Close
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 10 of 14

Default Mouse rarely works?

I'm fairly new to dual-boxing, and so far the easiest to set up and get running program I've found is Octopus. I followed several of the guides and eventually got things working, and it was awesome.

However for some reason more often than not, the mouse locks up when I try to slide it over to my other PC. It just.. sticks to the 'shared side' of the other pc, so it actually makes it.. But then wont move, and I have to shut off octopus to get my mouse back. I've searched for posts regarding this particular issue and come up more or less empty-handed, and yes I realize Octopus is no longer being updated..

I was just wondering if anyone who's had any experience with this particular issue had any insight they'd be willing to share, or perhaps some advice as to an alternative (free) software solution.

Thanks guys.

I've never observed that in my time using Octopus. What version are you using? Are you using the mouse driver? (don't start using the mouse driver unless you know you need it :P ) How often does this happen? Does it only do it on one edge of the screen and not the other?

As a note: if you hit your "bypass" toggle key to turn octopus off and then back on, it will reset your cursor to your main screen. Works great when you need to reset your cursor to your main PC.

Final note: you might want to setup sounds for your Bypass on/off and Broadcast pause/resume options in Server-->Sounds. It'll help you realize when Octopus thinks it's supposed to be doing something normal. If you're hearing the off/disabled sounds when you think it should be working fine, it might indicate a problem with your setup.

Hope that helps!
    Now playing: WoW (Garona)