View Full Version : problem: alts dismount when I press the key for follow
I can't figure out why my alts dismount when I press the follow key?
It only happens when I have an npc, or other player or the main self targeted. If I press escape to clear any target on my main, then when I press follow, they just follow like they should, any idea how to resolve this?
my mount macro :
#showtooltip
/cast [combat,nomounted][mod] Ghost Wolf
/cast [nostance,nocombat] Horn of the Dire Wolf
/dismount [mounted]
/cancelform [stance]
My follow macro :
/target Zorgom
/focus
/follow
/assist
/stopcasting
kadaan
07-30-2008, 10:39 PM
I've noticed this recent too, but also noticed it's only when the followers have something targeted. Try remove the /target line and see if it still dismounts you.
If that doesn't dismount you, try change your follow macro to:
/target Zorgom
/focus
/cleartarget
/follow [target=focus]
/assist [target=focus]
/stopcasting
it's the /assist that makes them dismount. Probably because you have the setting "attack on assist" in the options.
I had the same problem, now i've removed /assist from my follow macro, and added it in my spell/damage macros. Works fine now
Ughmahedhurtz
07-31-2008, 12:20 AM
heh, you had "attack on assist" enabled, didn't you? If you uncheck that option from within WoW, I bet they stop dismounting. :P
Šeceased
07-31-2008, 09:23 AM
looks like you have a few problems in that macro :S
first may be the attack on assist thing.
the second is this:
are you using this macro to also reset ur focus? or do you want to use it to follow your focus?
cos atm it's set to reset ur focus and then follow which could be causing all the problems
make it
/target [target=focus,help,exists]
/follow
/assist
/stopcasting
the problem arises because there is a certain amount of lag when retargeting. so the /target Main command is coming through later then the set focus command (at least this happens in my experience)
you will need a separate focus setting macro if you wish to switch mains etc but if you have your focus already set they should follow that one np now (fingers crossed)
caffiend86
07-31-2008, 02:12 PM
I'd say drop the /assist line from your macro and instead throw it in for the spells an abilities you actually want them to assist with. Alternately you could use /stopmacro [mounted] as I've done below.
/target [target=focus,help,exists]
/follow
/stopmacro [mounted]
/assist
/stopcasting
Hmm, ok, I first must admit to not being very good at this aspect of multi-boxing. So if you ask me why I am doing something, I may or may not be able to tell you since I just copy the macros off the wiki that are working for everyone else. I can't recall where I got this one, it was a while ago. I was thinking I didn't want to go through and add assist to all the macros on all four, so I would try your other listed suggestion first. With that said...
In the macro I posted, it was setting the focus to the main guy, and everyone would follow and assist him. When I use your two examples for my clones, it now gives a warning on the clone screens "you have no target" when I press that button. I had the main guy click himself thinking he needed to target himself that way to make it work because of the target part of your macro, but that didn't help either, so I manually clicked him from the clone, and then pressed it and it selected him, so how do I set the focus as my main using your two examples without having to manually select him every time from each guy? Shouldn't it mention him in the target part first?
heh, you had "attack on assist" enabled, didn't you? If you uncheck that option from within WoW, I bet they stop dismounting. :PI do have attack on assist set in the interface options, are you suggesting it doesn't need to be set there because I have assist in the macro, and by having it checked somehow that tells them to dismount ?
ok, I put /target Zorgom on the first line above the ones you gave me and that seems to have solved it. thanks !
hmm, this seemed to have messed up how my other spells work. I have assist in my dps spells also. So, now when an enemy was approaching, I had him targeted, and pressed my LB spell, and my main jumped off and started to cast LB, but the alts just sat there. I had to manually dismount them, then they just stood there, so I figured out I had to hit the button again to get them to engage. I got feared and divided and killed. So.. I put the macro back the way it was for now. At least I know all I have to do is press esc to clear the target but everything else works. Sorry, i'm a noob at this lol..
Šeceased
08-08-2008, 06:07 AM
basically you can do two things :)
either you have a separate macro to set focus for all your clones and then make all your macros /a [target=focus]
or
you can insert the name of your main and simply make it /a [target=Brain] or /f [target=Brain]
examples:
Focus method..
/target Zorgom
/focus
this one sets the focus as that character on all clones
then use
/target [target=focus,help,exists]
/follow
/assist
/stopcasting
for follow
or
/target [target=focus,help,exists]
/assist
/cast whichever spell you like
using the non focus method:
/target [target=Zorgom,exists]
/follow
/assist
/stopcasting
and
/target [target=Zorgom,exists]
/assist
/cast whichever spell you like
Simulacra
08-08-2008, 08:19 PM
I Have a similar problem, when the toons are all on flying mounts and I press space bar to jump into the air they break follow, but when on land mounts they don't. If they're unmounted they don't break either. I use targettarget and don't use assist at all. I'll check my settings to see if I have the assist checkbox checked.
Šeceased
08-12-2008, 01:10 PM
I Have a similar problem, when the toons are all on flying mounts and I press space bar to jump into the air they break follow, but when on land mounts they don't. If they're unmounted they don't break either. I use targettarget and don't use assist at all. I'll check my settings to see if I have the assist checkbox checked.
I think that's down to the way the directional keys were adapted to flight.. (not on flying mounts myself yet, so it's a guess). Basically now that pressing jump acctually means a definite directional movement. ie rise vertically, it will break follow just as though you were to press back or forward with all clones, where as before it was an uncontrollable player movement (by that I mean you pressed the button and you cannot define the hight you wish to jump etc).
xyzzy
08-13-2008, 07:52 AM
Using the default binding for the space bar has the same effect while swimming (ie breaking following), supporting Deceased's comment above. It doesn't seem to have anything to do with attack on assist settings in my experience.
Simulacra
08-15-2008, 01:30 AM
I Have a similar problem, when the toons are all on flying mounts and I press space bar to jump into the air they break follow, but when on land mounts they don't. If they're unmounted they don't break either. I use targettarget and don't use assist at all. I'll check my settings to see if I have the assist checkbox checked.
I think that's down to the way the directional keys were adapted to flight.. (not on flying mounts myself yet, so it's a guess). Basically now that pressing jump acctually means a definite directional movement. ie rise vertically, it will break follow just as though you were to press back or forward with all clones, where as before it was an uncontrollable player movement (by that I mean you pressed the button and you cannot define the hight you wish to jump etc).Could be, sounds logical...except....
I sometimes use voice control for basic things (rarely as it wakes everyone up, example: mount :) , Mount! :( MOUNT YOU :cursing: %$^&%$&^%$&%)
anyway
If I mount up the flying mounts and start running forward I can say "Jump" which is keyed to spacebar and they all gracefully take off into the air without breaking follow, bizarrely I can't do the same thing by merely pressing spacebar while moving forwards. It could be because when using voice I'm definately only intiating one keypress whereas using the keyboard it would be multiple and so would break on maybe the second keypress.
aNiMaL
08-15-2008, 04:55 AM
Basically voice control "presses" the key for you,
so it should be the same.
I can't really explain why it doesn't break follow with VC,
standard bindings space and x are used for vertical movement while swimming and flying.
Are you sure you're not running of a ledge and VC just ignores the jump ?
(probably not, but that's the only way I can imagine them taking off and staying on follow)
Šeceased
08-18-2008, 10:40 AM
I'm going to go out on a limb here cos i have no idea how blizz designed the game :P
I think you hit the nail on the head there Simulacra :)
from what I can tell, if you are on the ground and press "space" you initiate the jump effect (for any mount, flying included), the difference when swimming or or flying is that it is now a directional movement..
so when ur mounted and on the ground, on your flying mount and press space.. at first it assumes ur acctually not flying.. even through the [flyable] condition applies to the area ur in.. then as soon as your keypress extends past the simple 0ms click it turns into the vertical movement command.
remember ur voice command send the down and up command for whichever key you have bound, instantly one after the other so there is no "delay" as such between the two unlike if your were to press it manually.
quick question.. if you say jump and don't move an inch do your mounts sit back down again?
PS: my terrible punctuation is down to this silly keyboard that skips soo many letters and full stops it aint even funny.
Simulacra
08-19-2008, 01:29 AM
I'm going to go out on a limb here cos i have no idea how blizz designed the game :P
I think you hit the nail on the head there Simulacra :)
from what I can tell, if you are on the ground and press "space" you initiate the jump effect (for any mount, flying included), the difference when swimming or or flying is that it is now a directional movement..
so when ur mounted and on the ground, on your flying mount and press space.. at first it assumes ur acctually not flying.. even through the [flyable] condition applies to the area ur in.. then as soon as your keypress extends past the simple 0ms click it turns into the vertical movement command.
remember ur voice command send the down and up command for whichever key you have bound, instantly one after the other so there is no "delay" as such between the two unlike if your were to press it manually.
quick question.. if you say jump and don't move an inch do your mounts sit back down again?that makes sense - the 0s delay mmm
if I say jump they ask "how high!!!!"
sry
anyway if I say jump but then don't move they indeed drift back to the ground.....good point there Deceased!!!! so this implies that the jump while mounted isn't a jump but something like a takeoff command because saying jump and pressing spacebar delivers a different distance, ie I press spacebar and they're a good 5 feet in the air, I say jump and they're just hovering a few inches above the ground.
vBulletin® v4.2.2, Copyright ©2000-2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.