auto follow was set to "party1" and had the same issue of "remembering" the old party1 after being promoted to leader - I changed option on the auto-follow after combat leader to "focus". Since the new leader has no focus, it doesn't follow anyone :)
Frosty
09-09-2008, 08:12 AM
I hightly recomend using the Focusless, Leaderless setup ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=11459') if you are using Keyclone.
You don't have to worry about who is party1 with this setup. You just click the screen you want to be the leader, and start fighting as normal.
All slaves will coordinate with whatever screen you are on. I suggest reading from the beginning, as there is a lot of good info in there. :D
@ Topic starter:
Don't use party1, because in battlegrounds/raids you might not be the leader.
I hightly recomend using the Focusless, Leaderless setup ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=11459') if you are using Keyclone.
You don't have to worry about who is party1 with this setup. You just click the screen you want to be the leader, and start fighting as normal.
All slaves will coordinate with whatever screen you are on. I suggest reading from the beginning, as there is a lot of good info in there. :D
I highly recommend to not use that setup because:
- You get less macro space for the actual casting. To overcome this you you can install an addon that makes macro space unlimited but which might not work anymore once the macros become server-side in WOTLK.
- You can't use modifiers for combining spells underneath one button because these modifiers are used already (thus you get less buttons available that you can use for other class types in your group). For example: You can't make a macro that has Lightning Bolt underneath a button that fires a Chain Lightning if you press shift together with that button.
- Your group is not flexible anymore, you can't just put any character in your team and have a go with that same team, because the names of your party members are hardcoded in your macros.
- For casting with anything but the standard toon you have to constantly press at least 1 or 2 modifiers, which is highly annoying and makes casting slower (because you can 't move your fingers around as flexible as you should be able to). This also limits the keypresses you can reach because you have to press the modifiers constantly, thus you have less buttons available to cast with. This is especially a problem as you need a macro for each spell, as you can't use the modifiers for putting multiple spells in 1 macro.
[edit] See reaction below or here: Focusless, targetless, 'leaderless' setup. ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/index.php?page=Thread&postID=118431#post118431')
olipcs
09-09-2008, 10:23 AM
I highly recommend to not use that setup because:
- You get less macro space for the actual casting. To overcome this you you can install an addon that makes macro space unlimited but which might not work anymore once the macros become server-side in WOTLK.
- In the basic setup, true.
But there are some tricks to you need much less macro spaces, f.e. :
- use of a standard button the long "/target [mod:alt,nomod:shift....." line lies on, and simply using a /click Actionbutton... instead
- use the little bit tweaked version, which isn't targetless, but also leaderless and focusless (and in my opinion better suited for a pve-setup)
Focusless, targetless, 'leaderless' setup. ('http://www.dual-boxing.com/forums/index.php?page=Thread&postID=107654#post107654')
You can't use modifiers for combining spells underneath one button because these modifiers are used already (thus you get less buttons available that you can use for other class types in your group). - not entirely true, you can use modifiers even with the normal ftl-setup by simply defininf another keybinding/keymap for the version with the modifier.
If you again used the only leaderless/targetless setup i mentioned you can een use keybindings like you would do now
Your group is not flexible anymore, you can't just put any character in your team and have a go with that same team, because the names of your party members are hardcoded in your macros. True, but this the only thing you have to change is the assist-macro, and if you use this with the /click.. like i mentioned before its only one macro you need to change. Additionaly also in a normal focus-based approach you need to change at least one macro, if you are not using party1 and so on...
..and if you are using party1, what do you do in groups, where you are not the groupleader, or even not all in one group?
For casting with anything but the standard toon you have to constantly press at least 1 or 2 modifiers, which is highly annoying and makes casting slower (because you can 't move your fingers around as flexible as you should be able to). This also limits the keypresses you can reach because you have to press the modifiers constantly, thus you have less buttons available to cast with. This is especially a problem as you need a macro for each spell, as you can't use the modifiers for putting multiple spells in 1 macro. - here i honestly don't know what you are meaning, you are aware, that you never ever have to press the wired combinations you use in the macros, like alt+shift+2 for Lightning Bold ? -you simply press '2' and the keymaps translate it to the 'alt+shift+2' part...
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.