PDA

View Full Version : [wow] Creating a dual boxing macro, need input.



jdraughn
10-03-2007, 05:03 PM
I used a few different addons for when I am multiboxing, I used minimilist to auto sell grey items, one to auto accept and turn in quests, one to auto follow, ect...

I just got a new motherboard and lost all my old info on my raid 5 array (yeah with raid 5, the data is real safe :evil: ) and started to look for and download my old wow addons. I was having trouble finding the ones I had before, and some of the ones I had before were a little buggy anyway so I decided to try my hand at writing my own addon.

So far I have an auto follow addon so when you leave combat you auto follow whoever you have set to be leader, and also a function to send to everyone in your group a message that says your the new leader, and everyone will automatically set that person to be their new follow leader and start following.

It's very basic but works very well so far, but I need to do some more testing.

I am looking for any ideas or anything you currently use for multiboxing. I am planning to eventually make one good dual boxing macro which incompasses anything a multiboxer would need.

jdraughn
10-04-2007, 12:50 AM
Update: I did some experimenting and found I could make it so when I pass party leadership to another person in my party, my addon will automatically make everyone follow that person and swap buttons so you don't have to worry about who is assisting who.

Instead of doing /assist in front of every single cast for the 4 following characters, now I use target=party1target and have two sets of casting bars. 1 set is for if your the group leader, and 1 set if your following. The followers get the target=party1target while the leader uses his normal casting with no assisting or anything. My addon automatically swaps the bars when party leadership changes. I need to do some more testing but right now it works great. I need to add some slash commands and a GUI, but as it is it works really good and fast.

If my bags fill up with one character I simply make someone else party leader and swap to that screen and away I go.

Once I make sure there are no obvious bugs I will post the addon for any of you who want it.

Slats
10-04-2007, 06:03 AM
WoW that sounds AWESOME, I totally want it!

=) Happy to do any testing for you.

Djarid
10-04-2007, 07:24 AM
can you provide info on those addons?

but... how did you lose a Raid5? 10 years in the business and I have only ever seen it happen through human error!

damned unlucky

jdraughn
10-04-2007, 07:43 AM
can you provide info on those addons?

but... how did you lose a Raid5? 10 years in the business and I have only ever seen it happen through human error!

damned unlucky

Well, it was the MSI motherboard I had that went out and there was no way I was going with another MSI motherboard. I bought a different motherboard which cost me 200.00 which has the features I want and it just so happens to have a different raid controller on it. I could have, and still could buy a motherboard or possibly a card with the same raid controller, but I am really hurting for money. It was mostly movies, music and tv shows that I lost so it's not too big of a deal. i am worried about the tax info and other important data I had which really should have been backed up to dvd or something. Just figured if it was on raid 5 the chances of me losing it was so slim as to not matter.

Anywho, I will work on tweaking my addon and try to release a alpha version within a day or two. Really it's not much code at all at the moment, it's a very simple addon but a REALLY usefull addon.

Can anyone recommend a good place to upload my addon? I would prefer a place to just stick my zip and let you guys test it out before I post it on one of the large wow addon websites.

jdraughn
10-04-2007, 09:08 AM
Ok, I am posting what I have so far. Let me know how it works out, any problems you run into, and any improvements that you can think of.

There are a few things you must do to use this addon.

By default the AddOn assumes actionbar 1 is used for assisting, and actionbar 2 is used for the main.
Say you were playing 5 priests, and button 1 is used to cast Shadow Word: Pain.

For all your priests which are NOT your "Main", you would want to create a macro in the first button slot on the second bar.
The macro would contain the following code:
/cast [target=party1target] shadow word: pain

Your "main" priest would not need to use a macro and would just have the Shadow Word: Pain spell in the first slot in the FIRST bar.

When your playing and you press the 1 key, all the priests that are following would target the target of party1, which is the party leader, while the party leader (your main) will just cast the spell at whatever you are targetting.

If you right click on the portrait of one of your followers and promote them to party leader, then the addon will:
1. Automatically make that person the new "main", and all the other priests, including your old party leader will automatically start following that new priest.
2. Action Bar 1 and Action Bar 2 will swap on your old "main" and your new "main". so your old main will now act like a normal follower and cast with the macro you created which contains:
/cast [target=party1target] shadow word: pain

If you would like you can create a macro which contains:
/script Leading();
which will make that person the new "main" and all others will follow that person. It's good to have in case you lose one of your followers do to lag, death, or whatever.

The addon also automatically accepts quests which is good so if you share a quest, all the other players will automatically accept it.

In the near future I am going to give the ability to specify the action bars used for following and leading and give you the ability to turn off/on quest accepting, auto following, ect... Basically the ability to turn on or off any part of the addon.







There should be 1 folder and two files total.
In your addons directory create a folder named "MultiBoxer".
In it create a file named MultiBoxer.toc, and paste the following in it:
[code:1]## Interface: 20200
## Title: MultiBoxer
## Version: .01
## Author: Floozy
## Notes: A Collection of Multiboxing utilties

MultiBoxer.lua[/code:1]

Then create a file named MultiBoxer.lua and paste the following in it:
[code:1]local PersonToAutoFollow = nil
local AssistingBarN = 1
local NotAssistingBarN = 2
local AutomaticallyFollow = true
local AutomaticallyShareQuests = true
local AutomaticallyTurnInQuests = true
local AutomaticallyAcceptQuests = true

function MultiBoxer_OnEvents()
if (event=="PLAYER_REGEN_ENABLED") then
if (AutomaticallyFollow==true) then
FollowUnit(PersonToFollow);
end
elseif (event=="CHAT_MSG_ADDON") then
if (arg1=="MultiBoxer") then
if (arg2=="ImLeader") then
name, realm = UnitName("player")
if (arg4~=name) then
Following(arg4);
end
end
end
elseif (event=="PARTY_INVITE_REQUEST") then
AcceptGroup();
StaticPopup1:Hide();
elseif (event=="PARTY_LEADER_CHANGED") then
if (UnitIsPartyLeader("player")) then
Leading()
end
elseif (event=="AUTOFOLLOW_END") then

elseif (event=="AUTOFOLLOW_BEGIN") then

elseif (event=="QUEST_DETAIL") then
AcceptQuest();
elseif (event=="QUEST_ACCEPT_CONFIRM") then
AcceptQuest();
end
end

function Leading()
YourTheLeader = true
SendAddonMessage("MultiBoxer", "ImLeader", "PARTY");
ChangeActionBarPage(NotAssistingBarN);
end

function Following(PersonYourFollowing)
PersonToAutoFollow = PersonYourFollowing
ChangeActionBarPage(AssistingBarN);
FollowUnit(PersonToAutoFollow);
end

--function ImYourNewLeader()
-- YourTheLeader = true
--SendAddonMessage("MultiBoxer", "ImLeader", "PARTY");
--end


local frame = CreateFrame("Frame");
frame:SetScript("OnEvent", MultiBoxer_OnEvents);
frame:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_REGEN_ENABLED");
frame:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_REGEN_DISABLED");
frame:RegisterEvent("CHAT_MSG_ADDON");
frame:RegisterEvent("PARTY_INVITE_REQUEST");
frame:RegisterEvent("PARTY_LEADER_CHANGED");
frame:RegisterEvent("AUTOFOLLOW_END");
frame:RegisterEvent("AUTOFOLLOW_BEGIN");
frame:RegisterEvent("QUEST_DETAIL");
frame:RegisterEvent("QUEST_ACCEPT_CONFIRM");
[/code:1]

jdraughn
10-05-2007, 12:32 PM
Well, no one has posted any feedback. Don't know if it's because I didn't just post a zip file of the files to make it easier to setup or what.

I have been adding extra features like having a list of trusted people that you automatically accept groups from, Turning auto follow on and off (when you leave combat) and more.

I had someone invite me and it auto accepted the group and next thing I know im getting spammed by someone selling a hack to edit my stats :evil:

I went to post my UI on wowinterface.com but it requires a screen shot of the UI. Well my UI has no graphical elements at the moment so I dont' think they allow it. They said it would be deleted if it had no screenshot. I guess I could upload some random screen shot.

I might possibly setup a webserver on my computer and just post a link to my ip, ie: http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/MyAddon.zip

jdraughn
10-07-2007, 01:24 PM
LoL, looks like no one is interested.

Anyway, update:
Using Auto Hotkey, I made it so that with a single press of a key of my choosing, along with swapping windows it executes the part of my addon which makes that person leader of the group and also everyone starts following him (plus swapping their casting bars so the followers automatically assist the group leader).

All my windows are running in maximized windowed mode at full resolution, which at first was nearly unplayable but I made it so when AHK swaps windows it automatically reassigns CPU affinitys and prioitys so that that the window on top, which is the group leader window gets a CPU or two dedicated to itself while the other windows are forced to use only the remaining cores (still experimenting). By default WoW only runs in the first two cpu.

I have updated my addon quite a bit, so if you do happen to be using the one I posted above, let me know and I will post the newest one.

It does have a bug which I can't figure out. Whenever a critter is killed the main guy says "I can't target that". I don't know why or what is causing that, need to figure it out..

Slats
10-07-2007, 02:56 PM
Sorry man I am interested in what your doing - I just havn't had time (or need) just yet to play with it.

These forums can sometimes be slow and there is MANY more people just reading than posting so dont think no replies mean nobody is interested.

I am currently just levelling my guys at the moment and have done 0 PvP so the need for me to switch toons fast is not currently there - but trust me when it is I am going to want to look at what your doing qiuite closely.

I would maybe put what your doing up on curse-gaming vs wowinterface OR if you want to be super awesome goto wowace.com and look into 'aceing' your WoW Mod, and updating it via that way as then people can just auto update to the latest version automatically.

wander98
10-07-2007, 05:49 PM
I agree with latency, does look very interesting. I for one am always looking for ways to make simple things easier.

Now if only I could find a way to get more time to play and test on the mod.

Hopefully this evening I will

jdraughn
10-09-2007, 12:23 AM
Update: I fixed the annoying bug of where it would say "I can't follow that" when autofollow after combat was enabled.
Added a few more features and cleaned up the code abit. I will upload the newest version to one of the above mentioned websites that host addons when I get off work in the morning.

On another note. I think I have figured out the best way of running 5 WoW's on the same computer with my current hardware setup.
Q6600 = quad core 2.4ghz
8800 GTS 320
3GB of ram.

Using the utility I mentioned above named process, what I do in AHK is once all the wow.exe's are loaded it changes the affinity of all of them so they are all able to use all 4 CPU's. Then everytime I swap windows it also changes the priorities on the fly so that the foreground WoW gets "high" priority, and all the others get "belownormal" priority.

I will look at possibly going with ace for my addon. It currently does not utilize any of the ace libraries, it's all self contained. WoW interface.com REQUIRES screen shots, which is kinda dumb if they addon does not have any GUI to it. I need to take a closer look at curse's and see about uploading there.

Djarid
10-09-2007, 05:40 AM
I am also interested...

just read the code and like what I saw ;)

will give it a try when I am able (young child and pregnant GF are restricting wow time atm ;) )

If this grows, I am up for assisting if needed I have decent enough LUA skills and experience in writing a mod (hunter addon back in the 1.4 days though)

Lost Ninja
10-09-2007, 07:15 PM
If you post the code, I can assemble it and host. I don't need a screen shot. :D

Or send me a zip, PM for email etc. But prefer text code I can put it together and zip it at this end.