Log in

View Full Version : Help needed shortining nuke button with leaderless set up!



Kaynin
09-05-2008, 08:39 PM
Is there any way I can shorten this macro so it fits 255 character limit? Or perhaps another way of achieving the same effect with one keypress using the leaderless set up?


/target [mod:ctrl,mod:shift,nomod:alt,target=Canika][mod:alt,mod:shift,nomod:ctrl,target=Cahera][mod:ctrl,mod:alt,mod:shift,target=Cassara]
/use 13
/cast [target=targettarget,harm] Elemental Mastery
/cast [target=targettarget,harm] Nature's Swiftness
/cast [target=targettarget,harm] Chain Lightning
/targetlasttarget





Right now I've resorted to this one. This one only works if I am leadering Canika though, want to make it with the leaderless set up somehow...

/use 13
/cast [target=target,harm][target=targettarget,harm] Elemental Mastery
/cast [target=target,harm][target=targettarget,harm] Nature's Swiftness
/cast [target=target,harm][target=targettarget,harm] Chain Lightning

And on my other three toons:

/target Canika
/use 13
/cast [target=target,harm][target=targettarget,harm] Elemental Mastery
/cast [target=target,harm][target=targettarget,harm] Nature's Swiftness
/cast [target=target,harm][target=targettarget,harm] Chain Lightning
/targetlasttarget

Fizzler
09-05-2008, 08:45 PM
I ended up creating an assist macro to make it easier on myself. I created one macro that was used as a targettless assist. I put that macro in ActionButton12 and the first line of most of my attacks are now /click ActionButton12 which will run that macro first.

This is a cheap way to chain together long macro's and allowed me to change my assist method without having to change each spell *edit* ugh awful sentence structure


*edit* to get the name of a button frameid create this macro and bind it to a key.

/run local f = GetMouseFocus(); if f then DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME:AddMessage(f:GetName()) end

Pocalypse
09-05-2008, 09:42 PM
Try this:

/a [mod:ctrl,mod:alt,mod:shift,target=Cassara][mod:ctrl,mod:shift,target=Canika][mod:alt,mod:shift,target=Cahera]
/use 13
/cast [harm] Elemental Mastery
/cast [harm] Nature's Swiftness
/cast [harm] Chain Lightning
/targetlasttarget

Kaynin
09-06-2008, 10:23 AM
Thanks for the suggestions, I got it to work. :>

/happy woof now

Tizer
09-09-2008, 04:48 AM
could you post your solution please? I'm also in the middle of sorting my macros for this, all help appreciated:D

Kaynin
09-09-2008, 04:58 AM
My solution was installing Trinity 2.0. :P

It's a bit of a learning curve that addon, took me about 2 hours of plowing to make it do what I wanted it to do, but once you're familiar with it, it's one of the nicest mod out there if you have tons of macro's!

My actual wow macro tabs are all empty, I just put all my macro's inside trinity bars and they have a 9xx something character limit. ^^

This is my macro now for my 'alt' toons. (Every char has it if you're familiar with the leaderless set up. :3 With a slightly adjusted /target on all chars obviously.)

/target [mod:ctrl,mod:shift,nomod:alt,target=Canika][mod:alt,mod:shift,nomod:ctrl,target=Cahera][mod:ctrl,mod:alt,mod:shift,target=Cassara]
/use [target=focus,harm][target=targettarget,harm] 13
/cast [target=focus,harm][target=targettarget,harm] Elemental Mastery
/cast [target=focus,harm][target=targettarget,harm] Nature's Swiftness
/cast [target=focus,harm][target=targettarget,harm] Chain Lightning
/targetlasttarget

In case you wonder, why the focus. I just changed my entire macro set up so that my dps buttons go on my focus target first, if I have it. So, in arena, I just focus one target which will be the first kill, i target others to offset their healers while they'll never see the dps coming on my focus target. :> :>

I did this after losing 200 rating in two days, since I face the same teams over and over, they adapt with healing my first targets well and makes it increasingly difficult for me to win. Will likely put it to use tonight and hope to gain some of it back.

Tizer
09-09-2008, 06:52 AM
Ah that sounds good. I used Trinity, have been for the last 4 months so i know it well.

I dont actually like the idea of my focus being the target i always go for first, i cant get that system into my brain. What if your focus target goes behind a post, you then target a new guy on your main and you want to start dpsing him...its not going to happen as you still have your focus alive and hiding. (you forget your /clear focus macro) You would need to change your focus to the new character...which then defeats the idea of focus itself? Or does it? I suppose it still hides the fact that you have retargetted but your lead character will have to select someone to set it as a focus again giving them some clue who's next..?

Another question, when you select your focus, do you use another button on the keyboard to do so or is it bound into another macro?


I'm gonna open another question for you all to ponder over now :D

With the old system i used to use the following:

Q Lightning Bolt
E Chain Lighting
SHIFT+Q Instant Cast Crit LBs
SHIFT+E Instant Cast Crit CLs

Last night i got Q and E working as they used to using [target=targettarget] perfect!

I also got my Shock button working "3" where the lead character will always do a frost shock and the slaves will do an Earth Shock. perfect!

What i'd love to be able to do is now use SHIFT+Q & Shift+E to cast LB and CL on my Focus on all chars rather than use it for the insta nuke.

What i want to do in Arena is use my main to select the target, open up on said target with purge/shock THEN i want to suprise them, using SHIFT i want to then switch to killing my focus target.

My problem is passing the shift modifier through to all characters without it cocking up....

Any of you brain boxes have any ideas for this? I would love yo longtime!

Kaynin
09-09-2008, 07:39 AM
Ah that sounds good. I used Trinity, have been for the last 4 months so i know it well.

I dont actually like the idea of my focus being the target i always go for first, i cant get that system into my brain. What if your focus target goes behind a post, you then target a new guy on your main and you want to start dpsing him...its not going to happen as you still have your focus alive and hiding. You would need to change your focus to the new character...which then defeats the idea of focus itself? Or does it? I suppose it still hides the fact that you have retargetted but your lead character will have to select someone to set it as a focus again giving them some clue who's next..?

Another question, when you select your focus, do you use another button on the keyboard to do so or is it bound into another macro?


I'm gonna open another question for you all to ponder over now :D

With the old system i used to use the following:

Q Lightning Bolt
E Chain Lighting
SHIFT+Q Instant Cast Crit LBs
SHIFT+E Instant Cast Crit CLs

Last night i got Q and E working as they used to using [target=targettarget] perfect!

I also got my Shock button working "3" where the lead character will always do a frost shock and the slaves will do an Earth Shock. perfect!

What i'd love to be able to do is now use SHIFT+Q & Shift+E to cast LB and CL on my Focus on all chars rather than use it for the insta nuke.

What i want to do in Arena is use my main to select the target, open up on said target with purge/shock then using SHIFT i want to then switch to killing my focus target.

My problem is passing the shift modifier through to all characters without it cocking up....

Any of you brain boxes have any ideas for this? I would love yo longtime!

Like I said, all it takes is a button with "/clearfocus" on all your chars and bang, you can dps whomever you target, incase they kite or something happens that makes you have to switch. Or, just focus a new target, could work as well. ;)

To pass shift modifiers to all yoru chars, just put them in one macro.

Like

/cast [mod:shift,target=focus,harm,nodead][harm,nodead] Lightning Bolt

And put that on your Q.

And add in whatever targeting system you use. Keyclone will definatly send it properly then. You use keyclone or something else?

Tizer
09-09-2008, 07:49 AM
Im using keyclone aye, using the new system without using focus for folow/assist

i.e.

/target [mod:ctrl,mod:shift,nomod:alt,target=Tilce1]
[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,nomod:shift,target=Tilce2]
[mod:alt,mod:shift,nomod:ctrl,target=Tilce3]
[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,mod:shift,target=Tilce4]
/cast [target=targettarget] Lightning Bolt
/targetlasttarget

The above works fine for me with LB , CL & Shocks

I'm basically trying to make it as simple as possible, the extra /clearfocus button is something i'd like (ideally) to avoid, to clear the focus, i want them to die :)

In theory, i want to enter the arena, use proximo to select a target on my main, hit my "set focus" button so all toons set that as their focus. Then on my main i want to select someone else, it is this guy i want to open up on first with a shock/purge etc. then when they start healing him i want to rape my focus target to bits. :o

So from going from your example i should be able to do:

/target [mod:ctrl,mod:shift,nomod:alt,target=Tilce1]
[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,nomod:shift,target=Tilce2]
[mod:alt,mod:shift,nomod:ctrl,target=Tilce3]
[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,mod:shift,target=Tilce4]
/cast [mod:shift,target=focus,harm,nodead][harm,nodead] Lightning Bolt
/cast [nomod:shift,target=targettarget,harm,nodead][harm,nodead] Lightning Bolt
/targetlasttarget

or

/target [mod:ctrl,mod:shift,nomod:alt,target=Tilce1]
[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,nomod:shift,target=Tilce2]
[mod:alt,mod:shift,nomod:ctrl,target=Tilce3]
[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,mod:shift,target=Tilce4]
/cast [mod:shift,target=focus,harm,nodead][target=targettarget,harm,nodead] Lightning Bolt
/targetlasttarget

Also i should note, if im holding down SHIFT wont this be passed through to the macro as mod:shift being active, meaning "[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,nomod:shift,target=Tilce2]" wont actually then work since there is a mod:shift.


? :>

Kaynin
09-09-2008, 08:37 AM
So from going from your example i should be able to do:

/target [mod:ctrl,mod:shift,nomod:alt,target=Tilce1]
[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,nomod:shift,target=Tilce2]
[mod:alt,mod:shift,nomod:ctrl,target=Tilce3]
[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,mod:shift,target=Tilce4]
/cast [mod:shift,target=focus,harm,nodead][harm,nodead] Lightning Bolt
/cast [nomod:shift,target=targettarget,harm,nodead][harm,nodead] Lightning Bolt
/targetlasttarget

or

/target [mod:ctrl,mod:shift,nomod:alt,target=Tilce1]
[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,nomod:shift,target=Tilce2]
[mod:alt,mod:shift,nomod:ctrl,target=Tilce3]
[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,mod:shift,target=Tilce4]
/cast [mod:shift,target=focus,harm,nodead][target=targettarget,harm,nodead] Lightning Bolt
/targetlasttarget


/target [mod:ctrl,mod:shift,nomod:alt,target=Tilce1]
[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,nomod:shift,target=Tilce2]
[mod:alt,mod:shift,nomod:ctrl,target=Tilce3]
[mod:ctrl,mod:alt,mod:shift,target=Tilce4]
/cast [mod:shift,target=focus,harm,nodead][target=targettarget,harm,nodead] Lightning Bolt
/targetlasttarget

This is the proper one, the first one would mess it up badly. :P

I would also suggest implementing this for purge then as well, so you can purge and then nuke your focus if you believe you have a second extra. Does add a gcd, but its doubtfull they'll catch on.



/cast [mod:shift,target=focus,harm,nodead][harm,nodead] Lightning Bolt
/cast [nomod:shift,target=targettarget,harm,nodead][harm,nodead] Lightning Bolt

In this case, [harm,nodead] is useless as you will have them target your main anyhow, which isn't harmful. So, go with the second. There's a lot of useless stuff in this one. :p

Tizer
09-09-2008, 09:03 AM
nice one René, i'll have a pissfart around tonight and see what i can do :D

Kaynin
09-09-2008, 11:38 AM
Good luck. xD

If you run into problems just post 'em, I'll be busy in arena tonight though, hopefully getting some rating back. I'm hopeful, it being Tuesday and all. ^^

Tizer
09-09-2008, 02:35 PM
bleh cant get this bloody thing to work :o

i cant see why not, the logic is there 100%, i think its the fact when i press Shift + Q i dont have the hotstrings going through to the origional macro. :x

Ughmahedhurtz
09-09-2008, 03:04 PM
Suggestion: go get the BindPad addon ('http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info6385-BindPad-GUItosetkeybindingsforspellitemmacro.html') and use it for your long-ass macros. ;) Doesn't suffer from the 255 char limit.

Tizer
09-09-2008, 03:08 PM
I have trinity bars, long macros are not a problem, getting them to work is :)

I've added in the set focus on all toons ability now, and a clear focus button too.

they work fine.

its being able to pickup the shift mod for targetting the focus or not etc.

nngh

I think i need some more hotstrings etc. will carry on pissing about for the night :x

if anyone else is using this leaderless focusless setup and is using a modifier to cast to alternative targets (targettarget & targetfocus) could they post some macros? <3

Kaynin
09-09-2008, 04:32 PM
I have trinity bars, long macros are not a problem, getting them to work is :)

I've added in the set focus on all toons ability now, and a clear focus button too.

they work fine.

its being able to pickup the shift mod for targetting the focus or not etc.

nngh

I think i need some more hotstrings etc. will carry on pissing about for the night :x

if anyone else is using this leaderless focusless setup and is using a modifier to cast to alternative targets (targettarget & targetfocus) could they post some macros? <3

I am, I just have E for example mapped to the I key and shift+E mapped to the O key

So I made two keymappings for E and Shift-E.

Try that. :o

Tizer
09-10-2008, 04:23 AM
Ah! I'll try that tonight, got a bit carried away last night with another quad boxer in eots :p pew pew